Fan out an Amazon Batch job - Amazon Step Functions
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Fan out an Amazon Batch job

This sample project demonstrates how to use Step Functions’s Map state to fan out Amazon Batch jobs. Deploying this sample project will create an Amazon Step Functions state machine, a Lambda function and an Amazon Batch job queue.

In this project, Step Functions uses a state machine to invoke a Lambda function to do simple pre-processing, then invokes multiple Amazon Batch jobs in parallel using the map state.

Create the State Machine and Provision Resources

  1. Open the Fan out an Amazon Batch job sample project.The state machine Code and Visual Workflow are displayed.

    
            Fan out Amazon Batch workflow.
  2. Choose Next.

    The Deploy and run page is displayed, listing the resources that will be created. For this sample project, the resources include:

    • An Amazon Batch job queue

    • A Lambda function

  3. Choose Deploy and run.

    Note

    It can take up to 10 minutes for these resources and related IAM permissions to be created. While the Deploy resources page is displayed, you can open the Stack ID link to see which resources are being provisioned.

Start a New Execution

  1. On the New execution page, enter an execution name (optional), and then choose Start Execution.

  2. (Optional) To identify your execution, you can specify a name for it in the Name box. By default, Step Functions generates a unique execution name automatically.

    Note

    Step Functions allows you to create state machine, execution, and activity names that contain non-ASCII characters. These non-ASCII names don't work with Amazon CloudWatch. To ensure that you can track CloudWatch metrics, choose a name that uses only ASCII characters.

  3. Optionally, you can go to the newly created state machine on the Step Functions Dashboard, and then choose New execution.

  4. When an execution is complete, you can select states on the Visual workflow and browse the Input and Output under Step details.

Example State Machine Code

The state machine in this sample project integrates with Amazon Batch and Amazon SNS by passing parameters directly to those resources.

Browse through this example state machine to see how Step Functions controls Amazon Batch and Amazon SNS by connecting to the Amazon Resource Name (ARN) in the Resource field, and by passing Parameters to the service API.

For more information about how Amazon Step Functions can control other Amazon services, see Using Amazon Step Functions with other services.

{ "Comment": "An example of the Amazon States Language for fanning out Amazon Batch job", "StartAt": "Generate batch job input", "TimeoutSeconds": 3600, "States": { "Generate batch job input": { "Type": "Task", "Resource": "arn:aws-cn:states:::lambda:invoke", "OutputPath": "$.Payload", "Parameters": { "FunctionName": "<GENERATE_BATCH_JOB_INPUT_LAMBDA_FUNCTION_NAME>" }, "Next": "Fan out batch jobs" }, "Fan out batch jobs": { "Comment": "Start multiple executions of batch job depending on pre-processed data", "Type": "Map", "End": true, "ItemsPath": "$", "Parameters": { "BatchNumber.$": "$$.Map.Item.Value" }, "Iterator": { "StartAt": "Submit Batch Job", "States": { "Submit Batch Job": { "Type": "Task", "Resource": "arn:aws-cn:states:::batch:submitJob.sync", "Parameters": { "JobName": "BatchJobFanOut", "JobQueue": "<BATCH_QUEUE_ARN>", "JobDefinition": "<BATCH_JOB_DEFINITION_ARN>" }, "End": true } } } } } }

IAM Example

These example Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) policies generated by the sample project includes the least privilege necessary to execute the state machine and related resources. We recommend that you include only those permissions that are necessary in your IAM policies.

Example BatchJobFanOutAccessPolicy

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Action": [ "batch:SubmitJob", "batch:DescribeJobs", "batch:TerminateJob" ], "Resource": "*", "Effect": "Allow" }, { "Action": [ "events:PutTargets", "events:PutRule", "events:DescribeRule" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws-cn:events:us-west-2:123456789012:rule/StepFunctionsGetEventsForBatchJobsRule" ], "Effect": "Allow" } ] }

Example InvokeGenerateBatchJobMapLambdaPolicy

{ "Statement": [ { "Action": [ "lambda:InvokeFunction" ], "Resource": "arn:aws-cn:lambda:us-west-2:123456789012:function:StepFunctionsSample-BatchJobFa-GenerateBatchJobMap-444455556666", "Effect": "Allow" } ] }

For information about how to configure IAM when using Step Functions with other Amazon services, see IAM Policies for integrated services.

扇出Amazon Batch工作 - Amazon Step Functions
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

扇出Amazon Batch工作

此示例项目演示如何使用 Step Functions 的 Map 状态来粉出。Amazon Batch个作业。部署此示例项目将创建Amazon Step Functions状态机、Lambda 函数和Amazon Batch作业队列。

在本项目中,Step Functions 使用状态机调用 Lambda 函数来执行简单的预处理,然后调用多个Amazon Batch使用地图状态并行作业。

创建状态机并预置资源

  1. 打开扇出Amazon Batch工作样品项目。状态机代码可视工作流此时将显示。

    
            扇出Amazon Batch工作流。
  2. 选择下一步

    这些区域有:部署和运行此时将显示此页面,其中列出了将创建的资源。对于本示例项目,资源包括:

    • 网络 ACL 和安全组都允许 (因此可到达您的实例) 的发起 ping 的Amazon Batch作业队列

    • Lambda 函数

  3. 选择部署和运行.

    注意

    创建这些资源和相关 IAM 权限可能需要长达 10 分钟的时间。当显示 Deploy resources (部署资源) 页面时,您可打开 Stack ID (堆栈 ID) 链接以查看正在预置的资源。

启动新的执行

  1. New execution 页面上,输入执行名称 (可选),然后选择 Start Execution (开始执行)

  2. (可选)为了帮助识别您的执行,您可以在输入执行名称。如果未输入 ID,Step Functions 将自动生成一个唯一 ID。

    注意

    Step Functions 允许您创建包含非 ASCII 字符的状态机、执行和活动名称。这些非 ASCII 名称不适用于 Amazon CloudWatch。为确保您可以跟踪 CloudWatch 指标,请选择仅使用 ASCII 字符的名称。

  3. (可选)您可以转到 Step Functions (步骤函数) 上新创建的状态机。控制面板选择,然后选择新执行.

  4. 执行完成后,您可以在 Visual workflow (可视工作流) 上选择状态,并浏览 Step details (步骤详细信息) 下的 Input (输入)Output (输出)

示例状态机代码

此示例项目中的状态机与集成Amazon Batch通过将参数直接传递给这些资源来和 Amazon SNS。

浏览此示例状态机以了解 Step Functions 如何控制 Step unctionsAmazon Batch和 Amazon SNS,方法是连接到Resource字段,然后通过Parameters转到服务 API。

有关 Amazon Step Functions 如何控制其他 Amazon 服务的更多信息,请参阅将 Amazon Step Functions 与其他服务一起使用

{ "Comment": "An example of the Amazon States Language for fanning out Amazon Batch job", "StartAt": "Generate batch job input", "TimeoutSeconds": 3600, "States": { "Generate batch job input": { "Type": "Task", "Resource": "arn:aws:states:::lambda:invoke", "OutputPath": "$.Payload", "Parameters": { "FunctionName": "<GENERATE_BATCH_JOB_INPUT_LAMBDA_FUNCTION_NAME>" }, "Next": "Fan out batch jobs" }, "Fan out batch jobs": { "Comment": "Start multiple executions of batch job depending on pre-processed data", "Type": "Map", "End": true, "ItemsPath": "$", "Parameters": { "BatchNumber.$": "$$.Map.Item.Value" }, "Iterator": { "StartAt": "Submit Batch Job", "States": { "Submit Batch Job": { "Type": "Task", "Resource": "arn:aws:states:::batch:submitJob.sync", "Parameters": { "JobName": "BatchJobFanOut", "JobQueue": "<BATCH_QUEUE_ARN>", "JobDefinition": "<BATCH_JOB_DEFINITION_ARN>" }, "End": true } } } } } }

IAM 示例

这些示例Amazon Identity and Access Management示例项目生成的 (IAM) 策略包括执行状态机和相关资源所需的最小权限。我们建议您在 IAM 策略中仅包含这些必需的权限。

BatchJobFanOutAccessPolicy

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Action": [ "batch:SubmitJob", "batch:DescribeJobs", "batch:TerminateJob" ], "Resource": "*", "Effect": "Allow" }, { "Action": [ "events:PutTargets", "events:PutRule", "events:DescribeRule" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:events:us-west-2:123456789012:rule/StepFunctionsGetEventsForBatchJobsRule" ], "Effect": "Allow" } ] }

InvokeGenerateBatchJobMapLambdaPolicy

{ "Statement": [ { "Action": [ "lambda:InvokeFunction" ], "Resource": "arn:aws:lambda:us-west-2:123456789012:function:StepFunctionsSample-BatchJobFa-GenerateBatchJobMap-444455556666", "Effect": "Allow" } ] }

有关在将 Step Functions 与其他配置时如何配置 IAM 的信息Amazon服务,请参阅针对集成服务的 IAM 策略.