Poll for Job Status (Lambda, Amazon Batch) - Amazon Step Functions
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Poll for Job Status (Lambda, Amazon Batch)

This sample project creates an Amazon Batch job poller. It implements an Amazon Step Functions state machine that uses Amazon Lambda to create a Wait state loop that checks on an Amazon Batch job.

This sample project creates and configures all resources so that your Step Functions workflow will submit an Amazon Batch job, and will wait for that job to complete before ending successfully.

Note

You can also implement this pattern without using a Lambda function. For information about controlling Amazon Batch directly, see Using Amazon Step Functions with other services.

This sample project creates the state machine, two Lambda functions, and an Amazon Batch queue, and configures the related IAM permissions.

For more information about how Amazon Step Functions can control other Amazon services, see Using Amazon Step Functions with other services.

Create the State Machine and Provision Resources

  1. Open the Step Functions console and choose Create state machine.

  2. Choose Run a sample project, and then choose Job Poller.

    The state machine Definition and Visual Workflow are displayed.

    
          Job poller visual workflow
    Note

    The Definition section in this state machine references the Amazon resources that will be created for this sample project.

  3. Choose Next.

    The Deploy resources page is displayed, listing the resources that will be created. For this sample project, the resources include:

    • A SubmitJob Lambda function

    • A CheckJob Lambda function

    • A SampleJobQueue Batch Job Queue

  4. Choose Deploy resources.

    Note

    It can take up to 10 minutes for these resources and related IAM permissions to be created. While the Deploy resources page is displayed, you can open the Stack ID link to see which resources are being provisioned.

Starting an Execution

After all the resources are provisioned and deployed, the Start execution dialog box is displayed with example input similar to the following.

{ "jobName": "my-job", "jobDefinition": "arn:aws-cn:batch:us-east-1:123456789012:job-definition/SampleJobDefinition-343f54b445d5312:1", "jobQueue": "arn:aws-cn:batch:us-east-1:123456789012:job-queue/SampleJobQueue-4d9d696031e1449", "wait_time": 60 }
Note

wait_time instructs the Wait state to loop every 60 seconds.

To start a new execution

  1. (Optional) To identify your execution, you can specify a name for it in the Name box. By default, Step Functions generates a unique execution name automatically.

    Note

    Step Functions allows you to create state machine, execution, and activity names that contain non-ASCII characters. These non-ASCII names don't work with Amazon CloudWatch. To ensure that you can track CloudWatch metrics, choose a name that uses only ASCII characters.

  2. Choose Start Execution.

  3. (Optional) After the execution is complete, choose individual states on the Graph inspector, and then choose the Step input and Step output tabs to view each state's input and output respectively.

    For example, to view the changing status of your Amazon Batch job and the looping results of your execution, choose Step output.

    
              State machine execution.

Example State Machine Code

The state machine in this sample project integrates with Amazon Lambda to submit an Amazon Batch job. Browse through this example state machine to see how Step Functions controls Lambda and Amazon Batch.

For more information about how Amazon Step Functions can control other Amazon services, see Using Amazon Step Functions with other services.

{ "Comment": "An example of the Amazon States Language that runs an Amazon Batch job and monitors the job until it completes.", "StartAt": "Submit Job", "States": { "Submit Job": { "Type": "Task", "Resource": "arn:aws-cn:lambda:us-east-1:111122223333:function:StepFunctionsSample-JobStatusPol-SubmitJobFunction-jDaYcl4cx55r", "ResultPath": "$.guid", "Next": "Wait X Seconds" }, "Wait X Seconds": { "Type": "Wait", "SecondsPath": "$.wait_time", "Next": "Get Job Status" }, "Get Job Status": { "Type": "Task", "Resource": "arn:aws-cn:lambda:us-east-1:111122223333:function:StepFunctionsSample-JobStatusPoll-CheckJobFunction-1JkJwY10vonI", "Next": "Job Complete?", "InputPath": "$.guid", "ResultPath": "$.status" }, "Job Complete?": { "Type": "Choice", "Choices": [ { "Variable": "$.status", "StringEquals": "FAILED", "Next": "Job Failed" }, { "Variable": "$.status", "StringEquals": "SUCCEEDED", "Next": "Get Final Job Status" } ], "Default": "Wait X Seconds" }, "Job Failed": { "Type": "Fail", "Cause": "Amazon Batch Job Failed", "Error": "DescribeJob returned FAILED" }, "Get Final Job Status": { "Type": "Task", "Resource": "arn:aws-cn::lambda:us-east-1:111122223333:function:StepFunctionsSample-JobStatusPoll-CheckJobFunction-1JkJwY10vonI", "InputPath": "$.guid", "End": true } } }

轮询任 Job 状态(Lambda、Amazon Batch) - Amazon Step Functions
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

轮询任 Job 状态(Lambda、Amazon Batch)

本示例项目将创建一个 Amazon Batch 作业轮询器。它将实现一台 Amazon Step Functions 状态机,该状态机使用 Amazon Lambda 创建在 Amazon Batch 作业上执行检查的 Wait 状态循环。

本示例项目将创建并配置所有资源,以便让您的 Step Functions 工作流程提交Amazon Batch任务,并等待该任务完成才成功结束。

注意

您也可以在不使用 Lambda 函数的情况下实现此模式。有关直接控制 Amazon Batch 的信息,请参阅 将 Amazon Step Functions 与其他服务一起使用

本示例项目将创建一台状态机、两个 Lambda 函数和Amazon Batch队列,然后配置相关的 IAM 权限。

有关 Amazon Step Functions 如何控制其他 Amazon 服务的更多信息,请参阅将 Amazon Step Functions 与其他服务一起使用

创建状态机并预置资源

  1. 打开Step Functions 控制然后选择创建状态机.

  2. 选择运行示例项目选择,然后选择Job 轮询器.

    状态机定义可视工作流此时会显示。

    
          作业轮询器可视工作流
    注意

    这些区域有:定义此状态机中的部分引用Amazon将为此示例项目创建的资源。

  3. 选择 Next(下一步)。

    此时将显示 Deploy resources (部署资源) 页面,其中列出了将创建的资源。对于本示例项目,资源包括:

    • 一个SubmitJobLambda 函数

    • 一个CheckJobLambda 函数

    • SampleJobQueue 批处理作业队列

  4. 选择部署资源.

    注意

    创建这些资源和相关 IAM 权限可能需要长达 10 分钟的时间。当显示 Deploy resources (部署资源) 页面时,您可打开 Stack ID (堆栈 ID) 链接以查看正在预置的资源。

开始执行

在配置和部署了所有资源之后,启动执行此时会显示类似于以下内容的示例输入对话框。

{ "jobName": "my-job", "jobDefinition": "arn:aws:batch:us-east-1:123456789012:job-definition/SampleJobDefinition-343f54b445d5312:1", "jobQueue": "arn:aws:batch:us-east-1:123456789012:job-queue/SampleJobQueue-4d9d696031e1449", "wait_time": 60 }
注意

wait_time 指示 Wait 状态每 60 秒循环。

启动新的执行

  1. (可选)要识别您的执行,您可以在名称。默认情况下,Step Functions 会自动生成唯一的执行名称。

    注意

    Step Functions 允许您创建包含非 ASCII 字符的状态机、执行和活动名称。这些非 ASCII 名称不适用于 Amazon CloudWatch。为了确保你可以跟踪 CloudWatch 指标,请选择仅使用 ASCII 字符的名称。

  2. 选择 Start Execution (开始执行)

  3. (可选)执行完成后,请在图表检查器选择,然后选择步骤输入步骤输出选项卡分别查看每个州的输入和输出。

    例如,要查看更改的状态Amazon Batch任务和执行的循环结果,请选择步骤输出.

    
              状态机执行。

示例状态机代码

此示例项目中的状态机与Amazon Lambda要提交Amazon Batch任务。浏览此示例状态机以了解 Step Functions 如何控制 Lambda 和Amazon Batch.

有关 Amazon Step Functions 如何控制其他 Amazon 服务的更多信息,请参阅将 Amazon Step Functions 与其他服务一起使用

{ "Comment": "An example of the Amazon States Language that runs an Amazon Batch job and monitors the job until it completes.", "StartAt": "Submit Job", "States": { "Submit Job": { "Type": "Task", "Resource": "arn:aws:lambda:us-east-1:111122223333:function:StepFunctionsSample-JobStatusPol-SubmitJobFunction-jDaYcl4cx55r", "ResultPath": "$.guid", "Next": "Wait X Seconds" }, "Wait X Seconds": { "Type": "Wait", "SecondsPath": "$.wait_time", "Next": "Get Job Status" }, "Get Job Status": { "Type": "Task", "Resource": "arn:aws:lambda:us-east-1:111122223333:function:StepFunctionsSample-JobStatusPoll-CheckJobFunction-1JkJwY10vonI", "Next": "Job Complete?", "InputPath": "$.guid", "ResultPath": "$.status" }, "Job Complete?": { "Type": "Choice", "Choices": [ { "Variable": "$.status", "StringEquals": "FAILED", "Next": "Job Failed" }, { "Variable": "$.status", "StringEquals": "SUCCEEDED", "Next": "Get Final Job Status" } ], "Default": "Wait X Seconds" }, "Job Failed": { "Type": "Fail", "Cause": "Amazon Batch Job Failed", "Error": "DescribeJob returned FAILED" }, "Get Final Job Status": { "Type": "Task", "Resource": "arn:aws::lambda:us-east-1:111122223333:function:StepFunctionsSample-JobStatusPoll-CheckJobFunction-1JkJwY10vonI", "InputPath": "$.guid", "End": true } } }