Changing the Data Retention Period - Amazon Kinesis Data Streams
AWS services or capabilities described in AWS documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with AWS services in China.

Changing the Data Retention Period

Amazon Kinesis Data Streams supports changes to the data record retention period of your data stream. A Kinesis data stream is an ordered sequence of data records meant to be written to and read from in real time. Data records are therefore stored in shards in your stream temporarily. The time period from when a record is added to when it is no longer accessible is called the retention period. A Kinesis data stream stores records from 24 hours by default, up to 8760 hours (365 days).

You can update the retention period via the Kinesis Data Streams management console or by using the IncreaseStreamRetentionPeriod and the DecreaseStreamRetentionPeriod operations. With the Kinesis Data Streams management console, you can bulk edit the retention period of more than one data stream at the same time. You can increase the retention period up to a maximum of 8760 hours (365 days) using the IncreaseStreamRetentionPeriod operation or the Kinesis Data Streams management console. You can decrease the retention period down to a minimum of 24 hours using the DecreaseStreamRetentionPeriod operation or the Kinesis Data Streams management console. The request syntax for both operations includes the stream name and the retention period in hours. Finally, you can check the current retention period of a stream by calling the DescribeStream operation.

Both operations are easy to use. The following is an example of changing the retention period using the AWS CLI:

aws kinesis increase-stream-retention-period --stream-name retentionPeriodDemo --retention-period-hours 72

Kinesis Data Streams stops making records inaccessible at the old retention period within several minutes of increasing the retention period. For example, changing the retention period from 24 hours to 48 hours means that records added to the stream 23 hours 55 minutes prior are still available after 24 hours.

Kinesis Data Streams almost immediately makes records older than the new retention period inaccessible upon decreasing the retention period. Therefore, take great care when calling the DecreaseStreamRetentionPeriod operation.

Set your data retention period to ensure that your consumers are able to read data before it expires, if problems occur. You should carefully consider all possibilities, such as an issue with your record processing logic or a downstream dependency being down for a long period of time. Think of the retention period as a safety net to allow more time for your data consumers to recover. The retention period API operations allow you to set this up proactively or to respond to operational events reactively.

Additional charges apply for streams with a retention period set above 24 hours. For more information, see Amazon Kinesis Data Streams Pricing.

更改数据保留期 - Amazon Kinesis Data Streams
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

更改数据保留期

Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 支持更改数据流的数据记录保留期。Kinesis 数据流是数据记录的有序序列,可用于执行实时写入和读取。因此,数据记录临时存储在您的流的分片中。从添加记录开始,到记录不再可供访问为止的时间段称为保留期。Kinesis 数据流默认情况下存储记录 24 小时起,最高可存储 8760 小时(365 天)。

您可以通过 Kinesis Data Streams 控制台或使用IncreaseStreamRetentionPeriodDecreaseStreamRetentionPeriod操作。使用 Kinesis Data Streams 控制台,您可以同时批量编辑多个数据流的保留期。您可以使用将保留期增加到最高 8760 小时(365 天)IncreaseStreamRetentionPeriod操作或 Kinesis Data Streams 控制台。您可以使用将保留期缩短至 24 小时(最小值)DecreaseStreamRetentionPeriod操作或 Kinesis Data Streams 控制台。两个操作的请求语法均包括流名称和保留期(以小时为单位)。最后,您可以通过调用 DescribeStream 操作来检查流的当前保留期。

以下是使用 Amazon CLI 更改保留期的示例:

aws kinesis increase-stream-retention-period --stream-name retentionPeriodDemo --retention-period-hours 72

Kinesis Data Streams 停止使记录无法访问旧在增加保留期后的数分钟内的保留期。例如,将保留期从 24 小时更改为 48 小时意味着,在 23 小时 55 分钟之前添加到流中的记录在 24 小时之后仍可用。

在缩短保留期后,Kinesis Data Streams 几乎会立即使比新保留期更早的记录不可供访问。因此,在调用 DecreaseStreamRetentionPeriod 操作时务必小心谨慎。

设置数据保留期以确保在出现问题时,您的使用者可以在数据过期之前读取数据。您应该仔细考虑所有可能的情况,例如记录处理逻辑出现问题,或者下游依赖关系长时间断开。将保留期视为安全网,可留出更多时间供您的数据使用者恢复。使用保留期 API 操作,您可以主动设置此项,或者积极响应操作事件。

对于保留期设置为 24 小时以上的流,将收取额外费用。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Kinesis 数据流定价