Registering maintenance window tasks without targets - Amazon Systems Manager
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Registering maintenance window tasks without targets

For each maintenance window you create, you can specify one or more tasks to perform when the maintenance window runs. In most cases, you must specify the resources, or targets, that the task is to run on. In some cases, however, you don't need to specify targets explicitly in the task.

One or more targets must be specified for maintenance window Systems Manager Run Command-type tasks. Depending on the nature of the task, targets are optional for other maintenance window task types (Systems Manager Automation, Amazon Lambda, and Amazon Step Functions).

For Lambda and Step Functions task types, whether a target is required depends on the content of the function or state machine you have created.

In many cases, you don't need to explicitly specify a target for an automation task. For example, say that you're creating an Automation-type task to update an Amazon Machine Image (AMI) for Linux using the AWS-UpdateLinuxAmi runbook. When the task runs, the AMI is updated with the latest available Linux distribution packages and Amazon software. New instances created from the AMI already have these updates installed. Because the ID of the AMI to be updated is specified in the input parameters for the runbook, there is no need to specify a target again in the maintenance window task.

Similarly, suppose you're using the Amazon Command Line Interface (Amazon CLI) to register a maintenance window Automation task that uses the document Amazon-RestartEC2Instance. Because the node to restart is specified in the --task-invocation-parameters argument, you don't need to also specify a --targets option.

Note

For maintenance window tasks without a target specified, you can't supply values for --max-errors and --max-concurrency. Instead, the system inserts a placeholder value of 1, which might be reported in the response to commands such as describe-maintenance-window-tasks and get-maintenance-window-task. These values don't affect the running of your task and can be ignored.

The following example demonstrates omitting the --targets, --max-errors, and --max-concurrency options for a targetless maintenance window task.

Linux & macOS
aws ssm register-task-with-maintenance-window \ --window-id "mw-ab12cd34eEXAMPLE" \ --service-role-arn "arn:aws:iam::123456789012:role/MaintenanceWindowAndAutomationRole" \ --task-type "AUTOMATION" \ --name "RestartInstanceWithoutTarget" \ --task-arn "AWS-RestartEC2Instance" \ --task-invocation-parameters "{\"Automation\":{\"Parameters\":{\"InstanceId\":[\"i-02573cafcfEXAMPLE\"]}}}" \ --priority 10
Windows
aws ssm register-task-with-maintenance-window ^ --window-id "mw-ab12cd34eEXAMPLE" ^ --service-role-arn "arn:aws:iam::123456789012:role/MaintenanceWindowAndAutomationRole" ^ --task-type "AUTOMATION" ^ --name "RestartInstanceWithoutTarget" ^ --task-arn "AWS-RestartEC2Instance" ^ --task-invocation-parameters "{\"Automation\":{\"Parameters\":{\"InstanceId\":[\"i-02573cafcfEXAMPLE\"]}}}" ^ --priority 10
Note

For maintenance window tasks registered before December 23, 2020: If you specified targets for the task and one is no longer required, you can update that task to remove the targets using the Systems Manager console or the update-maintenance-window-task Amazon CLI command.

注册不含目标的维护时段任务 - Amazon Systems Manager
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

注册不含目标的维护时段任务

对于您创建的每个维护时段,您可以指定要在维护时段运行时执行的一个或多个任务。在大多数情况下,您必须指定要在其上运行任务的资源或目标。但是,在某些情况下,无需在任务中明确指定目标。

必须为维护时段 Systems Manager Run Command 类型任务指定一个或多个目标。根据任务的性质,目标对于其他维护时段任务类型(Systems Manager 自动化、Amazon Lambda 和 Amazon Step Functions)是可选的。

对于 Lambda 和 Step Functions 任务类型,是否需要目标取决于您创建的函数或状态机的内容。

在许多情况下,您无需为自动化任务明确指定目标。例如,假设您要创建 自动化 类型的任务,以使用 AWS-UpdateLinuxAmi 运行手册为 Linux 更新 Amazon Machine Image (AMI)。在该任务运行时,已使用最新可用的 Linux 分发版本的程序包和 Amazon 软件更新了 AMI。从 AMI 创建的新实例已经安装了这些更新。由于要更新的 AMI 的 ID 是在运行手册的输入参数中指定的,因此无需在维护时段任务中再次指定目标。

同样,假设您正在使用 Amazon Command Line Interface (Amazon CLI) 注册使用文档 Amazon-RestartEC2Instance 的维护时段 自动化 任务。由于要重启的节点是在 --task-invocation-parameters 参数中指定,您也无需指定 --targets 选项。

注意

对于没有指定目标的维护时段任务,您无法为 --max-errors--max-concurrency 提供值。相反,系统会插入 1 的一个占位符值,它可能会在对命令(例如 describe-maintenance-window-tasksget-maintenance-window-task)的响应中报告。这些值不会影响任务的运行,并且可以忽略。

以下示例演示了为无目标维护时段任务省略 --targets--max-errors--max-concurrency 选项的情形。

Linux & macOS
aws ssm register-task-with-maintenance-window \ --window-id "mw-ab12cd34eEXAMPLE" \ --service-role-arn "arn:aws:iam::123456789012:role/MaintenanceWindowAndAutomationRole" \ --task-type "AUTOMATION" \ --name "RestartInstanceWithoutTarget" \ --task-arn "AWS-RestartEC2Instance" \ --task-invocation-parameters "{\"Automation\":{\"Parameters\":{\"InstanceId\":[\"i-02573cafcfEXAMPLE\"]}}}" \ --priority 10
Windows
aws ssm register-task-with-maintenance-window ^ --window-id "mw-ab12cd34eEXAMPLE" ^ --service-role-arn "arn:aws:iam::123456789012:role/MaintenanceWindowAndAutomationRole" ^ --task-type "AUTOMATION" ^ --name "RestartInstanceWithoutTarget" ^ --task-arn "AWS-RestartEC2Instance" ^ --task-invocation-parameters "{\"Automation\":{\"Parameters\":{\"InstanceId\":[\"i-02573cafcfEXAMPLE\"]}}}" ^ --priority 10
注意

对于 2020 年 12 月 23 日之前注册的维护时段任务:如果您为任务指定了多个目标,但不再需要一个目标,则可以更新该任务,以使用 Systems Manager 控制台或 update-maintenance-window-task Amazon CLI 命令删除目标。