Step 1: Complete Session Manager prerequisites - Amazon Systems Manager
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Step 1: Complete Session Manager prerequisites

Before using Session Manager, make sure your environment meets the following requirements.

Session Manager prerequisites
Requirement Description

Supported operating systems

Session Manager supports connecting to Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances, in addition to servers or virtual machines (VMs) in your hybrid environment that use the advanced-instances tier.

Session Manager supports the following operating system versions:

Note

Session Manager supports EC2 instances, edge devices, and on-premises servers and virtual machines (VMs) in your hybrid environment that use the advanced-instances tier. For more information about advanced instances, see Turning on the advanced-instances tier.

Linux

Session Manager supports all the versions of Linux that are supported by Amazon Systems Manager. For information, see Systems Manager prerequisites.

macOS

Session Manager supports all the versions of macOS that are supported by Amazon Systems Manager. For information, see Systems Manager prerequisites.

Windows

Session Manager supports Windows Server 2012 through Windows Server 2019.

Note

Microsoft Windows Server 2016 Nano isn't supported.

SSM Agent

At minimum, Amazon Systems Manager SSM Agent version 2.3.68.0 or later must be installed on the managed nodes you want to connect to through sessions.

To use the option to encrypt session data using a key created in Amazon Key Management Service (Amazon KMS), version 2.3.539.0 or later of SSM Agent must be installed on the managed node.

To use shell profiles in a session, SSM Agent version 3.0.161.0 or later must be installed on the managed node.

To start a Session Manager port forwarding or SSH session, SSM Agent version 3.0.222.0 or later must be installed on the managed node.

To stream session data using Amazon CloudWatch Logs, SSM Agent version 3.0.284.0 or later must be installed on the managed node.

For information about how to determine the version number running on an instance, see Checking the SSM Agent version number. For information about manually installing or automatically updating SSM Agent, see Working with SSM Agent.

About the ssm-user account

Starting with version 2.3.50.0 of SSM Agent, the agent creates a user account on the managed node, with root or administrator permissions, called ssm-user. (On versions before 2.3.612.0, the account is created when SSM Agent starts or restarts. On version 2.3.612.0 and later, ssm-user is created the first time a session starts on the managed node.) Sessions are launched using the administrative credentials of this user account. For information about restricting administrative control for this account, see Turn off or turn on ssm-user account administrative permissions.

ssm-user on Windows Server domain controllers

Beginning with SSM Agent version 2.3.612.0, the ssm-user account isn't created automatically on managed nodes that are used as Windows Server domain controllers. To use Session Manager on a Windows Server machine being used as a domain controller, you must create the ssm-user account manually if it isn't already present, and assign Domain Administrator permissions to the user. On Windows Server, SSM Agent sets a new password for the ssm-user account each time a session starts, so you don't need to specify a password when you create the account.

Connectivity to endpoints

The managed nodes you connect to must also allow HTTPS (port 443) outbound traffic to the following endpoints:

  • ec2messages.region.amazonaws.com

  • ssm.region.amazonaws.com

  • ssmmessages.region.amazonaws.com

Alternatively, you can connect to the required endpoints by using interface endpoints. For more information, see Step 6: (Optional) Use Amazon PrivateLink to set up a VPC endpoint for Session Manager.

Amazon CLI

(Optional) If you use the Amazon Command Line Interface (Amazon CLI) to start your sessions (instead of using the Amazon Systems Manager console or Amazon EC2 console), version 1.16.12 or later of the CLI must be installed on your local machine.

You can call aws --version to check the version.

If you need to install or upgrade the CLI, see Installing the Amazon Command Line Interface in the Amazon Command Line Interface User Guide.

Important

An updated version of SSM Agent is released whenever new capabilities are added to Systems Manager or updates are made to existing capabilities. Failing to use the latest version of the agent can prevent your managed node from using various Systems Manager capabilities and features. For that reason, we recommend that you automate the process of keeping SSM Agent up to date on your machines. For information, see Automating updates to SSM Agent. Subscribe to the SSM Agent Release Notes page on GitHub to get notifications about SSM Agent updates.

In addition, to use the CLI to manage your nodes with Session Manager, you must first install the Session Manager plugin on your local machine. For information, see (Optional) Install the Session Manager plugin for the Amazon CLI.

Turn on advanced-instances tier (hybrid environments)

To connect to on-premises machines using Session Manager, you must turn on the advanced-instances tier in the Amazon Web Services account and Amazon Web Services Region where you create hybrid activations to register on-premises machines as managed instances. For more information about the advanced-instance tier, see Turning on the advanced-instances tier.

Verify IAM service role permissions (hybrid environments)

Hybrid instances use the Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) service role specified in the hybrid activation to communicate with Systems Manager API operations. This service role must contain the permissions required to connect to your on-premises machines using Session Manager. If your service role contains the Amazon managed policy AmazonSSMManagedInstanceCore , the required permissions for Session Manager are already provided.

If you find that the service role does not contain the required permissions, you must deregister the managed instance and register it with a new hybrid activation that uses an IAM service role with the required permissions. For more information about deregistering managed instances, see Deregistering managed nodes in a hybrid environment. For more information about creating IAM policies with Session Manager permissions, see Verify or create an IAM role with Session Manager permissions.

步骤 1:满足 Session Manager 先决条件 - Amazon Systems Manager
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

步骤 1:满足 Session Manager 先决条件

在使用 Session Manager 之前,请确保环境满足以下要求。

Session Manager先决条件
要求 说明

支持的操作系统

除了混合环境中使用高级实例套餐的服务器或虚拟机 (VM) 之外,Session Manager 还支持连接到 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例。

Session Manager 支持以下操作系统版本:

注意

Session Manager 支持混合环境中使用高级实例套餐的 EC2 实例、边缘设备、本地服务器和虚拟机 (VM)。有关高级实例的更多信息,请参阅 打开高级实例套餐

Linux

Session Manager 支持 Amazon Systems Manager 所支持的所有 Linux 版本。有关信息,请参阅 Systems Manager 的先决条件

macOS

Session Manager 支持 Amazon Systems Manager 所支持的所有 macOS 版本。有关信息,请参阅 Systems Manager 的先决条件

Windows

Session Manager 支持 Windows Server 2012 至 Windows Server 2019。

注意

不支持 Microsoft Windows Server 2016 Nano。

SSM Agent

至少应在要通过会话连接的托管式节点上安装 2.3.68.0 版本或更高版本的 Amazon Systems Manager SSM Agent。

要通过该选项以使用在 Amazon Key Management Service (Amazon KMS) 中创建的密钥加密会话数据,必须在托管式节点上安装 2.3.539.0 版本或更高版本的 SSM Agent。

要在会话中使用 Shell 配置文件,必须在托管式节点上安装 SSM Agent 3.0.161.0 版本或更高版本。

要开启 Session Manager 端口转发或 SSH 会话,必须在托管式节点上安装 SSM Agent 3.0.222.0 版本或更高版本。

要使用 Amazon CloudWatch Logs 流式传输会话数据,必须在托管式节点上安装 SSM Agent 3.0.284.0 版本或更高版本。

有关如何确定实例上运行的版本号的信息,请参阅 正在检查 SSM Agent 版本号。有关手动安装或自动更新 SSM Agent 的信息,请参阅 使用 SSM Agent

关于 ssm-user 账户

从 SSM Agent 的版本 2.3.50.0 开始,代理在托管式节点上创建名为 ssm-user 的用户账户,此账户具有根权限或管理员权限。(在 2.3.612.0 之前的版本上,此账户在 SSM Agent 启动或重新启动时创建。在版本 2.3.612.0 及更高版本上,ssm-user 在托管式节点上首次启动会话时创建。) 系统使用此用户账户的管理凭证启动会话。有关限制此账户的管理控制权限的信息,请参阅关闭或打开 ssm-user 账户管理权限

Windows Server 域控制器上的 ssm-user

从 SSM Agent 版本 2.3.612.0 开始,ssm-user 账户不会在用作 Windows Server 域控制器的托管式节点上自动创建。要在用作域控制器的 Windows Server 计算机上使用 Session Manager,您必须手动创建 ssm-user 账户(如果此账户尚不存在),并为相关用户分配域管理员权限。在 Windows Server 上,每次会话启动时,SSM Agent 都会为 ssm-user 账户设置新密码,因此您无需在创建账户时指定密码。

连接到端点

您要连接到的托管式节点必须还允许到以下端点的 HTTPS(端口 443)出站流量:

  • ec2messages.region.amazonaws.com

  • ssm.region.amazonaws.com

  • ssmmessages.region.amazonaws.com

或者,您可以使用接口端点连接到所需端点。有关更多信息,请参阅步骤 6:(可选)使用 Amazon PrivateLink 为 Session Manager 设置 VPC 端点

Amazon CLI

(可选)如果使用 Amazon Command Line Interface (Amazon CLI)(而不是使用 Amazon Systems Manager 控制台或 Amazon EC2 控制台)启动会话,则必须在本地计算机上安装 1.16.12 版本或更高版本的 CLI。

您可调用 aws --version 来查看版本。

如果您需要安装或升级 CLI,请参阅 Amazon Command Line Interface 用户指南中的安装 Amazon Command Line Interface

重要

当新功能添加到 Systems Manager 或者对现有功能进行了更新时,会发布 SSM Agent 的新版本。如果较早版本的代理正在托管式节点上运行,有些 SSM Agent 过程会失败。因此,我们建议您自动完成确保机器上的 SSM Agent 为最新的过程。有关信息,请参阅 自动更新到 SSM Agent。要获得有关 SSM Agent 更新的通知,请在 GitHub 上订阅 SSM Agent 发布说明页面。

此外,要使用 CLI 通过 Session Manager 管理节点,必须先在本地计算机上安装 Session Manager 插件。有关信息,请参阅 (可选)为 Amazon CLI 安装 Session Manager 插件

启用高级实例套餐(混合环境)

若要使用 Session Manager 连接到本地计算机,必须在您可以在其中创建混合激活以将本地计算机注册为托管式实例的 Amazon Web Services 账户 和 Amazon Web Services 区域 中启用高级实例套餐。有关高级实例套餐的更多信息,请参阅 打开高级实例套餐

验证 IAM 服务角色权限(混合环境)

混合实例使用在混合激活中指定的 Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) 服务角色,与 Systems Manager API 操作进行通信。此服务角色必须包含使用 Session Manager 连接到本地计算机所需的权限。如果您的服务角色包含 Amazon 托管式策略 AmazonSSMManagedInstanceCore,则已提供 Session Manager 所需的权限。

如果您发现服务角色不包含所需权限,则必须取消注册托管式实例,然后利用使用具有所需权限的 IAM 服务角色的新混合激活进行注册。有关取消注册托管式实例的更多信息,请参阅 在混合环境中取消注册托管式节点。有关创建包含 Session Manager 权限的 IAM 策略的更多信息,请参阅验证或创建包含 Session Manager 权限的 IAM 角色