Troubleshooting Session Manager - Amazon Systems Manager
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Troubleshooting Session Manager

Use the following information to help you troubleshoot problems with Amazon Systems Manager Session Manager.

No permission to start a session

Problem: You try to start a session, but the system tells you that you don't have the necessary permissions.

  • Solution: A system administrator hasn't granted you Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) policy permissions for starting Session Manager sessions. For information, see Control user session access to instances.

No permission to change session preferences

Problem: You try to update global session preferences for your organization, but the system tells you that you don't have the necessary permissions.

Managed node not available or not configured for Session Manager

Problem 1: You want to start a session on the Start a session console page, but a managed node isn't in the list.

  • Solution A: The managed node you want to connect to might not have been configured for Amazon Systems Manager. For more information, see Setting up Amazon Systems Manager.

    Note

    If Amazon Systems Manager SSM Agent is already running on a managed node when you attach the IAM instance profile, you might need to restart the agent before the instance is listed on the Start a session console page.

  • Solution B: The proxy configuration you applied to the SSM Agent on your managed node might be incorrect. If the proxy configuration is incorrect, the managed node won't be able to reach the needed service endpoints, or the node might report as a different operating system to Systems Manager. For more information, see Configuring SSM Agent to use a proxy (Linux) and Configure SSM Agent to use a proxy for Windows Server instances.

Problem 2: A managed node you want to connect is in the list on the Start a session console page, but the page reports that "The instance you selected isn't configured to use Session Manager."

Session Manager plugin not found

To use the Amazon CLI to run session commands, the Session Manager plugin must also be installed on your local machine. For information, see (Optional) Install the Session Manager plugin for the Amazon CLI.

Session Manager plugin not automatically added to command line path (Windows)

When you install the Session Manager plugin on Windows, the session-manager-plugin executable should be automatically added to your operating system's PATH environment variable. If the command failed after you ran it to check whether the Session Manager plugin installed correctly (aws ssm start-session --target instance-id), you might need to set it manually using the following procedure.

To modify your PATH variable (Windows)

  1. Press the Windows key and enter environment variables.

  2. Choose Edit environment variables for your account.

  3. Choose PATH and then choose Edit.

  4. Add paths to the Variable value field, separated by semicolons, as shown in this example: C:\existing\path;C:\new\path

    C:\existing\path represents the value already in the field. C:\new\path represents the path you want to add, as shown in these examples.

    • 64-bit machines: C:\Program Files\Amazon\SessionManagerPlugin\bin\

    • 32-bit machines: C:\Program Files (x86)\Amazon\SessionManagerPlugin\bin\

  5. Choose OK twice to apply the new settings.

  6. Close any running command prompts and re-open.

Session Manager plugin becomes unresponsive

During a port forwarding session, traffic might stop forwarding if you have antivirus software installed on your local machine. In some cases, antivirus software interferes with the Session Manager plugin causing process deadlocks. To resolve this issue, allow or exclude the Session Manager plugin from the antivirus software. For information about the default installation path for the Session Manager plugin, see (Optional) Install the Session Manager plugin for the Amazon CLI.

TargetNotConnected

Problem: You try to start a session, but the system returns the error message, "An error occurred (TargetNotConnected) when calling the StartSession operation: InstanceID isn't connected."

  • Solution A: This error is returned when the specified target managed node for the session isn't fully configured for use with Session Manager. For information, see Setting up Session Manager.

  • Solution B: This error is also returned if you attempt to start a session on a managed node that is located in a different Amazon Web Services account or Amazon Web Services Region.

Blank screen displays after starting a session

Problem: You start a session and Session Manager displays a blank screen.

  • Solution A: This issue can occur when the root volume on the managed node is full. Due to lack of disk space, SSM Agent on the node stops working. To resolve this issue, use Amazon CloudWatch to collect metrics and logs from the operating systems. For information, see Monitoring memory and disk metrics for Amazon EC2 Linux instances or Monitoring memory and disk metrics for Amazon EC2 Windows instances.

  • Solution B: A blank screen might display if you accessed the console using a link that includes a mismatched endpoint and Region pair. For example, in the following console URL, us-west-2 is the specified endpoint, but us-west-1 is the specified Amazon Web Services Region.

    https://us-west-2.console.amazonaws.cn/systems-manager/session-manager/sessions?region=us-west-1
  • Solution C: The managed node is connecting to Systems Manager using VPC endpoints, and your Session Manager preferences write session output to an Amazon S3 bucket or Amazon CloudWatch Logs log group, but an s3 gateway endpoint or logs interface endpoint doesn't exist in the VPC. An s3 endpoint in the format com.amazonaws.region.s3 is required if your managed nodes are connecting to Systems Manager using VPC endpoints, and your Session Manager preferences write session output to an Amazon S3 bucket. Alternatively, a logs endpoint in the format com.amazonaws.region.logs is required if your managed nodes are connecting to Systems Manager using VPC endpoints, and your Session Manager preferences write session output to a CloudWatch Logs log group. For more information, see Creating VPC endpoints for Systems Manager.

  • Solution D: The log group or Amazon S3 bucket you specified in your session preferences has been deleted. To resolve this issue, update your session preferences with a valid log group or S3 bucket.

  • Solution E: The log group or Amazon S3 bucket you specified in your session preferences isn't encrypted, but you have set the cloudWatchEncryptionEnabled or s3EncryptionEnabled input to true. To resolve this issue, update your session preferences with a log group or Amazon S3 bucket that is encrypted, or set the cloudWatchEncryptionEnabled or s3EncryptionEnabled input to false. This scenario is only applicable to customers who create session preferences using command line tools.

Managed node becomes unresponsive during long running sessions

Problem: Your managed node becomes unresponsive or crashes during a long running session.

Solution: Decrease the SSM Agent log retention duration for Session Manager.

To decrease the SSM Agent log retention duration for sessions

  1. Locate the amazon-ssm-agent.json.template in the /etc/amazon/ssm/ directory for Linux, or C:\Program Files\Amazon\SSM for Windows.

  2. Copy the contents of the amazon-ssm-agent.json.template to a new file in the same directory named amazon-ssm-agent.json.

  3. Decrease the default value of the SessionLogsRetentionDurationHours value in the SSM property, and save the file.

  4. Restart the SSM Agent.

会话管理器疑难排 - Amazon Web Services Systems Manager
AWS 文档中描述的 AWS 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 AWS 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

会话管理器疑难排

使用以下信息可帮助解决与Amazon Web Services Systems Manager会话管理器。

没有启动会话的权限

问题:您尝试启动会话,但系统提示您没有必要的权限。

  • 解决方案:系统管理员尚未授予您启动会话管理器会话的 AWS Identity and Access Manager (IAM) 策略权限。想要了解有关信息,请参阅控制用户会话对实例的访问

没有更改会话首选项的权限

问题:您尝试更新组织的全局会话首选项,但系统提示您没有必要的权限。

实例不可用或未为会话管理器配置

问题 1:您希望启动 Select (启动) 上的会话启动会话控制台页面,但实例不在列表中。

  • 解决方案 A:要连接到的实例可能尚未配置为配合Amazon Web Services Systems Manager服务。要使某个实例可以与 Systems Manager 配合使用,必须向该实例附加一个 IAM 实例配置文件,以便为 Systems Manager 提供对实例执行操作的权限。想要了解有关信息,请参阅为 Systems Manager 创建 IAM 实例配置文件

    注意

    如果Amazon Web Services Systems Manager在附加 IAM 实例配置文件时,SSM Agent 已经在运行,您可能需要重新启动代理,然后才能在启动会话控制台页面。

  • 解决方案 B:您应用于实例上 SSM 代理的代理配置可能不正确。如果代理配置不正确,实例将无法到达所需的服务终端节点,或者实例可能作为不同的操作系统向 Systems Manager 报告。有关更多信息,请参阅 将 SSM 代理配置为使用代理 (Linux)将 SSM 代理配置为使用Windows Server实例

问题 2:您需要连接的实例位于启动会话控制台页面,但页面报告 “The instance selected is use” (您选择的实例未配置为使用会话管理器”。

未找到会话管理器插件

使用AmazonCLI 运行会话命令,还必须在本地计算机上安装会话 Management 插件。有关信息,请参阅 (可选)为AmazonCLI

会话管理器插件未自动添加到命令行路径 (Windows)

在 Windows 上安装会话管理器插件时,session-manager-plugin可执行文件应自动添加到操作系统的PATH环境变量。如果命令在运行后失败,以检查会话 Management 插件是否正确安装(aws ssm start-session --target instance-id),则可能需要使用以下过程手动设置它。

修改您的 PATH 变量 (Windows)

  1. 按 Windows 键并输入 environment variables

  2. 选择 Edit environment variables for your account

  3. 选择 PATH,然后选择 Edit

  4. Variable value (变量值) 字段添加路径,用分号分隔,如下例所示:C:\existing\path;C:\new\path

    C:\existing\path 表示字段中已存在的值。C:\new\path 表示要添加的路径,如以下示例所示。

    • 64 位计算机C:\Program Files\Amazon\SessionManagerPlugin\bin\

    • 32 位计算机C:\Program Files (x86)\Amazon\SessionManagerPlugin\bin\

  5. 选择 OK 两次以应用新设置。

  6. 关闭任何运行的命令提示符并重新打开。

TargetNotConnected

问题:您尝试启动会话,但系统返回错误消息:"调用 StartSession 操作时发生错误 (TargetNotConnected):InstanceID未连接。”

  • 解决方案:如果会话的指定目标实例未完全配置为与会话管理器一起使用,则返回此错误。有关信息,请参阅 设置会话管理器

启动会话后显示空白屏幕

问题:启动会话后,会话管理器将显示空白屏幕。

  • 解决方案 A:实例上的根卷已满时,可能出现此问题。由于磁盘空间不足,实例上的 SSM 代理停止工作。要解决此问题,请使用 Amazon CloudWatch 从操作系统中收集指标和日志。想要了解有关信息,请参阅监控 Amazon EC2 Linux 实例的内存和磁盘指标或者监控 Amazon EC2 Windows 实例的内存和磁盘指标

  • 解决方案 B:如果您使用包含不匹配终端节点和区域对的链接访问控制台,则会显示空白屏幕。例如,在以下控制台 URL 中,us-west-2是指定的终端节点,但us-west-1是指定的Amazon Web Services 区域。

    https://us-west-2.console.aws.amazon.com/systems-manager/session-manager/sessions?region=us-west-1
  • 解决方案 C:实例正在使用 VPC 终端节点连接到 Systems Manager,您的会话管理器首选项将会话输出写入 Amazon S3 存储桶,但是s3VPC 中不存在网关终端节点。一个s3端点格式com.amazonaws.region.s3如果您的实例使用 VPC 终端节点连接到 Systems Manager,并且您的会话管理器首选项将会话输出写入 Amazon S3 存储桶中,则需要提供。有关更多信息,请参阅 为 Systems Manager 创建 VPC 终端节点

  • 解决方案 D:您在会话首选项中指定的日志组或 Amazon S3 存储桶已被删除。要解决此问题,请使用有效的日志组或 S3 存储桶更新您的会话首选项。

  • 解决方案 E:您在会话首选项中指定的日志组或 Amazon S3 存储桶未加密,但您已设置cloudWatchEncryptionEnabled或者s3EncryptionEnabled中的输入系统true。要解决此问题,请使用已加密的日志组或 Amazon S3 存储桶更新您的会话首选项,或者将cloudWatchEncryptionEnabled或者s3EncryptionEnabled中的输入系统false。此方案仅适用于使用命令行工具创建会话首选项的客户。

实例在长时间运行的会话期间变得无响应

问题:您的实例在长时间运行的会话期间变得无响应或崩溃。

解决方案:减少会话管理器的 SSM 代理日志保留持续时间。

减少会话的 SSM 代理日志保留持续时间

  1. 定位amazon-ssm-agent.json.template中的/etc/amazon/ssm/目录,或C:\Program Files\Amazon\SSM对于 Windows。

  2. amazon-ssm-agent.json.template添加到同一目录中的新文件中,该文件名为amazon-ssm-agent.json

  3. 减小默认值SessionLogsRetentionDurationHours中的值SSM属性,然后保存文件。

  4. 重新启动 SSM 代理