Step 7: (Optional) Create Systems Manager service roles - Amazon Systems Manager
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Step 7: (Optional) Create Systems Manager service roles

This topic explains the difference between a service role and a service-linked role for Amazon Systems Manager. It also explains when you need to create or use either type of role.

Service role –– A service role is a type of Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) role that grants permissions to an Amazon Web Service so that the service can access Amazon resources. Only a few Systems Manager scenarios require a service role. When you create a service role for Systems Manager, you choose the permissions to grant so that it can access or interact with other Amazon resources.

Service-linked role – A service-linked role is predefined by Systems Manager and includes all the permissions that the service requires to call other Amazon Web Services on your behalf.

You can use the Systems Manager service-linked role AWSServiceRoleforAmazonSSM for the following:

  • The Systems Manager Inventory capability uses the service-linked role AWSServiceRoleforAmazonSSM to collect inventory metadata from tags and resource groups.

  • The Explorer capability uses the service-linked role AWSServiceRoleforAmazonSSM to enable viewing OpsData and OpsItems from multiple accounts. This service-linked role also allows Explorer to create a managed rule when you enable Security Hub as a data source from Explorer or OpsCenter.

For more information about this and other service-linked roles, see Using service-linked roles for Systems Manager.

Create a service role

You can create the following service roles as part of Systems Manager setup, or you can create them later.

Service role for Automation

Automation previously required that you specify a service role so that the service had permission to perform actions on your behalf. Automation no longer requires this role because the service now operates by using the context of the user who invoked the execution.

However, the following situations still require that you specify a service role for Automation:

  • When you want to restrict a user's permissions on a resource, but you want the user to run an Automation workflow that requires elevated permissions. In this scenario, you can create a service role with elevated permissions and allow the user to run the workflow.

  • Operations that you expect to run longer than 12 hours require a service role.

If you need to create a service role and an instance profile role for Automation, you can use one of the following methods.

Service role for maintenance window tasks

To run tasks on your managed instances, the Maintenance Windows service must have permission to access those resources. This permission should be granted using a custom service role that you create.

For more information, see the following topics in the Maintenance Windows section of this user guide:

Service role for Amazon SNS notifications

Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS) is a web service that coordinates and manages the delivery or sending of messages to subscribing endpoints or clients. In Systems Manager, you can configure Amazon SNS to send notifications about the status of commands that you send using the Run Command capability, or the status of tasks run in maintenance windows.

You create a service role for Amazon SNS as part of the process of configuring the service for use with Systems Manager. After you complete this configuration, you choose whether to receive notifications for particular Run Command commands or maintenance windows tasks at the time you create each one.

For more information, see Monitoring Systems Manager status changes using Amazon SNS notifications.

Service role for a Systems Manager hybrid environment

If you plan to use Systems Manager to manage on-premises servers and virtual machines (VMs) in a hybrid environment, create an Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM role for those resources to communicate with the Systems Manager service.

For more information, see Create an IAM service role for a hybrid environment.

Continue to Step 8: (Optional) Set up integrations with other Amazon Web Services.

步骤 7:(可选)创建 Systems Manager 服务角色 - Amazon Systems Manager
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

步骤 7:(可选)创建 Systems Manager 服务角色

本主题解释了服务角色服务相关角色对于 来说为Amazon Systems Manager. 它还解释了何时需要创建或使用任一类型的角色。

服务角色:服务角色是Amazon Identity and Access Management(IAM),它将权限授予Amazon服务,以便该服务可以访问Amazon资源的费用。只有几个 Systems Manager 场景需要服务角色。当您创建 Systems Manager 的服务角色时,您可以选择要授予的权限,以便它访问其他Amazon资源的费用。

服务相关角色:服务相关角色由 Systems Manager 预定义,具有该服务调用其他Amazon服务。

Systems Manager 服务相关角色可用于以下内容:

  • Systems Manager 库存功能使用服务相关角色从标签和资源组收集库存元数据。

  • Maintenance Windows 功能在某些情况下可以使用服务相关角色。其他情况需要您创建的自定义服务角色,如本主题后面所述。

  • 这些区域有:Explorer功能使用服务相关角色来启用 OpsData 和OpsItems从多个账户 此服务相关角色还允许Explorer以创建托管规则,当您将 Security Hub 启用为数据源Explorer或者OpsCenter.

有关服务相关角色的更多信息,请参阅将服务相关角色用于 Systems Manager

创建服务角色

您可以在 Systems Manager 设置过程中创建以下服务角色,也可以稍后创建它们。

用于 Automation 的服务角色

Automation 之前需要您指定服务角色,以便服务有权代表您执行操作。Automation 不再需要此角色,因为服务现在通过使用已调用执行的用户的上下文来操作。

不过,以下情况仍需要您为 Automation 指定服务角色:

  • 当您想限制用户对资源的权限,但希望用户运行需要提升权限的 Automation 工作流程时。在此方案中,您可以创建具有提升权限的服务角色并允许用户运行此工作流程。

  • 运行时长预计将超过 12 小时的操作需要一个服务角色。

如果您需要为 Automation 创建一个服务角色和一个实例配置文件角色,您可以使用以下方法之一。

用于维护时段任务的服务角色

要在托管实例上运行任务,Maintenance Windows 服务必须具有访问这些资源的权限。可以使用 Systems Manager 的服务相关角色或您创建的自定义服务角色授予此权限。

在以下情况下可需要创建自定义服务角色:

  • 如果要使用比由服务相关角色提供的权限更严格的一组权限。

  • 在您需要使用比由服务相关角色提供的权限更宽松或更广泛的一组权限时。例如,Automation Runbook 中的某些操作需要其他操作的权限。Amazon服务。

有关更多信息,请参阅此用户指南的 Maintenance Windows 部分中的以下主题:

Amazon Simple Notification Service Notification Service Notification Service

Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS) 是一项 Web 服务,用于协调和管理向订阅终端节点或客户端交付或发送消息的过程。在 Systems Manager 中,您可以将 Amazon SNS 配置为发送通知,其中包括使用Run Command功能或维护时段中运行的任务状态。

在配置与一起使用的服务的过程中,您可以为 Amazon SNS 创建服务角色。完成此配置后,您可以选择在创建每个命令时是否接收特定 Run Command 命令或维护时段任务的通知。

有关更多信息,请参阅 使用 Amazon SNS 通知监控 Systems Manager 状态更改

Systems Manager 混合环境的服务角色

如果计划使用 Systems Manager 在所谓的混合环境中,为这些资源创建 IAM 角色,以便与 Systems Manager 服务进行通信。

有关更多信息,请参阅 。为混合环境创建 IAM 服务角色.

继续浏览步骤 8:(可选)设置与其他Amazon服务