Manually installing SSM Agent on EC2 instances for Windows Server - Amazon Systems Manager
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Manually installing SSM Agent on EC2 instances for Windows Server

Amazon Systems Manager Agent (SSM Agent) is preinstalled, by default, on the following Amazon Machine Images (AMIs) for Windows Server:

  • Windows Server 2008-2012 R2 AMIs published in November 2016 or later

  • Windows Server 2016, 2019, and 2022

If your managed instance is a Windows Server 2008-2012 R2 instance created before November 2016, then EC2Config processes Systems Manager requests on your instance. We recommend that you upgrade your existing instances to use the latest version of EC2Config. By using the latest EC2Config installer, you install SSM Agent side-by-side with EC2Config. This side-by-side version of SSM Agent is compatible with your instances created from earlier Windows Server AMIs and allows you to use SSM features published after November 2016. For information about how to install the latest version of the EC2Config service, see Install the latest version of EC2Config in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Windows Instances.

Important

An updated version of SSM Agent is released whenever new capabilities are added to Systems Manager or updates are made to existing capabilities. Failing to use the latest version of the agent can prevent your managed node from using various Systems Manager capabilities and features. For that reason, we recommend that you automate the process of keeping SSM Agent up to date on your machines. For information, see Automating updates to SSM Agent. Subscribe to the SSM Agent Release Notes page on GitHub to get notifications about SSM Agent updates.

If necessary, you can manually download and install the latest version of SSM Agent on your Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instance for Windows Server by using the following procedure.

Important

This procedure applies to installing or reinstalling SSM Agent on an EC2 instance for Windows Server. If you need to install the agent on an on-premises server or a virtual machine (VM) so it can be used with Systems Manager, see Install SSM Agent for a hybrid environment (Windows).

To manually install the latest version of SSM Agent on EC2 instances for Windows Server

  1. Log in to your instance by using Remote Desktop or Windows PowerShell.

  2. Download the latest version of SSM Agent to your instance. You can download using either PowerShell commands or a direct download link.

    PowerShell

    Run the following three PowerShell commands in order. These commands allow you to download SSM Agent without adjusting Internet Explorer (IE) Enhanced Security settings, and then install the agent and remove the installation file.

    64-bit
    $progressPreference = 'silentlyContinue' Invoke-WebRequest ` https://s3.amazonaws.com/ec2-downloads-windows/SSMAgent/latest/windows_amd64/AmazonSSMAgentSetup.exe ` -OutFile $env:USERPROFILE\Desktop\SSMAgent_latest.exe
    32-bit
    $progressPreference = 'silentlyContinue' Invoke-WebRequest ` https://s3.amazonaws.com/ec2-downloads-windows/SSMAgent/latest/windows_386/AmazonSSMAgentSetup.exe ` -OutFile $env:USERPROFILE\Desktop\SSMAgent_latest.exe
    Start-Process ` -FilePath $env:USERPROFILE\Desktop\SSMAgent_latest.exe ` -ArgumentList "/S"
    rm -Force $env:USERPROFILE\Desktop\SSMAgent_latest.exe
    Direct download

    https://s3.amazonaws.com/ec2-downloads-windows/SSMAgent/latest/windows_amd64/AmazonSSMAgentSetup.exe

    Run the downloaded AmazonSSMAgentSetup.exe file to install SSM Agent.

  3. Start or restart SSM Agent by sending the following command in PowerShell:

    Restart-Service AmazonSSMAgent
Important

SSM Agent requires Windows PowerShell 3.0 or later to run certain Amazon Systems Manager documents (SSM documents) on Windows Server instances (for example, the legacy AWS-ApplyPatchBaseline document). Verify that your Windows Server instances are running Windows Management Framework 3.0 or later. This framework includes Windows PowerShell. For more information, see Windows Management Framework 3.0.

在适用于 Windows Server 的 EC2 实例上手动安装 SSM Agent - Amazon Systems Manager
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

在适用于 Windows Server 的 EC2 实例上手动安装 SSM Agent

Amazon Systems Manager 代理(SSM Agent)默认在适用于 Windows Server 的以下 Amazon Machine Images(AMIs)上预安装:

  • 2016 年 11 月或以后发布的 Windows Server 2008-2012 R2 AMIs

  • Windows Server 2016、2019 和 2022

如果您的托管实例是在 2016 年 11 月之前创建的 Windows Server 2008-2012 R2 实例,则 EC2Config 会在您的实例上处理 Systems Manager 请求。我们建议您升级现有实例以使用最新版本的 EC2Config。您可以使用最新的 EC2Config 安装程序,在安装 EC2Config 的同时安装 SSM Agent。此并行版本的 SSM Agent 与通过较早版本的 Windows Server AMIs 创建的实例兼容,允许您使用 2016 年 11 月之后发布的 SSM 功能。有关如何安装最新版本的 EC2Config 服务的信息,请参阅适用于 Windows 实例的 Amazon EC2 用户指南中的安装最新版本的 EC2Config

重要

如果有新功能添加至 Systems Manager 或者对现有功能进行了更新,则将发布 SSM Agent 的更新版本。不能使用代理的最新版本可能会阻止托管式节点使用各种 Systems Manager 功能和特性。因此,我们建议您自动完成确保机器上的 SSM Agent 为最新的过程。有关信息,请参阅 自动更新到 SSM Agent。要获得有关 SSM Agent 更新的通知,请在 GitHub 上订阅 SSM Agent 发布说明页面。

如有必要,可以使用以下过程在 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例 Windows Server 上手动下载并安装最新版本的 SSM Agent。

重要

此过程适用于在 Windows Server 的 EC2 实例上安装或重新安装 SSM Agent。如果需要在本地服务器或虚拟机 (VM) 上安装代理以与 Systems Manager 配合使用,请参阅安装适用于混合环境 (Windows) 的 SSM Agent

在 Windows Server 的 EC2 实例上手动安装最新版本的 SSM Agent

  1. 使用远程桌面或 Windows PowerShell 登录实例。

  2. 将最新版本的 SSM Agent下载到您的实例。您可以使用 PowerShell 命令或直接下载链接来进行下载。

    PowerShell

    按顺序运行以下三条 PowerShell 命令。可通过这些命令下载 SSM Agent,无需调整 Internet Explorer (IE) 增强的安全设置,然后安装代理并移除安装文件。

    64-bit
    $progressPreference = 'silentlyContinue' Invoke-WebRequest ` https://s3.amazonaws.com/ec2-downloads-windows/SSMAgent/latest/windows_amd64/AmazonSSMAgentSetup.exe ` -OutFile $env:USERPROFILE\Desktop\SSMAgent_latest.exe
    32-bit
    $progressPreference = 'silentlyContinue' Invoke-WebRequest ` https://s3.amazonaws.com/ec2-downloads-windows/SSMAgent/latest/windows_386/AmazonSSMAgentSetup.exe ` -OutFile $env:USERPROFILE\Desktop\SSMAgent_latest.exe
    Start-Process ` -FilePath $env:USERPROFILE\Desktop\SSMAgent_latest.exe ` -ArgumentList "/S"
    rm -Force $env:USERPROFILE\Desktop\SSMAgent_latest.exe
    直接下载

    https://s3.amazonaws.com/ec2-downloads-windows/SSMAgent/latest/windows_amd64/AmazonSSMAgentSetup.exe

    运行下载的 AmazonSSMAgentSetup.exe 文件以安装 SSM Agent。

  3. 在 PowerShell 中发送以下命令,以启动或重新启动 SSM Agent:

    Restart-Service AmazonSSMAgent
重要

SSM Agent 需要使用 Windows PowerShell 3.0 或更高版本才能在 Windows Server 实例上运行 Amazon Systems Manager 某些 SSM 文档(例如,原有 AWS-ApplyPatchBaseline 文档)。验证您的 Windows Server 实例是否在 Windows Management Framework 3.0 或更高版本上运行。此框架包括 Windows PowerShell。有关更多信息,请参阅 Windows 管理框架 3.0