Configuring instance tiers - Amazon Systems Manager
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Configuring instance tiers

This topic describes the scenarios when you must activate the advanced-instanced tier.

Amazon Systems Manager offers a standard-instances tier and an advanced-instances tier for on-premises servers, edge devices, and virtual machines (VMs) in a hybrid environment.

You can register up to 1,000 standard hybrid nodes per account per Amazon Web Services Region at no additional cost. (Hybrid nodes are managed nodes of any other type than Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances.) However, registering more than 1,000 hybrid nodes requires that you activate the advanced-instances tier. There is a charge to use the advanced-instances tier. For more information, see Amazon Systems Manager Pricing.

Even with fewer than 1,000 registered hybrid nodes, two other scenarios require the advanced-instances tier:

  • You want to use Session Manager to connect to non-EC2 nodes.

  • You want to patch applications (not operating systems) released by Microsoft on non-EC2 nodes.

    Note

    There is no charge to patch applications released by Microsoft on Amazon EC2 instances.

Advanced-instances tier detailed scenarios

The following information provides details on the three scenarios for which you must activate the advanced-instances tier.

Scenario 1: You want to register more than 1,000 hybrid nodes

Using the standard-instances tier, you can register a maximum of 1,000 non-EC2 nodes (on-premises servers, edge devices, and VMs in a hybrid environment) per Amazon Web Services Region in a specific account without additional charge. If you need to register more than 1,000 non-EC2 nodes in a Region, you must use the advanced-instances tier. You can then activate as many managed servers, edge devices, and VMs in a hybrid environment as you want. Charges for the advanced-instances tier are based on the number of advanced instances activated as Systems Manager managed instances and the hours those instances are running.

All Systems Manager managed nodes that use the managed-instance activation process described in Create a managed-node activation for a hybrid environment are then subject to charge if you exceed 1,000 on-premises nodes in a Region in a specific account .

Note

You can also activate existing Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances using Systems Manager hybrid activations and work with them as non-EC2 instances, such as for testing. These would also qualify as hybrid nodes. This isn't a common scenario.

Scenario 2: Patching Microsoft-released applications on hybrid-activated nodes

The advanced-instances tier is also required if you want to patch Microsoft-released applications on non-EC2 nodes (on-premises servers, edge devices, and VMs) in a hybrid environment. If you activate the advanced-instances tier to patch Microsoft applications on non-EC2 nodes, charges are then incurred for all on-premises nodes, even if you have fewer than 1,000.

There is no additional charge to patch applications released by Microsoft on Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances. For more information, see About patching applications released by Microsoft on Windows Server.

Scenario 3: Connecting to hybrid-activated nodes using Session Manager

Session Manager provides interactive shell access to your instances. To connect to hybrid-activated (non-EC2) nodes using Session Manager, including on-premises servers, edge devices, and VMs in a hybrid environment, you must activate the advanced-instances tier. Charges are then incurred for all hybrid-activated nodes, even if you have fewer than 1,000.

Summary: When do I need the advanced-instances tier?

Use the following table to review when you must use the advanced-instances tier, and for which scenarios additional charges apply.

Scenario Advanced-instances tier required? Additional charges apply?

The number of hybrid-activated nodes in my Region in a specific account is more than 1,000.

Yes Yes

I want to use Patch Manager to patch Microsoft-released applications on any number of hybrid-activated nodes, even less than 1,000.

Yes Yes

I want to use Session Manager to connect to any number of hybrid-activated nodes, even less than 1,000.

Yes Yes
  1. The number of hybrid-activated nodes in a Region in a specific account is 1,000 or less; and

  2. I am not patching Microsoft applications on any hybrid-activated nodes; and

  3. I am not connecting to any hybrid-activated nodes using Session Manager.

No No

配置实例套餐 - Amazon Systems Manager
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

配置实例套餐

本主题描述了必须激活高级实例化套餐的情况。

Amazon Systems Manager为混合环境中的非 EC2 套餐提供标准实例套餐和高级套餐。

每个内每个账户可以注册最多 1000 个标准节点Amazon Web Services 区域,无需支付额外费用。但是,注册超过 1000 个混合节点需要激活高级实例套餐。使用高级实例套餐需支付费用。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Systems Manager 定价

即使注册的混合套餐少于 1000 个,但还有两种情况也需要高级套餐:

  • 您希望使用 Session Manager 连接到非 EC2 节点。

  • 您希望修补 Microsoft 在非 EC2 节点上发布的应用程序(非操作系统)。

    注意

    修补 Microsoft 在 Amazon EC2 实例上发布的应用程序不收取费用。

高级实例套餐详细情况

以下信息详细介绍了必须激活高级实例套餐的三种情况。

情况 1:您希望注册超过 1000 个混合节点

使用标准实例套餐,您最多可以在特定账户中为每Amazon Web Services 区域个注册 1000 个非 EC2 套餐,无需支付额外费用。如果您需要在一个区域中注册超过 1000 个非 EC2 节点,则必须使用高级实例套餐。然后,您可以为混合环境激活任意数量的计算机。高级实例套餐根据激活为 Systems Manager 托管节点的高级节点,以及这些节点的高级节点套餐的高级节点套餐的高级节点套餐的高级节点套餐的高级节点套餐的高级节点,

如果您在特定账户的某个区域中有超过 1000 个本地节点,则使用为混合环境创建托管节点激活中所述的激活过程的所有 Systems M anager 托管节点都将收取费用。

注意

您还可以使用 Systems Manager 混合激活现有的 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例,并将其作为非 EC2 实例使用,例如用于测试。这些节点也可以成为混合节点。但这不是常见的情况。

情况 2:在混合激活节点上修补 Microsoft 发布的应用程序

如果要在混合环境中的非 EC2 节点上修补 Microst 发布的应用程序,也需要高级套餐。如果您激活高级实例套餐以修补非 EC2 节点上的 Microsoft 应用程序,则即使您的节点少于 1000 个,也会对所有本地节点收取费用。

修补 Microsoft 在 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例上发布的应用程序不收取额外费用。有关更多信息,请参阅 关于修补由微软在 Windows Server 发布的应用程序

情况 3:使用 Session Manager 连接到混合激活节点

Session Manager 提供了对实例的交互式 shell 访问。要使用连接到混合节点Session Manager,必须激活高级套餐。然后,所有混合激活的节点都将收取费用,即使您的节点少于 1000 个。

摘要:何时需要高级实例套餐?

使用下表查看何时必须使用高级实例套餐,以及哪些情况将收取额外费用。

情况 是否需要高级实例套餐? 是否收取额外费用?

特定账户中我的区域的混合激活节点数超过 1000 个。

我想用 Patch Manager 在任意数量(甚至少于 1000 个)的混合激活节点上修补 Microsoft 发布的应用程序。

我想用 Session Manager 连接任意数量(甚至少于 1000 个)的混合激活节点。

  1. 特定账户中某个区域的混合激活节点数不超过 1000 个;且

  2. 我没有在任何混合激活节点上修补 Microsoft 应用程序;且

  3. 我没有使用 Session Manager 连接到任何混合激活的节点。