Troubleshooting managed node availability - Amazon Systems Manager
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Troubleshooting managed node availability

For several Amazon Systems Manager capabilities like Run Command, Distributor, and Session Manager, you can choose to manually select the managed nodes on which you want to run an operation. In cases like these, after you specify that you want to choose nodes manually, the system displays a list of managed nodes where you can run the operation.

This topic provides information to help you diagnose why a managed node that you have confirmed is running isn't included in your lists of managed nodes in Systems Manager.

In order for a node to be managed by Systems Manager and available in lists of managed nodes, it must meet three requirements:

  • SSM Agent must be installed and running on the node with a supported operating system.

    Note

    Some Amazon managed Amazon Machine Images (AMIs) are configured to launch instances with SSM Agent preinstalled. (You can also configure a custom AMI to preinstall SSM Agent.) For more information, see Amazon Machine Images (AMIs) with SSM Agent preinstalled.

  • For Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances, you must attach an Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) instance profile to the instance. The instance profile enables the instance to communicate with the Systems Manager service. If you don't assign an instance profile to the instance, you register it using a hybrid activation, which is not a common scenario.

  • SSM Agent must be able to connect to a Systems Manager endpoint in order to register itself with the service. Thereafter, the managed node must be available to the service, which is confirmed by the service sending a signal every five minutes to check the instance's health.

After you verify that a managed node is running, you can use the following command to check whether SSM Agentsuccessfully registered with the Systems Manager service. This command doesn't return results until a successful registration has taken place.

Linux & macOS
aws ssm describe-instance-associations-status \ --instance-id instance-id
Windows
aws ssm describe-instance-associations-status ^ --instance-id instance-id
PowerShell
Get-SSMInstanceAssociationsStatus ` -InstanceId instance-id

If registration was successful and the managed node is now available for Systems Manager operations, the command returns results similar to the following.

{
    "InstanceAssociationStatusInfos": [
        {
            "AssociationId": "fa262de1-6150-4a90-8f53-d7eb5EXAMPLE",
            "Name": "AWS-GatherSoftwareInventory",
            "DocumentVersion": "1",
            "AssociationVersion": "1",
            "InstanceId": "i-02573cafcfEXAMPLE",
            "Status": "Pending",
            "DetailedStatus": "Associated"
        },
        {
            "AssociationId": "f9ec7a0f-6104-4273-8975-82e34EXAMPLE",
            "Name": "AWS-RunPatchBaseline",
            "DocumentVersion": "1",
            "AssociationVersion": "1",
            "InstanceId": "i-02573cafcfEXAMPLE",
            "Status": "Queued",
            "AssociationName": "SystemAssociationForScanningPatches"
        }
    ]
}

If registration hasn't completed yet or was unsuccessful, the command returns results similar to the following:

{
    "InstanceAssociationStatusInfos": []
}

If the command doesn't return results after 5 minutes or so, use the following information to help you troubleshoot problems with your managed nodes.

Solution 1: Verify that SSM Agent is installed and running on the managed node

Make sure the latest version of SSM Agent is installed and running on the managed node.

To determine whether SSM Agent is installed and running on a managed node, see Checking SSM Agent status and starting the agent.

To install or reinstall SSM Agent on a managed node, see the following topics:

Solution 2: Verify that an IAM instance profile has been specified for the instance (EC2 instances only)

For Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances, verify that the instance is configured with an Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) instance profile that allows the instance to communicate with the Systems Manager API. Also verify that your user account has an IAM user trust policy that allows your account to communicate with the Systems Manager API.

Note

On-premises servers, edge devices, and virtual machines (VMs) use an IAM service role instead of an instance profile. For more information, see Create an IAM service role for a hybrid environment.

To determine whether an instance profile with the necessary permissions is attached to an EC2 instance

  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/ec2/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Instances.

  3. Choose the instance to check for an instance profile.

  4. On the Description tab in the bottom pane, locate IAM role and choose the name of the role.

  5. On the role Summary page for the instance profile, on the Permissions tab, ensure that AmazonSSMManagedInstanceCore is listed under Permissions policies.

    If a custom policy is used instead, ensure that it provides the same permissions as AmazonSSMManagedInstanceCore.

    Open AmazonSSMManagedInstanceCore in the console

    For information about other policies that can be attached to an instance profile for Systems Manager, see Create an IAM instance profile for Systems Manager.

To create and attach an instance profile with the necessary permissions to a new EC2 instance

To attach an existing instance profile with the necessary permissions to an existing Amazon EC2 instance

Solution 3: Verify service endpoint connectivity

Verify that the instance has connectivity to the Systems Manager service endpoints. This connectivity is provided by creating and configuring VPC endpoints for Systems Manager, or by allowing HTTPS (port 443) outbound traffic to the service endpoints.

For Amazon EC2 instances, the Systems Manager service endpoint for the Amazon Web Services Region the instance is used to register the instance if your virtual private cloud (VPC) configuration allows outbound traffic. However, if the VPC configuration the instance was launched in does not allow outbound traffic and you can't change this configuration to allow connectivity to the public service endpoints, you must configure interface endpoints for your VPC instead.

For more information, see (Optional) Create a VPC endpoint.

Solution 4: Verify target operating system support

Verify that the operation you have chosen can be run on the type of managed node you expect to see listed. Some Systems Manager operations can target only Windows instances or only Linux instances. For example, the Systems Manager (SSM) documents AWS-InstallPowerShellModule and AWS-ConfigureCloudWatch can be run only on Windows instances. In the Run a command page, if you choose either of these documents and select Choose instances manually, only your Windows instances are listed and available for selection.

Solution 5: Verify you're working in the same Amazon Web Services Region as the Amazon EC2 instance

Amazon EC2 instances are created and available in specific Amazon Web Services Regions, such as the US East (Ohio) Region (us-east-2) or Europe (Ireland) Region (eu-west-1). Ensure that you're working in the same Amazon Web Services Region as the Amazon EC2 instance that you want to work with. For more information, see Choosing a Region in Getting Started with the Amazon Web Services Management Console.

Solution 6: Verify the proxy configuration you applied to the SSM Agent on your managed node

Verify that the proxy configuration you applied to the SSM Agent on your managed node is correct. If the proxy configuration is incorrect, the node can't connect to the required service endpoints, or Systems Manager might identify the operating system of the managed node incorrectly. For more information, see Configuring SSM Agent to use a proxy (Linux) and Configure SSM Agent to use a proxy for Windows Server instances.

Solution 7: Install a TLS certificate on managed instances

A Transport Layer Security (TLS) certificate must be installed on each managed instance you use with Amazon Systems Manager. Amazon services use these certificates to encrypt calls to other Amazon services.

A TLS certificate is already installed by default on each Amazon EC2 instance created from any Amazon Machine Image (AMI). Most modern operating systems include the required TLS certificate from Amazon Trust Services CAs in their trust store.

To verify whether the required certificate is installed on your instance run the following command based on the operating system of your instance. Be sure to replace the region portion of the URL with the Amazon Web Services Region where your managed instance is located.

Linux & macOS
curl -L https://ssm.region.amazonaws.com
Windows
Invoke-WebRequest -Uri https://ssm.region.amazonaws.com

The command should return an UnknownOperationException error. If you receive an SSL/TLS error message instead then the required certificate might not be installed.

If you find the required Amazon Trust Services CA certificates aren't installed on your base operating systems, on instances created from AMIs that aren't supplied by Amazon, or on your own on-premises servers and VMs, you must install and allow a certificate from Amazon Trust Services, or use Amazon Certificate Manager (ACM) to create and manage certificates for a supported integrated service.

Each of your managed instances must have one of the following Transport Layer Security (TLS) certificates installed.

  • Amazon Root CA 1

  • Starfield Services Root Certificate Authority - G2

  • Starfield Class 2 Certificate Authority

For information about using ACM, see the Amazon Certificate Manager User Guide.

If certificates in your computing environment are managed by a Group Policy Object (GPO), then you might need to configure Group Policy to include one of these certificates.

For more information about the Amazon Root and Starfield certificates, see the blog post How to Prepare for Amazon’s Move to Its Own Certificate Authority.

排除托管式节点可用性的问题 - Amazon Systems Manager
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

排除托管式节点可用性的问题

对于 Run Command、Distributor 和 Session Manager 等多种 Amazon Systems Manager 功能,您可以选择手动选择要在其上运行操作的托管式节点。在这种情况下,指定要手动选择节点后,系统会显示托管式节点列表,您可以在其中运行该操作。

本主题提供的信息可帮助您诊断您已确认正在运行的托管式节点未包含在 Systems Manager 中的托管式节点列表中的原因。

为使节点能由 Systems Manager 管理,并在托管式节点列表中列出,它必须满足三个要求:

  • SSM Agent 必须在具有受支持的操作系统的节点上安装和运行。

    注意

    将一些 Amazon Machine Images (AMIs) 配置为启动已预安装 SSM Agent 的托管式节点。(您还可以配置自定义 AMI 以预安装 SSM Agent。)

    预设情况下,以下 Amazon Machine Images (AMIs) 上将预安装 SSM Agent:

    • Amazon Linux

    • Amazon Linux 2

    • Amazon Linux 2 ECS 优化基础 AMIs

    • macOS 10.14.x (Mojave)、10.15.x (Catalina) 和 11.x (Big Sur)

    • SUSE Linux Enterprise Server (SLES) 12 和 15

    • Ubuntu Server 16.04、18.04 和 20.04

    • 2016 年 11 月或以后发布的 Windows Server 2008-2012 R2 AMIs

    • Windows Server 2016、2019 和 2022

  • 对于 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例,您必须将 Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) 实例配置文件附加到实例。实例配置文件让实例能够与 Systems Manager 服务进行通信。如果您没有为实例分配实例配置文件,则可以使用混合激活进行注册,这不是常见情况。

  • SSM Agent 必须能够连接到 Systems Manager 端点,以便将其自身注册到服务中。此后,托管式节点必须可用于服务,这一点将通过以下方法来确认:服务每五分钟发送一个信号,以检查实例的运行状况。

在确认某个托管式节点正在运行后,您可以使用以下命令来检查 SSM Agent 是否已成功注册到 Systems Manager 服务。在成功注册之前,此命令不会返回结果。

Linux & macOS
aws ssm describe-instance-associations-status \ --instance-id instance-id
Windows
aws ssm describe-instance-associations-status ^ --instance-id instance-id
PowerShell
Get-SSMInstanceAssociationsStatus ` -InstanceId instance-id

如果注册成功并且托管式节点现在可用于 Systems Manager 操作,该命令会返回类似于以下内容的结果。

{
    "InstanceAssociationStatusInfos": [
        {
            "AssociationId": "fa262de1-6150-4a90-8f53-d7eb5EXAMPLE",
            "Name": "AWS-GatherSoftwareInventory",
            "DocumentVersion": "1",
            "AssociationVersion": "1",
            "InstanceId": "i-02573cafcfEXAMPLE",
            "Status": "Pending",
            "DetailedStatus": "Associated"
        },
        {
            "AssociationId": "f9ec7a0f-6104-4273-8975-82e34EXAMPLE",
            "Name": "AWS-RunPatchBaseline",
            "DocumentVersion": "1",
            "AssociationVersion": "1",
            "InstanceId": "i-02573cafcfEXAMPLE",
            "Status": "Queued",
            "AssociationName": "SystemAssociationForScanningPatches"
        }
    ]
}

如果注册尚未完成或失败,该命令将返回类似于以下内容的结果:

{
    "InstanceAssociationStatusInfos": []
}

如果命令在 5 分钟左右后未返回结果,请使用以下信息帮助您对托管式节点的问题进行故障排除。

解决方案 1:确认 SSM Agent 已安装在托管式节点上,并且正在运行

确保最新版本的 SSM Agent 已安装在托管式节点上,并且正在运行。

要确定 SSM Agent 是否已安装在托管式节点上并且正在运行,请参阅 正在检查 SSM Agent 状态并启动代理

要在托管式节点上安装或重新安装 SSM Agent,请参阅以下主题:

解决方案 2:确认已为实例(仅限 EC2 实例)指定 IAM 实例配置文件

对于 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例,确认实例已配置有允许实例与 Systems Manager API 通信的 Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) 实例配置文件。此外,还要验证并确保您的用户账户具有 IAM 用户信任策略,允许您的账户与 Systems Manager API 通信。

注意

本地服务器、边缘设备和虚拟机 (VM) 使用 IAM 服务角色而不是实例配置文件。有关更多信息,请参阅为混合环境创建 IAM 服务角色

确定拥有所需权限的实例配置文件是否附加到 EC2 实例

  1. 通过以下网址打开 Amazon EC2 控制台:https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择实例

  3. 选择要检查实例配置文件的实例。

  4. 在底部窗格中的 Description (描述) 选项卡上,找到 IAM role (IAM 角色),然后选择角色的名称。

  5. 在实例配置文件的角色 Summary (摘要) 页面上的 Permissions (权限) 选项卡上,确保 AmazonSSMManagedInstanceCore 列在 Permissions policies (权限策略) 之下。

    如果改为使用自定义策略,请确保其提供的权限与 AmazonSSMManagedInstanceCore 相同。

    在控制台中打开 AmazonSSMManagedInstanceCore

    有关可以附加到 Systems Manager 的实例配置文件的其他策略的信息,请参阅为 Systems Manager 创建 IAM 实例配置文件

创建拥有必要权限的实例配置文件并将其附加到新 Amazon EC2 实例

将拥有所需权限的现有实例配置文件附加到现有 Amazon EC2 实例

解决方案 3:验证并确保服务终端节点的连接性

验证并确保实例可连接到 Systems Manager 服务终端节点。通过为 Systems Manager 创建和配置 VPC 终端节点,或者允许 HTTPS(端口 443)出站流量传输到服务终端节点,来提供此连接性。

对于 Amazon EC2 实例,如果 Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) 配置允许出站流量,则 Amazon Web Services 区域 实例的 Systems Manager 服务终端节点可用于注册该实例。但是,如果启动实例的 VPC 配置不允许出站流量,并且您无法更改此配置以允许连接到公有服务终端节点,则必须改成为 VPC 配置接口端点。

有关更多信息,请参阅(可选)创建 VPC 终端节点

解决方案 4:验证并确保目标操作系统支持

确认您选择的操作可在您希望看到列出的托管式节点类型上运行。某些 Systems Manager 操作既可仅以 Windows 实例作为目标,也可仅以 Linux 实例作为目标。例如,Systems Manager (SSM) 文档 AWS-InstallPowerShellModuleAWS-ConfigureCloudWatch 只能在 Windows 实例上运行。在 Run a command (运行命令) 页面上,如果选择这些文档之一,并选择 Choose instances manually (手动选择实例),将仅列出您的 Windows 实例,并且仅有它们可供选择。

解决方案 5:确认您在与 Amazon EC2 实例相同的 Amazon Web Services 区域 中工作。

Amazon EC2 实例将在特定 Amazon Web Services 区域 中创建和使用,例如美国东部(俄亥俄)区域 (us-east-2) 或欧洲(爱尔兰)区域 (eu-west-1)。确保您在与要使用的 Amazon EC2 实例相同的 Amazon Web Services 区域 中工作。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Web Services Management Console 入门中的选择区域

解决方案 6:验证应用于托管式节点上 SSM Agent 的代理配置

确认应用于托管式节点上 SSM Agent 的代理配置正确无误。如果代理配置不正确,则节点将无法连接到所需的服务终端节点,或者 Systems Manager 可能错误识别托管式节点的操作系统。有关更多信息,请参阅 将 SSM Agent 配置为使用代理 (Linux)配置 SSM Agent以使用 Windows Server 实例的代理

解决方案 7:在托管式实例上安装 TLS 证书

必须在与 Amazon Systems Manager 一起使用的每个托管实例上安装传输层安全性 (TLS) 证书。Amazon 服务使用这些证书加密对其他 Amazon 服务的调用。

默认情况下,从任何 Amazon Machine Image (AMI) 创建的每个 Amazon EC2 实例上都已安装 TLS 证书。大多数现代操作系统在其信任存储中包含来自 Amazon Trust Services CA 的所需 TLS 证书。

要验证实例上是否已安装所需的证书,请根据实例的操作系统运行以下命令。务必将 URL 的 region 部分替换为托管式实例所在的 Amazon Web Services 区域。

Linux & macOS
curl -L https://ssm.region.amazonaws.com
Windows
Invoke-WebRequest -Uri https://ssm.region.amazonaws.com

命令应返回 UnknownOperationException 错误。如果您收到 SSL/TLS 错误消息,可能未安装所需的证书。

如果您发现所需的 Amazon Trust Services CA 证书未安装在您的基本操作系统、从并非由 Amazon 提供的 AMIs 创建的实例上或您自己的本地服务器和虚拟机上,则必须安装并允许来自 Amazon Trust Services 的证书,或使用 Amazon Certificate Manager (ACM) 为受支持的集成服务创建和管理证书。

每个托管实例都必须安装以下传输层安全性 (TLS) 证书之一。

  • Amazon Root CA 1

  • Starfield Services Root Certificate Authority – G2

  • Starfield Class 2 Certificate Authority

有关使用 ACM 的信息,请参阅 Amazon Certificate Manager 用户指南

如果您的计算环境中的证书由组策略对象 (GPO) 进行托管,则您可能需要将组策略配置为包含其中一个证书。

有关 Amazon Root 和 Starfield 证书的更多信息,请参阅博客文章 How to Prepare for Amazon’s Move to Its Own Certificate Authority