Subnet CIDR blocks - Amazon Virtual Private Cloud
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Subnet CIDR blocks

The IP addresses for your subnets are represented using Classless Inter-Domain Routing (CIDR) notation. The CIDR block of a subnet can be the same as the CIDR block for the VPC (to create a single subnet in the VPC), or a subset of the CIDR block for the VPC (to create multiple subnets in the VPC). If you create more than one subnet in a VPC, the CIDR blocks of the subnets cannot overlap.

For example, if you create a VPC with CIDR block 10.0.0.0/24, it supports 256 IP addresses. You can break this CIDR block into two subnets, each supporting 128 IP addresses. One subnet uses CIDR block 10.0.0.0/25 (for addresses 10.0.0.0 - 10.0.0.127) and the other uses CIDR block 10.0.0.128/25 (for addresses 10.0.0.128 - 10.0.0.255).


        A VPC with CIDR block 10.0.0.0/24 divided into two subnets.

There are tools available on the internet to help you calculate and create IPv4 and IPv6 subnet CIDR blocks. You can find tools that suit your needs by searching for terms such as 'subnet calculator' or 'CIDR calculator'. Your network engineering group can also help you determine the IPv4 and IPv6 CIDR blocks to specify for your subnets.

Subnet sizing for IPv4

The allowed IPv4 CIDR block size for a subnet is between a /28 netmask and /16 netmask. The first four IP addresses and the last IP address in each subnet CIDR block are not available for your use, and they cannot be assigned to a resource, such as an EC2 instance. For example, in a subnet with CIDR block 10.0.0.0/24, the following five IP addresses are reserved:

  • 10.0.0.0: Network address.

  • 10.0.0.1: Reserved by Amazon for the VPC router.

  • 10.0.0.2: Reserved by Amazon. The IP address of the DNS server is the base of the VPC network range plus two. For VPCs with multiple CIDR blocks, the IP address of the DNS server is located in the primary CIDR. We also reserve the base of each subnet range plus two for all CIDR blocks in the VPC. For more information, see Amazon DNS server.

  • 10.0.0.3: Reserved by Amazon for future use.

  • 10.0.0.255: Network broadcast address. We do not support broadcast in a VPC, therefore we reserve this address.

If you create a subnet using a command line tool or the Amazon EC2 API, the CIDR block is automatically modified to its canonical form. For example, if you specify 100.68.0.18/18 for the CIDR block, we create a CIDR block of 100.68.0.0/18.

Subnet sizing for IPv6

If you've associated an IPv6 CIDR block with your VPC, you can associate an IPv6 CIDR block with an existing subnet in your VPC, or when you create a new subnet. Possible IPv6 netmask lengths are between /44 and /64 in increments of /4.

There are tools available on the internet to help you calculate and create IPv6 subnet CIDR blocks. You can find tools that suit your needs by searching for terms such as 'IPv6 subnet calculator' or 'IPv6 CIDR calculator'. Your network engineering group can also help you determine the IPv6 CIDR blocks to specify for your subnets.

The first four IPv6 addresses and the last IPv6 address in each subnet CIDR block are not available for your use, and they cannot be assigned to an EC2 instance. For example, in a subnet with CIDR block 2001:db8:1234:1a00/64, the following five IP addresses are reserved:

  • 2001:db8:1234:1a00::

  • 2001:db8:1234:1a00::1: Reserved by Amazon for the VPC router.

  • 2001:db8:1234:1a00::2

  • 2001:db8:1234:1a00::3

  • 2001:db8:1234:1a00:ffff:ffff:ffff:ffff

In addition to the IP address reserved by Amazon for the VPC router in the example above, the following IPv6 addresses are reserved for the default VPC router:

  • A link-local IPv6 address in the FE80::/10 range generated using EUI-64. For more information about link-local addresses, see Link-local address.

  • The link-local IPv6 address FE80:ec2::1.

If you need to communicate with the VPC router over IPv6, you can configure your applications to communicate with whichever address best fits your need.

子网 CIDR 块 - Amazon Virtual Private Cloud
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

子网 CIDR 块

您的子网的 IP 地址以无类别域间路由(CIDR)表示法表示。子网的 CIDR 块可以与 VPC 的 CIDR 块相同(用于在 VPC 中创建单个子网),也可以是 VPC 的 CIDR 块的一个子集(用于在 VPC 中创建多个子网)。如果您在 VPC 中创建多个子网,子网的 CIDR 块不能重叠。

例如,如果创建其 CIDR 块为 10.0.0.0/24 的 VPC,则它支持 256 个 IP 地址。您可以将这个 CIDR 块分散到两个子网,每个子网支持 128 个 IP 地址。一个子网使用 CIDR 块 10.0.0.0/25 (对于地址 10.0.0.0 - 10.0.0.127),另一个子网使用 CIDR 块 10.0.0.128/25 (对于地址 10.0.0.128 - 10.0.0.255)。


        具有 CIDR 块 10.0.0.0/24 的 VPC,分为两个子网。

互联网上提供的工具可帮助您计算和创建 IPv4 和 IPv6 子网 CIDR 块。您可以通过搜索“子网计算器”或“CIDR 计算器”等术语来找到满足您需求的工具。您的网络工程组也可以帮助您判断可为子网指定哪些具体 IPv4 和 IPv6 CIDR 块。

IPv4 的子网定型

子网允许的 IPv4 CIDR 块大小在 /28 网络掩码与 /16 网络掩码之间。每个子网 CIDR 块中的前四个 IP 地址和最后一个 IP 地址无法供您使用,而且无法分配给任何资源(例如 EC2 实例)。例如,在具有 CIDR 块 10.0.0.0/24 的子网中,以下五个 IP 地址是保留的:

  • 10.0.0.0:网络地址。

  • 10.0.0.1:由 Amazon 保留,用于 VPC 路由器。

  • 10.0.0.2:由 Amazon 保留。DNS 服务器的 IP 地址是 VPC 网络范围的基址 + 2。对于包含多个 CIDR 块的 VPC,DNS 服务器的 IP 地址位于主要 CIDR 中。我们还为 VPC 中的所有 CIDR 块预留了每个子网范围加二的基址。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon DNS 服务器

  • 10.0.0.3:由 Amazon 保留,以供将来使用。

  • 10.0.0.255:网络广播地址。我们在 VPC 中不支持广播,因此我们会保留此地址。

如果您使用命令行工具或 Amazon EC2 API 创建子网,则系统会自动将 CIDR 块修改为其规范形式。例如,假设您为 CIDR 块指定 100.68.0.18/18,我们将创建一个 CIDR 块 100.68.0.0/18。

IPv6 的子网定型

如果您已向 VPC 关联 IPv6 CIDR 块,则可以将 IPv6 CIDR 块与 VPC 中的现有子网关联,或在创建新子网时执行此操作。可能的 IPv6 网络掩码长度介于 /44/64 之间,增量为 /4

互联网上提供的工具可帮助您计算和创建 IPv6 子网 CIDR 块。您可以通过搜索“IPv6 子网计算器”或“IPv6 CIDR 计算器”等术语来查找满足您需求的工具。您的网络工程组也可以帮助您判断可为您的子网指定哪些具体 IPv6 CIDR 块。

每个子网 CIDR 块中的前四个 IPv6 地址和最后一个 IPv6 地址无法供您使用,而且无法分配给 EC2 实例。例如,在具有 CIDR 块 2001:db8:1234:1a00/64 的子网中,以下五个 IP 地址是保留的:

  • 2001:db8:1234:1a00::

  • 2001:db8:1234:1a00::1:由 Amazon 保留,用于 VPC 路由器。

  • 2001:db8:1234:1a00::2

  • 2001:db8:1234:1a00::3

  • 2001:db8:1234:1a00:ffff:ffff:ffff:ffff

除了上述示例中 Amazon 为 VPC 路由器预留的 IP 地址外,还为默认 VPC 路由器预留了以下 IPv6 地址:

  • 使用 EUI-64 生成的位于 FE80::/10 范围内的链路本地 IPv6 地址。有关链路本地地址的更多信息,请参阅链路本地地址

  • 链路本地 IPv6 地址 FE80:ec2::1

如果您需要通过 IPv6 与 VPC 路由器通信,您可以将应用程序配置为与最适合您需求的地址通信。