NAT gateways - Amazon Virtual Private Cloud
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

NAT gateways

A NAT gateway is a Network Address Translation (NAT) service. You can use a NAT gateway so that instances in a private subnet can connect to services outside your VPC but external services cannot initiate a connection with those instances.

When you create a NAT gateway, you specify one of the following connectivity types:

  • Public – (Default) Instances in private subnets can connect to the internet through a public NAT gateway, but cannot receive unsolicited inbound connections from the internet. You create a public NAT gateway in a public subnet and must associate an elastic IP address with the NAT gateway at creation. You route traffic from the NAT gateway to the internet gateway for the VPC. Alternatively, you can use a public NAT gateway to connect to other VPCs or your on-premises network. In this case, you route traffic from the NAT gateway through a transit gateway or a virtual private gateway.

  • Private – Instances in private subnets can connect to other VPCs or your on-premises network through a private NAT gateway. You can route traffic from the NAT gateway through a transit gateway or a virtual private gateway. You cannot associate an elastic IP address with a private NAT gateway. You can attach an internet gateway to a VPC with a private NAT gateway, but if you route traffic from the private NAT gateway to the internet gateway, the internet gateway drops the traffic.

The NAT gateway replaces the source IP address of the instances with the IP address of the NAT gateway. For a public NAT gateway, this is the elastic IP address of the NAT gateway. For a private NAT gateway, this is the private IP address of the NAT gateway. When sending response traffic to the instances, the NAT device translates the addresses back to the original source IP address.

Pricing

When you provision a NAT gateway, you are charged for each hour that your NAT gateway is available and each Gigabyte of data that it processes. For more information, see Amazon VPC Pricing.

The following strategies can help you reduce the data transfer charges for your NAT gateway:

  • If your Amazon resources send or receive a significant volume of traffic across Availability Zones, ensure that the resources are in the same Availability Zone as the NAT gateway, or create a NAT gateway in the same Availability Zone as the resources.

  • If most traffic through your NAT gateway is to Amazon services that support interface endpoints or gateway endpoints, consider creating an interface endpoint or gateway endpoint for these services. For more information about the potential cost savings, see Amazon PrivateLink pricing.

NAT gateway basics

Each NAT gateway is created in a specific Availability Zone and implemented with redundancy in that zone. There is a quota on the number of NAT gateways that you can create in each Availability Zone. For more information, see Amazon VPC quotas.

If you have resources in multiple Availability Zones and they share one NAT gateway, and if the NAT gateway’s Availability Zone is down, resources in the other Availability Zones lose internet access. To create an Availability Zone-independent architecture, create a NAT gateway in each Availability Zone and configure your routing to ensure that resources use the NAT gateway in the same Availability Zone.

The following characteristics and rules apply to NAT gateways:

  • A NAT gateway supports the following protocols: TCP, UDP, and ICMP.

  • NAT gateways are supported for IPv4 or IPv6 traffic. For IPv6 traffic, NAT gateway performs NAT64. By using this in conjunction with DNS64 (available on Route 53 resolver), your IPv6 workloads in a subnet in Amazon VPC can communicate with IPv4 resources. These IPv4 services may be present in the same VPC (in a separate subnet) or a different VPC, on your on-premises environment or on the internet.

  • A NAT gateway supports 5 Gbps of bandwidth and automatically scales up to 100 Gbps. If you require more bandwidth, you can split your resources into multiple subnets and create a NAT gateway in each subnet.

  • A NAT gateway can process one million packets per second and automatically scales up to ten million packets per second. Beyond this limit, a NAT gateway will drop packets. To prevent packet loss, split your resources into multiple subnets and create a separate NAT gateway for each subnet.

  • A NAT gateway can support up to 55,000 simultaneous connections to each unique destination. This limit also applies if you create approximately 900 connections per second to a single destination (about 55,000 connections per minute). If the destination IP address, the destination port, or the protocol (TCP/UDP/ICMP) changes, you can create an additional 55,000 connections. For more than 55,000 connections, there is an increased chance of connection errors due to port allocation errors. These errors can be monitored by viewing the ErrorPortAllocation CloudWatch metric for your NAT gateway. For more information, see Monitor NAT gateways with Amazon CloudWatch.

  • You can associate exactly one Elastic IP address with a public NAT gateway. You cannot disassociate an Elastic IP address from a NAT gateway after it's created. To use a different Elastic IP address for your NAT gateway, you must create a new NAT gateway with the required address, update your route tables, and then delete the existing NAT gateway if it's no longer required.

  • A private NAT gateway receives an available private IP address from the subnet in which it is configured. The assigned private IP address persists until you delete the private NAT gateway. You cannot detach the private IP address and you cannot attach additional private IP addresses.

  • You cannot associate a security group with a NAT gateway. You can associate security groups with your instances to control inbound and outbound traffic.

  • You can use a network ACL to control the traffic to and from the subnet for your NAT gateway. NAT gateways use ports 1024–65535. For more information, see Control traffic to subnets using Network ACLs.

  • A NAT gateway receives a network interface that's automatically assigned a private IP address from the IP address range of the subnet. You can view the network interface for the NAT gateway using the Amazon EC2 console. For more information, see Viewing details about a network interface. You cannot modify the attributes of this network interface.

  • A NAT gateway cannot be accessed through a ClassicLink connection that is associated with your VPC.

  • You cannot route traffic to a NAT gateway through a VPC peering connection, a Site-to-Site VPN connection, or Amazon Direct Connect. A NAT gateway cannot be used by resources on the other side of these connections.

Control the use of NAT gateways

By default, IAM users do not have permission to work with NAT gateways. You can create an IAM user policy that grants users permissions to create, describe, and delete NAT gateways. For more information, see Identity and access management for Amazon VPC.

Work with NAT gateways

You can use the Amazon VPC console to create and manage your NAT gateways.

Create a NAT gateway

To create a NAT gateway, enter an optional name, a subnet, and an optional connectivity type. With a public NAT gateway, you must specify an available elastic IP address. A private NAT gateway receives a primary private IP address selected at random from its subnet. You cannot detach the primary private IP address or add secondary private IP addresses.

To create a NAT gateway

  1. Open the Amazon VPC console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/vpc/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose NAT Gateways.

  3. Choose Create NAT Gateway and do the following:

    1. (Optional) Specify a name for the NAT gateway. This creates a tag where the key is Name and the value is the name that you specify.

    2. Select the subnet in which to create the NAT gateway.

    3. For Connectivity type, select Private to create a private NAT gateway or Public (the default) to create a public NAT gateway.

    4. (Public NAT gateway only) For Elastic IP allocation ID, select an Elastic IP address to associate with the NAT gateway.

    5. (Optional) For each tag, choose Add new tag and enter the key name and value.

    6. Choose Create a NAT Gateway.

  4. The initial status of the NAT gateway is Pending. After the status changes to Available, the NAT gateway is ready for you to use. Be sure to update your route tables as needed. For examples, see NAT gateway use cases.

    If the status of the NAT gateway changes to Failed, there was an error during creation. For more information, see NAT gateway creation fails.

Tag a NAT gateway

You can tag your NAT gateway to help you identify it or categorize it according to your organization's needs. For information about working with tags, see Tagging your Amazon EC2 resources in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Linux Instances.

Cost allocation tags are supported for NAT gateways. Therefore, you can also use tags to organize your Amazon bill and reflect your own cost structure. For more information, see Using cost allocation tags in the Amazon Billing User Guide. For more information about setting up a cost allocation report with tags, see Monthly cost allocation report in About Amazon Account Billing.

Delete a NAT gateway

If you no longer need a NAT gateway, you can delete it. After you delete a NAT gateway, its entry remains visible in the Amazon VPC console for about an hour, after which it's automatically removed. You cannot remove this entry yourself.

Deleting a NAT gateway disassociates its Elastic IP address, but does not release the address from your account. If you delete a NAT gateway, the NAT gateway routes remain in a blackhole status until you delete or update the routes.

To delete a NAT gateway

  1. Open the Amazon VPC console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/vpc/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose NAT Gateways.

  3. Select the radio button for the NAT gateway, and then choose Actions, Delete NAT gateway.

  4. When prompted for confirmation, enter delete and then choose Delete.

  5. If you no longer need the Elastic IP address that was associated with a public NAT gateway, we recommend that you release it. For more information, see Release an Elastic IP address.

API and CLI overview

You can perform the tasks described on this page using the command line or API. For more information about the command line interfaces and a list of available API operations, see Working with Amazon VPC.

Create a NAT gateway

Describe a NAT gateway

Tag a NAT gateway

Delete a NAT gateway

NAT 网关 - Amazon Virtual Private Cloud
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

NAT 网关

NAT 网关是一种网络地址转换 (NAT) 服务。您可以使用 NAT 网关,以便私有子网中的实例可以连接到 VPC 外部的服务,但外部服务无法启动与这些实例的连接。

在创建 NAT 网关时,您指定以下连接类型之一:

  • 公开 –(默认)私有子网中的实例可以通过公共 NAT 网关连接到互联网,但不能接收来自互联网的未经请求的入站连接。您在公有子网中创建公有 NAT 网关,并且必须在创建时将弹性 IP 地址与 NAT 网关相关联。您可以将流量从 NAT 网关路由到 VPC 的互联网网关。或者,您可以使用公有 NAT 网关连接到其他 VPC 或本地部署网络。在这种情况下,您可以借助中转网关或虚拟私有网关路由来自 NAT 网关的流量。

  • 私密 – 私有子网中的实例可以通过私有 NAT 网关连接到其他 VPC 或您的本地部署网络。您可以借助中转网关或虚拟私有网关路由来自 NAT 网关的流量。您不能将弹性 IP 地址与私有 NAT 网关相关联。您可以将互联网网关连接到具有私有 NAT 网关的 VPC,但如果您将流量从私有 NAT 网关路由到互联网网关,则互联网网关会丢弃流量。

NAT 网关将实例的源 IP 地址替换为 NAT 网关的 IP 地址。对于公有 NAT 网关,这是 NAT 网关的弹性 IP 地址。对于私有 NAT 网关,这是 NAT 网关的私有 IP 地址。向实例发送响应流量时,NAT 设备会将地址转换回原始源 IP 地址。

定价

当您预置 NAT 网关时,NAT 网关可用的每个小时及其处理的每个 GB 数据都需支付费用。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon VPC 定价

以下策略可帮助您降低 NAT 网关的数据传输费用:

  • 如果您的 Amazon 资源会跨可用区发送或接收大量流量,则请确保资源与 NAT 网关位于同一可用区,或者在与资源相同的可用区中创建 NAT 网关。

  • 如果通过 NAT 网关的大多数流量是到支持接口端点或网关端点的 Amazon 服务,则请考虑为这些服务创建接口端点或网关端点。有关潜在成本节约的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon PrivateLink 定价

NAT 网关基础知识

每个 NAT 网关都在特定可用区中创建,并在该可用区进行冗余实施。您可以在每个可用区中创建的 NAT 网关存在数量配额。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon VPC 配额

如果您在多个可用区中拥有资源并且它们共享一个 NAT 网关,如果该 NAT 网关的可用区不可用,其他可用区中的资源将无法访问 Internet。要创建不依赖于可用区的架构,请在每个可用区中都创建一个 NAT 网关,并配置路由以确保这些资源使用自身可用区中的 NAT 网关。

以下特征和规则适用于 NAT 网关:

  • NAT 网关支持以下协议:TCP、UDP 和 ICMP。

  • IPv4 或 IPv6 流量支持 NAT 网关。对于 IPv6 流量,NAT 网关将执行 NAT64。通过与 DNS64 结合使用(在 Route 53 Resolver 上可用),Amazon VPC 子网中的 IPv6 工作负载可以与 IPv4 资源进行通信。这些 IPv4 服务可能存在于同一 VPC(在单独子网中)或其他 VPC、本地环境或互联网上。

  • NAT 网关支持 5 Gbps 带宽并会自动扩展到 45 Gbps。如果您需要更大的带宽,您可以将资源拆分到多个子网中,并在每个子网中创建 NAT 网关。

  • NAT 网关可以每秒处理一百万个数据包,并自动扩展到每秒 400 万个数据包。超出此限制后,NAT 网关将丢弃数据包。为防止数据包丢失,请将资源拆分到多个子网中,并为每个子网中创建单独的 NAT 网关。

  • 对于每个唯一目的地,NAT 网关最多可以支持 55000 个并发连接。如果您每秒创建了大约 900 个与单个目的地的连接 (大约每分钟 55,000 个连接),该限制也适用。如果目的地 IP 地址、目的地端口或协议 (TCP/UDP/ICMP) 发生更改,则可以再创建 55,000 个连接。若超过 55000 个连接,因接口分配错误导致连接错误的机会将提升。您可以通过查看您的 NAT 网关的 ErrorPortAllocation CloudWatch 指标来监视这些错误。有关更多信息,请参阅 使用 Amazon CloudWatch 监控 NAT 网关

  • 每个公有 NAT 网关只能关联一个弹性 IP 地址。创建弹性 IP 地址后,无法解除该地址与 NAT 网关的关联。如果您需要为 NAT 网关使用不同的弹性 IP 地址,则必须创建具有所需地址的新 NAT 网关,更新路由表,然后删除现有 NAT 网关 (如果不再需要)。

  • 私有 NAT 网关从配置该网关的子网接收可用的私有 IP 地址。您无法分离此私有 IP 地址,也无法附加其他私有 IP 地址。

  • 不能为 NAT 网关关联安全组。您可以将安全组与实例相关联,以控制入站和出站流量。

  • 您可以使用网络 ACL 控制进出 NAT 网关所在子网的流量。NAT 网关使用端口 1024–65535。有关更多信息,请参阅 使用网络 ACL 控制指向子网的流量

  • NAT 网关会收到一个网络接口,该网络接口从子网的 IP 地址范围自动分配一个私有 IP 地址。您可以在 Amazon EC2 控制台中查看 NAT 网关的网络接口。有关更多信息,请参阅查看有关网络接口的详细信息。此网络接口的属性不可修改。

  • 不能通过与 VPC 关联的 ClassicLink 连接来访问 NAT 网关。

  • 无法通过 VPC 对等连接、Site-to-Site VPN 连接或 Amazon Direct Connect 将流量路由到 NAT 网关 这些连接另一端的资源不能使用 NAT 网关。

控制 NAT 网关的使用

默认情况下,IAM 用户无权使用 NAT 网关。您可以创建一个 IAM 用户策略,以向用户授予创建、描述和删除 NAT 网关的权限。有关更多信息,请参阅 适用于 Amazon VPC 的 Identity and Access Management

使用 NAT 网关

您可以使用 Amazon VPC 控制台创建和管理 NAT 网关。也可以使用 Amazon VPC 向导创建具有公有子网、私有子网和 NAT 网关的 VPC。有关更多信息,请参阅 带有公有和私有子网的 VPC (NAT)

创建 NAT 网关

要创建 NAT 网关,请输入可选名称、子网和可选连接类型。使用公有 NAT 网关,您必须指定可用的弹性 IP 地址。私有 NAT 网关会收到一个随机从其子网中选择的主要私有 IP 地址。您不能分离主要私有 IP 地址或添加辅助私有 IP 地址。

创建 NAT 网关

  1. 通过以下网址打开 Amazon VPC 控制台:https://console.aws.amazon.com/vpc/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择 NAT Gateways

  3. 选择 Create NAT Gateway(创建 NAT 网关)并执行以下操作:

    1. (可选)指定 NAT 网关的名称。这将创建一个标签,其中键为 Name,值是您指定的名称。

    2. 选择要在其中创建 NAT 网关的子网。

    3. 对于 Connectivity type (连接类型),选择 Private (私有) 可创建私有 NAT 网关,或者 Public (公有)(默认值)可创建公有 NAT 网关。

    4. (仅限公有 NAT 网关)对于 Elastic IP allocation ID (弹性 IP 分配 ID),选择要与 NAT 网关关联的弹性 IP 地址。

    5. (可选)对于每个标签,选择 Add new tag(添加新标签),然后输入键名称和值。

    6. 选择 Create a NAT Gateway (创建 NAT 网关)

  4. NAT 网关的初始状态为 Pending。状态更改为 Available 后,NAT 网关即可供您使用。将路由到 NAT 网关添加到私有子网的路由表,并将路由添加到 NAT 网关的路由表中。

    如果 NAT 网关的状态变成 Failed,则表示在创建过程中发生了错误。有关更多信息,请参阅 NAT 网关创建失败

标记 NAT 网关

您可以对 NAT 网关进行标记,以帮助您识别它或根据组织的需要对其进行分类。有关使用标签的信息,请参阅适用于 Linux 实例的 Amazon EC2 用户指南 中的标记您的 Amazon EC2 资源

对于 NAT 网关支持成本分配标签。因此,您还可以使用标签来整理 Amazon 账单并反映您自己的成本结构。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Billing and Cost Management 用户指南中的使用成本分配标签。有关设置包含标签的成本分配报告的更多信息,请参阅关于 Amazon 账户账单中的月度成本分配报告

删除 NAT 网关

您可以删除不再需要的 NAT 网关。删除 NAT 网关之后,其条目在一小时左右在 Amazon VPC 控制台中保持可见,在此之后自动删除。您无法自己删除此条目。

删除 NAT 网关会解除其弹性 IP 地址关联,但不会从您的账户释放该地址。如果删除 NAT 网关,则 NAT 网关路由会保留为 blackhole 状态,直到您删除或更新这些路由。

删除 NAT 网关

  1. 通过以下网址打开 Amazon VPC 控制台:https://console.aws.amazon.com/vpc/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择 NAT Gateways

  3. 选择 NAT 网关对应的单选按钮,然后选择 Actions(操作)、Delete NAT gateway(删除 NAT 网关)。

  4. 提示进行确认时,输入 delete,然后选择 Delete(删除)。

  5. 如果您不再需要与公有 NAT 网关关联的弹性 IP 地址,建议您释放该地址。有关更多信息,请参阅 释放弹性 IP 地址

API 和 CLI 概述

您可以使用命令行或 API 执行此页面上介绍的任务。有关命令行界面的更多信息以及可用 API 操作的列表,请参阅 访问 Amazon VPC

创建 NAT 网关

描述 NAT 网关

标记 NAT 网关

删除 NAT 网关