Amazon X-Ray identity-based policy examples - Amazon X-Ray
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Amazon X-Ray identity-based policy examples

By default, IAM users and roles don't have permission to create or modify X-Ray resources. They also can't perform tasks using the Amazon Web Services Management Console, Amazon CLI, or Amazon API. An IAM administrator must create IAM policies that grant users and roles permission to perform specific API operations on the specified resources they need. The administrator must then attach those policies to the IAM users or groups that require those permissions.

To learn how to create an IAM identity-based policy using these example JSON policy documents, see Creating Policies on the JSON Tab in the IAM User Guide.

Policy best practices

Identity-based policies determine whether someone can create, access, or delete X-Ray resources in your account. These actions can incur costs for your Amazon Web Services account. When you create or edit identity-based policies, follow these guidelines and recommendations:

  • Get started with Amazon managed policies and move toward least-privilege permissions – To get started granting permissions to your users and workloads, use the Amazon managed policies that grant permissions for many common use cases. They are available in your Amazon Web Services account. We recommend that you reduce permissions further by defining Amazon customer managed policies that are specific to your use cases. For more information, see Amazon managed policies or Amazon managed policies for job functions in the IAM User Guide.

  • Apply least-privilege permissions – When you set permissions with IAM policies, grant only the permissions required to perform a task. You do this by defining the actions that can be taken on specific resources under specific conditions, also known as least-privilege permissions. For more information about using IAM to apply permissions, see Policies and permissions in IAM in the IAM User Guide.

  • Use conditions in IAM policies to further restrict access – You can add a condition to your policies to limit access to actions and resources. For example, you can write a policy condition to specify that all requests must be sent using SSL. You can also use conditions to grant access to service actions if they are used through a specific Amazon Web Service, such as Amazon CloudFormation. For more information, see IAM JSON policy elements: Condition in the IAM User Guide.

  • Use IAM Access Analyzer to validate your IAM policies to ensure secure and functional permissions – IAM Access Analyzer validates new and existing policies so that the policies adhere to the IAM policy language (JSON) and IAM best practices. IAM Access Analyzer provides more than 100 policy checks and actionable recommendations to help you author secure and functional policies. For more information, see IAM Access Analyzer policy validation in the IAM User Guide.

  • Require multi-factor authentication (MFA) – If you have a scenario that requires IAM users or root users in your account, turn on MFA for additional security. To require MFA when API operations are called, add MFA conditions to your policies. For more information, see Configuring MFA-protected API access in the IAM User Guide.

For more information about best practices in IAM, see Security best practices in IAM in the IAM User Guide.

Using the X-Ray console

To access the Amazon X-Ray console, you must have a minimum set of permissions. These permissions must allow you to list and view details about the X-Ray resources in your Amazon account. If you create an identity-based policy that is more restrictive than the minimum required permissions, the console won't function as intended for entities (IAM users or roles) with that policy.

To ensure that those entities can still use the X-Ray console, attach the AWSXRayReadOnlyAccess Amazon managed policy to the entities. This policy is described in more detail in IAM managed policies for X-Ray. For more information, see Adding Permissions to a User in the IAM User Guide.

You don't need to allow minimum console permissions for users that are making calls only to the Amazon CLI or the Amazon API. Instead, allow access to only the actions that match the API operation that you're trying to perform.

Allow users to view their own permissions

This example shows how you might create a policy that allows IAM users to view the inline and managed policies that are attached to their user identity. This policy includes permissions to complete this action on the console or programmatically using the Amazon CLI or Amazon API.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "ViewOwnUserInfo", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "iam:GetUserPolicy", "iam:ListGroupsForUser", "iam:ListAttachedUserPolicies", "iam:ListUserPolicies", "iam:GetUser" ], "Resource": ["arn:aws-cn:iam::*:user/${aws:username}"] }, { "Sid": "NavigateInConsole", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "iam:GetGroupPolicy", "iam:GetPolicyVersion", "iam:GetPolicy", "iam:ListAttachedGroupPolicies", "iam:ListGroupPolicies", "iam:ListPolicyVersions", "iam:ListPolicies", "iam:ListUsers" ], "Resource": "*" } ] }

Managing access to X-Ray groups and sampling rules based on tags

You can use conditions in your identity-based policy to control access to X-Ray groups and sampling rules based on tags. The following example policy could be used to deny an IAM user role the permissions to create, delete, or update groups with the tags stage:prod or stage:preprod. For more information about tagging X-Ray sampling rules and groups, see Tagging X-Ray sampling rules and groups.

To deny a user access to create, update, or delete a group with a tag stage:prod or stage:preprod, assign the user a role with a policy similar to the following.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "AllowAllXRay", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "xray:*", "Resource": "*" }, { "Sid": "DenyCreateGroupWithStage", "Effect": "Deny", "Action": [ "xray:CreateGroup" ], "Resource": "*", "Condition": { "StringEquals": { "aws:RequestTag/stage": [ "preprod", "prod" ] } } }, { "Sid": "DenyUpdateGroupWithStage", "Effect": "Deny", "Action": [ "xray:UpdateGroup", "xray:DeleteGroup" ], "Resource": "*", "Condition": { "StringEquals": { "aws:ResourceTag/stage": [ "preprod", "prod" ] } } } ] }

To deny the creation of a sampling rule, use aws:RequestTag to indicate tags that cannot be passed as part of a creation request. To deny the update or deletion of a sampling rule, use aws:ResourceTag to deny actions based on the tags on those resources.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "AllowAllXRay", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "xray:*", "Resource": "*" }, { "Sid": "DenyCreateSamplingRuleWithStage", "Effect": "Deny", "Action": "xray:CreateSamplingRule", "Resource": "*", "Condition": { "StringEquals": { "aws:RequestTag/stage": [ "preprod", "prod" ] } } }, { "Sid": "DenyUpdateSamplingRuleWithStage", "Effect": "Deny", "Action": [ "xray:UpdateSamplingRule", "xray:DeleteSamplingRule" ], "Resource": "*", "Condition": { "StringEquals": { "aws:ResourceTag/stage": [ "preprod", "prod" ] } } } ] }

You can attach these policies (or combine them into a single policy, then attach the policy) to the IAM users in your account. For the user to make changes to a group or sampling rule, the group or sampling rule must not be tagged stage=prepod or stage=prod. The condition tag key Stage matches both Stage and stage because condition key names are not case-sensitive. For more information about the condition block, see IAM JSON Policy Elements: Condition in the IAM User Guide.

A user with a role that has the following policy attached cannot add the tag role:admin to resources, and cannot remove tags from a resource that has role:admin associated with it.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "AllowAllXRay", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "xray:*", "Resource": "*" }, { "Sid": "DenyRequestTagAdmin", "Effect": "Deny", "Action": "xray:TagResource", "Resource": "*", "Condition": { "StringEquals": { "aws:RequestTag/role": "admin" } } }, { "Sid": "DenyResourceTagAdmin", "Effect": "Deny", "Action": "xray:UntagResource", "Resource": "*", "Condition": { "StringEquals": { "aws:ResourceTag/role": "admin" } } } ] }

IAM managed policies for X-Ray

To make granting permissions easy, IAM supports managed policies for each service. A service can update these managed policies with new permissions when it releases new APIs. Amazon X-Ray provides managed policies for read only, write only, and administrator use cases.

  • AWSXrayReadOnlyAccess – Read permissions for using the X-Ray console, Amazon CLI, or Amazon SDK to get trace data and service maps from the X-Ray API. Includes permission to view sampling rules. The BatchGetTraceSummaryById and GetDistinctTraceGraphs API actions are not intended to be called by your code. Therefore, these API actions are not included in the Amazon CLI and Amazon SDKs.

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "xray:GetSamplingRules", "xray:GetSamplingTargets", "xray:GetSamplingStatisticSummaries", "xray:BatchGetTraces", "xray:BatchGetTraceSummaryById", "xray:GetDistinctTraceGraphs", "xray:GetServiceGraph", "xray:GetTraceGraph", "xray:GetTraceSummaries", "xray:GetGroups", "xray:GetGroup", "xray:ListTagsForResource", "xray:ListResourcePolicies", "xray:GetTimeSeriesServiceStatistics", "xray:GetInsightSummaries", "xray:GetInsight", "xray:GetInsightEvents", "xray:GetInsightImpactGraph" ], "Resource": [ "*" ] } ] }
  • AWSXRayDaemonWriteAccess – Write permissions for using the X-Ray daemon, Amazon CLI, or Amazon SDK to upload segment documents and telemetry to the X-Ray API. Includes read permissions to get sampling rules and report sampling results.

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "xray:PutTraceSegments", "xray:PutTelemetryRecords", "xray:GetSamplingRules", "xray:GetSamplingTargets", "xray:GetSamplingStatisticSummaries" ], "Resource": [ "*" ] } ] }
  • AWSXrayFullAccess – Permission to use all X-Ray APIs, including read permissions, write permissions, and permission to configure encryption key settings and sampling rules.

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "xray:*" ], "Resource": [ "*" ] } ] }

To add a managed policy to an IAM user, group, or role

  1. Open the IAM console.

  2. Open the role associated with your instance profile, an IAM user, or an IAM group.

  3. Under Permissions, attach the managed policy.

X-Ray updates to Amazon managed policies

View details about updates to Amazon managed policies for X-Ray since this service began tracking these changes. For automatic alerts about changes to this page, subscribe to the RSS feed on the X-Ray Document history page.

Change Description Date

IAM managed policies for X-Ray – Update to AWSXrayReadOnlyAccess policy.

X-Ray added an API action, ListResourcePolicies.

November 15, 2022

Using the X-Ray console – Update to AWSXrayReadOnlyAccess policy

X-Ray added two new API actions, BatchGetTraceSummaryById and GetDistinctTraceGraphs.

These actions are not intended to be called by your code. Therefore, these API actions are not included in the Amazon CLI and Amazon SDKs.

November 11, 2022

Specifying a resource within an IAM policy

You can control access to resources by using an IAM policy. For actions that support resource-level permissions, you use an Amazon Resource Name (ARN) to identify the resource that the policy applies to.

All X-Ray actions can be used in an IAM policy to grant or deny users permission to use that action. However, not all X-Ray actions support resource-level permissions, which enable you to specify the resources on which an action can be performed.

For actions that don't support resource-level permissions, you must use "*" as the resource.

The following X-Ray actions support resource-level permissions:

  • CreateGroup

  • GetGroup

  • UpdateGroup

  • DeleteGroup

  • CreateSamplingRule

  • UpdateSamplingRule

  • DeleteSamplingRule

The following is an example of an identity-based permissions policy for a CreateGroup action. The example shows the use of an ARN relating to Group name local-users with the unique ID as a wildcard. The unique ID is generated when the group is created, and so it can't be predicted in the policy in advance. When using GetGroup, UpdateGroup, or DeleteGroup, you can define this as either a wildcard or the exact ARN, including ID.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "xray:CreateGroup" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:xray:eu-west-1:123456789012:group/local-users/*" ] } ] }

The following is an example of an identity-based permissions policy for a CreateSamplingRule action.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "xray:CreateSamplingRule" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:xray:eu-west-1:123456789012:sampling-rule/base-scorekeep" ] } ] }
Note

The ARN of a sampling rule is defined by its name. Unlike group ARNs, sampling rules have no uniquely generated ID.

Amazon X-Ray 基于身份的策略示例 - Amazon X-Ray
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

Amazon X-Ray 基于身份的策略示例

默认情况下,IAM 用户和角色没有创建或修改 X-Ray 资源的权限。它们还无法使用 Amazon Web Services Management Console、Amazon CLI 或 Amazon API 执行任务。IAM 管理员必须创建 IAM policy,以便为用户和角色授予权限以对所需的指定资源执行特定的 API 操作。然后,管理员必须将这些策略附加到需要这些权限的 IAM 用户或组。

要了解如何使用这些示例 JSON 策略文档创建 IAM 基于身份的策略,请参阅 IAM 用户指南 中的在 JSON 选项卡上创建策略

策略最佳实践

基于身份的策略确定某个人是否可以创建、访问或删除您账户中的 X-Ray 资源。这些操作可能会使 Amazon Web Services 账户 产生成本。创建或编辑基于身份的策略时,请遵循以下准则和建议:

  • Amazon 托管策略及转向最低权限许可入门 - 要开始向用户和工作负载授予权限,请使用 Amazon 托管策略来为许多常见使用场景授予权限。您可以在 Amazon Web Services 账户 中找到这些策略。我们建议通过定义特定于您的使用场景的 Amazon 客户管理型策略来进一步减少权限。有关更多信息,请参阅《IAM 用户指南》中的 Amazon 托管策略工作职能的 Amazon 托管策略

  • 应用最低权限 – 在使用 IAM 策略设置权限时,请仅授予执行任务所需的权限。为此,您可以定义在特定条件下可以对特定资源执行的操作,也称为最低权限许可。有关使用 IAM 应用权限的更多信息,请参阅《IAM 用户指南》中的 IAM 中的策略和权限

  • 使用 IAM 策略中的条件进一步限制访问权限 – 您可以向策略添加条件来限制对操作和资源的访问。例如,您可以编写策略条件来指定必须使用 SSL 发送所有请求。如果通过特定 Amazon Web Service(例如 Amazon CloudFormation)使用服务操作,您还可以使用条件来授予对服务操作的访问权限。有关更多信息,请参阅 。IAM JSON 策略元素:Condition在里面IAM 用户指南.

  • 使用 IAM Access Analyzer 验证您的 IAM 策略,以确保权限的安全性和功能性 – IAM Access Analyzer 会验证新策略和现有策略,以确保策略符合 IAM 策略语言 (JSON) 和 IAM 最佳实践。IAM Access Analyzer 提供 100 多项策略检查和可操作的建议,以帮助您制定安全且功能性强的策略。有关更多信息,请参阅《IAM 用户指南》中的 IAM Acess Analyzer 策略验证

  • 需要多重身份验证 (MFA) – 如果您的账户需要 IAM 用户或根用户,请启用 MFA 来提高安全性。若要在调用 API 操作时需要 MFA,请将 MFA 条件添加到您的策略中。有关更多信息,请参阅《IAM 用户指南》中的配置受 MFA 保护的 API 访问

有关 IAM 中的最佳实践的更多信息,请参阅《IAM 用户指南》中的 IAM 中的安全最佳实践

使用 X-Ray 控制台

要访问 Amazon X-Ray 控制台,您必须拥有一组最低的权限。这些权限必须允许您列出和查看有关您 X-Ray 资源的详细信息Amazon账户。如果您创建的基于身份的策略比所需的最低权限更严格,则无法为具有该策略的实体(IAM 用户或角色)正常运行控制台。

要确保这些实体仍可使用 X-Ray 控制台,也可附加以下Amazon对实体实施托管策略。有关更多信息,请参阅 IAM 用户指南中的为用户添加权限

AWSXrayReadOnlyAccess

对于只需要调用 Amazon CLI 或 Amazon API 的用户,无需为其提供最低控制台权限。相反,只允许访问与您尝试执行的 API 操作相匹配的操作。

允许用户查看他们自己的权限

该示例说明了您如何创建策略,以允许 IAM 用户查看附加到其用户身份的内联和托管式策略。此策略包括在控制台上完成此操作或者以编程方式使用 Amazon CLI 或 Amazon API 所需的权限。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "ViewOwnUserInfo", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "iam:GetUserPolicy", "iam:ListGroupsForUser", "iam:ListAttachedUserPolicies", "iam:ListUserPolicies", "iam:GetUser" ], "Resource": ["arn:aws:iam::*:user/${aws:username}"] }, { "Sid": "NavigateInConsole", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "iam:GetGroupPolicy", "iam:GetPolicyVersion", "iam:GetPolicy", "iam:ListAttachedGroupPolicies", "iam:ListGroupPolicies", "iam:ListPolicyVersions", "iam:ListPolicies", "iam:ListUsers" ], "Resource": "*" } ] }

根据标签管理对 X-Ray 组和采样规则的访问权限

您可以在基于身份的策略中使用条件,以便基于标签控制对 X-Ray 组和采样规则的访问。以下示例策略可用于拒绝 IAM 用户角色创建、删除或更新带有标签的群组的权限stage:prod要么stage:preprod. 有关标记 X-Ray 采样规则和组的更多信息,请参阅。为 X-Ray 采样规则和组添加标签.

拒绝用户创建、更新或删除带有标签的群组的权限stage:prod要么stage:preprod,请使用策略类似于以下内容的策略向用户分配角色。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "AllowAllXRay", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "xray:*", "Resource": "*" }, { "Sid": "DenyCreateGroupWithStage", "Effect": "Deny", "Action": [ "xray:CreateGroup" ], "Resource": "*", "Condition": { "StringEquals": { "aws:RequestTag/stage": [ "preprod", "prod" ] } } }, { "Sid": "DenyUpdateGroupWithStage", "Effect": "Deny", "Action": [ "xray:UpdateGroup", "xray:DeleteGroup" ], "Resource": "*", "Condition": { "StringEquals": { "aws:ResourceTag/stage": [ "preprod", "prod" ] } } } ] }

要拒绝创建抽样规则,请使用aws:RequestTag表示无法作为创建请求的一部分传递的标签。要拒绝更新或删除抽样规则,请使用aws:ResourceTag以便根据对这些资源上的标签拒绝操作。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "AllowAllXRay", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "xray:*", "Resource": "*" }, { "Sid": "DenyCreateSamplingRuleWithStage", "Effect": "Deny", "Action": "xray:CreateSamplingRule", "Resource": "*", "Condition": { "StringEquals": { "aws:RequestTag/stage": [ "preprod", "prod" ] } } }, { "Sid": "DenyUpdateSamplingRuleWithStage", "Effect": "Deny", "Action": [ "xray:UpdateSamplingRule", "xray:DeleteSamplingRule" ], "Resource": "*", "Condition": { "StringEquals": { "aws:ResourceTag/stage": [ "preprod", "prod" ] } } } ] }

您可以将这些策略(或将它们合并为一个策略,然后附加策略)附加到您账户中的 IAM 用户。要让用户对组或抽样规则进行更改,不得标记该组或抽样规则stage=prepod要么stage=prod. 条件标签键 Stage 匹配 Stagestage,因为条件键名称不区分大小写。有关条件块的更多信息,请参阅。IAM JSON 策略元素:Condition在里面IAM 用户指南.

角色附加了以下策略的用户无法添加标签role:adminto resources,并且无法从资源删除标签role:admin与之相关。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "AllowAllXRay", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "xray:*", "Resource": "*" }, { "Sid": "DenyRequestTagAdmin", "Effect": "Deny", "Action": "xray:TagResource", "Resource": "*", "Condition": { "StringEquals": { "aws:RequestTag/role": "admin" } } }, { "Sid": "DenyResourceTagAdmin", "Effect": "Deny", "Action": "xray:UntagResource", "Resource": "*", "Condition": { "StringEquals": { "aws:ResourceTag/role": "admin" } } } ] }

IAM 托管X-Ray

为了便于授予权限,IAM 支持托管策略对于每项服务。服务在发布新 API 时可以使用新权限更新这些托管策略。Amazon X-Ray为只读、只写和管理员用例提供托管策略。

  • AWSXrayReadOnlyAccess— 使用 X-Ray 控制台的读取权限,Amazon CLI,或Amazon用于从 X-Ray API 获取跟踪数据和服务映射的 SDK。包括查看抽样规则的权限。

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "xray:GetSamplingRules", "xray:GetSamplingTargets", "xray:GetSamplingStatisticSummaries", "xray:BatchGetTraces", "xray:GetServiceGraph", "xray:GetTraceGraph", "xray:GetTraceSummaries", "xray:GetGroups", "xray:GetGroup", "xray:GetTimeSeriesServiceStatistics", "xray:GetInsightSummaries", "xray:GetInsight", "xray:GetInsightEvents", "xray:GetInsightImpactGraph" ], "Resource": [ "*" ] } ] }
  • AWSXRayDaemonWriteAccess— 使用 X-Ray 守护程序的写入权限,Amazon CLI,或Amazon用于将区段文档和遥测数据上传到 X-Ray API 的 SDK。包含获取的读取权限采样规则并报告抽样结果。

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "xray:PutTraceSegments", "xray:PutTelemetryRecords", "xray:GetSamplingRules", "xray:GetSamplingTargets", "xray:GetSamplingStatisticSummaries" ], "Resource": [ "*" ] } ] }
  • AWSXrayFullAccess— 使用所有 X-Ray API 的权限,包括读取权限、写入权限以及配置加密密钥设置和采样规则的权限。

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "xray:*" ], "Resource": [ "*" ] } ] }

将托管策略添加到 IAM 用户、组或角色

  1. 打开 IAM 控制台

  2. 打开与您的实例配置文件、IAM 用户或 IAM 组关联的角色。

  3. Permissions (权限) 下,附加托管策略。

在 IAM 策略中指定资源

您可以使用 IAM 策略控制对资源的访问。对于支持资源级权限的操作,您可以使用 Amazon Resource Name (ARN) 标识策略应用到的资源。

所有 X-Ray 操作都可在 IAM 策略中用于授予或拒绝用户使用该操作的权限。但是,并非全部X-Ray支持资源级权限,这使您能够指定可以对哪些资源执行操作。

对于不支持资源级权限的操作,您必须将“*”作为资源。

下 X-Ray 操作支持资源级权限:

  • CreateGroup

  • GetGroup

  • UpdateGroup

  • DeleteGroup

  • CreateSamplingRule

  • UpdateSamplingRule

  • DeleteSamplingRule

以下是基于身份的权限策略的示例CreateGroup操作。该示例显示了与群组名称相关的 ARN 的用法local-users使用唯一 ID 作为通配符。唯一 ID 是在创建群组时生成的,因此无法在策略中事先预测。使用时GetGroup,UpdateGroup,或DeleteGroup,您可以将其定义为通配符或精确的 ARN,包括 ID。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "xray:CreateGroup" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:xray:eu-west-1:123456789012:group/local-users/*" ] } ] }

以下是基于身份的权限策略的示例CreateSamplingRule操作。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "xray:CreateSamplingRule" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:xray:eu-west-1:123456789012:sampling-rule/base-scorekeep" ] } ] }
注意

抽样规则的 ARN 由其名称定义。与组 ARN 不同,采样规则没有唯一生成的 ID。