Adding custom headers to origin requests - Amazon CloudFront
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Adding custom headers to origin requests

You can configure CloudFront to add custom headers to the requests that it sends to your origin. These custom headers enable you to send and gather information from your origin that you don’t get with typical viewer requests. These headers can even be customized for each origin. CloudFront supports custom headers for both for custom and Amazon S3 origins.

Use cases for origin custom headers

You can use custom headers for a variety of things, such as the following:

Identifying requests from CloudFront

You can identify the requests that your origin receives from CloudFront. This can be useful if you want to know if users are bypassing CloudFront, or if you’re using more than one CDN and you want information about which requests are coming from each CDN.

Note

If you’re using an Amazon S3 origin and you enable Amazon S3 server access logging, the logs don’t include header information.

Determining which requests come from a particular distribution

If you configure more than one CloudFront distribution to use the same origin, you can add different custom headers in each distribution. You can then use the logs from your origin to determine which requests came from which CloudFront distribution.

Enabling cross-origin resource sharing (CORS)

If some of your viewers don’t support cross-origin resource sharing (CORS), you can configure CloudFront to always add the Origin header to requests that it sends to your origin. Then you can configure your origin to return the Access-Control-Allow-Origin header for every request. You must also configure CloudFront to respect CORS settings.

Controlling access to content

You can use custom headers to control access to content. By configuring your origin to respond to requests only when they include a custom header that gets added by CloudFront, you prevent users from bypassing CloudFront and accessing your content directly on the origin. For more information, see Restricting access to files on custom origins.

Configuring CloudFront to add custom headers to origin requests

To configure a distribution to add custom headers to requests that it sends to your origin, update the origin configuration using one of the following methods:

  • CloudFront console – When you create or update a distribution, specify header names and values in the Origin Custom Headers settings. For more information, see Creating a Distribution or Updating a Distribution.

  • CloudFront API – For each origin that you want to add custom headers to, specify the header names and values in the CustomHeaders field inside Origin. For more information, see CreateDistribution or UpdateDistribution.

If the header names and values that you specify are not already present in the viewer request, CloudFront adds them to the origin request. If a header is present, CloudFront overwrites the header value before forwarding the request to the origin.

For the quotas (formerly known as limits) that apply to origin custom headers, see Quotas on headers.

Custom headers that CloudFront can’t add to origin requests

You can’t configure CloudFront to add any of the following headers to requests that it sends to your origin:

  • Cache-Control

  • Connection

  • Content-Length

  • Cookie

  • Host

  • If-Match

  • If-Modified-Since

  • If-None-Match

  • If-Range

  • If-Unmodified-Since

  • Max-Forwards

  • Pragma

  • Proxy-Authorization

  • Proxy-Connection

  • Range

  • Request-Range

  • TE

  • Trailer

  • Transfer-Encoding

  • Upgrade

  • Via

  • Headers that begin with X-Amz-

  • Headers that begin with X-Edge-

  • X-Real-Ip

Configuring CloudFront to forward the Authorization header

When CloudFront forwards a viewer request to your origin, CloudFront removes some viewer headers by default, including the Authorization header. To make sure that your origin always receives the Authorization header in origin requests, you have the following options:

  • Add the Authorization header to the cache key using a cache policy. All headers in the cache key are automatically included in origin requests. For more information, see Controlling the cache key.

  • Use an origin request policy that forwards all viewer headers to the origin. You cannot forward the Authorization header individually in an origin request policy, but when you forward all viewer headers CloudFront includes the Authorization header in viewer requests. CloudFront provides a managed origin request policy for this use case, called Managed-AllViewer. For more information, see Using the managed origin request policies.

向源请求添加自定义标头 - Amazon CloudFront
AWS 文档中描述的 AWS 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 AWS 服务入门

向源请求添加自定义标头

您可以配置 CloudFront 以便向发送到您的源的请求中添加自定义标头。使用这些自定义标头,您可以从源发送和收集通过典型查看器请求无法获得的信息。这些标头甚至可以针对每个源自定义。CloudFront 同时支持自定义和 Amazon S3 源的自定义标头。

注意

添加自定义标头的操作仅适用于 Web 分配。

源自定义标头的使用案例

您可以使用自定义标头执行各种操作,例如:

标识来自 CloudFront 的请求

您可以标识您的源从 CloudFront 接收的请求。如果您想知道用户是否绕过 CloudFront 或者您使用了多个 CDN 并且希望了解有关哪些请求来自每个 CDN 的信息,此功能很有用。

注意

(如果您使用 Amazon S3 源并启用 Amazon S3 服务器访问日志记录,日志将不包含标头信息。)

确定哪些请求来自于特定分配

如果您配置多个 CloudFront 分配以使用相同的源,则可以在每个分配中添加不同的自定义标头。然后,可以使用来自您的源中的日志,确定哪些请求来自于哪个 CloudFront 分配。

允许跨源资源共享 (CORS)

如果您的某些查看器不支持跨源资源共享 (CORS),则可以配置 CloudFront,以便始终将 Origin 标头添加到发送到您的源的请求中。然后,可以配置您的源,以便为每个请求返回 Access-Control-Allow-Origin 标头。您还必须配置 CloudFront 以遵循 CORS 设置

控制对内容的访问

可以使用自定义标头来控制对内容的访问。通过配置源以便仅在请求包含 CloudFront 添加的自定义标头时才响应请求,您可以防止用户绕过 CloudFront 并直接访问源上的内容。有关更多信息,请参阅 在自定义源上限制对文件的访问

配置 CloudFront 以便向源请求添加自定义标头

要配置 Web 分配以便向其发送到源的请求添加自定义标头,请使用以下方法之一更新源配置:

  • CloudFront 控制台 – 在创建或更新分配时,请在源自定义标头设置中指定标头名称和值。有关更多信息,请参阅 创建分配更新分配

  • CloudFront API – 对于要添加自定义标头的每个源,请在 Origin 内部的CustomHeaders 字段中指定标头名称和值。有关更多信息,请参阅 CreateDistributionUpdateDistribution

如果您指定的标头名称和值在查看器请求中尚不存在,CloudFront 会将这些标头名称和值添加到源请求。如果标头存在,CloudFront 会在将请求转发到源之前覆盖该标头值。

有关适用于源自定义标头的配额(以前称为限制),请参阅有关自定义标头的配额(仅限 Web 分配)

CloudFront 无法添加到源请求的自定义标头

您无法配置 CloudFront 以便将以下任意标头添加到发送到您的源的请求:

  • Cache-Control

  • Connection

  • Content-Length

  • Cookie

  • Host

  • If-Match

  • If-Modified-Since

  • If-None-Match

  • If-Range

  • If-Unmodified-Since

  • Max-Forwards

  • Pragma

  • Proxy-Authorization

  • Proxy-Connection

  • Range

  • Request-Range

  • TE

  • Trailer

  • Transfer-Encoding

  • Upgrade

  • Via

  • X-Amz- 开头的标头

  • X-Edge- 开头的标头

  • X-Real-Ip

将 CloudFront 配置为转发授权标头

当它转发请求到您的源时,默认情况下,CloudFront 会删除一些查看器标头,包括授权标头。要始终转发特定缓存行为的授权标头,请将该缓存行为的标头加入白名单。要了解更多信息,请参阅“白名单标头”。