Choosing a network type - Amazon ElastiCache
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Choosing a network type

ElastiCache supports the Internet Protocol versions 4 and 6 (IPv4 and IPv6), allowing you to configure your cluster to accept:

  • only IPv4 connections,

  • only IPv6 connections,

  • both IPv4 and IPv6 connections (dual-stack)

IPv6 is supported for workloads using Memcached engine version 1.6.6 onward on all instances built on the Nitro system. There are no additional charges for accessing ElastiCache over IPv6.

Note

Migration of clusters created prior to the availability of IPV6 / dual-stack is not supported. Switching between network types on newly created clusters is also not supported.

Configuring subnets for network type

If you create a cluster in an Amazon VPC, you must specify a subnet group. ElastiCache uses that subnet group to choose a subnet and IP addresses within that subnet to associate with your nodes. ElastiCache clusters require a dual-stack subnet with both IPv4 and IPv6 addresses assigned to them to operate in dual-stack mode and an IPv6-only subnet to operate as IPv6-only.

Using dual-stack

When you create a cache cluster and choose dual-stack as the network type, you then need to designate an IP discovery type – either IPv4 or IPv6. ElastiCache will default the network type and IP discovery to IPv6, but that can be changed. If you use Auto Discovery, only the IP addresses of your chosen IP type are returned returned to the Memcached client. For more information, see Automatically identify nodes in your cluster.

To maintain backwards compatibility with all existing clients, IP discovery is introduced, which allows you to select the IP type (i.e., IPv4 or IPv6) to advertise in the discovery protocol. While this limits auto discovery to only one IP type, dual-stack is still beneficial thanks to Auto Discovery, as it enables migrations (or rollbacks) from an IPv4 to an IPv6 Discovery IP type with no downtime.

TLS enabled dual stack ElastiCache clusters

When TLS is enabled for ElastiCache clusters the cluster discovery functions config get cluster return hostnames instead of IPs. The hostnames are then used instead of IPs to connect to the ElastiCache cluster and perform a TLS handshake. This means that clients won’t be affected by the IP Discovery parameter. For TLS enabled clusters the IP Discovery parameter has no effect on the preferred IP protocol. Instead, the IP protocol used will be determined by which IP protocol the client prefers when resolving DNS hostnames.

For examples on how to configure an IP protocol preference when resolving DNS hostnames, see TLS enabled dual stack ElastiCache clusters.

Using the Amazon Web Services Management Console

When creating a cache cluster using the Amazon Web Services Management Console, under Connectivity, choose a network type, either IPv4, IPv6 or Dual stack. If you choose dual stack, you then must select a Discovery IP type, either IPv6 or IPv4.

For more information, see Creating a Memcached cluster (console).

Using the CLI

When creating a cache cluster using the CLI, you use the create-cache-cluster command and specify the NetworkType and IPDiscovery parameters:

For Linux, macOS, or Unix:

aws elasticache create-cache-cluster \ --cache-cluster-id "cluster-test" \ --engine memcached \ --cache-node-type cache.m5.large \ --num-cache-nodes 1 \ --network-type dual_stack \ --ip-discovery ipv4

For Windows:

aws elasticache create-cache-cluster ^ --cache-cluster-id "cluster-test" ^ --engine memcached ^ --cache-node-type cache.m5.large ^ --num-cache-nodes 1 ^ --network-type dual_stack ^ --ip-discovery ipv4

选择网络类型 - Amazon ElastiCache
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

选择网络类型

ElastiCache 支持互联网协议版本 4 和 6(IPv4 和 IPv6),允许您将集群配置为接受:

  • 只有 IPv4 连接,

  • 只有 IPv6 连接,

  • 将解为 IPv4 和 IPv6 连接(双堆栈堆栈将解为)

Nitro 系统上构建的所有实例上使用 Memcached 引擎版本 1.6.6 及更高版本的工作负载均支持 IPv6。通过 IPv6 访问 ElastiCache 不额外收费。

注意

不支持迁移在 IPV6 /双栈可用之前创建的集群。也不支持在新创建的集群上切换网络类型。

为网络类型配置子网

如果您在 Amazon VPC 中创建集群,则必须指定一个子网组。ElastiCache 使用该子网组选择与节点关联的子网和子网中的 IP 地址。ElastiCache 集群需要一个双堆栈子网,同时分配 IPv4 和 IPv6 地址才能在双堆栈模式下运行,并需要仅 IPv6 子网才能作为仅 IPv6 运行。

使用双堆栈将解为

创建缓存集群并选择双栈作为网络类型时,您需要指定 IP 发现类型,即 IPv4 或 IPv6。ElastiCache 会将网络类型和 IP 发现默认为 IPv6,但这是可以更改的。如果您使用 Auto Discovery,则仅将所选 IP 类型的 IP 地址返回给 Memcached 客户端。

为了保持与所有现有客户端的向后兼容性,引入了 IP 发现,它允许您在发现协议中选择要通告的 IP 类型(即 IPv4 或 IPv6)。虽然这将auto 发现限制为仅限于一种 IP 类型,但双栈仍然有益于自动发现,因为它允许在不停机的情况下从 IPv4 迁移(或回滚)到 IPv6 发现 IP 类型。

启用 TLS 的双堆栈 ElastiCache 集群

为 ElastiCache 集群启用 TLS 时,集群发现函数 config get cluster 将返回主机名而不是 IP。然后使用主机名代替 IP 来连接到 ElastiCache 集群并执行 TLS 握手。这意味着客户端不会受到 IP 发现参数的影响。对于启用 TLS 的集群,IP 发现参数对首选 IP 协议没有影响。相反,使用的 IP 协议将取决于客户端在解析 DNS 主机名时首选的 IP 协议。

有关在解析 DNS 主机名时如何配置 IP 协议首选项的示例,请参阅启用 TLS 的双堆栈 ElastiCache 集群

使用 Amazon Web Services Management Console

使用在连接下创建缓存集群时,选择网络类型,即 IPv4、IPv 6双堆栈。Amazon Web Services Management Console如果您选择双堆栈,则必须选择发现 IP 类型,即 IPv6 或 IPv4。

有关更多信息,请参阅创建 Memcached 集群(控制台)

使用 CLI

使用 CLI 创建缓存集群时,您可以使用 c reate-cache-cluster 命令并指定NetworkTypeIPDiscovery参数:

对于 Linux、macOS 或 Unix:

aws elasticache create-cache-cluster \ --cache-cluster-id "cluster-test" \ --engine memcached \ --cache-node-type cache.m5.large \ --num-cache-nodes 1 \ --network-type dual_stack \ --ip-discovery ipv4

对于 Windows:

aws elasticache create-cache-cluster ^ --cache-cluster-id "cluster-test" ^ --engine memcached ^ --cache-node-type cache.m5.large ^ --num-cache-nodes 1 ^ --network-type dual_stack ^ --ip-discovery ipv4