Replication across Amazon Regions using global datastores - Amazon ElastiCache for Redis
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Replication across Amazon Regions using global datastores

By using the Global Datastore for Redis feature, you can work with fully managed, fast, reliable, and secure replication across Amazon Regions. Using this feature, you can create cross-Region read replica clusters for ElastiCache for Redis to enable low-latency reads and disaster recovery across Amazon Regions.

In the following sections, you can find a description of how to work with global datastores.

Overview

Each global datastore is a collection of one or more clusters that replicate to one another.

A global datastore consists of the following:

  • Primary (active) cluster – A primary cluster accepts writes that are replicated to all clusters within the global datastore. A primary cluster also accepts read requests.

  • Secondary (passive) cluster – A secondary cluster only accepts read requests and replicates data updates from a primary cluster. A secondary cluster needs to be in a different Amazon Region than the primary cluster.

When you create a global datastore in ElastiCache, ElastiCache for Redis automatically replicates your data from the primary cluster to the secondary cluster. You choose the Amazon Region where the Redis data should be replicated and then create a secondary cluster in that Amazon Region. ElastiCache then sets up and manages automatic, asynchronous replication of data between the two clusters.

Using a global datastore for Redis provides the following advantages:

  • Geolocal performance – By setting up remote replica clusters in additional Amazon Regions and synchronizing your data between them, you can reduce latency of data access in that Amazon Region. A global datastore can help increase the responsiveness of your application by serving low-latency, geolocal reads across Amazon Regions.

  • Disaster recovery – If your primary cluster in a global datastore experiences degradation, you can promote a secondary cluster as your new primary cluster. You can do so by connecting to any Amazon Region that contains a secondary cluster.

The following diagram shows how global datastores can work.


            global datastore

使用全局数据存储跨 Amazon 区域进行复制 - Amazon ElastiCache for Redis
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

使用全局数据存储跨 Amazon 区域进行复制

使用 Global Datastore for Redis 功能,您可以跨 Amazon 区域执行快速、可靠和安全的完全托管式复制。使用此功能,您可以创建 ElastiCache for Redis 的跨区域只读副本集群,以跨 Amazon 区域启用低延迟读取和灾难恢复。

在以下部分中,您可以找到有关如何使用全局数据存储的说明。

概览

每个全局数据存储 是一个或多个相互复制的集群的集合。

全局数据存储包含以下项:

  • 主(主动)集群 – 主集群接受复制到全局数据存储中的所有集群的写入。主集群也接受读取请求。

  • 辅助(被动)集群 – 辅助集群仅接受读取请求并从主集群复制数据更新。辅助集群需要与主集群位于不同的 Amazon 区域中。

在 ElastiCache 中创建全局数据存储时,ElastiCache for Redis 会自动将数据从主集群复制到辅助集群。您选择应复制 Redis 数据的 Amazon 区域,然后在该 Amazon 区域中创建辅助集群。然后,ElastiCache 设置和管理两个集群之间的自动异步数据复制。

为 Redis 使用全局数据存储具有以下优势:

  • 地理位置性能 – 通过在其他 Amazon 区域中设置远程副本集群并在它们之间同步数据,您可以减少该 Amazon 区域中数据访问的延迟。全局数据存储可以通过跨 Amazon 区域提供低延迟的地理位置读取来帮助提高应用程序的响应速度。

  • 灾难恢复 – 如果全局数据存储中的主集群出现性能降级,则可以将辅助集群提升为新的主集群。您可以通过连接到包含辅助集群的任意 Amazon 区域来完成此操作。

下图显示了全局数据存储的工作方式。


            全局数据存储