Setting default server-side encryption behavior for Amazon S3 buckets - Amazon Simple Storage Service
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Setting default server-side encryption behavior for Amazon S3 buckets

With Amazon S3 default encryption, you can set the default encryption behavior for an S3 bucket so that all new objects are encrypted when they are stored in the bucket. The objects are encrypted using server-side encryption with either Amazon S3 managed keys (SSE-S3) or Amazon KMS keys stored in Amazon Key Management Service (Amazon KMS) (SSE-KMS).

When you configure your bucket to use default encryption with SSE-KMS, you can also enable S3 Bucket Keys to decrease request traffic from Amazon S3 to Amazon Key Management Service (Amazon KMS) and reduce the cost of encryption. For more information, see Reducing the cost of SSE-KMS with Amazon S3 Bucket Keys.

To identify buckets that have SSE-KMS enabled for default encryption, you can use Amazon S3 Storage Lens metrics. S3 Storage Lens is a cloud-storage analytics feature that you can use to gain organization-wide visibility into object-storage usage and activity. For more information, see Using S3 Storage Lens to protect your data.

When you use server-side encryption, Amazon S3 encrypts an object before saving it to disk and decrypts it when you download the objects. For more information about protecting data using server-side encryption and encryption key management, see Protecting data using server-side encryption.

For more information about permissions required for default encryption, see PutBucketEncryption in the Amazon Simple Storage Service API Reference.

To set up default encryption on a bucket, you can use the Amazon S3 console, Amazon CLI, Amazon SDKs, or the REST API. For more information, see Enabling Amazon S3 default bucket encryption.

Encrypting existing objects

To encrypt your existing Amazon S3 objects, you can use Amazon S3 Batch Operations. You provide S3 Batch Operations with a list of objects to operate on, and Batch Operations calls the respective API to perform the specified operation. You can use the Batch Operations Copy operation to copy existing unencrypted objects and write them back to the same bucket as encrypted objects. A single Batch Operations job can perform the specified operation on billions of objects. For more information, see Performing large-scale batch operations on Amazon S3 objects and the Amazon Storage Blog post Encrypting objects with Amazon S3 Batch Operations.

You can also encrypt existing objects using the Copy Object API. For more information, see the Amazon Storage Blog post Encrypting existing Amazon S3 objects with the Amazon CLI.

Note

Amazon S3 buckets with default bucket encryption using SSE-KMS cannot be used as destination buckets for Logging requests using server access logging. Only SSE-S3 default encryption is supported for server access log destination buckets.

Using SSE-KMS encryption for cross-account operations

Be aware of the following when using SSE-KMS encryption for cross-account operations:

  • The Amazon managed key (aws/s3) is used when an Amazon KMS key Amazon Resource Name (ARN) or alias is not provided at request time, nor via the bucket's default encryption configuration.

  • If you're uploading or accessing S3 objects using Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) principals that are in the same Amazon Web Services account as your KMS key, you can use the Amazon managed key (aws/s3).

  • Use a customer managed key if you want to grant cross-account access to your SSE-KMS encrypted S3 objects. You can configure the policy of a customer managed key to allow access from another account.

  • If specifying your own KMS key, you should use a fully qualified KMS key ARN. When using a KMS key alias, be aware that Amazon KMS will resolve the key within the requester's account. This can result in data encrypted with a KMS key that belongs to the requester, and not the bucket administrator.

  • You must specify a key that you (the requester) have been granted Encrypt permission to. For more information, see Allows key users to use a KMS key for cryptographic operations in the Amazon Key Management Service Developer Guide.

For more information about when to use customer managed keys and the Amazon managed KMS keys, see Should I use an Amazon managed key or a customer managed KMS key to encrypt my objects on Amazon S3?

Using default encryption with replication

When you enable default encryption for a replication destination bucket, the following encryption behavior applies:

  • If objects in the source bucket are not encrypted, the replica objects in the destination bucket are encrypted using the default encryption settings of the destination bucket. This results in the ETag of the source object being different from the ETag of the replica object. You must update applications that use the ETag to accommodate for this difference.

  • If objects in the source bucket are encrypted using SSE-S3 or SSE-KMS, the replica objects in the destination bucket use the same encryption as the source object encryption. The default encryption settings of the destination bucket are not used.

For more information about using default encryption with SSE-KMS, see Replicating encrypted objects (SSE-C, SSE-S3, SSE-KMS).

Using Amazon S3 Bucket Keys with default encryption

When you configure your bucket to use default encryption for SSE-KMS on new objects, you can also configure S3 Bucket Keys. S3 Bucket Keys decrease the number of transactions from Amazon S3 to Amazon KMS to reduce the cost of server-side encryption using Amazon Key Management Service (SSE-KMS).

When you configure your bucket to use S3 Bucket Keys for SSE-KMS on new objects, Amazon KMS generates a bucket-level key that is used to create a unique data key for objects in the bucket. This bucket key is used for a time-limited period within Amazon S3, reducing the need for Amazon S3 to make requests to Amazon KMS to complete encryption operations.

For more information about using an S3 Bucket Key, see Using Amazon S3 Bucket Keys.

为 Amazon S3 存储桶设置默认服务器端加密行为 - Amazon Simple Storage Service
AWS 文档中描述的 AWS 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 AWS 服务入门

欢迎使用新的 Amazon S3 用户指南! Amazon S3 用户指南结合了以下三个已停用的指南中的信息和说明:Amazon S3 开发人员指南Amazon S3 控制台用户指南Amazon S3 入门指南

为 Amazon S3 存储桶设置默认服务器端加密行为

使用 Amazon S3 默认加密,您可以对 S3 存储桶设置默认加密行为,以便在存储桶中存储所有对象时对新对象进行加密。这些对象使用具有 Amazon S3 托管密钥 (SSE-S3) 或 AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS) (SSE-KMS) 中存储的客户主密钥 (CMK) 的服务器端加密进行加密。

当您将存储桶配置为使用 SSE-KMS 的默认加密时,您还可以启用 S3 存储桶密钥以减少从 Amazon S3 到 AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS) 的请求流量并降低加密成本。有关更多信息,请参阅 使用 Amazon S3 存储桶密钥降低 SSE-KMS 的成本

在使用服务器端加密时,Amazon S3 在将对象保存到其磁盘上之前对其进行加密,并在下载对象时对其进行解密。有关使用服务器端加密和加密密钥管理来保护数据的更多信息,请参阅使用服务器端加密保护数据

有关默认加密所需的权限的更多信息,请参阅《Amazon Simple Storage Service API 参考》中的 PutBucketEncryption

要在存储桶上设置默认加密,您可以使用 Amazon S3 控制台、AWS CLI、AWS 开发工具包或 REST API。有关更多信息,请参阅 启用 Amazon S3 默认存储桶加密

加密现有对象

要通过单个请求加密现有 Amazon S3 对象,可以使用 Amazon S3 批处理操作。您为 S3 批处理操作提供了要操作的对象列表,而批处理操作调用相应的 API 来执行指定的操作。您可以使用复制操作复制现有的未加密对象,并将新的加密对象写入同一存储桶。单个批量作业可对包含 EB 级数据的数十亿个对象执行指定操作。有关更多信息,请参阅 执行 S3 批处理操作

还可以使用复制对象 API 对现有对象进行加密。有关更多信息,请参阅 AWS 存储博客的博客文章使用 AWS CLI 加密现有 Amazon S3 对象

注意

使用 SSE-KMS 进行默认存储桶加密的 Amazon S3 存储桶不能用作 使用服务器访问日志记录来记录请求 的目标存储桶。对于服务器访问日志目标存储桶,仅支持 SSE-S3 默认加密。

使用加密进行跨账户操作

在对跨账户操作使用加密时,请注意以下事项:

  • 当未在请求时提供 CMK Amazon 资源名称 (ARN) 或别名,也未通过存储桶的默认加密配置提供它们时,使用 AWS 托管 CMK (aws/s3)。

  • 如果您上传或访问 S3 对象时将使用的 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 委托人与该 CMK 来自同一 AWS 账户,则可以使用 AWS 托管 CMK (aws/S3)。

  • 如果您希望授予对 S3 对象的跨账户访问权限,请使用客户托管 CMK。您可以配置客户托管 CMK 的策略,以便允许从其他账户进行访问。

  • 如果指定您自己的 CMK,则应使用完全限定的 CMK 密钥 ARN。使用 CMK 别名时,请注意 AWS KMS 将解析请求者账户中的密钥。这可能导致使用属于请求者而不是存储桶管理员的 CMK 来加密数据。

  • 您必须指定您(请求者)已被授予 Encrypt 权限的密钥。有关更多信息,请参阅 AWS Key Management Service 开发人员指南中的允许密钥用户使用 CMK 进行加密操作

有关何时使用客户托管 CMK 和 AWS 托管 CMK 的更多信息,请参阅我是否应该使用 AWS KMS 托管密钥还是自定义 AWS KMS 密钥来加密 Amazon S3 上的对象?

将默认加密用于复制

在为复制目标存储桶启用默认加密后,将应用以下加密行为:

  • 如果未对源存储桶中的对象进行加密,则将使用目标存储桶的默认加密设置对目标存储桶中的副本对象进行加密。这将导致源对象的 ETag 与副本对象的 ETag 不同。您必须更新使用 ETag 的应用程序以应对这种差异。

  • 如果使用 SSE-S3 或 SSE-KMS 对源存储桶中的对象进行加密,则目标存储桶中的副本对象将使用与源对象加密相同的加密。不会使用目标存储桶的默认加密设置。

有关使用 SSE-KMS 进行默认加密的更多信息,请参阅复制加密对象

将 Amazon S3 存储桶密钥用于默认加密

将存储桶配置为对新对象使用 SSE-KMS 的默认加密时,您还可以配置 S3 存储桶密钥。S3 存储桶密钥通过减少从 Amazon S3 到 AWS KMS 的事务数量,从而降低了使用 AWS Key Management Service (SSE-KMS) 进行服务器端加密的成本。

当您将存储桶配置为使用 S3 存储桶密钥对新对象进行 SSE-KMS 加密时,AWS KMS 会生成存储桶级别密钥,该密钥用于为存储桶中的对象创建唯一的数据密钥。此存储桶密钥在 Amazon S3 内限时使用,从而减少了 Amazon S3 向 AWS KMS 发出请求,以完成加密操作的需求。

有关使用 S3 存储桶密钥的更多信息,请参阅使用 Amazon S3 存储桶密钥降低 SSE-KMS 的成本