Bucket naming rules - Amazon Simple Storage Service
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Bucket naming rules

The following rules apply for naming buckets in Amazon S3:

  • Bucket names must be between 3 (min) and 63 (max) characters long.

  • Bucket names can consist only of lowercase letters, numbers, dots (.), and hyphens (-).

  • Bucket names must begin and end with a letter or number.

  • Bucket names must not contain two adjacent periods.

  • Bucket names must not be formatted as an IP address (for example, 192.168.5.4).

  • Bucket names must not start with the prefix xn--.

  • Bucket names must not end with the suffix -s3alias. This suffix is reserved for access point alias names. For more information, see Using a bucket-style alias for your S3 bucket access point.

  • Bucket names must be unique across all Amazon Web Services accounts in all the Amazon Web Services Regions within a partition. A partition is a grouping of Regions. Amazon currently has three partitions: aws (Standard Regions), aws-cn (China Regions), and aws-us-gov (Amazon GovCloud (US)).

  • A bucket name cannot be used by another Amazon Web Services account in the same partition until the bucket is deleted.

  • Buckets used with Amazon S3 Transfer Acceleration can't have dots (.) in their names. For more information about Transfer Acceleration, see Configuring fast, secure file transfers using Amazon S3 Transfer Acceleration.

For best compatibility, we recommend that you avoid using dots (.) in bucket names, except for buckets that are used only for static website hosting. If you include dots in a bucket's name, you can't use virtual-host-style addressing over HTTPS, unless you perform your own certificate validation. This is because the security certificates used for virtual hosting of buckets don't work for buckets with dots in their names.

This limitation doesn't affect buckets used for static website hosting, because static website hosting is only available over HTTP. For more information about virtual-host-style addressing, see Virtual hosting of buckets. For more information about static website hosting, see Hosting a static website using Amazon S3.

Note

Before March 1, 2018, buckets created in the US East (N. Virginia) Region could have names that were up to 255 characters long and included uppercase letters and underscores. Beginning March 1, 2018, new buckets in US East (N. Virginia) must conform to the same rules applied in all other Regions.

For information on object key names, see Creating object key names.

Example bucket names

The following example bucket names are valid and follow the recommended naming guidelines:

  • docexamplebucket1

  • log-delivery-march-2020

  • my-hosted-content

The following example bucket names are valid but not recommended for uses other than static website hosting:

  • docexamplewebsite.com

  • www.docexamplewebsite.com

  • my.example.s3.bucket

The following example bucket names are not valid:

  • doc_example_bucket (contains underscores)

  • DocExampleBucket (contains uppercase letters)

  • doc-example-bucket- (ends with a hyphen)

存储桶命名规则 - Amazon Simple Storage Service
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

存储桶命名规则

以下规则适用于在 Amazon S3 中命名存储桶:

  • 存储桶名称必须介于 3(最少)到 63(最多)个字符之间。

  • 存储桶名称只能由小写字母、数字、句点 (.) 和连字符 (-) 组成。

  • 存储桶名称必须以字母或数字开头和结尾。

  • 存储桶名称不得采用 IP 地址格式(例如,192.168.5.4)。

  • 存储桶名称不得以前缀 xn-- 开头。

  • 存储桶名称不得以后缀 -s3alias 结尾。此后缀是为接入点别名预留的。有关更多信息,请参阅为您的接入点使用存储桶式别名

  • 存储桶名称在分区内所有 Amazon Web Services 区域中的所有 Amazon Web Services 账户间必须是唯一的。分区是一组区域。Amazon 目前有三个分区:aws(标准区域)、aws-cn(中国区域)和 aws-us-gov(Amazon GovCloud (US) 区域)。

  • 存储桶名称不能被同一分区中的另一个 Amazon Web Services 账户使用,直到存储桶被删除。

  • 与 Amazon S3 Transfer Acceleration 一起使用的存储桶名称中不能有句点 (.)。有关 Transfer Acceleration 的更多信息,请参阅使用 Amazon S3 Transfer Acceleration 配置快速、安全的文件传输

为了获得最佳兼容性,我们建议您避免在存储桶名称中使用句点 (.),但仅用于静态网站托管的存储桶除外。如果您在存储桶名称中包含句点,则无法通过 HTTPS 使用虚拟主机式寻址,除非您执行自己的证书验证。这是因为用于存储桶虚拟托管的安全证书不适用于名称中带有句点的存储桶。

此限制不会影响用于静态网站托管的存储桶,因为静态网站托管只能通过 HTTP 提供。有关虚拟主机式寻址的更多信息,请参阅存储桶的虚拟托管。有关静态网站托管的更多信息,请参阅使用 Amazon S3 托管静态网站

注意

2018 年 3 月 1 日之前,在美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)区域中创建的存储桶的名称最多可包含 255 个字符,并且包括大写字母和下划线。自 2018 年 3 月 1 日起,美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)中的新存储桶必须符合在所有其他区域中应用的相同规则。

有关对象键名称的信息,请参阅创建对象键名称

示例存储桶名称

以下示例存储桶名称是有效的,并遵循建议的命名准则:

  • docexamplebucket1

  • log-delivery-march-2020

  • my-hosted-content

以下示例存储桶名称是有效的,但不推荐用于静态网站托管以外的其他用途:

  • docexamplewebsite.com

  • www.docexamplewebsite.com

  • my.example.s3.bucket

以下示例存储桶名称无效

  • doc_example_bucket(包含下划线)

  • DocExampleBucket(包含大写字母)

  • doc-example-bucket-(以连字符结尾)