Using presigned URLs - Amazon Simple Storage Service
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Using presigned URLs

All objects and buckets are private by default. However, you can use a presigned URL to optionally share objects or allow your customers/users to upload objects to buckets without Amazon security credentials or permissions.

You can use presigned URLs to generate a URL that can be used to access your Amazon S3 buckets. When you create a presigned URL, you associate it with a specific action. You can share the URL, and anyone with access to it can perform the action embedded in the URL as if they were the original signing user. The URL will expire and no longer work when it reaches its expiration time.

Important

For all Regions that launched after March 20, 2019, if a request arrives at the wrong Amazon S3 location, Amazon S3 returns an HTTP 400 Bad Request error.

Limiting presigned URL capabilities

The capabilities of a presigned URL are limited by the permissions of the user who created it. In essence, presigned URLs are a bearer token that grants access to those who possess them. As such, we recommend that you protect them appropriately.

If you want to restrict the use of presigned URLs and all S3 access to particular network paths, you can write Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) policies that require a particular network path. You can set these policies on the IAM principal that makes the call, the Amazon S3 bucket, or both.

A network-path restriction on the principal requires the user of those credentials to make requests from the specified network. A restriction on the bucket limits access to that bucket only to requests that originate from the specified network. Realize that these restrictions also apply outside of the presigned URL scenario.

The IAM global condition that you use depends on the type of endpoint. If you are using the public endpoint for Amazon S3, use aws:SourceIp. If you are using a VPC endpoint to Amazon S3, use aws:SourceVpc or aws:SourceVpce.

The following IAM policy statement requires the principal to access Amazon only from the specified network range. With this policy statement in place, all access is required to originate from that range. This includes the case of someone using a presigned URL for S3.

{ "Sid": "NetworkRestrictionForIAMPrincipal", "Effect": "Deny", "Action": "", "Resource": "", "Condition": { "NotIpAddressIfExists": { "aws:SourceIp": "IP-address" }, "BoolIfExists": { "aws:ViaAWSService": "false" } } }

Who can create a presigned URL

Anyone with valid security credentials can create a presigned URL. But for someone to successfully access an object, the presigned URL must be created by someone who has permission to perform the operation that the presigned URL is based upon.

The following are credentials that you can use to create a presigned URL:

  • IAM instance profile: Valid up to 6 hours.

  • Amazon Security Token Service: Valid up to 36 hours when signed with permanent credentials, such as the credentials of the Amazon Web Services account root user or an IAM user.

  • IAM user: Valid up to 7 days when using Amazon Signature Version 4.

    To create a presigned URL that's valid for up to 7 days, first designate IAM user credentials (the access key and secret key) to the SDK that you're using. Then, generate a presigned URL using Amazon Signature Version 4.

Note
  • If you created a presigned URL using a temporary token, the URL expires when the token expires, even if the URL was created with a later expiration time.

  • Because presigned URLs grant access to your Amazon S3 buckets to whoever has the URL, we recommend that you protect them appropriately.

When does Amazon S3 check the expiration date and time of a presigned URL?

Amazon S3 checks the expiration date and time of a signed URL at the time of the HTTP request. For example, if a client begins to download a large file immediately before the expiration time, the download should complete even if the expiration time passes during the download. If the connection drops and the client tries to restart the download after the expiration time passes, the download will fail.

For more information about using a presigned URL to share or upload objects, see the following topics.

使用预签名 URL - Amazon Simple Storage Service
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

使用预签名 URL

默认情况下,所有对象和存储桶都是私有的。但是,您可以使用预签名 URL 选择性地共享对象,或者允许客户/用户将对象上传到存储桶,而无需 Amazon 安全凭证或权限。

您可以使用预签名 URL 生成可用于访问 Amazon S3 存储桶的 URL。创建预签名 URL 时,将其与特定操作相关联。您可以共享 URL,任何有权访问该 URL 的人都可以像原始签名用户一样执行嵌入在 URL 中的操作。URL 在达到其过期时间后会过期且不再起作用。

重要

对于在 2019 年 3 月 20 日发布的所有区域,如果请求到达错误的 Amazon S3 位置,则 Amazon S3 返回 HTTP 400 错误请求错误。

限制预签名 URL 功能

预签名 URL 的功能受创建它的用户的权限所限制。实质上,预签名 URL 是一种持有者令牌,可向拥有这些 URL 的人授予访问权限。因此,我们建议您适当地保护它们。

如果您想限制使用预签名 URL 和 S3 对特定网络路径的所有访问,则可以编写需要特定网络路径的 Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) 策略。您可以在进行调用的 IAM 委托人、Amazon S3 存储桶或两者上设置这些策略。

对委托人的网络路径限制要求拥有这些凭证的用户从指定的网络发出请求。对存储桶的限制会将该存储桶的访问权限限定为仅供来自指定网络的请求访问。请注意,这些限制也适用于预签名 URL 场景之外。

您使用的 IAM 全局条件取决于端点的类型。如果您正在使用 Amazon S3 的公有端点,请使用 aws:SourceIp。如果您使用的是 Amazon S3 的 VPC 端点,请使用 aws:SourceVpcaws:SourceVpce

以下 IAM policy 语句要求主体仅从指定的网络范围访问。Amazon使用这个策略语句,所有访问都需要来自该范围。这包括有人使用 S3 的预签名 URL 的情况。

{ "Sid": "NetworkRestrictionForIAMPrincipal", "Effect": "Deny", "Action": "", "Resource": "", "Condition": { "NotIpAddressIfExists": { "aws:SourceIp": "IP-address" }, "BoolIfExists": { "aws:ViaAWSService": "false" } } }

谁可以创建预签名 URL

具有有效安全凭证的任何人都可以创建预签名 URL。但对于成功地访问对象的人来说,必须由拥有执行预签名 URL 所基于的操作权限的人创建预签名 URL。

下面的凭证可用于创建预签名 URL:

  • IAM 实例配置文件:有效期最多 6 小时。

  • Amazon Security Token Service:在使用永久凭证(例如,Amazon Web Services 账户 根用户或 IAM 用户的凭证)签名时,有效期长达 36 小时。

  • IAM 用户:在使用 Amazon 签名版本 4 时,有效期长达 7 天。

    要创建有效期长达 7 天的预签名 URL,请先为所使用的开发工具包指定 IAM 用户凭证(访问密钥和秘密密钥)。然后,使用 Amazon 签名版本 4 生成预签名 URL。

注意
  • 如果您已使用临时令牌创建预签名 URL,则此 URL 将在令牌过期时过期,即使创建的 URL 的过期时间更晚也是如此。

  • 由于预签名 URL 将访问 Amazon S3 存储桶的权限授予任何具有 URL 的人,我们建议您适当地保护它们。

Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 何时检查预签名 URL 的到期日期和时间?

在发出 HTTP 请求时,Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 会检查签名 URL 的到期日期和时间。例如,如果客户端刚好在过期时间之前开始下载大型文件,即使在下载过程中到了过期时间,该下载也应该会完成。如果连接断开,并且客户端试图在过期时间到期后重新开始下载,则下载将会失败。

有关使用预签名 URL 共享或上传对象的更多信息,请参阅以下主题。