Using Amazon S3 server access logs to identify requests - Amazon Simple Storage Service
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Using Amazon S3 server access logs to identify requests

You can identify Amazon S3 requests by using Amazon S3 server access logs.

Note
  • To identify Amazon S3 requests, we recommend that you use Amazon CloudTrail data events instead of Amazon S3 server access logs. CloudTrail data events are easier to set up and contain more information. For more information, see Identifying Amazon S3 requests using CloudTrail.

  • Depending on how many access requests you get, analyzing your logs might require more resources or time than using CloudTrail data events.

Querying access logs for requests by using Amazon Athena

You can identify Amazon S3 requests with Amazon S3 access logs by using Amazon Athena.

Amazon S3 stores server access logs as objects in an S3 bucket. It is often easier to use a tool that can analyze the logs in Amazon S3. Athena supports analysis of S3 objects and can be used to query Amazon S3 access logs.

Example

The following example shows how you can query Amazon S3 server access logs in Amazon Athena. Replace the user input placeholders used in the following examples with your own information.

Note

To specify an Amazon S3 location in an Athena query, you must provide an S3 URI for the bucket where your logs are delivered to. This URI must include the bucket name and prefix in the following format: s3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET1-logs/prefix/

  1. Open the Athena console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/athena/.

  2. In the Query Editor, run a command similar to the following. Replace s3_access_logs_db with the name that you want to give to your database.

    CREATE DATABASE s3_access_logs_db
    Note

    It's a best practice to create the database in the same Amazon Web Services Region as your S3 bucket.

  3. In the Query Editor, run a command similar to the following to create a table schema in the database that you created in step 2. Replace s3_access_logs_db.mybucket_logs with the name that you want to give to your table. The STRING and BIGINT data type values are the access log properties. You can query these properties in Athena. For LOCATION, enter the S3 bucket and prefix path as noted earlier.

    CREATE EXTERNAL TABLE `s3_access_logs_db.mybucket_logs`( `bucketowner` STRING, `bucket_name` STRING, `requestdatetime` STRING, `remoteip` STRING, `requester` STRING, `requestid` STRING, `operation` STRING, `key` STRING, `request_uri` STRING, `httpstatus` STRING, `errorcode` STRING, `bytessent` BIGINT, `objectsize` BIGINT, `totaltime` STRING, `turnaroundtime` STRING, `referrer` STRING, `useragent` STRING, `versionid` STRING, `hostid` STRING, `sigv` STRING, `ciphersuite` STRING, `authtype` STRING, `endpoint` STRING, `tlsversion` STRING, `accesspointarn` STRING, `aclrequired` STRING) ROW FORMAT SERDE 'org.apache.hadoop.hive.serde2.RegexSerDe' WITH SERDEPROPERTIES ( 'input.regex'='([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) \\[(.*?)\\] ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) (\"[^\"]*\"|-) (-|[0-9]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) (\"[^\"]*\"|-) ([^ ]*)(?: ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*))?.*$') STORED AS INPUTFORMAT 'org.apache.hadoop.mapred.TextInputFormat' OUTPUTFORMAT 'org.apache.hadoop.hive.ql.io.HiveIgnoreKeyTextOutputFormat' LOCATION 's3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET1-logs/prefix/'
  4. In the navigation pane, under Database, choose your database.

  5. Under Tables, choose Preview table next to your table name.

    In the Results pane, you should see data from the server access logs, such as bucketowner, bucket, requestdatetime, and so on. This means that you successfully created the Athena table. You can now query the Amazon S3 server access logs.

Example — Show who deleted an object and when (timestamp, IP address, and IAM user)
SELECT requestdatetime, remoteip, requester, key FROM s3_access_logs_db.mybucket_logs WHERE key = 'images/picture.jpg' AND operation like '%DELETE%';
Example — Show all operations that were performed by an IAM user
SELECT * FROM s3_access_logs_db.mybucket_logs WHERE requester='arn:aws-cn:iam::123456789123:user/user_name';
Example — Show all operations that were performed on an object in a specific time period
SELECT * FROM s3_access_logs_db.mybucket_logs WHERE Key='prefix/images/picture.jpg' AND parse_datetime(requestdatetime,'dd/MMM/yyyy:HH:mm:ss Z') BETWEEN parse_datetime('2017-02-18:07:00:00','yyyy-MM-dd:HH:mm:ss') AND parse_datetime('2017-02-18:08:00:00','yyyy-MM-dd:HH:mm:ss');
Example — Show how much data was transferred to a specific IP address in a specific time period
SELECT coalesce(SUM(bytessent), 0) AS bytessenttotal FROM s3_access_logs_db.mybucket_logs WHERE remoteip='192.0.2.1' AND parse_datetime(requestdatetime,'dd/MMM/yyyy:HH:mm:ss Z') BETWEEN parse_datetime('2022-06-01','yyyy-MM-dd') AND parse_datetime('2022-07-01','yyyy-MM-dd');
Note

To reduce the time that you retain your logs, you can create an S3 Lifecycle configuration for your server access logs bucket. Create lifecycle configuration rules to remove log files periodically. Doing so reduces the amount of data that Athena analyzes for each query. For more information, see Setting lifecycle configuration on a bucket.

Identifying Signature Version 2 requests by using Amazon S3 access logs

Amazon S3 support for Signature Version 2 will be turned off (deprecated). After that, Amazon S3 will no longer accept requests that use Signature Version 2, and all requests must use Signature Version 4 signing. You can identify Signature Version 2 access requests by using Amazon S3 access logs.

Note

To identify Signature Version 2 requests, we recommend that you use Amazon CloudTrail data events instead of Amazon S3 server access logs. CloudTrail data events are easier to set up and contain more information than server access logs. For more information, see Identifying Amazon S3 Signature Version 2 requests by using CloudTrail.

Example — Show all requesters that are sending Signature Version 2 traffic
SELECT requester, sigv, Count(sigv) as sigcount FROM s3_access_logs_db.mybucket_logs GROUP BY requester, sigv;

Identifying object access requests by using Amazon S3 access logs

You can use queries on Amazon S3 server access logs to identify Amazon S3 object access requests, for operations such as GET, PUT, and DELETE, and discover further information about those requests.

The following Amazon Athena query example shows how to get all PUT object requests for Amazon S3 from a server access log.

Example — Show all requesters that are sending PUT object requests in a certain period
SELECT bucket_name, requester, remoteip, key, httpstatus, errorcode, requestdatetime FROM s3_access_logs_db WHERE operation='REST.PUT.OBJECT' AND parse_datetime(requestdatetime,'dd/MMM/yyyy:HH:mm:ss Z') BETWEEN parse_datetime('2019-07-01:00:42:42','yyyy-MM-dd:HH:mm:ss') AND parse_datetime('2019-07-02:00:42:42','yyyy-MM-dd:HH:mm:ss')

The following Amazon Athena query example shows how to get all GET object requests for Amazon S3 from the server access log.

Example — Show all requesters that are sending GET object requests in a certain period
SELECT bucket_name, requester, remoteip, key, httpstatus, errorcode, requestdatetime FROM s3_access_logs_db WHERE operation='REST.GET.OBJECT' AND parse_datetime(requestdatetime,'dd/MMM/yyyy:HH:mm:ss Z') BETWEEN parse_datetime('2019-07-01:00:42:42','yyyy-MM-dd:HH:mm:ss') AND parse_datetime('2019-07-02:00:42:42','yyyy-MM-dd:HH:mm:ss')

The following Amazon Athena query example shows how to get all anonymous requests to your S3 buckets from the server access log.

Example — Show all anonymous requesters that are making requests to a bucket during a certain period
SELECT bucket_name, requester, remoteip, key, httpstatus, errorcode, requestdatetime FROM s3_access_logs_db.mybucket_logs WHERE requester IS NULL AND parse_datetime(requestdatetime,'dd/MMM/yyyy:HH:mm:ss Z') BETWEEN parse_datetime('2019-07-01:00:42:42','yyyy-MM-dd:HH:mm:ss') AND parse_datetime('2019-07-02:00:42:42','yyyy-MM-dd:HH:mm:ss')

The following Amazon Athena query shows how to identify all requests to your S3 buckets that required an access control list (ACL) for authorization. You can use this information to migrate those ACL permissions to the appropriate bucket policies and disable ACLs. After you've created these bucket policies, you can disable ACLs for these buckets. For more information about disabling ACLs, see Prerequisites for disabling ACLs.

Example — Identify all requests that required an ACL for authorization
SELECT bucket_name, requester, key, operation, aclrequired, requestdatetime FROM s3_access_logs_db WHERE aclrequired = 'Yes' AND parse_datetime(requestdatetime,'dd/MMM/yyyy:HH:mm:ss Z') BETWEEN parse_datetime('2022-05-10:00:00:00','yyyy-MM-dd:HH:mm:ss') AND parse_datetime('2022-08-10:00:00:00','yyyy-MM-dd:HH:mm:ss')
Note
  • You can modify the date range as needed to suit your needs.

  • These query examples might also be useful for security monitoring. You can review the results for PutObject or GetObject calls from unexpected or unauthorized IP addresses or requesters and for identifying any anonymous requests to your buckets.

  • This query only retrieves information from the time at which logging was enabled.

  • If you are using Amazon CloudTrail logs, see Identifying access to S3 objects by using CloudTrail.

使用 Amazon S3 访问日志确定请求 - Amazon Simple Storage Service
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

使用 Amazon S3 访问日志确定请求

您可以使用 Amazon S3 访问日志确定 Amazon S3 请求。

注意
  • 我们建议您使用 Amazon CloudTrail 数据事件而不是 Amazon S3 访问日志。CloudTrail 数据事件更易于设置并包含更多信息。有关更多信息,请参阅 使用 CloudTrail 识别 Amazon S3 请求

  • 根据您获得的访问请求数量,可能需要更多资源或时间来分析您的日志。

使用 Amazon Athena 查询访问日志中的请求

您可以使用 Amazon Athena 查询 Amazon S3 访问日志以确定 Amazon S3 请求。

Amazon S3 将服务器访问日志作为对象存储在 S3 存储桶中。使用可以分析 Amazon S3 中的日志的工具通常会更轻松。Athena 支持分析 S3 对象,并且可用于查询 Amazon S3 访问日志。

以下示例说明了如何在 Amazon Athena 中查询 Amazon S3 服务器访问日志。

注意

要在 Athena 查询中指定 Amazon S3 位置,您需要格式化目标存储桶名称和目标前缀,其中日志以 S3 URI 形式传递,如下所示:s3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET1-logs/prefix/

  1. https://console.aws.amazon.com/athena/ 打开 Athena 控制台。

  2. 在查询编辑器中,运行类似如下的命令。

    create database s3_access_logs_db
    注意

    最佳实践是在与 S3 存储桶所在相同的 Amazon Web Services 区域 中创建数据库。

  3. 在查询编辑器中,运行类似如下的命令以便在步骤 2 中创建的数据库中创建一个表架构。STRINGBIGINT 数据类型值是访问日志属性。您可以在 Athena 中查询这些属性。对于 LOCATION,输入之前记下的 S3 存储桶和前缀。

    CREATE EXTERNAL TABLE `s3_access_logs_db.mybucket_logs`( `bucketowner` STRING, `bucket_name` STRING, `requestdatetime` STRING, `remoteip` STRING, `requester` STRING, `requestid` STRING, `operation` STRING, `key` STRING, `request_uri` STRING, `httpstatus` STRING, `errorcode` STRING, `bytessent` BIGINT, `objectsize` BIGINT, `totaltime` STRING, `turnaroundtime` STRING, `referrer` STRING, `useragent` STRING, `versionid` STRING, `hostid` STRING, `sigv` STRING, `ciphersuite` STRING, `authtype` STRING, `endpoint` STRING, `tlsversion` STRING) ROW FORMAT SERDE 'org.apache.hadoop.hive.serde2.RegexSerDe' WITH SERDEPROPERTIES ( 'input.regex'='([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) \\[(.*?)\\] ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) (\"[^\"]*\"|-) (-|[0-9]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) (\"[^\"]*\"|-) ([^ ]*)(?: ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*) ([^ ]*))?.*$') STORED AS INPUTFORMAT 'org.apache.hadoop.mapred.TextInputFormat' OUTPUTFORMAT 'org.apache.hadoop.hive.ql.io.HiveIgnoreKeyTextOutputFormat' LOCATION 's3://awsexamplebucket1-logs/prefix/'
  4. 在导航窗格中,在 Database (数据库) 下,选择您的数据库。

  5. Tables (表) 下,选择表名称旁边的 Preview table (预览表)

    Results (结果) 窗格中,您应看到来自服务器访问日志中的数据,如 bucketownerbucketrequestdatetime 等。这表示您成功创建了 Athena 表。您现在可以查询 Amazon S3 服务器访问日志。

例 — 显示已删除对象的人员和时间(时间戳、IP 地址和 IAM 用户)

SELECT RequestDateTime, RemoteIP, Requester, Key FROM s3_access_logs_db.mybucket_logs WHERE key = 'images/picture.jpg' AND operation like '%DELETE%';

例 — 显示 IAM 用户执行的所有操作

SELECT * FROM s3_access_logs_db.mybucket_logs WHERE requester='arn:aws:iam::123456789123:user/user_name';

例 — 显示在特定时间段内对对象执行的所有操作

SELECT * FROM s3_access_logs_db.mybucket_logs WHERE Key='prefix/images/picture.jpg' AND parse_datetime(RequestDateTime,'dd/MMM/yyyy:HH:mm:ss Z') BETWEEN parse_datetime('2017-02-18:07:00:00','yyyy-MM-dd:HH:mm:ss') AND parse_datetime('2017-02-18:08:00:00','yyyy-MM-dd:HH:mm:ss');

例 — 显示在特定时间段内特定 IP 地址传输的数据量

SELECT SUM(bytessent) AS uploadTotal, SUM(objectsize) AS downloadTotal, SUM(bytessent + objectsize) AS Total FROM s3_access_logs_db.mybucket_logs WHERE RemoteIP='1.2.3.4' AND parse_datetime(RequestDateTime,'dd/MMM/yyyy:HH:mm:ss Z') BETWEEN parse_datetime('2017-06-01','yyyy-MM-dd') AND parse_datetime('2017-07-01','yyyy-MM-dd');
注意

要减少保留日志的时间,您可以为您的服务器访问日志存储桶创建一个 Amazon S3 生命周期策略。配置生命周期策略以定期删除日志文件。这样做可以减少 Athena 为每个查询分析的数据量。有关更多信息,请参阅 在存储桶上设置生命周期配置

使用 Amazon S3 访问日志确定签名版本 2 请求

对 Signature Version 2 的 Amazon S3 支持将会关闭(弃用)。之后,Amazon S3 将不再接受使用 Signature Version 2 的请求,并且所有请求必须使用 Signature Version 4 进行签署。您可以使用 Amazon S3 访问日志确定 Signature Version 2 访问请求。

注意

例 — 显示发送签名版本 2 流量的所有请求者

SELECT requester, Sigv, Count(Sigv) as SigCount FROM s3_access_logs_db.mybucket_logs GROUP BY requester, Sigv;

使用 Amazon S3 访问日志确定对象访问请求

对于诸如 GET、PUT 和 DELETE 等操作,您可以对 Amazon S3 服务访问日志使用查询以确定 Amazon S3 对象访问请求,并发现有关这些请求的进一步信息。

以下 Amazon Athena 查询示例说明了如何从服务器访问日志中获取 Amazon S3 的所有 PUT 对象请求。

例 — 显示在特定期间正在发送 PUT 对象请求的所有请求者

SELECT Bucket, Requester, RemoteIP, Key, HTTPStatus, ErrorCode, RequestDateTime FROM s3_access_logs_db WHERE Operation='REST.PUT.OBJECT' AND parse_datetime(RequestDateTime,'dd/MMM/yyyy:HH:mm:ss Z') BETWEEN parse_datetime('2019-07-01:00:42:42','yyyy-MM-dd:HH:mm:ss') AND parse_datetime('2019-07-02:00:42:42','yyyy-MM-dd:HH:mm:ss')

以下 Amazon Athena 查询示例说明了如何从服务器访问日志中获取 Amazon S3 的所有 GET 对象请求。

例 — 显示在特定时间段内发送 GET 对象请求的所有请求者

SELECT Bucket, Requester, RemoteIP, Key, HTTPStatus, ErrorCode, RequestDateTime FROM s3_access_logs_db WHERE Operation='REST.GET.OBJECT' AND parse_datetime(RequestDateTime,'dd/MMM/yyyy:HH:mm:ss Z') BETWEEN parse_datetime('2019-07-01:00:42:42','yyyy-MM-dd:HH:mm:ss') AND parse_datetime('2019-07-02:00:42:42','yyyy-MM-dd:HH:mm:ss')

以下 Amazon Athena 查询示例说明了如何从服务器访问日志中获取向 S3 存储桶发出的所有匿名请求。

例 — 显示在特定时间段内向存储桶发出请求的所有匿名请求者

SELECT Bucket, Requester, RemoteIP, Key, HTTPStatus, ErrorCode, RequestDateTime FROM s3_access_logs_db.mybucket_logs WHERE Requester IS NULL AND parse_datetime(RequestDateTime,'dd/MMM/yyyy:HH:mm:ss Z') BETWEEN parse_datetime('2019-07-01:00:42:42','yyyy-MM-dd:HH:mm:ss') AND parse_datetime('2019-07-02:00:42:42','yyyy-MM-dd:HH:mm:ss')
注意
  • 您可以修改日期范围以满足您的需要。

  • 也可以使用这些查询示例进行安全监控。您可以查看意外或未经授权的 IP 地址/请求者的 PutObjectGetObject 调用结果,以及确定向存储桶发出的任何匿名请求。

  • 此查询仅从启用了日志记录的时间检索信息。

  • 如果您使用的是 Amazon S3 Amazon CloudTrail 日志,请参阅 使用 CloudTrail 识别对 S3 对象的访问