Controlling access to Amazon resources using tags - Amazon Identity and Access Management
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Controlling access to Amazon resources using tags

You can use tags to control access to your Amazon resources that support tagging, including IAM resources. You can tag IAM users and roles to control what they can access. To learn how to tag IAM users and roles, see Tagging IAM resources. Additionally, you can control access to the following IAM resources: customer managed policies, IAM identity providers, instance profiles, server certificates, and virtual MFA devices. To view a tutorial for creating and testing a policy that allows IAM roles with principal tags to access resources with matching tags, see IAM tutorial: Define permissions to access Amazon resources based on tags. Use the information in the following section to control access to other Amazon resources, including IAM resources, without tagging IAM users or roles.

Before you use tags to control access to your Amazon resources, you must understand how Amazon grants access. Amazon is composed of collections of resources. An Amazon EC2 instance is a resource. An Amazon S3 bucket is a resource. You can use the Amazon API, the Amazon CLI, or the Amazon Web Services Management Console to perform an operation, such as creating a bucket in Amazon S3. When you do, you send a request for that operation. Your request specifies an action, a resource, a principal entity (user or role), a principal account, and any necessary request information. All of this information provides context.

Amazon then checks that you (the principal entity) are authenticated (signed in) and authorized (have permission) to perform the specified action on the specified resource. During authorization, Amazon checks all the policies that apply to the context of your request. Most policies are stored in Amazon as JSON documents and specify the permissions for principal entities. For more information about policy types and uses, see Policies and permissions in IAM.

Amazon authorizes the request only if each part of your request is allowed by the policies. To view a diagram and learn more about the IAM infrastructure, see Understanding how IAM works. For details about how IAM determines whether a request is allowed, see Policy evaluation logic.

Tags are another consideration in this process because tags can be attached to the resource or passed in the request to services that support tagging. To control access based on tags, you provide tag information in the condition element of a policy. To learn whether an Amazon service supports controlling access using tags, see Amazon services that work with IAM and look for the services that have Yes in the Authorization based on tags column. Choose the name of the service to view the authorization and access control documentation for that service.

You can then create an IAM policy that allows or denies access to a resource based on that resource's tag. In that policy, you can use tag condition keys to control access to any of the following:

  • Resource – Control access to Amazon service resources based on the tags on those resources. To do this, use the ResourceTag/key-name condition key to determine whether to allow access to the resource based on the tags that are attached to the resource.

  • Request – Control what tags can be passed in a request. To do this, use the aws:RequestTag/key-name condition key to specify what tag key-value pairs can be passed in a request to tag or untag an Amazon resource.

  • Any part of the authorization process – Use the aws:TagKeys condition key to control whether specific tag keys can be used on a resource or in a request.

You can create an IAM policy visually, using JSON, or by importing an existing managed policy. For details, see Creating IAM policies.

Note

Some services allow users to specify tags when they create the resource if they have permissions to use the action that creates the resource.

Controlling access to Amazon resources

You can use conditions in your IAM policies to control access to Amazon resources based on the tags on that resource. You can do this using the global aws:ResourceTag/tag-key condition key, or a service-specific key. Some services support only the service-specific version of this key and not the global version.

Note

Do not use the ResourceTag condition key in a policy with the iam:PassRole action. You cannot use the tag on an IAM role to control access to who can pass that role. For more information about permissions required to pass a role to a service, see Granting a user permissions to pass a role to an Amazon service.

This example shows how you might create an identity-based policy that allows starting or stopping Amazon EC2 instances. These operations are allowed only if the instance tag Owner has the value of the user name. This policy defines permissions for programmatic and console access.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "ec2:StartInstances", "ec2:StopInstances" ], "Resource": "arn:aws:ec2:*:*:instance/*", "Condition": { "StringEquals": {"aws:ResourceTag/Owner": "${aws:username}"} } }, { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "ec2:DescribeInstances", "Resource": "*" } ] }

You can attach this policy to the IAM users in your account. If a user named richard-roe attempts to start an Amazon EC2 instance, the instance must be tagged Owner=richard-roe or owner=richard-roe. Otherwise he will be denied access. The tag key Owner matches both Owner and owner because condition key names are not case-sensitive. For more information, see IAM JSON policy elements: Condition.

Controlling access during Amazon requests

You can use conditions in your IAM policies to control what tag key-value pairs can be passed in a request that tags an Amazon resource.

This example shows how you might create an identity-based policy that allows using the Amazon EC2 CreateTags action to attach tags to an instance. You can attach tags only if the tag contains the environment key and the preprod or production values. If you want, you can use the ForAllValues modifier with the aws:TagKeys condition key to indicate that only the key environment is allowed in the request. This stops users from including other keys, such as accidentally using Environment instead of environment.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "ec2:CreateTags", "Resource": "arn:aws:ec2:*:*:instance/*", "Condition": { "StringEquals": { "aws:RequestTag/environment": [ "preprod", "production" ] }, "ForAllValues:StringEquals": {"aws:TagKeys": "environment"} } } }

Controlling access based on tag keys

You can use a condition in your IAM policies to control whether specific tag keys can be used on a resource or in a request.

As a best practice, when you use policies to control access using tags, you should use the aws:TagKeys condition key. Amazon services that support tags might allow you to create multiple tag key names that differ only by case, such as tagging an Amazon EC2 instance with stack=production and Stack=test. Key names are not case sensitive in policy conditions. This means that if you specify "aws:ResourceTag/TagKey1": "Value1" in the condition element of your policy, then the condition matches a resource tag key named either TagKey1 or tagkey1, but not both. To prevent duplicate tags with a key that varies only by case, use the aws:TagKeys condition to define the tag keys that your users can apply, or use tag policies, available with Amazon Organizations. For more information see Tag Policies in the Organizations User Guide.

This example shows how you might create an identity-based policy that allows creating and tagging a Secrets Manager secret, but only with the tag keys environment or cost-center.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "secretsmanager:CreateSecret", "secretsmanager:TagResource" ], "Resource": "*", "Condition": { "ForAllValues:StringEquals": { "aws:TagKeys": [ "environment", "cost-center" ] } } } }

AWS Identity and Access Management
用户指南
AWS 文档中描述的 AWS 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 AWS 服务入门

使用资源标签控制对 AWS 资源的访问

您可以使用标签以控制对支持标记的 AWS 资源的访问。您还可以标记 IAM 用户和角色以控制他们可以访问哪些内容。要了解如何标记 IAM 用户和角色,请参阅标记 IAM 实体。要了解如何创建 IAM 策略以根据 IAM 用户或角色标签控制访问,请参阅使用 IAM 资源标签控制对 IAM 用户和角色的访问以及他们进行的访问。可以使用以下部分中的信息以控制对其他 AWS 服务的访问,而无需标记 IAM 用户或角色。

在使用标签控制对 AWS 资源的访问之前,您必须了解 AWS 如何授予访问权限。AWS 由一组资源 组成。Amazon EC2 实例是一种资源。Amazon S3 存储桶是一种资源。您可以使用 AWS API、AWS CLI 或 AWS 管理控制台执行操作,例如,在 Amazon S3 中创建存储桶。在执行操作时,您将发送该操作的请求。您的请求指定操作、资源、委托人实体(用户或角色)、委托人账户 以及所需的任何请求信息。所有这些信息提供了上下文

然后,AWS 检查是否对您(委托人实体)进行身份验证(登录)和授权(具有权限),以便对指定的资源执行指定的操作。在授权期间,AWS 检查应用于请求上下文的所有策略。大多数策略作为 JSON 文档存储在 AWS 中,并指定委托人实体的权限。有关策略类型和用法的更多信息,请参阅策略和权限

只有在策略允许请求的每个部分时,AWS 才会授权该请求。要查看示意图和详细了解 IAM 基础设施,请参阅了解 IAM 的工作方式。有关 IAM 如何确定是否允许请求的详细信息,请参阅策略评估逻辑

标签可能使此过程变得复杂,因为标签可以附加到资源,也可以从请求 传入支持标签的服务。要基于标签控制访问,您需要在策略的条件元素中提供标签信息。要了解 AWS 服务是否支持使用标签控制访问,请参阅使用 IAM 的 AWS 服务并查找在根据标签进行授权列中具有的服务。选择服务名称以查看该服务的授权和访问控制文档。

然后,您可以创建一个 IAM 策略,以根据资源的标签允许或拒绝访问资源。在该策略中,您可以使用标签条件键以控制对任何以下内容的访问:

  • 资源 – 基于 AWS 服务资源上的标签控制对这些资源的访问。为此,请使用 ResourceTag/key-name 条件键根据附加到资源的标签确定是否允许访问资源。

  • 请求 – 控制可以在请求中传递哪些标签。为此,请使用 aws:RequestTag/key-name 条件键指定可以在请求中传递哪些标签键值对以标记或取消标记 AWS 资源。

  • 授权过程的任何部分 – 使用 aws:TagKeys 条件键以控制是否可以在资源或请求中使用特定的标签键。

您可以通过可视化方式创建 IAM 策略,也可以使用 JSON,或通过导入现有托管策略来创建。有关详细信息,请参阅 创建 IAM 策略

控制对 AWS 资源的访问

您可以使用 IAM 策略中的条件根据 AWS 资源上的标签控制对该资源的访问。您可以使用全局 aws:ResourceTag/tag-key 条件键或服务特定的键(如 aws:RequestTag/tag-key)执行该操作。您还可以使用这些条件键以仅允许取消标记具有特定标签键值对的资源。

注意

不要在策略中将 ResourceTag 条件键与 iam:PassRole 操作一起使用。您无法在 IAM 角色上使用标签以控制可以传递该角色的用户的访问权限。有关将角色传递给服务所需的权限的更多信息,请参阅向用户授予权限以将角色传递给 AWS 服务

此示例显示您可以如何创建策略以允许启动或停止 Amazon EC2 实例。只有在实例标签 Owner 具有该用户的用户名值时,才允许执行这些操作。此策略还授予在控制台上完成此操作所需的必要权限。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "ec2:StartInstances", "ec2:StopInstances" ], "Resource": "arn:aws:ec2:*:*:instance/*", "Condition": { "StringEquals": {"ec2:ResourceTag/Owner": "${aws:username}"} } }, { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "ec2:DescribeInstances", "Resource": "*" } ] }

您可以将此策略附加到您账户中的 IAM 用户。如果名为 richard-roe 的用户尝试启动 Amazon EC2 实例,则实例必须标记为 Owner=richard-roeowner=richard-roe。否则,他将被拒绝访问。标签键 Owner 同时匹配 ownerOwner,因为条件键名称不区分大小写。有关更多信息,请参阅IAM JSON 策略元素:Condition

在 AWS 请求期间控制访问

您可以在 IAM 策略中使用条件以控制可以在标记 AWS 资源的请求中传递哪些标签键值对。

此示例显示您可以如何创建策略以允许使用 Amazon EC2 CreateTags 操作将标签附加到实例上。只有在标签包含 environment 键和 preprodproduction 值时,才能附加标签。如果需要,您可以将 ForAllValues 修饰符与 aws:TagKeys 条件键一起使用,以指示仅允许在请求中使用 environment 键。这将阻止用户包括其他键,例如意外使用 Environment 而不是 environment

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "ec2:CreateTags", "Resource": "arn:aws:ec2:*:*:instance/*", "Condition": { "StringEquals": { "aws:RequestTag/environment": [ "preprod", "production" ] }, "ForAllValues:StringEquals": {"aws:TagKeys": "environment"} } } }

根据标签键控制访问

您可以在 IAM 策略中使用条件来控制是否可以在资源或请求中使用特定标签键。

作为最佳实践,当您使用策略来通过标签控制访问时,应该使用 aws:TagKeys条件键。支持标签的 AWS 服务可能允许您创建多个只有大小写不同的标签键名称,例如使用 foo=bar1Foo=bar2 标记 Amazon EC2 实例。在策略条件中,键名称不区分大小写。这意味着,如果您在策略的条件元素中指定 "ec2:ResourceTag:TagKey1": "Value1",则条件将匹配名为 TagKey1tagkey1 的资源标签键,但不会同时匹配两者。要防止只有键的大小写形式不同的重复标签,请使用 aws:TagKeys 条件来定义用户可以应用的标签键。

此示例显示您可以如何创建策略 允许创建和标记 Secrets Manager 密钥,但只能使用标签键 environmentcost-center

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "secretsmanager:CreateSecret", "secretsmanager:TagResource" ], "Resource": "*", "Condition": { "ForAllValues:StringEquals": { "aws:TagKeys": [ "environment", "cost-center" ] } } } }