Tagging IAM resources - Amazon Identity and Access Management
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Tagging IAM resources

A tag is a custom attribute label that you can assign to an Amazon resource. Each tag has two parts:

  • A tag key (for example, CostCenter, Environment, Project, or Purpose). Tag keys are case sensitive.

  • An optional field known as a tag value (for example, 111122223333, Production, or a team name). Omitting the tag value is the same as using an empty string. Like tag keys, tag values are case sensitive.

Together these are known as key-value pairs. For limits on the number of tags you can have on IAM resources, see IAM and Amazon STS quotas.

Tags help you identify and organize your Amazon resources. Many Amazon services support tagging, so you can assign the same tag to resources from different services to indicate that the resources are related. For example, you can assign the same tag to an IAM role that you assign to an Amazon S3 bucket. For more information about tagging strategies, see Tagging Amazon Resources in the Amazon General Reference Guide.

In addition to identifying, organizing, and tracking your IAM resources with tags, you can use tags in IAM policies to help control who can view and interact with your resources. To learn more about using tags to control access, see Controlling access to and for IAM users and roles using tags.

You can also use tags in Amazon STS to add custom attributes when you assume a role or federate a user. For more information, see Passing session tags in Amazon STS.

Choose an Amazon tag naming convention

When you begin attaching tags to your IAM resources, choose your tag naming convention carefully. Apply the same convention to all of your Amazon tags. This is especially important if you use tags in policies to control access to Amazon resources. If you already use tags in Amazon, review your naming convention and adjust it accordingly. To view tagging use cases and best practices, download the Tagging Best Practices whitepaper.

Rules for tagging in IAM and Amazon STS

A number of conventions govern the creation and application of tags in IAM and Amazon STS.

Naming tags

Observe the following conventions when formulating a tag naming convention for IAM resources, Amazon STS assume-role sessions, and Amazon STS federated user sessions:

Character requirements – Tag keys and values can include any combination of letters, numbers, spaces, and _ . : / = + - @ symbols.

Case sensitivity – Case sensitivity for tag keys differs depending on the type of IAM resource that is tagged. Tag key values for IAM users and roles are not case sensitive, but case is preserved. This means that you cannot have separate Department and department tag keys. If you have tagged a user with the Department=finance tag and you add the department=hr tag, it replaces the first tag. A second tag is not added.

For other IAM resource types, tag key values are case sensitive. That means you can have separate Costcenter and costcenter tag keys. For example, if you have tagged a customer managed policy with the Costcenter = 1234 tag and you add the costcenter = 5678 tag, the policy will have both the Costcenter and costcenter tag keys.

As a best practice, we recommend that you avoid using similar tags with inconsistent case treatment. We recommend that you decide on strategy for capitalizing tags, and consistently implement that strategy across all resource types. To learn more about best practices for tagging, see Tagging Amazon Resourcesin the Amazon General Reference.

The following lists show the differences in case sensitivity for tag keys that are attached to IAM resources.

Tag key values are not case sensitive:

  • IAM roles

  • IAM users

Tag key values are case sensitive:

  • Customer managed policies

  • Instance profiles

  • OpenID Connect identity providers

  • SAML identity providers

  • Server certificates

  • Virtual MFA devices

Additionally, the following rules apply:

  • You cannot create a tag key or value that begins with the text aws:. This tag prefix is reserved for Amazon internal use.

  • You can create a tag with an empty value such as phoneNumber = . You cannot create an empty tag key.

  • You cannot specify multiple values in a single tag, but you can create a custom multivalue structure in the single value. For example, assume that the user Zhang works on the engineering team and the QA team. If you attach the team = Engineering tag and then attach the team = QA tag, you change the value of the tag from Engineering to QA. Instead, you can include multiple values in a single tag with a custom separator. In this example, you could attach the team = Engineering:QA tag to Zhang.

    Note

    To control access to engineers in this example using the team tag, you must create a policy that allows for every configuration that might include Engineering, including Engineering:QA. To learn more about using tags in policies, see Controlling access to and for IAM users and roles using tags.

Applying and editing tags

Observe the following conventions when attaching tags to IAM resources:

  • You can tag most IAM resources, but not groups, assumed roles, access reports, hardware-based, or SMS MFA devices.

  • You cannot use Tag Editor to tag IAM resources. Tag Editor does not support IAM tags. For information about using Tag Editor with other services, see Working with Tag Editor in the Amazon Resource Groups User Guide.

  • To tag an IAM resource, you must have specific permissions. To tag or untag resources, you must also have permission to list tags. For more information, see the list of topics for each IAM resource at the end of this page.

  • The number and size of IAM resources in an Amazon account are limited. For more information, see IAM and Amazon STS quotas.

  • You can apply the same tag to multiple IAM resources. For example, suppose you have a department named AWS_Development with 12 members. You can have 12 users and a role with the tag key of department and a value of awsDevelopment (department = awsDevelopment). You can also use the same tag on resources in other services that support tagging.

  • IAM entities (users or roles) cannot have multiple instances of the same tag key. For example, if you have a user with the tag key-value pair costCenter = 1234, you can then attach the tag key-value pair costCenter = 5678. IAM updates the value of the costCenter tag to 5678.

  • To edit a tag that is attached to an IAM entity (user or role), attach a tag with a new value to overwrite the existing tag. For example, assume that you have a user with the tag key-value pair department = Engineering. If you need to move the user to the QA department, then you can attach the department = QA tag key-value pair to the user. This results in the Engineering value of the department tag key being replaced with the QA value.

标记 IAM 资源 - Amazon Identity and Access Management
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

标记 IAM 资源

标签是您分配给 Amazon 资源的自定义属性标签。每个标签具有两个部分:

  • 标签键(例如 CostCenterEnvironmentProjectPurpose)。标签键区分大小写。

  • 一个称为 标签值 的可选字段(例如,111122223333Production 或团队名称)。省略标签值与使用空字符串相同。与标签键一样,标签值区分大小写。

这些被统称为键值对。有关 IAM 资源上可以拥有的标签数量的限制,请参阅 IAM 和 Amazon STS 配额

标签有助于您标识和组织 Amazon 资源。许多 Amazon 服务支持标记,因此,您可以将同一标签分配给来不同服务的资源,以指示这些资源是相关的。例如,您可以将相同的标签分配给为 Amazon S3 存储桶分配的 IAM 角色。有关标记策略的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon General Reference 指南中的标记 Amazon 资源

除了通过标签标识、组织和跟踪 IAM 资源之外,您还可以在 IAM 策略中使用标签,帮助控制哪些人可以查看并与您的资源交互。要了解有关使用标签控制访问的更多信息,请参阅使用标签控制对 IAM 用户和角色的访问以及他们进行的访问

您还可以在 Amazon STS 中使用标签,以在代入角色或联合用户身份时添加自定义属性。有关更多信息,请参阅在 Amazon STS 中传递会话标签

选择 Amazon 标签命名约定

当您开始将标签附加到您的 IAM 资源时,请谨慎选择标签命名约定。对您的所有 Amazon 标签应用同一约定。如果您在策略中使用标签来控制对 Amazon 资源的访问,这一点尤为重要。如果您已在 Amazon 中使用标签,请检查您的命名约定并相应地进行调整。要查看添加标签的使用案例和最佳实践,请下载添加标签最佳实践白皮书。

在 IAM 和 Amazon STS 中进行标记的规则

大量约定管理 IAM 和 Amazon STS 中标签的创建和应用。

命名标签

为 IAM 资源、Amazon STS 代入角色会话和 Amazon STS 联合身份用户会话制定标签命名约定时,请遵守以下约定:

字符要求 – 标签键和值可以包含字母、数字、空格以及 _ . : / = + - @ 符号的任意组合。

区分大小写 – 标签键是否区分大小写根据标记的 IAM 资源的类型而不同。IAM 用户和角色的标签键值不区分大小写,但会保留大小写。这意味着您不能拥有单独的 Departmentdepartment 标签键。如果您已使用 Department=foo 标签标记用户并添加 department=bar 标签,则它会替换第一个标签。不会添加第二个标签。

对于其他 IAM 资源类型,标签键值区分大小写。这意味着您可以有单独的 Costcentercostcenter 标签键。例如,如果您使用 Costcenter = 1234 标签为客户托管的策略添加了标签,并且添加了 costcenter = 5678 标签,策略将同时拥有 Costcentercostcenter 标签键。

作为最佳实践,我们建议您避免使用大小写处理不一致的类似标签。我们建议您确定利用标签的策略并在所有资源类型中一致地实施该策略。要了解有关标记最佳实践的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon General Reference 中的标记 Amazon 资源

以下列表显示了附加到 IAM 资源的标签键在区分大小写方面的差异。

标签键值区分大小写:

  • IAM 角色

  • IAM 用户

标签键值区分大小写。

  • 客户托管策略

  • 实例配置文件

  • OpenID Connect 身份提供商

  • SAML 身份提供商

  • 服务器证书

  • 虚拟 MFA 设备

此外,以下规则适用:

  • 您不能创建以文本 aws: 开头的标签键或值。此标签前缀将保留以供 Amazon 内部使用。

  • 您可以使用空值创建标签(如 phoneNumber = )。不能创建空标签键。

  • 您不能在单个标签中指定多个值,但可以在单个值中创建自定义多值结构。例如,假设用户 Zhang 在工程团队和 QA 团队工作。如果附加 team = Engineering 标签,然后附加 team = QA 标签,则会将标签的值将从 Engineering 更改为 QA。相反,您可以使用自定义分隔符在单个标签中包含多个值。在此示例中,您可以将 team = Engineering:QA 标签附加到 Zhang。

    注意

    在此示例中,要使用 team 标签控制对工程师的访问,您必须创建一个允许每个可能包含 Engineering(包括 Engineering:QA)的配置的策略。要了解有关在策略中使用标签的更多信息,请参阅使用标签控制对 IAM 用户和角色的访问以及他们进行的访问

应用和编辑标签

在将标签附加到 IAM 资源时遵循以下约定:

  • 您可以标记大多数 IAM 资源,但不能标记组、代入的角色、访问报告、基于硬件的设备或 SMS MFA 设备。

  • 不能使用标签编辑器标记 IAM 资源。标签编辑器不支持 IAM 标签。有关在其他服务中使用标签编辑器的信息,请参阅 Amazon Resource Groups用户指南中的使用标签编辑器

  • 要标记 IAM 资源,您必须拥有特定权限。要标记或取消标记资源,您还必须有权列出标签。有关详细信息,请参阅本页末尾的每个 IAM 资源的主题列表。

  • Amazon 账户中 IAM 资源的数量和大小受到限制。有关更多信息,请参阅IAM 和 Amazon STS 配额

  • 您可以将同一标签应用于多个 IAM 资源。例如,假设您有一个名为 AWS_Development 的部门,有 12 位成员。您可以让 12 位用户和一个角色具有标签键 department 以及值 awsDevelopment (department = awsDevelopment)。您还可以在其他支持标记的服务中的资源上使用相同标签。

  • IAM 实体(用户或角色)不能具有同一标签键的多个实例。例如,如果您有一个标签键值对为 costCenter = 1234 的用户,则可以附加标签键值对 costCenter = 5678。IAM 会将 costCenter 标签的值更新为 5678

  • 要编辑附加到 IAM 实体(用户或角色)的标签,请附加具有新值的标签以覆盖现有标签。例如,假设您有一个标签键值对为 department = Engineering 的用户。如果需要将该用户移动到 QA 部门,则可将 department = QA 标签键值对附加到该用户。这将导致 department 标签键的 Engineering 值被替换为 QA 值。