Creating IAM SAML identity providers - Amazon Identity and Access Management
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Creating IAM SAML identity providers

An IAM SAML 2.0 identity provider is an entity in IAM that describes an external identity provider (IdP) service that supports the SAML 2.0 (Security Assertion Markup Language 2.0) standard. You use an IAM identity provider when you want to establish trust between a SAML-compatible IdP such as Shibboleth or Active Directory Federation Services and Amazon, so that users in your organization can access Amazon resources. IAM SAML identity providers are used as principals in an IAM trust policy.

For more information about this scenario, see About SAML 2.0-based federation.

You can create and manage an IAM identity provider in the Amazon Web Services Management Console or with Amazon CLI, Tools for Windows PowerShell, or Amazon API calls.

After you create a SAML provider, you must create one or more IAM roles. A role is an identity in Amazon that doesn't have its own credentials (as a user does). But in this context, a role is dynamically assigned to a federated user that is authenticated by your organization's IdP. The role permits your organization's IdP to request temporary security credentials for access to Amazon. The policies assigned to the role determine what the federated users are allowed to do in Amazon. To create a role for SAML federation, see Creating a role for a third-party Identity Provider (federation).

Finally, after you create the role, you complete the SAML trust by configuring your IdP with information about Amazon and the roles that you want your federated users to use. This is referred to as configuring relying party trust between your IdP and Amazon. To configure relying party trust, see Configuring your SAML 2.0 IdP with relying party trust and adding claims.

Creating and managing an IAM identity provider (console)

You can use the Amazon Web Services Management Console to create and delete IAM SAML identity providers.

To create an IAM SAML identity provider (console)

  1. Before you can create an IAM SAML identity provider, you need the SAML metadata document that you get from the IdP. This document includes the issuer's name, expiration information, and keys that can be used to validate the SAML authentication response (assertions) that are received from the IdP. To generate the metadata document, use the identity management software your organization uses as its IdP. For instructions on how to configure many of the available IdPs to work with Amazon, including how to generate the required SAML metadata document, see Integrating third-party SAML solution providers with Amazon.

    Important

    This metadata file includes the issuer name, expiration information, and keys that can be used to validate the SAML authentication response (assertions) received from the IdP. The metadata file must be encoded in UTF-8 format without a byte order mark (BOM). To remove the BOM, you can encode the file as UTF-8 using a text editing tool, such as Notepad++.

    The x.509 certificate included as part of the SAML metadata document must use a key size of at least 1024 bits. Also, the x.509 certificate must also be free of any repeated extensions. You can use extensions, but the extensions can only appear once in the certificate. If the x.509 certificate does not meet either condition, IdP creation fails and returns an "Unable to parse metadata" error.

  2. Sign in to the Amazon Web Services Management Console and open the IAM console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/iam/.

  3. In the navigation pane, choose Identity providers and then choose Add provider.

  4. For Configure provider, choose SAML.

  5. Type a name for the identity provider.

  6. For Metadata document, choose Choose file, specify the SAML metadata document that you downloaded in Step 1.

  7. (Optional) For Add tags you can add key–value pairs to help you identify and organize your IdPs. You can also use tags to control access to Amazon resources. To learn more about tagging SAML identity providers, see Tagging IAM SAML identity providers.

    Choose Add tag. Enter values for each tag key-value pair.

  8. Verify the information that you have provided. When you are done, choose Add provider.

  9. Assign an IAM role to your identity provider to give external user identities managed by your identity provider permissions to access Amazon resources in your account. To learn more about creating roles for identity federation, see Creating a role for a third-party Identity Provider (federation).

To delete a SAML provider (console)

  1. Sign in to the Amazon Web Services Management Console and open the IAM console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/iam/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Identity providers.

  3. Select the radio button next to the identity provider that you want to delete.

  4. Choose Delete. A new window opens.

  5. Confirm that you want to delete the provider by typing the word delete in the field. Then, choose Delete.

Creating and managing an IAM SAML Identity Provider (Amazon CLI)

You can use the Amazon CLI to create and manage SAML providers.

Before you can create an IAM identity provider, you need the SAML metadata document that you get from the IdP. This document includes the issuer's name, expiration information, and keys that can be used to validate the SAML authentication response (assertions) that are received from the IdP. To generate the metadata document, use the identity management software your organization uses as its IdP. For instructions on how to configure many of the available IdPs to work with Amazon, including how to generate the required SAML metadata document, see Integrating third-party SAML solution providers with Amazon.

Important

This metadata file includes the issuer name, expiration information, and keys that can be used to validate the SAML authentication response (assertions) received from the IdP. The metadata file must be encoded in UTF-8 format without a byte order mark (BOM). To remove the BOM, you can encode the file as UTF-8 using a text editing tool, such as Notepad++.

The x.509 certificate included as part of the SAML metadata document must use a key size of at least 1024 bits. Also, the x.509 certificate must also be free of any repeated extensions. You can use extensions, but the extensions can only appear once in the certificate. If the x.509 certificate does not meet either condition, IdP creation fails and returns an "Unable to parse metadata" error.

To create an IAM identity provider and upload a metadata document (Amazon CLI)

To upload a new metadata document for an IAM identity provider (Amazon CLI)

To tag an existing IAM identity provider (Amazon CLI)

To list tags for existing IAM identity provider (Amazon CLI)

To remove tags on an existing IAM identity provider (Amazon CLI)

To tag an existing IAM identity provider (Amazon CLI)

To list tags for existing IAM identity provider (Amazon CLI)

To remove tags on an existing IAM identity provider (Amazon CLI)

To delete an IAM SAML identity provider (Amazon CLI)

  1. (Optional) To list information for all providers, such as the ARN, creation date, and expiration, run the following command:

  2. (Optional) To get information about a specific provider, such as the ARN, creation date, and expiration, run the following command:

  3. To delete an IAM identity provider, run the following command:

Creating and managing an IAM SAML identity provider (Amazon API)

You can use the Amazon API to create and manage SAML providers.

Before you can create an IAM identity provider, you need the SAML metadata document that you get from the IdP. This document includes the issuer's name, expiration information, and keys that can be used to validate the SAML authentication response (assertions) that are received from the IdP. To generate the metadata document, use the identity management software your organization uses as its IdP. For instructions on how to configure many of the available IdPs to work with Amazon, including how to generate the required SAML metadata document, see Integrating third-party SAML solution providers with Amazon.

Important

The metadata file must be encoded in UTF-8 format without a byte order mark (BOM). Also, the X.509 certificate that is included as part of the SAML metadata document must use a key size of at least 1024 bits. If the key size is smaller, the IdP creation fails with an "Unable to parse metadata" error. To remove the BOM, you can encode the file as UTF-8 using a text editing tool, such as Notepad++.

To create an IAM identity provider and upload a metadata document (Amazon API)

To upload a new metadata document for an IAM identity provider (Amazon API)

To tag an existing IAM identity provider (Amazon API)

To list tags for an existing IAM identity provider (Amazon API)

To remove tags on an existing IAM identity provider (Amazon API)

To tag an existing IAM identity provider (Amazon API)

To list tags for an existing IAM identity provider (Amazon API)

To remove tags on an existing IAM identity provider (Amazon API)

To delete an IAM identity provider (Amazon API)

  1. (Optional) To list information for all IdPs, such as the ARN, creation date, and expiration, call the following operation:

  2. (Optional) To get information about a specific provider, such as the ARN, creation date, and expiration, call the following operation:

  3. To delete an IdP, call the following operation:

创建 IAM SAML 身份提供商 - Amazon Identity and Access Management
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

创建 IAM SAML 身份提供商

IAM SAML 2.0 身份提供商是 IAM 中的一个实体,该实体描述支持 SAML 2.0(安全断言标记语言 2.0)标准的外部身份提供商 (IdP) 服务。如果您希望在与 SAML 兼容的 IdP(例如,Shibboleth 或 Active Directory 联合身份验证服务)和 Amazon 之间建立信任,以便组织中的用户能够访问 Amazon 资源,则需要使用 IAM 身份提供商。IAM SAML 身份提供商用作 IAM 信任策略中的委托人。

有关此方案的更多信息,请参阅关于基于 SAML 2.0 的联合身份验证

您可以在 Amazon Web Services Management Console中或通过使用 Amazon CLI、Tools for Windows PowerShell 或 Amazon API 调用,创建和管理 IAM 身份提供商。

创建 SAML 提供商后,必须创建一个或多个 IAM 角色。角色是 Amazon 中的一个实体,它没有自己的凭证(与用户一样)。但在此上下文中,角色将动态分配给由组织的 IdP 验证的联合身份用户。该角色允许组织的 IdP 请求临时安全凭证以便访问 Amazon。分配给该角色的策略决定了联合用户可在 Amazon 中执行的操作。要创建用于 SAML 联合的角色,请参阅针对第三方身份提供商创建角色(联合)

最后,在创建角色后,您可通过配置包含有关 Amazon 的信息的 IdP 以及希望联合身份用户使用的角色来完成 SAML 信任。这称为在 IdP 和 Amazon 之间配置信赖方信任。要配置信赖方信任,请参阅配置具有信赖方信任的 SAML 2.0 IdP 并添加断言

创建和管理 IAM 身份提供商(控制台)

您可以使用 Amazon Web Services Management Console创建和删除 IAM SAML 身份提供商。

创建 IAM SAML 身份提供商(控制台)

  1. 在创建 IAM SAML 身份提供商之前,您需要从 IdP 处获得的 SAML 元数据文档。此文档包括发布者名称、过期信息以及可用来验证从 IdP 处收到的 SAML 身份验证响应(断言)的密钥。要生成元数据文档,可使用您的组织用作其 IdP 的身份管理软件。有关如何配置许多可用 IdP 以使用 Amazon(包括如何生成所需的 SAML 元数据文档)的说明,请参阅将第三方 SAML 解决方案提供商与 Amazon 集成

    重要

    元数据文件必须采用不含字节顺序标记 (BOM) 的 UTF-8 格式编码。此外,作为 SAML 元数据文档的一部分,X.509 证书必须使用长度至少为 1024 位的密钥。如果密钥过短,则 IdP 将创建失败,并显示“无法解析元数据”这一错误消息。要删除 BOM,您可以使用 Notepad++ 等文本编辑工具以 UTF-8 格式对文件进行编码。

  2. 登录 Amazon Web Services Management Console 并通过以下网址打开 IAM 控制台 https://console.amazonaws.cn/iam/

  3. 在导航窗格中,选择身份提供商,然后选择添加提供商

  4. 对于配置提供商,选择 SAML

  5. 键入身份提供商的名称。

  6. 对于元数据文档,选择选择文件,指定您在 步骤 1 中下载的 SAML 元数据文档。

  7. (可选)对于 Add tags(添加标签),您可以添加键值对来帮助识别和组织您的 IdP。您还可以使用标签来控制对 Amazon 资源的访问。要了解有关标记 SAML 身份提供商的更多信息,请参阅标记 IAM SAML 身份提供商

    选择 Add tag。为每个标签键值对输入值。

  8. 验证您提供的信息。完成此操作后,选择添加提供商

  9. 将 IAM 角色分配至身份提供商,以向身份提供商托管的外部用户身份授予访问账户中的 Amazon 资源的权限。要了解有关为联合身份创建角色的更多信息,请参阅 针对第三方身份提供商创建角色(联合)

删除 SAML 提供商(控制台)

  1. 登录 Amazon Web Services Management Console 并通过以下网址打开 IAM 控制台 https://console.amazonaws.cn/iam/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择身份提供商

  3. 选中要删除的身份提供商旁边的单选按钮。

  4. 选择 Delete。此时会打开一个新窗口。

  5. 通过在字段中键入 delete 一词以确认您要删除此提供商。然后选择删除

创建和管理 IAM SAML 身份提供商 (Amazon CLI)

您可使用 Amazon CLI 创建和管理 SAML 提供商。

在创建 IAM 身份提供商之前,您需要从 IdP 处获得的 SAML 元数据文档。此文档包括发布者名称、过期信息以及可用来验证从 IdP 处收到的 SAML 身份验证响应(断言)的密钥。要生成元数据文档,可使用您的组织用作其 IdP 的身份管理软件。有关如何配置许多可用 IdP 以使用 Amazon(包括如何生成所需的 SAML 元数据文档)的说明,请参阅将第三方 SAML 解决方案提供商与 Amazon 集成

重要

元数据文件必须采用不含字节顺序标记 (BOM) 的 UTF-8 格式编码。此外,作为 SAML 元数据文档的一部分,X.509 证书必须使用长度至少为 1024 位的密钥。如果密钥过短,则 IdP 将创建失败,并显示“无法解析元数据”这一错误消息。要删除 BOM,您可以使用 Notepad++ 等文本编辑工具以 UTF-8 格式对文件进行编码。

创建 IAM 身份提供商并上传元数据文档 (Amazon CLI)

为 IAM 身份提供商上传新的元数据文档 (Amazon CLI)

要标记现有 IAM 身份提供商 (Amazon CLI)

要列出现有 IAM 身份提供商 (Amazon CLI) 的标签

要删除现有 IAM 身份提供商 (Amazon CLI) 的标签

要标记现有 IAM 身份提供商 (Amazon CLI)

要列出现有 IAM 身份提供商 (Amazon CLI) 的标签

要删除现有 IAM 身份提供商 (Amazon CLI) 的标签

删除 IAM SAML 身份提供商 (Amazon CLI)

  1. (可选)要列出所有提供商的信息(例如 ARN、创建日期和过期时间),请运行以下命令:

  2. (可选)要获取有关特定提供商的信息(例如 ARN、创建日期和过期时间),请运行以下命令:

  3. 要删除 IAM 身份提供商,请运行以下命令:

创建和管理 IAM SAML 身份提供商 (Amazon API)

您可使用 Amazon API 创建和管理 SAML 提供商。

在创建 IAM 身份提供商之前,您需要从 IdP 处获得的 SAML 元数据文档。此文档包括发布者名称、过期信息以及可用来验证从 IdP 处收到的 SAML 身份验证响应(断言)的密钥。要生成元数据文档,可使用您的组织用作其 IdP 的身份管理软件。有关如何配置许多可用 IdP 以使用 Amazon(包括如何生成所需的 SAML 元数据文档)的说明,请参阅将第三方 SAML 解决方案提供商与 Amazon 集成

重要

元数据文件必须采用不含字节顺序标记 (BOM) 的 UTF-8 格式编码。此外,作为 SAML 元数据文档的一部分,X.509 证书必须使用长度至少为 1024 位的密钥。如果密钥过短,则 IdP 将创建失败,并显示“无法解析元数据”这一错误消息。要删除 BOM,您可以使用 Notepad++ 等文本编辑工具以 UTF-8 格式对文件进行编码。

创建 IAM 身份提供商并上传元数据文档 (Amazon API)

为 IAM 身份提供商上传新的元数据文档 (Amazon API)

要标记现有 IAM 身份提供商 (Amazon API)

要列出现有 IAM 身份提供商 (Amazon API) 的标签

要删除现有 IAM 身份提供商的标签 (Amazon API)

要标记现有 IAM 身份提供商 (Amazon API)

要列出现有 IAM 身份提供商 (Amazon API) 的标签

要删除现有 IAM 身份提供商的标签 (Amazon API)

删除 IAM 身份提供商 (Amazon API)

  1. (可选)要列出所有 IdP 的信息(例如 ARN、创建日期和过期时间),请调用以下操作:

  2. (可选)要获取有关特定提供商的信息(例如 ARN、创建日期和过期时间),请调用以下操作:

  3. 要删除 IdP,请调用以下操作: