Creating an IAM user in your Amazon Web Services account - Amazon Identity and Access Management
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Creating an IAM user in your Amazon Web Services account

Important

IAM best practices recommend that you require human users to use federation with an identity provider to access Amazon using temporary credentials instead of using IAM users with long-term credentials.

Note

If you found this page because you are looking for information about the Product Advertising API to sell Amazon products on your website, see the Product Advertising API 5.0 Documentation.

If you arrived at this page from the IAM console, it is possible that your account does not include IAM users, even though you are signed in. You could be signed in as the Amazon Web Services account root user, using a role, or signed in with temporary credentials. To learn more about these IAM identities, see IAM Identities (users, user groups, and roles).

The process of creating a user and enabling that user to perform work tasks consists of the following steps:

  1. Create the user in the Amazon Web Services Management Console, the Amazon CLI, Tools for Windows PowerShell, or using an Amazon API operation. If you create the user in the Amazon Web Services Management Console, then steps 1–4 are handled automatically, based on your choices. If you create the users programmatically, then you must perform each of those steps individually.

  2. Create credentials for the user, depending on the type of access the user requires:

    • Enable console access – optional: If the user needs to access the Amazon Web Services Management Console, create a password for the user. Disabling console access for a user prevents them from signing in to the Amazon Web Services Management Console using their user name and password. It does not change their permissions or prevent them from accessing the console using an assumed role.

    Tip

    Create only the credentials that the user needs. For example, for a user who requires access only through the Amazon Web Services Management Console, do not create access keys.

  3. Give the user permissions to perform the required tasks by adding the user to one or more groups. You can also grant permissions by attaching permissions policies directly to the user. However, we recommend instead that you put your users in groups and manage permissions through policies that are attached to those groups. You can also use a permissions boundary to limit the permissions that a user can have, though this is not common.

  4. (Optional) Add metadata to the user by attaching tags. For more information about using tags in IAM, see Tagging IAM resources.

  5. Provide the user with the necessary sign-in information. This includes the password and the console URL for the account sign-in page where the user provides those credentials. For more information, see How IAM users sign in to Amazon.

  6. (Optional) Configure multi-factor authentication (MFA) for the user. MFA requires the user to provide a one-time-use code each time he or she signs into the Amazon Web Services Management Console.

  7. (Optional) Give users permissions to manage their own security credentials. (By default, users do not have permissions to manage their own credentials.) For more information, see Permitting IAM users to change their own passwords.

For information about the permissions that you need in order to create a user, see Permissions required to access IAM resources.

Creating IAM users (console)

You can use the Amazon Web Services Management Console to create IAM users.

To create an IAM user (console)
  1. Follow the sign-in procedure appropriate to your user type as described in the topic How to sign in to Amazon in the Amazon Sign-In User Guide.

  2. On the Console Home page, select the IAM service.

  3. In the navigation pane, select Users and then select Add users.

  4. On the Specify user details page, under User details, in User name, enter the name for the new user. This is their sign-in name for Amazon.

    Note

    The number and size of IAM resources in an Amazon account are limited. For more information, see IAM and Amazon STS quotas. User names can be a combination of up to 64 letters, digits, and these characters: plus (+), equal (=), comma (,), period (.), at sign (@), underscore (_), and hyphen (-). Names must be unique within an account. They are not distinguished by case. For example, you cannot create two users named TESTUSER and testuser. When a user name is used in a policy or as part of an ARN, the name is case sensitive. When a user name appears to customers in the console, such as during the sign-in process, the user name is case insensitive.

  5. Select Provide user access to the – Amazon Web Services Management Console optional This produces Amazon Web Services Management Console sign-in credentials for the new user.

    You are asked whether you are providing console access to a person. We recommend that you create users in IAM Identity Center rather than IAM.

    • To switch to creating the user in IAM Identity Center, select Specify a user in Identity Center.

      If you have not enabled IAM Identity Center, selecting this option takes you to the service page in the console so that you can enable the service. For details on this procedure, see https://docs.amazonaws.cn/singlesignon/latest/userguide/getting-started.html in the Amazon IAM Identity Center User Guide

      If you have enabled IAM Identity Center, selecting this option takes you to the Specify user details page in IAM Identity Center. For details on this procedure, see https://docs.amazonaws.cn/singlesignon/latest/userguide/addusers.html in the Amazon IAM Identity Center User Guide

    • If you cannot use IAM Identity Center, select I want to create an IAM user and continue following this procedure.

    1. For Console password, select one of the following:

      • Autogenerated password – The user gets a randomly generated password that meets the account password policy. You can view or download the password when you get to the Retrieve password page.

      • Custom password – The user is assigned the password that you enter in the box.

    2. (Optional) Users must create a new password at next sign-in (recommended) is selected by default to ensure that the user is forced to change their password the first time they sign in.

      Note

      If an administrator has enabled the Allow users to change their own password account password policy setting, then this check box does nothing. Otherwise, it automatically attaches an Amazon managed policy named IAMUserChangePassword to the new users. The policy grants them permission to change their own passwords.

  6. Select Next.

  7. On the Set permissions page, specify how you want to assign permissions for this user. Select one of the following three options:

    • Add user to group – Select this option if you want to assign the user to one or more groups that already have permissions policies. IAM displays a list of the groups in your account, along with their attached policies. You can select one or more existing groups, or select Create group to create a new group. For more information, see Changing permissions for an IAM user.

    • Copy permissions – Select this option to copy all of the group memberships, attached managed policies, embedded inline policies, and any existing permissions boundaries from an existing user to the new user. IAM displays a list of the users in your account. Select the one whose permissions most closely match the needs of your new user.

    • Attach policies directly – Select this option to see a list of the Amazon managed and customer managed policies in your account. Select the policies that you want to attach to the user or select Create policy to open a new browser tab and create a new policy. For more information, see step 4 in the procedure Creating IAM policies. After you create the policy, close that tab and return to your original tab to add the policy to the user.

      Tip

      Whenever possible, attach your policies to a group and then make users members of the appropriate groups.

  8. (Optional) Set a permissions boundary. This is an advanced feature.

    Open the Permissions boundary section and select Use a permissions boundary to control the maximum permissions. IAM displays a list of the Amazon managed and customer managed policies in your account. Select the policy to use for the permissions boundary or select Create policy to open a new browser tab and create a new policy. For more information, see step 4 in the procedure Creating IAM policies. After you create the policy, close that tab and return to your original tab to select the policy to use for the permissions boundary.

  9. Select Next.

  10. (Optional) On the Review and create page, under Tags, select Add new tag to add metadata to the user by attaching tags as key-value pairs. For more information about using tags in IAM, see Tagging IAM resources.

  11. Review all of the choices you made up to this point. When you are ready to proceed, select Create user.

  12. On the Retrieve password page, get the password assigned to the user:

    • Select Show next to the password to view the user's password so that you can record it manually.

    • Select Download .csv to download the user's sign in credentials as a .csv file that you can save to a safe location.

  13. Select Email sign-in instructions. Your local mail client opens with a draft that you can customize and send to the user. The email template includes the following details to each user:

    • User name

    • URL to the account sign-in page. Use the following example, substituting the correct account ID number or account alias:

      https://Amazon-account-ID or alias.signin.amazonaws.cn/console
    Important

    The user's password is not included in the generated email. You must provide the password to the user in a way that complies with your organization's security guidelines.

  14. If the user also requires access keys, refer to Managing access keys for IAM users.

Creating IAM users (Amazon CLI)

You can use the Amazon CLI to create an IAM user.

To create an IAM user (Amazon CLI)
  1. Create a user.

  2. (Optional) Give the user access to the Amazon Web Services Management Console. This requires a password. You must also give the user the URL of your account's sign-in page.

  3. (Optional) Give the user programmatic access. This requires access keys.

    • aws iam create-access-key

    • Tools for Windows PowerShell: New-IAMAccessKey

    • IAM API: CreateAccessKey

      Important

      This is your only opportunity to view or download the secret access keys, and you must provide this information to your users before they can use the Amazon API. Save the user's new access key ID and secret access key in a safe and secure place. You will not have access to the secret keys again after this step.

  4. Add the user to one or more groups. The groups that you specify should have attached policies that grant the appropriate permissions for the user.

  5. (Optional) Attach a policy to the user that defines the user's permissions. Note: We recommend that you manage user permissions by adding the user to a group and attaching a policy to the group instead of attaching directly to a user.

  6. (Optional) Add custom attributes to the user by attaching tags. For more information, see Managing tags on IAM users (Amazon CLI or Amazon API).

  7. (Optional) Give the user permission to manage their own security credentials. For more information, see Amazon: Allows MFA-authenticated IAM users to manage their own credentials on the Security credentials page.

Creating IAM users (Amazon API)

You can use the Amazon API to create an IAM user.

To create an IAM user from the (Amazon API)
  1. Create a user.

  2. (Optional) Give the user access to the Amazon Web Services Management Console. This requires a password. You must also give the user the URL of your account's sign-in page.

  3. (Optional) Give the user programmatic access. This requires access keys.

    • CreateAccessKey

      Important

      This is your only opportunity to view or download the secret access keys, and you must provide this information to your users before they can use the Amazon API. Save the user's new access key ID and secret access key in a safe and secure place. You will not have access to the secret keys again after this step.

  4. Add the user to one or more groups. The groups that you specify should have attached policies that grant the appropriate permissions for the user.

  5. (Optional) Attach a policy to the user that defines the user's permissions. Note: We recommend that you manage user permissions by adding the user to a group and attaching a policy to the group instead of attaching directly to a user.

  6. (Optional) Add custom attributes to the user by attaching tags. For more information, see Managing tags on IAM users (Amazon CLI or Amazon API).

  7. (Optional) Give the user permission to manage their own security credentials. For more information, see Amazon: Allows MFA-authenticated IAM users to manage their own credentials on the Security credentials page.

AWS Identity and Access Management
用户指南
AWS 文档中描述的 AWS 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 Amazon AWS 入门

在您的 AWS 账户中创建 IAM 用户

可以在您的 AWS 账户中创建一个或多个 IAM 用户。当有人加入您的团队时,或创建需要对 AWS 进行 API 调用的新应用程序时,您可能会创建 IAM 用户。

重要

如果您已位于此页面,并尝试为您的应用程序或网站启用 Amazon Advertising,请参阅成为产品广告 API 开发人员

如果您是从 IAM 控制台到达该页面的,您的账户可能不包含 IAM 用户(即使您已登录)。能够使用角色以 AWS 账户根用户身份登录,也可以使用临时凭证登录。要了解有关这些 IAM 身份的更多信息,请参阅身份 (用户、组和角色)

创建用户并使该用户能够执行工作任务的过程包含以下步骤:

  1. 在 AWS 管理控制台、AWS CLI、Windows PowerShell 工具中或使用 AWS API 操作创建用户。如果您在 AWS 管理控制台中创建用户,则将根据您的选择自动处理步骤 1 到步骤 4。如果您以编程方式创建用户,则必须分别执行上述每个步骤。

  2. 根据用户所需的访问类型为用户创建凭证:

    • 编程访问:IAM 用户可能需要进行 API 调用、使用 AWS CLI 或使用Windows PowerShell 工具。对于这种情况,请为该用户创建访问密钥(访问密钥 ID 和秘密访问密钥)。

    • AWS 管理控制台访问:如果用户需要访问 AWS 管理控制台,请为用户创建密码

    作为最佳实践,请仅创建用户需要的凭证。例如,对于仅需要通过 AWS 管理控制台进行访问的用户,请勿创建访问密钥。

  3. 通过将用户添加到一个或多个组,向用户提供执行所需任务的权限。您还可以通过将权限策略直接附加到用户来授予权限。但是,我们建议您将用户放入组内并通过附加到这些组的策略来管理权限。您还可以使用权限边界来限制用户可以具有的权限,但这不常用。

  4. 向用户提供必要的登录信息。信息包括密码以及用户在其中提供这些凭证的账户登录页面的控制台 URL。有关更多信息,请参阅 IAM 用户如何登录 AWS

  5. (可选) 为用户配置多重验证 (MFA)。MFA 要求用户在每次登录 AWS 管理控制台时都提供一次性的代码。

  6. (可选) 向用户授予管理其自己的安全凭证所需的权限。(默认状态下,用户没有许可管理自己的证书。) 有关更多信息,请参阅 允许 IAM 用户更改自己的密码

有关创建用户时需要的权限的信息,请参阅访问 IAM 资源所需的权限

创建 IAM 用户(控制台)

您可以使用 AWS 管理控制台创建 IAM 用户。

创建一个或多个 IAM 用户(控制台)

  1. 登录 AWS 管理控制台 并通过以下网址打开 IAM 控制台 https://console.amazonaws.cn/iam/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择 Users (用户),然后选择Add user (添加用户)

  3. 为新用户键入用户名。这是 AWS 的登录名。如果您要同时添加多个用户,请为每个其他用户选择 Add another user 并键入其用户名。您一次最多可以添加 10 个用户。

    注意

    用户名可以是一个最多由 64 个字母、数字和以下字符构成的组合:加号 (+)、等号 (=)、逗号 (,)、句点 (.)、at 符号 (@) 和连字符 (-)。账户中的名称必须唯一。名称不区分大小写。例如,您不能创建名为 TESTUSERtestuser 的两个用户。有关 IAM 实体限制条件的更多信息,请参阅 IAM 实体和对象的限制

  4. 选择此组用户将拥有的访问权限类型。您可以选择以编程方式访问、访问 AWS 管理控制台,或者同时选择这二者。

    • 如果用户需要访问 API、AWS CLI 或 Windows PowerShell 工具,请选择 Programmatic access (编程访问)。这会为每个新用户创建访问密钥。您可以在转到 Final 页面后查看或下载访问密钥。

    • 如果用户需要访问 AWS 管理控制台,请选择 AWS 管理控制台 access (AWS 管理控制台访问)。这会为每个新用户创建密码。

    1. 对于 Console password type,选择以下任一项:

      • 自动生成的密码。每个用户将获得一个随机生成的密码,该密码符合当前生效的密码策略 (如果有)。在转到完成页面后,您可以查看或下载密码。

      • 自定义密码。向每个用户分配您在框内键入的密码。

    2. (可选)我们建议您选择 Require password reset 以确保用户在首次登录时必须更改其密码。

      注意

      如果您尚未 启用整个账户的密码策略设置 Allow users to change their own password (允许用户更改其密码),则选择 Require password reset (需要密码重置) 会将名为 IAMUserChangePassword 的 AWS 托管策略自动附加到新用户,授予他们更改自己的密码的权限。

  5. 选择 Next: Permissions

  6. Set permissions 页面上,指定您要向这组新用户分配权限的方式。选择下列三个选项之一:

    • 将用户添加到组。如果您希望将用户分配到已具有权限策略的一个或多个组,请选择此选项。IAM 将显示您账户中的组及其附加的策略的列表。您可以选择一个或多个现有组,或者选择 Create group 来创建新组。有关更多信息,请参阅更改 IAM 用户的权限

    • 从现有用户复制权限。选择此选项可将现有用户的所有组成员资格、附加的托管策略、嵌入式内联策略以及任何现有的权限边界都复制给新用户。IAM 将显示您账户中的用户列表。选择其权限与新用户的需求最为匹配的一个用户。

    • 直接将现有策略附加到用户。选择此选项可查看您的账户中的 AWS 托管策略和客户托管策略的列表。选择您要附加到新用户的策略或选择创建策略,以打开新的浏览器选项卡并从头开始创建新策略。有关更多信息,请参阅过程创建 IAM 策略(控制台)中的步骤 4。在您创建策略后,关闭该选项卡并返回到您的原始选项卡,以将策略添加到新用户。作为最佳实践,我们建议您改为将策略附加到组,然后使用户成为相应的组的成员。

  7. (可选)设置权限边界。这是一项高级功能。

    打开 Set permissions boundary (设置权限边界) 部分,然后选择 Use a permissions boundary to control the maximum user permissions (使用权限边界最大用户权限)。IAM 将显示您的账户中的 AWS 托管和客户托管策略的列表。选择要用于权限边界的策略,或选择创建策略以打开新的浏览器选项卡并从头开始创建新策略。有关更多信息,请参阅过程创建 IAM 策略(控制台)中的步骤 4。在您创建策略后,关闭该选项卡并返回到您的原始选项卡,以选择要用于权限边界的策略。

  8. 选择 Next: Review 以查看您此时已做出的所有选择。如果您已准备好继续,请选择 Create user

  9. 要查看用户的访问密钥(访问密钥 ID 和秘密访问密钥),请选择您要查看的每个密码和访问密钥旁边的显示。要保存访问密钥,请选择下载 .csv,然后将文件保存到安全位置。

    重要

    这是您查看或下载秘密访问密钥的唯一机会,您必须向用户提供此信息,他们才能使用 AWS API。将用户的新访问密钥 ID 和秘密访问密钥保存在安全的地方。完成此步骤后,您再也无法访问这些私有密钥。

  10. 为每个用户提供各自的凭证。在最后的页面上,您可以选择每个用户旁边的 Send email。您的本地邮件客户端将打开并显示一份草稿,您可以对草稿进行自定义并发送。电子邮件模板包括每个用户的以下详细信息:

    • 用户名称

    • 账户登录页面的 URL。使用以下示例,换入正确的账户 ID 号或账户别名:

      https://AWS-account-ID or alias.signin.aws.amazon.com/console

    有关更多信息,请参阅IAM 用户如何登录 AWS

    重要

    用户的密码 包括在生成的电子邮件中。您必须以符合您组织的安全准则的方式向客户提供密码。

  11. (可选) 向用户授予管理自己的安全凭证的权限。有关更多信息,请参阅 允许用户管理自己的密码、访问密钥和 SSH 密钥

创建 IAM 用户(AWS CLI)

您可以使用 AWS CLI 创建 IAM 用户。

创建 IAM 用户 (AWS CLI)

  1. 创建用户。

  2. (可选)向用户提供对 AWS 管理控制台的访问权限。这需要密码。您必须还向用户提供您的账户登录页的 URL。

  3. (可选)向用户提供编程访问。这需要访问密钥。

  4. 将该用户添加到一个或多个组。您指定的组应具有用于向用户授予适当的权限的附加策略。

  5. (可选)向用户附加策略,此策略用于定义该用户的权限。注意:建议您通过将用户添加到一个组并向该组附加策略(而不是直接向用户附加策略)来管理用户权限。

  6. (可选)向用户授予用于管理其自身的安全凭证的权限。有关更多信息,请参阅 允许用户管理自己的密码、访问密钥和 SSH 密钥

创建 IAM 用户 (AWS API)

您可以使用 AWS API 创建 IAM 用户。

从 (AWS API) 创建 IAM 用户

  1. 创建用户。

  2. (可选)向用户提供对 AWS 管理控制台的访问权限。这需要密码。您必须还向用户提供您的账户登录页的 URL。

  3. (可选)向用户提供编程访问。这需要访问密钥。

    • CreateAccessKey

      重要

      这是您查看或下载秘密访问密钥的唯一机会,您必须向用户提供此信息,他们才能使用 AWS API。将用户的新访问密钥 ID 和秘密访问密钥保存在安全的地方。完成此步骤后,您再也无法访问这些私有密钥。

  4. 将该用户添加到一个或多个组。您指定的组应具有用于向用户授予适当的权限的附加策略。

  5. (可选)向用户附加策略,此策略用于定义该用户的权限。注意:建议您通过将用户添加到一个组并向该组附加策略(而不是直接向用户附加策略)来管理用户权限。

  6. (可选)向用户授予用于管理其自身的安全凭证的权限。有关更多信息,请参阅 允许用户管理自己的密码、访问密钥和 SSH 密钥