Evaluate your provisioned capacity for right-sized provisioning - Amazon DynamoDB
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Evaluate your provisioned capacity for right-sized provisioning

This section provides an overview of how to evaluate if you have right-sized provisioning on your DynamoDB tables. As your workload evolves, you should modify your operational procedures appropriately, especially when your DynamoDB table is configured in provisioned mode and you have the risk to over-provision or under-provision your tables.

The procedures described below require statistical information that should be captured from the DynamoDB tables that are supporting your production application. To understand your application behavior, you should define a period of time that is significant enough to capture the data seasonality from your application. For example, if your application shows weekly patterns, using a three week period should give you enough room for analysing application throughput needs.

If you don’t know where to start, use at least one month’s worth of data usage for the calculations below.

While evaluating capacity, DynamoDB tables can configure Read Capacity Units (RCUs) and Write Capacity Units (WCU) independently. If your tables have any Global Secondary Indexes (GSI) configured, you will need to specify the throughput that it will consume, which will be also independent from the RCUs and WCUs from the base table.

Note

Local Secondary Indexes (LSI) consume capacity from the base table.

How to retrieve consumption metrics on your DynamoDB tables

To evaluate the table and GSI capacity, monitor the following CloudWatch metrics and select the appropriate dimension to retrieve either table or GSI information:

Read Capacity Units Write Capacity Units

ConsumedReadCapacityUnits

ConsumedWriteCapacityUnits

ProvisionedReadCapacityUnits

ProvisionedWriteCapacityUnits

ReadThrottleEvents

WriteThrottleEvents

You can do this either through the Amazon CLI or the Amazon Web Services Management Console.

Amazon CLI

Before we retrieve the table consumption metrics, we'll need to start by capturing some historical data points using the CloudWatch API.

Start by creating two files: write-calc.json and read-calc.json. These files will represent the calculations for a table or GSI. You'll need to update some of the fields, as indicated in the table below, to match your environment.

Field Name Definition Example
<table-name> The name of the table that you will be analysing SampleTable
<period> The period of time that you will be using to evaluate the utilization target, based in seconds For a 1-hour period you should specify: 3600
<start-time> The beginning of your evaluation interval, specified in ISO8601 format 2022-02-21T23:00:00
<end-time> The end of your evaluation interval, specified in ISO8601 format 2022-02-22T06:00:00

The write calculations file will retrieve the number of WCU provisioned and consumed in the time period for the date range specified. It will also generate a utilization percentage that will be used for analysis. The full content of the write-calc.json file should look like this:

{ "MetricDataQueries": [ { "Id": "provisionedWCU", "MetricStat": { "Metric": { "Namespace": "AWS/DynamoDB", "MetricName": "ProvisionedWriteCapacityUnits", "Dimensions": [ { "Name": "TableName", "Value": "<table-name>" } ] }, "Period": <period>, "Stat": "Average" }, "Label": "Provisioned", "ReturnData": false }, { "Id": "consumedWCU", "MetricStat": { "Metric": { "Namespace": "AWS/DynamoDB", "MetricName": "ConsumedWriteCapacityUnits", "Dimensions": [ { "Name": "TableName", "Value": "<table-name>"" } ] }, "Period": <period>, "Stat": "Sum" }, "Label": "", "ReturnData": false }, { "Id": "m1", "Expression": "consumedWCU/PERIOD(consumedWCU)", "Label": "Consumed WCUs", "ReturnData": false }, { "Id": "utilizationPercentage", "Expression": "100*(m1/provisionedWCU)", "Label": "Utilization Percentage", "ReturnData": true } ], "StartTime": "<start-time>", "EndTime": "<ent-time>", "ScanBy": "TimestampDescending", "MaxDatapoints": 24 }

The read calculations file uses a similar file. This file will retrieve how many RCUs were provisioned and consumed during the time period for the date range specified. The contents of the read-calc.json file should look like this:

{ "MetricDataQueries": [ { "Id": "provisionedRCU", "MetricStat": { "Metric": { "Namespace": "AWS/DynamoDB", "MetricName": "ProvisionedReadCapacityUnits", "Dimensions": [ { "Name": "TableName", "Value": "<table-name>" } ] }, "Period": <period>, "Stat": "Average" }, "Label": "Provisioned", "ReturnData": false }, { "Id": "consumedRCU", "MetricStat": { "Metric": { "Namespace": "AWS/DynamoDB", "MetricName": "ConsumedReadCapacityUnits", "Dimensions": [ { "Name": "TableName", "Value": "<table-name>" } ] }, "Period": <period>, "Stat": "Sum" }, "Label": "", "ReturnData": false }, { "Id": "m1", "Expression": "consumedRCU/PERIOD(consumedRCU)", "Label": "Consumed RCUs", "ReturnData": false }, { "Id": "utilizationPercentage", "Expression": "100*(m1/provisionedRCU)", "Label": "Utilization Percentage", "ReturnData": true } ], "StartTime": "<start-time>", "EndTime": "<end-time>", "ScanBy": "TimestampDescending", "MaxDatapoints": 24 }

One you've created the files, you can start retrieving utilization data.

  1. To retreive the write utilization data, issue the following command:

    aws cloudwatch get-metric-data --cli-input-json file://write-calc.json
  2. To retreive the read utilization data, issue the following command:

    aws cloudwatch get-metric-data --cli-input-json file://read-calc.json

The result for both queries will be a series of data points in JSON format that will be used for analysis. Your result will depend on the number of data points you specified, the period, and your own specific workload data. It could look something like this:

{ "MetricDataResults": [ { "Id": "utilizationPercentage", "Label": "Utilization Percentage", "Timestamps": [ "2022-02-22T05:00:00+00:00", "2022-02-22T04:00:00+00:00", "2022-02-22T03:00:00+00:00", "2022-02-22T02:00:00+00:00", "2022-02-22T01:00:00+00:00", "2022-02-22T00:00:00+00:00", "2022-02-21T23:00:00+00:00" ], "Values": [ 91.55364583333333, 55.066631944444445, 2.6114930555555556, 24.9496875, 40.94725694444445, 25.61819444444444, 0.0 ], "StatusCode": "Complete" } ], "Messages": [] }
Note

If you specify a short period and a long time range, you might need to modify the MaxDatapoints which is by default set to 24 in the script. This represents one data point per hour and 24 per day.

Amazon Web Services Management Console
  1. Log into the Amazon Web Services Management Console and navigate to the CloudWatch service page at Getting Started with the Amazon Web Services Management Console. Select the appropriate Amazon region if necessary.

  2. Locate the Metrics section on the left navigation bar and select All metrics.

  3. This will open a dashboard with two panels. The top panel will show you the grapic, and the bottom panel will have the metrics you want to graph. Select the DynamoDB panel.

  4. Select the Table Metrics category from the sub panels. This will show you the tables in your current Region.

  5. Identify your table name by scrolling down the menu and selecting the write operation metrics: ConsumedWriteCapacityUnits and ProvisionedWriteCapacityUnits

    Note

    This example talks about write operation metrics, but you can also use these steps to graph the read operation metrics.

  6. Select the Graphed metrics (2) tab to modify the formulas. By default CloudWatch will select the statistical function Average for the graphs.

  7. While having both graphed metrics selected (the checkbox on the left) select the menu Add math, followed by Common, and then select the Percentage function. Repeat the procedure twice.

    First time selecting the Percentage function:

    Second time selecting the Percentage function:

  8. At this point you should have four metrics in the bottom menu. Let’s work on the ConsumedWriteCapacityUnits calculation. To be consistent, we need to match the names for the ones we used in the Amazon CLI section. Click on the m1 ID and change this value to consumedWCU.

  9. Change the statistic from Average to Sum. This action will automatically create another metric called ANOMALY_DETECTION_BAND. For the scope of this procedure, let's can ignore it by removing the checkbox on the newly generated ad1 metric.

  10. Repeat step 8 to rename the m2 ID to provisionedWCU. Leave the statistic set to Average.

  11. Select the Expression1 label and update the value to m1 and the label to Consumed WCUs.

    Note

    Make sure you have only selected m1 (checkbox on the left) and provisionedWCU to properly visualize the data. Update the formula by clicking in Details and changing the formula to consumedWCU/PERIOD(consumedWCU). This step might also generate another ANOMALY_DETECTION_BAND metric, but for the scope of this procedure we can ignore it.

  12. You should have now have two graphics: one that indicates your provisioned WCUs on the table and another that indicates the consumed WCUs. The shape of the graphic might be different from the one below, but you can use it as reference:

  13. Update the percentage formula by selecting the Expression2 graphic (e2). Rename the labels and IDs to utilizationPercentage. Rename the formula to match 100*(m1/provisionedWCU).

  14. Remove the checkbox from all the metrics but utilizationPercentage to visualize your utilization patterns. The default interval is set to 1 minute, but feel free to modify it as you need.

Here is view of a longer period of time as well as a bigger period of 1 hour. You can see there are some intervals where the utilization was higher than 100%, but this particular workload has longer intervals with zero utilization.

At this point, you might have different results from the pictures in this example. It all depends on the data from your workload. Intervals with more than 100% utilization are prone to throttling events. DynamoDB offers burst capacity, but as soon as the burst capacity is done anything above 100% will be throttled.

How to identify under-provisioned DynamoDB tables

For most workloads, a table is considered under-provisioned when it constantly consumes more than 80% of their provisioned capacity.

Burst capacity is a DynamoDB feature that allow customers to temporarily consume more RCUs/WCUs than originally provisioned (more than the per-second provisioned throughput that was defined in the table). The burst capacity was created to absorb sudden increases in traffic due to special events or usage spikes. This burst capacity doesn’t last forever. As soon as the unused RCUs and WCUs are depleted, you will get throttled if you try to consume more capacity than provisioned. When your application traffic is getting close to the 80% utilization rate, your risk of throttling is significantly higher.

The 80% utilization rate rule varies from the seasonality of your data and your traffic growth. Consider the following scenarios:

  • If your traffic has been stable at ~90% utilization rate for the last 12 months, your table has just the right capacity

  • If your application traffic is growing at a rate of 8% monthly in less than 3 months, you will arrive at 100%

  • If your application traffic is growing at a rate of 5% in a little more than 4 months, you will still arrive at 100%

The results from the queries above provide a picture of your utilization rate. Use them as a guide to further evaluate other metrics that can help you choose to increase your table capacity as required (for example: a monthly or weekly growth rate). Work with your operations team to define what is a good percentage for your workload and your tables.

There are special scenarios where the data is skewed when we analyse it on a daily or weekly basis. For example, with seasonal applications that have spikes in usage during working hours (but then drops to almost zero outside of working hours), you could benefit by scheduling auto-scaling where you specify the hours of the day (and the days of the week) to increase the provisioned capacity and when to reduce it. Instead of aiming for higher capacity so you can cover the busy hours, you can also benefit from DynamoDB table auto-scaling configurations if your seasonality is less pronounced.

Note

When you create a DynamoDB auto scaling configuration for your base table, remember to include another configuration for any GSI that is associated with the table.

How to identify over-provisioned DynamoDB tables

The query results obtained from the scripts above provide the data points required to perform some initial analysis. If your data set presents values lower than 20% utilization for several intervals, your table might be over-provisioned. To further define if you need to reduce the number of WCUs and RCUS, you should revisit the other readings in the intervals.

When your tables contain several low usage intervals, you can really benefit from using auto-scaling policies, either by scheduling auto-scaling or just configuring the default auto-scaling policies for the table that are based on utilization.

If you have a workload with low utilization to high throttle ratio (Max(ThrottleEvents)/Min(ThrottleEvents) in the interval), this could happen when you have a very spiky workload where traffic increases a lot during some days (or hours), but in general the traffic is consistently low. In these scenarios it might be beneficial to use scheduled auto-scaling.

评估预置容量大小是否合适 - Amazon DynamoDB
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

评估预置容量大小是否合适

本节概述如何评估您的 DynamoDB 表预置大小是否合适。随着工作负载的演变,您应该相应地修改操作程序,尤其是当您的 DynamoDB 表以预置模式配置时,因为它们可能存在过度配置或配置不足的风险。

下述程序需要来自于支持您的生产应用程序的 DynamoDB 表的统计信息。要了解您的应用程序行为,应该定义一个足够长的周期,以捕捉应用程序中的数据季节性特点。例如,如果您的应用程序表现出周模式,则不妨使用三周的周期来分析应用程序吞吐量需求。

如果您不知道从哪里开始,可根据至少一个月的使用数据来进行以下计算。

在评估容量时,DynamoDB 表可以独立配置读取容量单位 (RCU)写入容量单位 (WCU)。如果您的表配置了任何全局二级索引 (GSI),则需要指定它们将占用的吞吐量,这些吞吐量也将独立于基表的 RCU 和 WCU。

注意

本地二级索引 (LSI) 占用基表的容量。

如何检索 DynamoDB 表上的占用指标

要评估表和 GSI 容量,请监控以下 CloudWatch 指标并选择相应的维度来检索表或 GSI 信息:

读取容量单位 写入容量单位

ConsumedReadCapacityUnits

ConsumedWriteCapacityUnits

ProvisionedReadCapacityUnits

ProvisionedWriteCapacityUnits

ReadThrottleEvents

WriteThrottleEvents

您可以通过 Amazon CLI 或 Amazon Web Services Management Console 来执行此操作。

Amazon CLI

在检索表格消耗指标之前,我们需要先使用 CloudWatch API 捕获一些历史数据点。

首先创建两个文件:write-calc.jsonread-calc.json。这些文件将代表表或 GSI 的计算。您需要更新一些字段,如下表所示,以匹配您的环境。

字段名称 定义 示例
<table-name> 您将分析的表的名称 SampleTable
<period> 您将用来评估利用率目标的周期,以秒为单位 对于 1 小时的周期,应指定:3600
<start-time> 评估间隔的开始时间,以 ISO8601 格式指定 2022-02-21T23:00:00
<end-time> 评估间隔的结束时间,以 ISO8601 格式指定 2022-02-22T06:00:00

写入计算文件将检索指定日期范围内的时间段中所预置和消耗的 WCU 数量。它还将生成用于分析的利用率百分比。write-calc.json 文件的完整内容应类似如下:

{ "MetricDataQueries": [ { "Id": "provisionedWCU", "MetricStat": { "Metric": { "Namespace": "AWS/DynamoDB", "MetricName": "ProvisionedWriteCapacityUnits", "Dimensions": [ { "Name": "TableName", "Value": "<table-name>" } ] }, "Period": <period>, "Stat": "Average" }, "Label": "Provisioned", "ReturnData": false }, { "Id": "consumedWCU", "MetricStat": { "Metric": { "Namespace": "AWS/DynamoDB", "MetricName": "ConsumedWriteCapacityUnits", "Dimensions": [ { "Name": "TableName", "Value": "<table-name>"" } ] }, "Period": <period>, "Stat": "Sum" }, "Label": "", "ReturnData": false }, { "Id": "m1", "Expression": "consumedWCU/PERIOD(consumedWCU)", "Label": "Consumed WCUs", "ReturnData": false }, { "Id": "utilizationPercentage", "Expression": "100*(m1/provisionedWCU)", "Label": "Utilization Percentage", "ReturnData": true } ], "StartTime": "<start-time>", "EndTime": "<ent-time>", "ScanBy": "TimestampDescending", "MaxDatapoints": 24 }

读取计算文件使用类似的文件。此文件将检索指定日期范围内的时间段中预置和消耗了多少 RCU。read-calc.json 文件的内容应与以下内容类似:

{ "MetricDataQueries": [ { "Id": "provisionedRCU", "MetricStat": { "Metric": { "Namespace": "AWS/DynamoDB", "MetricName": "ProvisionedReadCapacityUnits", "Dimensions": [ { "Name": "TableName", "Value": "<table-name>" } ] }, "Period": <period>, "Stat": "Average" }, "Label": "Provisioned", "ReturnData": false }, { "Id": "consumedRCU", "MetricStat": { "Metric": { "Namespace": "AWS/DynamoDB", "MetricName": "ConsumedReadCapacityUnits", "Dimensions": [ { "Name": "TableName", "Value": "<table-name>" } ] }, "Period": <period>, "Stat": "Sum" }, "Label": "", "ReturnData": false }, { "Id": "m1", "Expression": "consumedRCU/PERIOD(consumedRCU)", "Label": "Consumed RCUs", "ReturnData": false }, { "Id": "utilizationPercentage", "Expression": "100*(m1/provisionedRCU)", "Label": "Utilization Percentage", "ReturnData": true } ], "StartTime": "<start-time>", "EndTime": "<end-time>", "ScanBy": "TimestampDescending", "MaxDatapoints": 24 }

创建文件后,即可以开始检索利用率数据。

  1. 要检索写入利用率数据,请发出以下命令:

    aws cloudwatch get-metric-data --cli-input-json file://write-calc.json
  2. 要检索读取利用率数据,请发出以下命令:

    aws cloudwatch get-metric-data --cli-input-json file://read-calc.json

这两个查询的结果都将是一系列 JSON 格式的数据点,将用于分析。您的结果将取决于您指定的数据点数量、周期和您自己的特定工作负载数据。它可能如下所示:

{ "MetricDataResults": [ { "Id": "utilizationPercentage", "Label": "Utilization Percentage", "Timestamps": [ "2022-02-22T05:00:00+00:00", "2022-02-22T04:00:00+00:00", "2022-02-22T03:00:00+00:00", "2022-02-22T02:00:00+00:00", "2022-02-22T01:00:00+00:00", "2022-02-22T00:00:00+00:00", "2022-02-21T23:00:00+00:00" ], "Values": [ 91.55364583333333, 55.066631944444445, 2.6114930555555556, 24.9496875, 40.94725694444445, 25.61819444444444, 0.0 ], "StatusCode": "Complete" } ], "Messages": [] }
注意

如果您指定了短周期和长时间范围,则可能需要修改 MaxDatapoints,该值在脚本中默认设置为 24。这表示每小时一个数据点,每天 24 个数据点。

Amazon Web Services Management Console
  1. 登录Amazon Web Services Management Console并导航到 “入门” 中的 CloudWatch 服务页面Amazon Web Services Management Console。如有必要,选择合适的 Amazon 区域。

  2. 在左侧导航栏中,找到 Metrics(指标)部分,然后选择 All metrics(全部指标)。

  3. 这将打开一个控制面板,其中包含两个面板。顶部面板显示图形,底部面板显示用于绘图的指标。选择 DynamoDB 面板。

  4. 从子面板中选择 Table Metrics(表指标)类别。这将显示您的当前区域中的表。

  5. 识别您的表名,方法是向下滚动菜单并选择写入操作指标:ConsumedWriteCapacityUnitsProvisionedWriteCapacityUnits

    注意

    本例中使用了写入操作指标,但您也可以使用这些步骤绘制读取操作指标图。

  6. 选择 Graphed metrics (2)[图表化指标 (2)]选项卡来修改公式。默认情况下, CloudWatch 将为图表选择统计函数 “平均值”。

  7. 选中两个图表化指标(左侧的复选框)后,选择菜单 Add math(添加数学函数),然后选择 Common(常用),再选择 Percentage 函数。重复该过程两次。

    第一次选择 Percentage 函数:

    第二次选择 Percentage 函数:

  8. 此时,底部菜单中应该有四个指标。我们来进行 ConsumedWriteCapacityUnits 计算。为了保持一致,我们需要使这些名称与在 Amazon CLI 节中使用的匹配。单击 m1 ID 并将此值更改为 consumedWCU

  9. 将统计函数从 Average 改为 Sum。此操作将自动创建另一个名为 ANOMALY_DETECTION_BAND 的指标。对于此过程的范围,我们可以通过删除新生成的 ad1 指标上的复选框来忽略它。

  10. 重复步骤 8,将 m2 ID 重命名为 provisionedWCU。保留统计函数设置为 Average

  11. 选择 Expression1 标签,并将值更新为 m1,将标签更新为 Consumed WCUs

    注意

    确保您只选择了 m1(左侧的复选框)和 provisionedWCU 以正确可视化数据。更新公式,方法是单击 Details(详细信息)并将公式更改为 consumedWCU/PERIOD(consumedWCU)。这一步还可能生成另一个 ANOMALY_DETECTION_BAND 指标,但对于此过程的范围,我们可以忽略它。

  12. 您现在应该有两个图形:一个指示表上预置的 WCU,另一个指示已使用的 WCU。您的图形形状可能与下面的不同,不过可以将其作为参考:

  13. 通过选择 Expression2 图形 (e2) 来更新百分比公式。将标签和 ID 重命名为 utilizationPercentage。重命名公式,以匹配 100*(m1/provisionedWCU)

  14. 清除除 utilizationPercentage 之外的所有指标的复选框,以可视化您的利用率模式。默认间隔设置为 1 分钟,但您可以根据需要随意修改。

以下是一个更长的时间段和一个更大的 1 小时周期的视图。可以看到,一些间隔的利用率超过 100%,不过这种特定的工作负载具有较长的零利用率间隔。

此时,您可能获得与本例中的图片不同的结果。这完全取决于您的工作负载中的数据。利用率超过 100% 的间隔容易导致节流事件。DynamoDB 提供容量暴增,不过一旦容量暴增,任何超过 100% 的流量都将被节流。

如何识别配置不足的 DynamoDB 表

对于大多数工作负载,如果一个表持续消耗其配置容量超过 80%,则该表被视为配置不足。

容量暴增是 DynamoDB 的一项功能,它允许客户临时消耗比最初配置更多的 RCU/WCU(超过表中定义的每秒预置吞吐量)。创建容量暴增的目的是应对因特殊事件或使用量高峰而突然增加的流量。这种容量暴增不能永远持续下去。一旦未用的 RCU 和 WCU 耗尽,您再试图消耗比预置更多的容量时,就会被节流。当您的应用程序流量接近 80% 的利用率时,被节流的风险会大大增加。

80% 的利用率规则因数据的季节性和流量增长而异。考虑以下场景:

  • 如果您的流量在过去 12 个月中一直稳定在大约 90% 的利用率,那么您的表容量正合适

  • 如果您的应用程序流量在不到 3 个月内以每月 8% 的速度增长,那么您将达到 100% 利用率

  • 如果您的应用程序流量在略长于 4 个月内以每月 5% 的速度增长,那么您仍然将达到 100% 利用率

以上查询的结果可以说明您的利用率。将它们作为指导,来进一步评估其他指标,以帮助您在需要时选择增加表容量(例如:每月或每周增长率)。与您的运营团队合作,为您的工作负载和表定义一个合适的百分比。

在有些特殊场景中,当我们每天或每周进行数据分析时,会发现数据是倾斜的。例如,季节性应用程序在工作时间会出现使用量激增情况(但在工作时间之外则降至几乎为零),您可以通过安排自动缩放来轻松指定一天中什么时间(以及一周中的星期几)增加预置容量,以及何时减少预置容量。即使您的季节性不那么明显,也可以利用 DynamoDB 表自动缩放配置,而无需为了涵盖繁忙时间而设定较高的容量。

注意

为基表创建 DynamoDB 自动缩放配置时,请记住为任何与该表关联的 GSI 包括另一个配置。

如何识别过度配置的 DynamoDB 表

从上述脚本中获得的查询结果提供了执行某些初始分析所需的数据点。如果您的数据集在多个时间间隔内显示为利用率低于 20%,则您的表可能配置过度。要进一步确定是否需要减少 WCU 和 RCU 的数量,应重新查看间隔内的其他读数。

当您的表包含多个低使用量间隔时,您其实可以利用自动缩放策略,安排自动缩放,或者为表配置基于利用率的默认自动缩放策略。

如果您的工作负载具有低利用率与高节流比(间隔内的最大 (ThrottleEvents) /最小 (ThrottleEvents)),则当您的工作负载非常激增时,可能会发生这种情况,即流量在某些日子(或几小时)内会增加很多,但总体而言,流量一直很低。在这些场景中,使用预定自动缩放可能有所裨益。