IAM role for applications that run on Amazon EC2 instances - Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

IAM role for applications that run on Amazon EC2 instances

Applications that run on Amazon EC2 instances need credentials to access other Amazon Web Services. To provide these credentials in a secure way, use an IAM role. The role supplies temporary permissions that the application can use when it accesses other Amazon resources. The role's permissions determine what the application is allowed to do.

For instances in an Auto Scaling group, you must create a launch template or launch configuration and choose an instance profile to associate with the instances. An instance profile is a container for an IAM role that allows Amazon EC2 to pass the IAM role to an instance when the instance is launched. First, create an IAM role that has all of the permissions required to access the Amazon resources. Then, create the instance profile and assign the role to it.

Note

As a best practice, we strongly recommend that you create the role so that it has the minimum permissions to other Amazon Web Services that your application requires.

Prerequisites

Create the IAM role that your application running on Amazon EC2 can assume. Choose the appropriate permissions so that the application that is subsequently given the role can make the specific API calls that it needs.

If you use the IAM console instead of the Amazon CLI or one of the Amazon SDKs, the console creates an instance profile automatically and gives it the same name as the role to which it corresponds.

To create an IAM role (console)

  1. Open the IAM console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/iam/.

  2. In the navigation pane on the left, choose Roles.

  3. Choose Create role.

  4. For Select trusted entity, choose Amazon service.

  5. For your use case, choose EC2 and then choose Next.

  6. If possible, select the policy to use for the permissions policy or choose Create policy to open a new browser tab and create a new policy from scratch. For more information, see Creating IAM policies in the IAM User Guide. After you create the policy, close that tab and return to your original tab. Select the check box next to the permissions policies that you want the service to have.

  7. (Optional) Set a permissions boundary. This is an advanced feature that is available for service roles. For more information, see Permissions boundaries for IAM entities in the IAM User Guide.

  8. Choose Next.

  9. On the Name, review, and create page, for Role name, enter a role name to help you identify the purpose of this role. This name must be unique within your Amazon Web Services account. Because other Amazon resources might reference the role, you can't edit the name of the role after it has been created.

  10. Review the role, and then choose Create role.

Use IAM user permissions to control access to your new IAM role. The iam:PassRole permission is needed on the IAM user who creates or updates an Auto Scaling group using a launch template that specifies an instance profile, or who creates a launch configuration that specifies an instance profile. For an example policy that grants users specific permissions, see Control which IAM roles can be passed (using PassRole).

Create a launch template

When you create the launch template using the Amazon Web Services Management Console, in the Advanced details section, select the role from IAM instance profile. For more information, see Configure advanced settings for your launch template.

When you create the launch template using the create-launch-template command from the Amazon CLI, specify the instance profile name of your IAM role as shown in the following example.

aws ec2 create-launch-template --launch-template-name my-lt-with-instance-profile --version-description version1 \ --launch-template-data '{"ImageId":"ami-04d5cc9b88example","InstanceType":"t2.micro","IamInstanceProfile":{"Name":"my-instance-profile"}}'

Create a launch configuration

When you create the launch configuration using the Amazon Web Services Management Console, in the Additional configuration section, select the role from IAM instance profile. For more information, see Create a launch configuration.

When you create the launch configuration using the create-launch-configuration command from the Amazon CLI, specify the instance profile name of your IAM role as shown in the following example.

aws autoscaling create-launch-configuration --launch-configuration-name my-lc-with-instance-profile \ --image-id ami-04d5cc9b88example --instance-type t2.micro \ --iam-instance-profile my-instance-profile

See also

For more information to help you start learning about and using IAM roles for Amazon EC2, see:

在 Amazon EC2 实例上运行的应用程序的 IAM 角色 - Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

在 Amazon EC2 实例上运行的应用程序的 IAM 角色

在 Amazon EC2 实例上运行的应用程序需要凭证以访问其他 Amazon Web Services。要以安全的方式提供这些凭证,请使用 IAM 角色。角色可提供临时权限,以供应用程序在访问其他 Amazon 资源时使用。角色的权限将确定允许访问资源的应用程序。

对于 Auto Scaling 组中的实例,您必须创建启动模板或启动配置,并选择要与实例关联的实例配置文件。实例配置文件是 IAM 角色的容器,在实例启动时允许 Amazon EC2 将 IAM 角色传递到实例。首先,创建具有访问 Amazon 资源所需的所有权限的 IAM 角色。然后,创建实例配置文件并将该角色分配给它。

注意

作为一项最佳实践,我们强烈建议您创建角色,使其具有您的应用程序需要的其他 Amazon Web Services 的最小权限。

先决条件

创建运行在 Amazon EC2 上的应用程序可代入的 IAM 角色。选择适当的权限,以便随后向应用程序提供可以进行所需 API 调用的角色。

如果您使用 IAM 控制台而不是 Amazon CLI 或其中一个 Amazon SDK,控制台自动创建实例配置文件,按相应的角色为文件命名。

创建 IAM 角色(控制台)

  1. 通过以下网址打开 IAM 控制台:https://console.aws.amazon.com/iam/

  2. 在左侧的导航窗格中,选择角色

  3. 选择 Create role(创建角色)。

  4. 对于 Select trusted entity(选择可信实体),选择 Amazon service(Amazon 服务)。

  5. 对于您的使用案例,选择 EC2,然后选择 Next(下一步)。

  6. 如果可能,选择要用作权限策略的策略,或选择 Create policy(创建策略)以打开新的浏览器选项卡并从头开始创建新策略。有关更多信息,请参阅 IAM 用户指南 中的创建 IAM policy。在您创建策略后,关闭该选项卡并返回到您的原始选项卡。选中您希望服务具有的权限策略旁边的复选框。

  7. (可选)设置权限边界。这是一项可用于服务角色的高级功能。有关更多信息,请参阅《IAM 用户指南》中的 IAM 实体的权限边界

  8. 选择 Next (下一步)

  9. Name, review, and create(命名、检查并创建)页面上,对于 Role name(角色名称),请输入一个角色名称以帮助标识此角色的作用。此名称在您的 Amazon Web Services 账户中必须唯一。由于其他 Amazon 资源可能会引用此角色,因此角色创建完毕后将无法编辑角色名称。

  10. 检查该角色,然后选择创建角色

使用 IAM 用户权限控制对新 IAM 角色的访问。使用指定实例配置文件的启动模板创建或更新 Auto Scaling 组或者创建指定实例配置文件的启动配置的 IAM 用户将需要 iam:PassRole 权限。有关授予用户特定权限的示例政策,请参阅 控制可以传递的 IAM 角色(使用 PassRole)

创建启动模板

当您使用 Amazon Web Services Management Console 创建启动模板时,在高级详细信息部分中,从 IAM 实例配置文件中选择角色。有关更多信息,请参阅配置启动模板的高级设置

当您使用 create-launch-template 命令从 Amazon CLI 中创建启动模板时,指定 IAM 角色的实例配置文件名称,如以下示例所示。

aws ec2 create-launch-template --launch-template-name my-lt-with-instance-profile --version-description version1 \ --launch-template-data '{"ImageId":"ami-04d5cc9b88example","InstanceType":"t2.micro","IamInstanceProfile":{"Name":"my-instance-profile"}}'

创建启动配置

使用 Amazon Web Services Management Console 创建启动配置时,在其他配置部分中,从 IAM 实例配置文件中选择该角色。有关更多信息,请参阅创建启动配置

当您使用 create-launch-configuration 命令从 Amazon CLI 中创建启动配置时,指定 IAM 角色的实例配置文件名称,如以下示例所示。

aws autoscaling create-launch-configuration --launch-configuration-name my-lc-with-instance-profile \ --image-id ami-04d5cc9b88example --instance-type t2.micro \ --iam-instance-profile my-instance-profile

另请参阅

有关帮助您开始了解和使用 Amazon EC2 的 IAM 角色的更多信息,请参阅: