Legal hold - Amazon Backup
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Legal hold

A legal hold is an administrative tool that helps prevent backups from being deleted while under a hold. While the hold is in place, backups under a hold cannot be deleted and lifecycle policies that would alter the backup status (such as transition to a Deleted state) are delayed until the legal hold is removed. A backup can have more than one legal hold.

Legal holds can be applied to one or more backups (also known as recovery points) created by Amazon Backup if their lifecycles allow it. A type of backup called a continuous backup has a maximum lifecycle of 35 days. Legal holds will not extend a continuous backup lifecycle.

When a legal hold is created, it can take into account specific filtering criteria, such as resource types and resource IDs. Additionally, you can define the creation date range of backups you wish to include in a legal hold. Legal holds and backups have a many:many relationship, meaning a backup can have more than legal hold and a legal hold can include more than one backup. Each account can have a maximum of 50 legal holds active at one time.

Legal holds apply only to the original backup on which they are placed. When a backup is copied across Regions or accounts (if the resource supports it), it does not retain or carry its legal hold with it. A legal hold, like other resources, has a unique ARN (Amazon Resource Name) associated with it. Only recovery points created by Amazon Backup can be part of a legal hold.

Note that while Amazon Backup Vault Lock provides additional protections and immutability to a vault, a legal hold provides additional protection against deletion individual backups (recovery points). The legal hold does not expire and will retain the data within the backup indefinitely. The hold remains active until the hold is released by a user with sufficient IAM permissions.

Create a legal hold

Legal holds can be added and released only by users who have specific IAM permissions. To check your permissions or to grant permissions, log into the Amazon Identity and Access Management console.

When a legal hold is created, it contains only recovery points that have already been created. Backups (recovery points) with a status of EXPIRED or DELETING will not be included in the legal hold. Recovery points (backups) with the status of CREATING may not be included in the legal hold, depending on the time of completion.

Legal holds can be added to existing backups using the Amazon Backup console or programmatically.

Create a legal hold using the console

As you create a legal hold via the console, you will need to configure several elements, including its title, its description, its scope, and (optionally) any tags you wish to include to help with organization and filtering.

  1. Open the Amazon Backup console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/backup.

  2. In the dashboard in the left of the console, find My Account. Click Legal holds.

  3. Click Add legal hold.

  4. There will be three panels shown: Legal hold details, Legal hold scope, and Legal hold tags.

    1. Under Legal hold details, enter a legal hold title and a description for the hold in the text boxes provided.

    2. In the panel Legal hold scope, choose how you wish to select the resource to include in the hold. When you create a hold, you choose which method you want to select the resources that will be within the legal hold. You can choose to include one of the following:

      • Specific resource types and IDs;

      • Select backup vaults;

      • Include all resources types or all backup vaults within your account

    3. Specify the date range of your legal hold. Enter the dates in the YYYY:MM:DD format (dates are inclusive).

    4. Optionally, you can add tags for the hold you are creating. Tags can help categorize the hold for future reference and organization. You can add up to 50 tags total.

  5. When you are satisfied with the configuration of your new legal hold, click the button Add new hold.

You can specify the following metadata:

Title Description VaultArns Resources FromDate ToDate DateRange // Must contain FromDate and ToDate; dates cannot be in the past LegalHoldTags // optional ; if included, can have up to 5 tags: "tag1", "tag2"
  1. Copy the following JSON template and input it into the CLI.

    { Title: "Your name for the legal hold" Description: "Your description of the legal hold" ResourceSelection: { VaultArns: string[], // only one of vaultArns or resourceIds is allowed; error will return if both are included Resources: string[] } ResourceFilters: { DateRange: { FromDate: DateTime; ToDate: DateTime; } // both required: future DateTime values will not be allowed } LegalHoldTags: { // optional, up to 50 tags name: value, } }
  2. Review this example for reference.

    { "Title": "a legal hold", "Description": "some description", "ResourceSelection": { "VaultArns": [ "arn:aws:backup:Region:Account ID:backup-vault:backup vault name" ] } "ResourceFilters": { "DateRange": { "FromDate": 1516925490.087, "ToDate": 1517525490.087 } } "LegalHoldTags": { "tag1":"value1", "tag2": "value2", } }
  3. Review the response, which may contain elements of the following:

    { "Title": "a legal hold", "Status": "CREATING", "Description": "some description", "LegalHoldArn": string, "ResourceSelection": { "VaultArns": [ "arn:aws:backup:Region:Account ID:backup-vault:backup vault name" ] } "ResourceFilters": { "DateRange": { "FromDate": 1516925490.087, "ToDate": 1517525490.087 } } "LegalHoldTags": { "tag1":"value1", "tag2": "value2", } }

View legal holds

You can see legal hold details in the Amazon Backup console or programmatically.

To view all legal holds within an account using the Backup console,

  1. Open the Amazon Backup console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/backup.

  2. Using the left part of the dashboard, under My account, click Legal holds.

  3. The legal hold table displays the title, status, description, ID, and creation date of existing holds. Click on the carat (down arrow) next to the table header to filter the table by the selected column.

To view all legal holds programmatically, you can use the following API calls:

GetLegalHold: This action returns details for a specified legal hold. The details are the body of a legal hold in JSON format, in addition to metadata.

ListRecoveryPointsByLegalHold: This action returns recovery point ARNs (Amazon Resource Name) about the recovery points included in the specified legal hold. You need to include the parameters: nextToken and maxResults in your request.

The following JSON template can be used for GetLegalHold. You can copy it and input it into the CLI.

GET /legal-holds/{legalHoldId} HTTP/1.1 Request empty body Response { Title: string, Status: LegalHoldStatus, Description: string, // 280 chars max CancelDescription: string, // this is provided during cancel // 280 chars max LegalHoldId: string, LegalHoldArn: string, CreatedTime: number, CanceledTime: number, ResourceSelection: { VaultArns: [ string ] Resources: [ string ] }, ResourceFilters: { DateRange: { FromDate: number, ToDate: number } } }

The following JSON template can be used for ListLegalHolds. You can copy it and input it into the CLI.

GET /legal-holds/ &maxResults=MaxResults &nextToken=NextToken Request empty body url params: MaxResults: number // optional, NextToken: string // optional status: Valid values: CREATING | ACTIVE | CANCELED | CANCELING maxResults: 1-1000 Response { NextToken: token, LegalHolds: [ Title: string, Status: string, Description: string, // 280 chars max CancelDescription: string, // this is provided during cancel // 280 chars max LegalHoldId: string, LegalHoldArn: string, CreatedTime: number, CanceledTime: number, ] }

For details on the returned information, see GetLegalHold and ListLegalHolds in our API guide.

Status Description
CREATING Requested recovery points are in the process of being held, and delete requests of those recovery points may be successful since the hold hasn't finished being created.
ACTIVE The legal hold has been created, All recovery points listed under this legal hold are held.
CANCELLING Legal holds are in the process of being removed, and delete requests of recovery points under the hold may succeed.
CANCELED Legal hold is fully released and no longer has any effect. Recovery points can be deleted.

Release a legal hold

Legal holds will remain with one or more backups (recovery points) until they are removed by a user with sufficient IAM permissions. Removing a legal hold is also known as cancelling, deleting, or releasing a legal hold. The console uses the term release while the API uses the command cancelLegalHold. Removing a legal hold eliminates it from all backups to which it was attached.

To release a hold using the console,

  1. Open the Amazon Backup console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/backup.

  2. Enter the description you would like associated with the release.

  3. Review the details, then click Release hold.

  4. When the Release hold dialogue box appears, confirm your intent to release the hold by typing confirm into the text box.

    1. Check the box that acknowledges you are cancelling the hold.

On the Legal holds page you can see all your holds. If the release was successful, the status of that hold will be shown as Released.

To remove a hold programmatically, use the API call CancelLegalHold. You can specify the following metadata:

CancelDescription: String DeleteAfterDays: number // Optional. Default equals 30 days. This specifies number (in days to keep legal hold record after cancellation. This applies to the actual legal hold record only. Recovery points are unlocked as soon as cancelation processes and are not subject to this date.
  1. Copy the following JSON template and input it into the CLI.

    POST /legal-holds/{legalHoldId} Request { CancelDescription: String DeleteAfterDays: number // optional } DeleteAfterDays: optional. Defaults to 180 days. how long to keep legal hold record after canceled. This applies to the actual legal hold record only. Recovery points are unlocked as soon as cancelation processes and are not subject to this date. Response Empty body 200 if successful other standard codes
  2. Review the response, which may contain elements of the following:

    POST /legal-holds/abc1-4df0-989f-l9af HTTP/1.1 Request { CancelDescription: "Canceling because case is closed 4/21" }

For more information, see CancelLegalHold.

法定保留 - Amazon Backup
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

法定保留

法定保留是一种管理工具,可帮助防止备份在保留状态下被删除。设置保留后,将无法删除处于保留状态的备份,并且会更改备份状态(例如转换为 Deleted 状态)的生命周期策略会延迟到法定保留被删除为止。备份可以包含多个法定保留。

如果生命周期允许,可以将合法保留应用于 Amazon Backup 创建的一个或多个备份(也称为恢复点)。一种称为连续备份的备份类型拥有 35 天的最长生命周期。法定保留不会延长连续备份生命周期。

创建法定保留后,它可以考虑特定筛选标准,例如资源类型和资源 ID。此外,您可以定义要包含在法定保留中的备份的创建日期范围。法定保留和备份具有多对多关系,这意味着一个备份可以拥有多个法定保留,并且一个法定保留可以包括多个备份。每个账户一次最多可以有 50 个法定保留处于活动状态。

法定保留仅适用于存放这些保留的原始备份。当跨区域或账户复制备份时(如果资源支持),该备份不会保留或随之带着其法定保留。与其他资源相同,法定保留有唯一的 Amazon 资源名称 (ARN) 与它关联。只有 Amazon Backup 创建的恢复点才能成为法定保留的一部分。

请注意,虽然 Amazon Backup 保管库锁定为保管库提供额外的保护和不可变性,但法定保留可以提供防止删除单个备份(恢复点)的额外保护。法定保留不会过期,并且会无限期地将数据保留在备份中。在拥有充足 IAM 权限的用户释放保留之前,该保留将一直处于活动状态。

创建法定保留

只有拥有特定 IAM 权限的用户才能添加和释放法定保留。要检查您的权限或授予权限,请登录 Amazon Identity and Access Management 控制台。

在创建法定保留时,它仅包含已经创建的恢复点。状态为 EXPIREDDELETING 的备份(恢复点)将不包含在法定保留中。状态为 CREATING 的恢复点(备份)可能不包含在法定保留中,具体取决于完成时间。

可以使用 Amazon Backup 控制台或以编程方式将法定保留添加到现有备份中。

使用控制台创建法定保留

通过控制台创建法定保留时,您需要配置多个元素,包括其标题、描述、范围以及(可选)您希望包含的任何标签,以帮助组织和筛选。

  1. 打开 Amazon Backup 控制台,网址为:https://console.aws.amazon.com/backup

  2. 在控制台左侧的控制面板中,找到“我的账户”。单击法定保留

  3. 单击添加法定保留

  4. 将显示三个面板:法定保留详细信息法定保留范围法定保留标签

    1. 法定保留详细信息下,在提供的文本框中输入法定保留名称和保留描述。

    2. 法定保留范围面板中,选择您希望如何选择要包含在法定保留中的资源。在创建保留时,您可以选择要采用哪种方法来选择将处于法定保留范围内的资源。您可以选择包含以下选项之一:

      • 特定资源类型和 ID;

      • 选择备份保管库;

      • 包括您账户中的所有资源类型或所有备份保管库

    3. 指定您的法定保留的日期范围。以 YYYY:MM:DD 格式输入日期(包括日期)。

    4. 或者,您可以为正在创建的法定保留添加标签。标签可以帮助对法定保留进行分类,以备将来参考和整理。您最多可以添加 50 个标签。

  5. 当您对新法定保留的配置感到满意时,请单击添加新保留按钮。

您可以指定以下元数据:

Title Description VaultArns Resources FromDate ToDate DateRange // Must contain FromDate and ToDate; dates cannot be in the past LegalHoldTags // optional ; if included, can have up to 5 tags: "tag1", "tag2"
  1. 复制以下 JSON 模板并将其输入到 CLI 中。

    { Title: "Your name for the legal hold" Description: "Your description of the legal hold" ResourceSelection: { VaultArns: string[], // only one of vaultArns or resourceIds is allowed; error will return if both are included Resources: string[] } ResourceFilters: { DateRange: { FromDate: DateTime; ToDate: DateTime; } // both required: future DateTime values will not be allowed } LegalHoldTags: { // optional, up to 50 tags name: value, } }
  2. 查看此示例以供参考。

    { "Title": "a legal hold", "Description": "some description", "ResourceSelection": { "VaultArns": [ "arn:aws:backup:Region:Account ID:backup-vault:backup vault name" ] } "ResourceFilters": { "DateRange": { "FromDate": 1516925490.087, "ToDate": 1517525490.087 } } "LegalHoldTags": { "tag1":"value1", "tag2": "value2", } }
  3. 查看响应,其中可能包含以下元素:

    { "Title": "a legal hold", "Status": "CREATING", "Description": "some description", "LegalHoldArn": string, "ResourceSelection": { "VaultArns": [ "arn:aws:backup:Region:Account ID:backup-vault:backup vault name" ] } "ResourceFilters": { "DateRange": { "FromDate": 1516925490.087, "ToDate": 1517525490.087 } } "LegalHoldTags": { "tag1":"value1", "tag2": "value2", } }

查看法定保留

您可以在 Amazon Backup 控制台中或以编程方式查看法定保留的详细信息。

要使用 Backup 控制台查看账户内的所有法定保留,请执行以下操作:

  1. 打开 Amazon Backup 控制台,网址为:https://console.aws.amazon.com/backup

  2. 在控制面板左侧的我的账户下,单击法定保留

  3. 法定保留表显示现有保留的标题、状态、描述、ID 和创建日期。单击表标题旁边的向下箭头,以按所选列对表进行筛选。

要以编程方式查看所有法定保留,您可以使用以下 API 调用:

GetLegalHold:此操作返回指定法定保留的详细信息。除元数据外,详细信息还包括 JSON 格式的法定保留的正文。

ListRecoveryPointsByLegalHold:此操作返回有关指定法定保留中包含的恢复点的 ARN(Amazon 资源名称)。您需要在请求中包含参数:nextTokenmaxResults

以下 JSON 模板可用于GetLegalHold。您可以将其复制并输入到 CLI 中。

GET /legal-holds/{legalHoldId} HTTP/1.1 Request empty body Response { Title: string, Status: LegalHoldStatus, Description: string, // 280 chars max CancelDescription: string, // this is provided during cancel // 280 chars max LegalHoldId: string, LegalHoldArn: string, CreatedTime: number, CanceledTime: number, ResourceSelection: { VaultArns: [ string ] Resources: [ string ] }, ResourceFilters: { DateRange: { FromDate: number, ToDate: number } } }

以下 JSON 模板可用于ListLegalHolds。您可以将其复制并输入到 CLI 中。

GET /legal-holds/ &maxResults=MaxResults &nextToken=NextToken Request empty body url params: MaxResults: number // optional, NextToken: string // optional status: Valid values: CREATING | ACTIVE | CANCELED | CANCELING maxResults: 1-1000 Response { NextToken: token, LegalHolds: [ Title: string, Status: string, Description: string, // 280 chars max CancelDescription: string, // this is provided during cancel // 280 chars max LegalHoldId: string, LegalHoldArn: string, CreatedTime: number, CanceledTime: number, ] }

有关返回信息的详细信息,请参阅我们的 API 指南ListLegalHolds中的GetLegalHold和。

Status 描述
CREATING 请求的恢复点正在保留过程中,由于保留尚未完成创建,因此对这些恢复点的删除请求可能会成功。
ACTIVE 法定保留已创建,此法定保留项下列出的所有恢复点均已保留。
CANCELLING 正在删除法定保留,关于删除该保留下的恢复点的请求可能会成功。
CANCELED 法定保留已完全释放,不再有任何效力。可以删除恢复点。

释放法定保留

在具有充足 IAM 权限的用户删除之前,一个或多个备份(恢复点)将保留法定保留。删除法定保留也称为取消或释放法定保留。控制台使用释放一词,而 API 使用命令 cancelLegalHold。如果删除法定保留,会从将其附加到的所有备份中将其消除。

要使用控制台释放保留,请执行以下操作:

  1. 打开 Amazon Backup 控制台,网址为:https://console.aws.amazon.com/backup

  2. 输入您想要与该释放关联的描述。

  3. 查看详细信息,然后单击释放保留

  4. 当出现“释放保留”对话框时,在文本框中键入 confirm 以确认您打算释放保留。

    1. 选中复选框以确认您要取消保留。

法定保留页面上,您可以看到您的所有保留。如果释放成功,则该保留状态将显示为 Released

要以编程方式删除保留,请使用 API 调用 CancelLegalHold。您可以指定以下元数据:

CancelDescription: String DeleteAfterDays: number // Optional. Default equals 30 days. This specifies number (in days to keep legal hold record after cancellation. This applies to the actual legal hold record only. Recovery points are unlocked as soon as cancelation processes and are not subject to this date.
  1. 复制以下 JSON 模板并将其输入到 CLI 中。

    POST /legal-holds/{legalHoldId} Request { CancelDescription: String DeleteAfterDays: number // optional } DeleteAfterDays: optional. Defaults to 180 days. how long to keep legal hold record after canceled. This applies to the actual legal hold record only. Recovery points are unlocked as soon as cancelation processes and are not subject to this date. Response Empty body 200 if successful other standard codes
  2. 查看响应,其中可能包含以下元素:

    POST /legal-holds/abc1-4df0-989f-l9af HTTP/1.1 Request { CancelDescription: "Canceling because case is closed 4/21" }

有关更多信息,请参阅CancelLegalHold