What Is the AWS Command Line Interface? - AWS Command Line Interface
AWS services or capabilities described in AWS documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with AWS services in China.

What Is the AWS Command Line Interface?

The AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) is an open source tool that enables you to interact with AWS services using commands in your command-line shell. With minimal configuration, the AWS CLI enables you to start running commands that implement functionality equivalent to that provided by the browser-based AWS Management Console from the command prompt in your favorite terminal program:

  • Linux shells – Use common shell programs such as bash, zsh, and tcsh to run commands in Linux or macOS.

  • Windows command line – On Windows, run commands at the Windows command prompt or in PowerShell.

  • Remotely – Run commands on Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances through a remote terminal program such as PuTTY or SSH, or with AWS Systems Manager.

The AWS CLI is available in two versions and information in this guide applies to both versions unless stated otherwise.

  • Version 2.x – The current, generally available release of the AWS CLI that is intended for use in production environments. This version does include some "breaking" changes from version 1 that might require you to change your scripts so that they continue to operate as you expect. For a list of new features and breaking changes in version 2, see Breaking changes – Migrating from AWS CLI version 1 to version 2.

  • Version 1.x – The previous version of the AWS CLI that is available for backwards compatiblity.

All IaaS (infrastructure as a service) AWS administration, management, and access functions in the AWS Management Console are available in the AWS API and CLI. New AWS IaaS features and services provide full AWS Management Console functionality through the API and CLI at launch or within 180 days of launch.

The AWS CLI provides direct access to the public APIs of AWS services. You can explore a service's capabilities with the AWS CLI, and develop shell scripts to manage your resources. Or, you can take what you learn to develop programs in other languages by using the AWS SDKs. In addition to the low-level, API-equivalent commands, several AWS services provide customizations for the AWS CLI. Customizations can include higher-level commands that simplify using a service with a complex API.

In addition to this guide, the following are valuable online resources for the AWS CLI.

Using the examples

The examples in this guide are formatted using the following conventions:

  • Prompt – The command prompt is displayed as ($ ). For commands that are Windows specific, C:\> is used as the prompt. Do not include the prompt when you type commands.

  • Directory – When commands must be executed from a specific directory, the directory name is shown before the prompt symbol.

  • User input – Command text that you enter at the command line is formatted as user input.

  • Replaceable text – Variable text, including names of resources that you choose, or IDs generated by AWS services that you must include in commands, is formatted as replaceable text. In multiple-line commands or commands where specific keyboard input is required, keyboard commands can also be shown as replaceable text.

  • Output – Output returned by AWS services is shown under user input, and is formatted as computer output.

For example, the following command includes user input, replaceable text, and output. To use this example, enter aws configure at the command line, and then press Enter. The AWS CLI outputs lines of text, prompting you to enter additional information. Enter each of your access keys in turn, and then press Enter. Then, enter an AWS Region name in the format shown, press Enter, and then press Enter a final time to skip the output format setting. The final Enter command is shown as replaceable text because there is no user input for that line.

$ aws configure AWS Access Key ID [None]: AKIAIOSFODNN7EXAMPLE AWS Secret Access Key [None]: wJalrXUtnFEMI/K7MDENG/bPxRfiCYEXAMPLEKEY Default region name [None]: us-west-2 Default output format [None]: ENTER

The following example shows a simple command with output. To use this example, enter the full text of the command (the highlighted text after the prompt), and then press Enter. The name of the security group, my-sg, is replaceable to your desired security group name. The JSON document, including the curly braces, is output. If you configure your CLI to output in text or table format, the output will be formatted differently. JSON is the default output format.

$ aws ec2 create-security-group --group-name my-sg --description "My security group" { "GroupId": "sg-903004f8" }
Note

Arguments that must be replaced (such as AWS Access Key ID), and those that should be replaced (such as group name), are both shown as replaceable text in italics. If an argument must be replaced, it's noted in the text that describes the example.

About Amazon Web Services

Amazon Web Services (AWS) is a collection of digital infrastructure services that developers can leverage when developing their applications. The services include computing, storage, database, and application synchronization (messaging and queuing). AWS uses a pay-as-you-go service model. You are charged only for the services that you—or your applications—use. Also, to make AWS more approachable as a platform for prototyping and experimentation, AWS offers a free usage tier. On this tier, services are free below a certain level of usage. For more information about AWS costs and the Free Tier, see Test-Driving AWS in the Free Usage Tier. To obtain an AWS account, open the AWS home page and then click Sign Up.

AWS Command Line Interface 是什么? - AWS Command Line Interface
AWS 文档中描述的 AWS 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 AWS 服务入门

AWS Command Line Interface 是什么?

AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) 是一种开源工具,让您能够在命令行 Shell 中使用命令与 AWS 服务进行交互。仅需最少的配置,即可使用 AWS CLI 开始运行命令,以便从终端程序中的命令提示符实现与基于浏览器的 AWS 管理控制台所提供的功能等同的功能:

  • Linux Shell – 使用常见 Shell 程序(例如 bashzshtcsh)在 Linux 或 macOS 中运行命令。

  • Windows 命令行 – 在 Windows 上,在 Windows 命令提示符处或在 PowerShell 中运行命令。

  • 远程 – 通过远程终端程序(如 PuTTY 或 SSH)或者使用 AWS Systems Manager 在 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例上运行命令。

所有 IaaS(基础设施即服务)AWS 管理和访问 AWS API 和 CLI 中提供的 AWS 管理控制台 函数。新的 AWS IaaS 功能和服务在启动时或在 180 天启动期内通过 API 和 CLI 提供全部 AWS 管理控制台 功能。

AWS CLI 提供对 AWS 服务的公共 API 的直接访问。您可以使用 AWS CLI 探索服务的功能,可以开发 Shell 脚本来管理资源。除了低级别的 API 等效命令,多项 AWS 服务还为 AWS CLI 提供了自定义项。自定义项可能包括更高级别的命令,可简化具有复杂 API 的服务的使用。

AWS CLI 版本

AWS CLI 具有两个版本,除非另有说明,否则本指南中的信息适用于这两个版本。

  • 版本 2.x – 旨在用于生产环境的 AWS CLI 最新正式发行版。此版本会包含一些自版本 1 以来的“重大”更改,这些更改可能需要您更改脚本才能继续正常运行。有关版本 2 中的新功能和重大更改的列表,请参阅 重大更改 – 从 AWS CLI 版本 1 迁移到版本 2

  • 版本 1.x – 为保持向后兼容性而提供的 AWS CLI 先前版本。

开发工具包主要版本的维护和支持

有关维护和支持开发工具包主要版本及其基础依赖关系的信息,请参阅 AWS 开发工具包和工具共享配置和凭证参考指南中的以下内容:

除了本指南外,还有以下适用于 AWS CLI 的有价值的在线资源。

使用示例

本指南中示例的格式是使用下列约定进行设置的:

  • 提示符 – 命令提示符显示为 ($ )。对于 Windows 特定的命令,C:\> 用作提示。请勿在键入命令时包含提示符。

  • 目录 – 当必须从特定目录执行命令时,目录名称将显示在提示符符号之前。

  • 用户输入 – 您在命令行处输入的命令文本采用 user input 格式。

  • 可替换文本 – 变量文本(包括您选择的资源的名称,或您必须包含在命令中的由 AWS 服务生成的 ID)采用的格式为可替换文本。在多行命令中或需要特定键盘输入的命令中,键盘命令也可显示为可替换文本。

  • 输出 – AWS 服务返回的输出显示在用户输入下方,采用 computer output 格式。

例如,以下命令包含用户输入、可替换文本和输出。要使用该示例,请在命令行处输入 aws configure 并按 Enter。AWS CLI 输出文本行,提示您输入其他信息。依次输入每个访问密钥,然后按 Enter。然后,以显示的格式输入 AWS 区域名称,按 Enter,然后最后一次按 Enter 以跳过输出格式设置。最终 Enter 命令将显示为可替换文本,因为这一行没有用户输入。

$ aws configure AWS Access Key ID [None]: AKIAIOSFODNN7EXAMPLE AWS Secret Access Key [None]: wJalrXUtnFEMI/K7MDENG/bPxRfiCYEXAMPLEKEY Default region name [None]: us-west-2 Default output format [None]: ENTER

以下示例显示带输出的简单命令。要使用此示例,请输入命令的完整文本(提示符后突出显示的文本),然后按 Enter。安全组的名称 my-sg 可替换为所需的安全组名称。JSON 文档(包括大括号)是输出。如果您将 CLI 配置为以文本或表格式进行输出,输出的格式将有差异。JSON 是默认输出格式。

$ aws ec2 create-security-group --group-name my-sg --description "My security group" { "GroupId": "sg-903004f8" }
注意

必须替换的参数(如 AWS Access Key ID)和应替换的参数(如 group name)均显示为斜体的可替换文本。如果某个参数是必须替换的,则描述示例的文本中会为其添加注释。

关于 Amazon Web Services

Amazon Web Services (AWS) 是数字基础设施服务的集合,开发人员可在开发应用程序时对其进行利用。这些服务包括计算、存储、数据库和应用程序同步(消息发送和队列)。AWS 采用即付即用的服务模式。您只需为您或您的应用程序使用的服务付费。此外,AWS 还提供免费使用套餐,以便让其作为原型制作和实验平台更易实现。在此套餐中,低于某种使用水平的服务是免费的。有关 AWS 成本和免费套餐的更多信息,请参阅试用免费使用套餐中的 AWS。要获取 AWS 账户,请打开 AWS 主页,然后单击注册