Using adaptive authentication - Amazon Cognito
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Using adaptive authentication

With adaptive authentication, you can configure your user pool to block suspicious sign-ins or add second factor authentication in response to an increased risk level. For each sign-in attempt, Amazon Cognito generates a risk score for how likely the sign-in request is to be from a compromised source. This risk score is based on factors that include device and user information. Adaptive authentication can turn on or require multi-factor authentication (MFA) for a user in your user pool when Amazon Cognito detects risk in a user's session, and the user hasn't yet chosen an MFA method. When you activate MFA for a user, they always receive a challenge to provide or set up a second factor during authentication, regardless of how you configured adaptive authentication. From your user's perspective, your app offers to help them set up MFA, and optionally Amazon Cognito prevents them from signing in again until they have configured an additional factor.

Amazon Cognito publishes sign-in attempts, their risk levels, and failed challenges to Amazon CloudWatch. For more information, see Viewing advanced security metrics.

To add adaptive authentication to your user pool, see Adding advanced security to a user pool.

Adaptive authentication overview

From Advanced security in the App integration tab of the Amazon Cognito console, you can choose settings for adaptive authentication, including what actions to take at different risk levels and customization of notification messages to users. You can assign a global advanced security configuration to all of your app clients, but apply a client-level configuration to individual app clients.

Amazon Cognito adaptive authentication assigns one of the following risk levels to each user session: High, Medium, Low, or No Risk.

Consider your options carefully when you change your Enforcement method from Audit-only to Full-function. The automatic responses that you apply to risk levels influence the risk level that Amazon Cognito assigns to subsequent user sessions with the same characteristics. For example, after you choose to take no action, or Allow, user sessions that Amazon Cognito initially evaluates to be high-risk, Amazon Cognito considers similar sessions to have a lower risk.

For each risk level, you can choose from the following options:

Option

Action

Allow Users can sign in without an additional factor.
Optional MFA Users who have a second factor configured must complete a second factor challenge to sign in. A phone number for SMS and a TOTP software token are the available second factors. Users without a second factor configured can sign in with only one set of credentials.
Require MFA Users who have a second factor configured must complete a second factor challenge to sign in. Amazon Cognito blocks sign-in for users who don't have a second factor configured.
Block Amazon Cognito blocks all sign-in attempts at the designated risk level.
Note

You don't have to verify phone numbers to use them for SMS as a second authentication factor.

Adding user device and session data to API requests

You can collect and pass information about your user's session to Amazon Cognito advanced security when you use the API to sign them up, sign them in, and reset their password. This information includes your user's IP address and a unique device identifier.

You might have a intermediate network device between your users and Amazon Cognito, like a proxy service or an application server. You can collect users' context data and pass it to Amazon Cognito so that adaptive authentication calculates your risk based on the characteristics of the user endpoint, instead of your server or proxy. If your client-side app calls Amazon Cognito API operations directly, adaptive authentication automatically records the source IP address. However, it does not record other device information like the user-agent unless you also collect a device fingerprint.

Generate this data with the Amazon Cognito context data collection library and submit it to Amazon Cognito advanced security with the ContextData and UserContextData parameters. The context data collection library is included in the Amazon SDKs. For more information, see Integrating Amazon Cognito with web and mobile apps. You can submit ContextData if you have activated advanced security features in your user pool. For more information, see Configuring advanced security features.

When you call the following Amazon Cognito authenticated API operations from your application server, pass the IP of the user’s device in the ContextData parameter. In addition, pass your server name, server path, and encoded device-fingerprinting data.

When you call Amazon Cognito unauthenticated API operations, you can submit UserContextData to Amazon Cognito advanced security features. This data includes a device fingerprint in the EncodedData parameter. You can also submit an IpAddress parameter in your UserContextData if you meet the following conditions:

Your app can populate the UserContextData parameter with encoded device-fingerprinting data and the IP address of the user's device in the following Amazon Cognito unauthenticated API operations.

Accepting additional user context data (Amazon Web Services Management Console)

Your user pool accepts an IP address in a UserContextData parameter after you activate the Accept additional user context data feature. You don’t need to activate this feature if:

  • Your users only sign in with authenticated API operations like AdminInitiateAuth , and you use the ContextData parameter.

  • You only want your unauthenticated API operations to send a device fingerprint, but not an IP address, to Amazon Cognito advanced security features.

Update your app client as follows in the Amazon Cognito console to add support for additional user context data.

  1. Sign in to the Amazon Cognito console .

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Manage your User Pools, and choose the user pool you want to edit.

  3. Choose the App integration tab.

  4. Under App clients and analytics, choose or create an app client. For more information, see Configuring a user pool app client.

  5. Choose Edit from the App client information container.

  6. In the Advanced authentication settings for your app client, choose Accept additional user context data.

  7. Choose Save changes.

To configure your app client to accept user context data in the Amazon Cognito API, set EnablePropagateAdditionalUserContextData to true in a CreateUserPoolClient or UpdateUserPoolClient request. For information about how to activate advanced security from your web or mobile app, see Activating user pool advanced security from your app. When your app calls Amazon Cognito from your server, collect user context data from the client side. The following is an example that uses the JavaScript SDK method getData.

var encodedData = AmazonCognitoAdvancedSecurityData.getData(username, userPoolId, clientId);

When you design your app to use adaptive authentication, we recommend that you incorporate the latest Amazon Cognito SDK into your app.. The latest version of the SDK collects device fingerprinting information like device ID, model, and time zone. For more information about Amazon Cognito SDKs, see Install a user pool SDK. Amazon Cognito advanced security only saves and assigns a risk score to events that your app submits in the correct format. If Amazon Cognito returns an error response, check that your request includes a valid secret hash and that the IPaddress parameter is a valid IPv4 or IPv6 address.

ContextData and UserContextData resources

Viewing user event history

Note

In the new Amazon Cognito console, you can view user event history in the Users tab.

To see the sign-in history for a user, you can choose the user from the Users tab in the Amazon Cognito console. Amazon Cognito retains user event history for two years.

User event history

Each sign-in event has an event ID. The event also has corresponding context data, such as location, device details, and risk detection results. You can query user event history with the Amazon Cognito API operation AdminListUserAuthEvents or with the Amazon Command Line Interface (Amazon CLI) with admin-list-user-auth-events.

You can also correlate the event ID with the token that Amazon Cognito issued at the time that it recorded the event. The ID and access tokens include this event ID in their payload. Amazon Cognito also correlates refresh token use to the original event ID. You can trace the original event ID back to the event ID of the sign-in event that resulted in issuing the Amazon Cognito tokens. You can trace token usage within your system to a particular authentication event. For more information, see Using tokens with user pools.

Providing event feedback

Event feedback affects risk evaluation in real time and improves the risk evaluation algorithm over time. You can provide feedback on the validity of sign-in attempts through the Amazon Cognito console and API operations.

Note

Your event feedback influences the risk level that Amazon Cognito assigns to subsequent user sessions with the same characteristics.

In the Amazon Cognito console, choose a user from the Users tab and select Provide event feedback. You can review the event details and Set as valid or Set as invalid.

The console lists the sign-in history on the Users and groups tab. If you select an entry, you can mark the event as valid or not valid. You can also provide feedback through the user pool API operation AdminUpdateAuthEventFeedback, and through the Amazon CLI command admin-update-auth-event-feedback.

When you select Set as valid in the Amazon Cognito console or provide a FeedbackValue value of valid in the API, you tell Amazon Cognito that you trust a user session where Amazon Cognito has evaluated some level of risk. When you select Set as invalid in the Amazon Cognito console or provide a FeedbackValue value of invalid in the API, you tell Amazon Cognito that you don't trust a user session, or you don't believe that Amazon Cognito evaluated a high-enough risk level.

Sending notification messages

With advanced security protections, Amazon Cognito can notify your users of risky sign-in attempts. Amazon Cognito can also prompt users to select links to indicate if the sign-in was valid or not valid. Amazon Cognito uses this feedback to improve the risk detection accuracy for your user pool.

In the Automatic risk response section choose Notify Users for low, medium, or high-risk cases.

Notify users

Amazon Cognito sends email notifications to your users regardless of whether they have verified their email address.

You can customize notification email messages, and provide both plaintext and HTML versions of these messages. To customize your email notifications, open Email templates from Adaptive authentication messages in your advanced security configuration. To learn more about email templates, see Message templates.

使用自适应身份验证 - Amazon Cognito
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

使用自适应身份验证

借助自适应身份验证,可以将用户池配置为阻止可疑登录,或为响应增加的风险级别添加第二安全要素身份验证。对于每次登录尝试,Amazon Cognito 都会生成一个风险分数来表示登录请求来自遭盗用源的可能性。此风险分数基于许多因素,包括它是否检测到新设备、用户位置或 IP 地址。自适应身份验证基于风险级别为那些没有在用户级别启用 MFA 类型的用户添加 MFA。当在用户级别启用 MFA 类型时,无论您如何配置自适应身份验证,这些用户在身份验证过程中将始终收到第二个因素质询。

Amazon Cognito 将向 Amazon CloudWatch 发布登录尝试、其风险级别和失败的质询。有关更多信息,请参阅查看高级安全指标

要向用户池添加自适应身份验证,请参阅 向用户池添加高级安全

自适应身份验证概览

在 Amazon Cognito 控制台中的 Advanced security (高级安全) 页面上,您可以选择自适应身份验证的设置,包括在不同风险级别下采取什么操作,以及向用户发送的通知消息的自定义设置。

对于每个风险级别,您可以选择以下选项:

选项

操作

Allow(允许) 用户无需额外安全要素即可登录。
Optional MFA(可选 MFA) 已配置第二安全要素的用户需要完成第二安全要素质询才能登录。用于 SMS 的电话号码和 TOTP 软件令牌是可供使用的第二个安全要素。未配置第二个因素的用户只能使用一组凭证登录。
Require MFA(需要 MFA) 已配置第二安全要素的用户需要完成第二安全要素质询才能登录。Amazon Cognito 阻止未配置第二个安全要素的用户登录。
Block(阻止) Amazon Cognito 阻止指定风险级别下的所有登录尝试。
注意

您无需验证手机号码即可将其用于 SMS 来作为第二个身份验证要素。

将用户设备和会话数据添加到 API 请求

当您使用 API 对用户进行注册、登录和重置密码时,可以收集用户会话的相关信息并将其传递给 Amazon Cognito 高级安全功能。此信息包括用户的 IP 地址和唯一的设备标识符。

您可能在用户和 Amazon Cognito 之间有中间网络设备,例如代理服务或应用程序服务器。您可以收集用户的上下文数据并将其传递给 Amazon Cognito,以便自适应身份验证根据用户端点(而不是服务器或代理)的特征来计算风险。如果您的客户端应用程序直接调用 Amazon Cognito API 操作,自适应身份验证会自动记录源 IP 地址。但是,它不会记录其他设备信息(例如 user-agent),除非您也收集设备指纹。

使用 Amazon Cognito 上下文数据收集库生成此数据,然后使用 ContextDataUserContextData 参数将它提交到 Amazon Cognito 高级安全功能。上下文数据收集库包含在 Amazon SDK 中。有关更多信息,请参阅将 Amazon Cognito 与 Web 和移动应用程序集成。如果您已在用户群体中激活了高级安全功能,则可以提交 ContextData。有关更多信息,请参阅配置高级安全功能

当您从应用程序服务器调用以下经过 Amazon Cognito 身份验证的 API 操作时,请在 ContextData 参数中传递用户设备的 IP。此外,请传递服务器名称、服务器路径和编码的设备指纹数据。

当您调用 Amazon Cognito 未经身份验证的 API 操作时,您可以将 UserContextData 提交到 Amazon Cognito 高级安全功能。此数据在 EncodedData 参数中包括设备指纹。如果您符合以下条件,也可以在 UserContextData 中提交 IpAddress 参数:

您的应用程序可以在以下 Amazon Cognito 未经验证的 API 操作中,使用编码的设备指纹数据和用户设备的 IP 地址填充 UserContextData 参数。

接受额外的用户上下文数据(Amazon 控制台)

激活 Accept additional user context data(接受其他用户上下文数据)功能后,用户群体在 UserContextData 参数中接受 IP 地址。在以下情况下,您无需激活此功能:

  • 您的用户只能使用经过身份验证的 API 操作(如 AdminInitiateAuth)进行登录,而您使用 ContextData 参数。

  • 您只希望未经身份验证的 API 操作向 Amazon Cognito 高级安全功能发送设备指纹,而不是 IP 地址。

在 Amazon Cognito 控制台中按如下方式更新应用程序客户端,以添加对其他用户上下文数据的支持。

  1. 登录 Amazon Cognito 控制台

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择 Manage your User Pools(管理您的用户池),然后选择要编辑的用户池。

  3. 选择 App integration(应用程序集成)选项卡。

  4. App clients and analytics(应用程序客户端和分析)下,选择或创建应用程序客户端。有关更多信息,请参阅配置用户群体应用程序客户端

  5. App client information(应用程序客户端信息)容器中选择 Edit(编辑)。

  6. 在应用程序客户端的 Advanced authentication settings(高级身份验证设置)下,选择 Accept additional user context data(接受其他用户上下文数据)。

  7. 选择保存更改

要将应用程序客户端配置为在 Amazon Cognito API 中接受用户上下文数据,请在 CreateUserPoolClientUpdateUserPoolClient 请求中将 EnablePropagateAdditionalUserContextData 设置为 true。有关从 Web 或移动应用程序激活高级安全功能的信息,请参阅从应用程序中激活用户群体高级安全功能。当您的应用程序从服务器调用 Amazon Cognito 时,从客户端收集用户上下文数据。以下是使用 JavaScript 开发工具包方法 getData 的示例。

var encodedData = AmazonCognitoAdvancedSecurityData.getData(username, userPoolId, clientId);

在设计应用程序以使用自适应身份验证时,我们建议您将最新的 Amazon Cognito 开发工具包集成到应用程序中。最新版本的开发工具包收集设备指纹信息,如设备 ID、模型和时区。有关 Amazon Cognito SDK 的更多信息,请参阅安装用户池 SDK。Amazon Cognito 高级安全功能只为应用程序以正确格式提交的事件保存和分配风险评分。如果 Amazon Cognito 返回错误响应,请检查您的请求是否包含有效的密钥哈希值,以及 IPaddress 参数是否为有效的 IPv4 或 IPv6 地址。

查看用户事件历史记录

注意

在新的 Amazon Cognito 控制台中,您可以在 Users(用户)选项卡中查看用户事件历史记录。

要查看某个用户的登录历史记录,您可以在 Amazon Cognito 控制台的 Users and groups(用户和组)中选择该用户。Amazon Cognito 会将用户事件历史记录保留两年。


            用户事件历史记录

每个登录事件都有一个事件 ID。该事件还包含对应的上下文数据,如位置、设备详细信息和风险检测结果。您可以使用 Amazon Cognito API 操作 AdminListUserAutEvents 或者使用 Amazon Command Line Interface (Amazon CLI) 通过 admin-list-user-auth-events 来查询用户事件历史记录。

您还可以将事件 ID 与 Amazon Cognito 在记录事件时发放的令牌关联起来。ID 和访问令牌在其有效负载中包含此事件 ID。Amazon Cognito 还将刷新令牌的使用与原始事件 ID 相关联。您可以通过原始事件 ID 追溯到导致颁发 Amazon Cognito 令牌的登录事件的事件 ID。您可以跟踪系统中的令牌在特定身份验证事件中的使用。有关更多信息,请参阅将令牌与用户池结合使用

提供事件反馈

事件反馈实时影响风险评估,并随着时间的推移改进风险评估算法。您可以通过 Amazon Cognito 控制台和 API 操作提供有关登录尝试有效性的反馈。

控制台的 Users and groups(用户和组)选项卡中列出了登录历史记录。您可以选择某个条目来将事件标记为有效或无效。您还可以通过用户池 API 操作 AdminUpdateAuthEventFeedback、Amazon CLI 命令 admin-update-auth-event-feedback 提供反馈。

发送通知消息

借助高级安全保护措施,Amazon Cognito 可以通知您用户的登录尝试。Amazon Cognito 还可以提示用户选择链接以指示登录是有效还是无效。Amazon Cognito 使用此反馈来提高用户池的风险检测准确性。

Automatic risk response(自动风险响应)部分,对低、中和高风险案例选择 Notify Users(通知用户)。


            通知用户

您可以自定义通知电子邮件消息,并提供这些消息的纯文本和 HTML 版本。选择 Adaptive authentication notification messages(自适应身份验证通知消息)中的 Customize(自定义)来自定义电子邮件通知。要了解有关电子邮件模板的更多信息,请参阅 消息模板