Amazon EKS Kubernetes versions - Amazon EKS
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Help improve this page

Want to contribute to this user guide? Scroll to the bottom of this page and select Edit this page on GitHub. Your contributions will help make our user guide better for everyone.

Amazon EKS Kubernetes versions

Kubernetes rapidly evolves with new features, design updates, and bug fixes. The community releases new Kubernetes minor versions (such as 1.29) on average once every four months. Amazon EKS follows the upstream release and deprecation cycle for minor versions. As new Kubernetes versions become available in Amazon EKS, we recommend that you proactively update your clusters to use the latest available version.

A minor version is under standard support in Amazon EKS for the first 14 months after it's released. Once a version is past the end of standard support date, it automatically enters extended support for the next 12 months. Extended support allows you to stay at a specific Kubernetes version for longer at an additional cost per cluster hour. If you haven’t updated your cluster before the extended support period ends, your cluster is auto-upgraded to the oldest currently supported extended version.

We recommend that you create your cluster with the latest available Kubernetes version supported by Amazon EKS. If your application requires a specific version of Kubernetes, you can select older versions. You can create new Amazon EKS clusters on any version offered in standard or extended support.

Available versions on standard support

The following Kubernetes versions are currently available in Amazon EKS standard support:

  • 1.29

  • 1.28

  • 1.27

  • 1.26

For important changes to be aware of for each version in standard support, see Release notes for standard support versions.

Available versions on extended support

The following Kubernetes versions are currently available in Amazon EKS extended support:

  • 1.25

  • 1.24

  • 1.23

For important changes to be aware of for each version in extended support, see Release notes for extended support versions.

The following Kubernetes versions are currently available in Amazon EKS extended support, with the additional requirement that you cannot create new clusters with these versions:

Amazon EKS Kubernetes release calendar

The following table shows important release and support dates to consider for each Kubernetes version.

Note

Dates with only a month and a year are approximate and are updated with an exact date when it's known.

Kubernetes version Upstream release Amazon EKS release End of standard support End of extended support
1.30 April 17, 2024 May 2024 Date Pending Date Pending
1.29 December 13, 2023 January 23, 2024 March 23, 2025 March 23, 2026
1.28 August 15, 2023 September 26, 2023 November 26, 2024 November 26, 2025
1.27 April 11, 2023 May 24, 2023 July 24, 2024 July 24, 2025
1.26 December 9, 2022 April 11, 2023 June 11, 2024 June 11, 2025
1.25 August 23, 2022 February 22, 2023 May 1, 2024 May 1, 2025
1.24 May 3, 2022 November 15, 2022 January 31, 2024 January 31, 2025
1.23 December 7, 2021 August 11, 2022 October 11, 2023 October 11, 2024
1.22 August 4, 2021 April 4, 2022 June 4, 2023 September 1, 2024
1.21 April 8, 2021 July 19, 2021 February 16, 2023 July 15, 2024

Amazon EKS version FAQs

How many Kubernetes versions are available in standard support?

In line with the Kubernetes community support for Kubernetes versions, Amazon EKS is committed to offering standard support for at least four production-ready versions of Kubernetes at any given time. We will announce the end of standard support date of a given Kubernetes minor version at least 60 days in advance. Because of the Amazon EKS qualification and release process for new Kubernetes versions, the end of standard support date of a Kubernetes version on Amazon EKS will be on or after the date that the Kubernetes project stops supporting the version upstream.

How long does a Kubernetes receive standard support by Amazon EKS?

A Kubernetes version received standard support for 14 months after first being available on Amazon EKS. This is true even if upstream Kubernetes no longer support a version that's available on Amazon EKS. We backport security patches that are applicable to the Kubernetes versions that are supported on Amazon EKS.

Am I notified when standard support is ending for a Kubernetes version on Amazon EKS?

Yes. If any clusters in your account are running the version nearing the end of support, Amazon EKS sends out a notice through the Amazon Health Dashboard approximately 12 months after the Kubernetes version was released on Amazon EKS. The notice includes the end of support date. This is at least 60 days from the date of the notice.

Which Kubernetes features are supported by Amazon EKS?

Amazon EKS supports all generally available (GA) features of the Kubernetes API. Starting with Kubernetes version 1.24, new beta APIs aren't enabled in clusters by default. However, previously existing beta APIs and new versions of existing beta APIs continue to be enabled by default. Alpha features aren't supported.

Are Amazon EKS managed node groups automatically updated along with the cluster control plane version?

No. A managed node group creates Amazon EC2 instances in your account. These instances aren't automatically upgraded when you or Amazon EKS update your control plane. For more information, see Updating a managed node group. We recommend maintaining the same Kubernetes version on your control plane and nodes.

Are self-managed node groups automatically updated along with the cluster control plane version?

No. A self-managed node group includes Amazon EC2 instances in your account. These instances aren't automatically upgraded when you or Amazon EKS update the control plane version on your behalf. A self-managed node group doesn't have any indication in the console that it needs updating. You can view the kubelet version installed on a node by selecting the node in the Nodes list on the Overview tab of your cluster to determine which nodes need updating. You must manually update the nodes. For more information, see Self-managed node updates.

The Kubernetes project tests compatibility between the control plane and nodes for up to three minor versions. For example, 1.26 nodes continue to operate when orchestrated by a 1.29 control plane. However, running a cluster with nodes that are persistently three minor versions behind the control plane isn't recommended. For more information, see Kubernetes version and version skew support policy in the Kubernetes documentation. We recommend maintaining the same Kubernetes version on your control plane and nodes.

Are Pods running on Fargate automatically upgraded with an automatic cluster control plane version upgrade?

No. We strongly recommend running Fargate Pods as part of a replication controller, such as a Kubernetes deployment. Then do a rolling restart of all Fargate Pods. The new version of the Fargate Pod is deployed with a kubelet version that's the same version as your updated cluster control plane version. For more information, see Deployments in the Kubernetes documentation.

Important

If you update the control plane, you must still update the Fargate nodes yourself. To update Fargate nodes, delete the Fargate Pod represented by the node and redeploy the Pod. The new Pod is deployed with a kubelet version that's the same version as your cluster.

Amazon EKS extended support FAQs

The standard support and extended support terminology is new to me. What do those terms mean?

Standard support for a Kubernetes version in Amazon EKS begins when a Kubernetes version is released on Amazon EKS, and will end 14 months after the release date. Extended support for a Kubernetes version will begin immediately after the end of standard support, and will end after the next 12 months. For example, standard support for version 1.23 in Amazon EKS ends on October 11, 2023. Extended support for version 1.23 began on October 12, 2023 and will end on October 11, 2024.

What do I need to do to get extended support for Amazon EKS clusters?

You don’t have to take any action to get extended support for your Amazon EKS clusters. Standard support will begin when a Kubernetes version is released on Amazon EKS, and will end 14 months after the release date. Extended support for a Kubernetes version will begin immediately after the end of standard support, and will end after the next 12 months. Clusters that are running on a Kubernetes version past the end of standard support will automatically be onboarded to extended support.

For which Kubernetes versions can I get extended support?

Extended support is available for Kubernetes versions 1.23 and higher. You can run clusters on any version for up to 12 months after the end of standard support for that version. This means that each version will be supported for 26 months in Amazon EKS (14 months of standard support plus 12 months of extended support).

What if I don’t want to use extended support?

If you don’t want to be automatically enrolled in extended support, you can upgrade your cluster to a Kubernetes version that’s in standard Amazon EKS support. Clusters that aren’t upgraded to a Kubernetes version in standard support will automatically enter extended support.

What will happen at the end of 12 months of extended support?

Clusters running on a Kubernetes version that has completed its 26-month lifecycle (14 months of standard support plus 12 months of extended support) will be auto-upgraded to the next version.

On the end of extended support date, you can no longer create new Amazon EKS clusters with the unsupported version. Existing control planes are automatically updated by Amazon EKS to the earliest supported version through a gradual deployment process after the end of support date. After the automatic control plane update, make sure to manually update cluster add-ons and Amazon EC2 nodes. For more information, see Update the Kubernetes version for your Amazon EKS cluster.

When exactly is my control plane automatically updated after the end of extended support date?

Amazon EKS can't provide specific time frames. Automatic updates can happen at any time after the end of extended support date. You won't receive any notification before the update. We recommend that you proactively update your control plane without relying on the Amazon EKS automatic update process. For more information, see Updating an Amazon EKS cluster Kubernetes version.

Can I leave my control plane on a Kubernetes version indefinitely?

No. Cloud security at Amazon is the highest priority. Past a certain point (usually one year), the Kubernetes community stops releasing common vulnerabilities and exposures (CVE) patches and discourages CVE submission for unsupported versions. This means that vulnerabilities specific to an older version of Kubernetes might not even be reported. This leaves clusters exposed with no notice and no remediation options in the event of a vulnerability. Given this, Amazon EKS doesn't allow control planes to stay on a version that reached end of extended support.

Is there additional cost to get extended support?

Yes, there is additional cost for Amazon EKS clusters running in extended support. For pricing details, see Amazon EKS extended support for Kubernetes version pricing on the Amazon blog.

What is included in extended support?

Amazon EKS clusters in Extended Support receive ongoing security patches for the Kubernetes control plane. Additionally, Amazon EKS will release patches for the Amazon VPC CNI, kube-proxy, and CoreDNS add-ons for Extended Support versions. Amazon EKS will also release patches for Amazon-published Amazon EKS optimized AMIs for Amazon Linux, Bottlerocket, and Windows, as well as Amazon EKS Fargate nodes for those versions. All clusters in Extended Support will continue to get access to technical support from Amazon.

Note

Extended Support for Amazon EKS optimized Windows AMIs that are published by Amazon isn't available for Kubernetes version 1.23 but is available for Kubernetes version 1.24 and higher.

Are there any limitations to patches for non-Kubernetes components in extended support?

While Extended Support covers all of the Kubernetes specific components from Amazon, it will only provide support for Amazon-published Amazon EKS optimized AMIs for Amazon Linux, Bottlerocket, and Windows at all times. This means, you will potentially have newer components (such as OS or kernel) on your Amazon EKS optimized AMI while using Extended Support. For example, once Amazon Linux 2 reaches the end of its lifecycle in 2025, the Amazon EKS optimized Amazon Linux AMIs will be built using a newer Amazon Linux OS. Amazon EKS will announce and document important support lifecycle discrepancies such as this for each Kubernetes version.

Can I create new clusters using a version on extended support?

Yes, with the exclusion of 1.22 and 1.21. For example, you can create a 1.23 cluster, but not a 1.22 cluster.

Amazon EKS Kubernetes 版本 - Amazon EKS
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

Amazon EKS Kubernetes 版本

Kubernetes 发展迅速,提供了新功能、设计更新和错误修复。社区平均每四个月发布一次新的 Kubernetes 次要版本(例如 1.29)。Amazon EKS 会遵循次要版本的上游发布和弃用周期。随着新 Kubernetes 版本在 Amazon EKS 中提供,我们建议您主动将集群更新为使用最新的可用版本。

在发布后的前 14 个月内,次要版本会在 Amazon EKS 中获得标准支持。一旦某个版本超过标准支持结束日期,它将在接下来 12 个月自动进入延期支持。延期支持允许您在特定 Kubernetes 版本上停留更长时间,但每个集群小时需支付额外费用。如果您在延期支持期限结束之前未更新集群,则您的集群将自动升级到当前支持的最旧延期版本。

我们建议您使用 Amazon EKS 支持的最新可用 Kubernetes 版本创建集群。如果您的应用程序需要特定版本的 Kubernetes,则可以选择较旧的版本。您可以在标准或延期支持中提供的任何版本上创建新的 Amazon EKS 集群。

标准支持上的可用版本

Amazon EKS 标准支持目前提供以下 Kubernetes 版本:

  • 1.29

  • 1.28

  • 1.27

  • 1.26

  • 1.25

有关标准支持中每个版本需要注意的重要更改,请参阅 标准支持版本的发布说明

延期支持的可用版本

Amazon EKS 扩展支持目前提供以下 Kubernetes 版本:

  • 1.24

  • 1.23

有关扩展支持中每个版本需要注意的重要更改,请参阅 扩展支持版本的发布说明

Amazon EKS 扩展支持目前提供以下 Kubernetes 版本,附加要求是您不能使用这些版本创建新集群

Amazon EKS Kubernetes 发布日历

下表显示了每个 Kubernetes 版本需要考虑的重要发布和支持日期。

注意

只有月份和年份的发布日期均为大概日期,这些日期会在确切日期明确后进行更新。

Kubernetes 版本 上游版本 Amazon EKS 版本 标准支持结束日期 延期支持结束日期
1.29 2023 年 12 月 13 日 2024 年 1 月 23 日 2025 年 3 月 23 日 2026 年 3 月 23 日
1.28 2023 年 8 月 15 日 2023 年 9 月 26 日 2024 年 11 月 26 日 2025 年 11 月 26 日
1.27 2023 年 4 月 11 日 2023 年 5 月 24 日 2024 年 7 月 24 日 2025 年 7 月 24 日
1.26 2022 年 12 月 9 日 2023 年 4 月 11 日 2024 年 6 月 11 日 2025 年 6 月 11 日
1.25 2022 年 8 月 23 日 2023 年 2 月 22 日 2024 年 5 月 1 日 2025 年 5 月 1 日
1.24 2022 年 5 月 3 日 2022 年 11 月 15 日 2024 年 1 月 31 日 2025 年 1 月 31 日
1.23 2021 年 12 月 7 日 2022 年 8 月 11 日 2023 年 10 月 11 日 2024 年 10 月 11 日
1.22 2021 年 8 月 4 日 2022 年 4 月 22 日 2023 年 6 月 4 日 2024 年 9 月 1 日
1.21 2021 年 4 月 8 日 2021 年 7 月 19 日 2023 年 2 月 16 日 2024 年 7 月 15 日

Amazon EKS 版本常见问题

标准支持提供多少个 Kubernetes 版本?

为了与 Kubernetes 社群对 Kubernetes 版本的支持保持一致,Amazon EKS 致力于在任何特定时间为至少四个生产就绪的 Kubernetes 版本提供标准支持。我们会提前至少 60 天公告特定 Kubernetes 次要版本的标准支持结束日期。鉴于新 Kubernetes 版本的 Amazon EKS 鉴定和发布流程,Amazon EKS 上对某个 Kubernetes 版本的标准支持的结束日期将会是 Kubernetes 项目停止支持上游版本之日或之后。

Kubernetes 可以获得多长时间的 Amazon EKS 标准支持?

一个 Kubernetes 版本首次在 Amazon EKS 上发布后在 14 个月内获得标准支持。即使上游 Kubernetes 不再支持 Amazon EKS 上可用的版本,也是如此。我们向后移植适用于 Amazon EKS 上支持的 Kubernetes 版本的安全补丁。

当对 Amazon EKS 上的 Kubernetes 版本的标准支持结束时,我是否会收到通知?

是。如果您账户中有任何集群正在运行即将终止支持的版本,Amazon EKS 会在 Kubernetes 版本在 Amazon EKS 上发布大约 12 个月后通过 Amazon Health Dashboard 发出通知。该通知包括支持结束日期。为从通知发出之日起至少 60 天。

Amazon EKS 支持哪些 Kubernetes 功能?

Amazon EKS 支持 Kubernetes API 的所有正式发布(GA)功能。从 Kubernetes 版本 1.24 开始,默认情况下,集群中不会启用新的测试版 API。但在默认情况下,先前存在的测试版 API 和现有测试版 API 的新版本将继续默认启用。不支持 Alpha 功能。

Amazon EKS 托管节点组是否会随集群控制面板版本一起自动更新?

否。托管节点组在您的账户中创建 Amazon EC2 实例。当您或 Amazon EKS 更新控制层面时,这些实例不会自动升级。有关更多信息,请参阅 更新托管节点组。我们建议您的控制面板和节点上保持相同的 Kubernetes 版本。

自行管理的节点组是否会随集群控制面板版本一起自动更新?

否。自行管理的节点组包括您的账户中的 Amazon EC2 实例。当您或 Amazon EKS 代表您更新控制面板版本时,这些实例不会自动升级。对于自行管理的节点组,控制台中没有任何其需要更新的标示。您可以在集群的 Overview(概览)选项卡上的 Nodes(节点)列表中选择节点查看其上安装的 kubelet 版本,确定哪些节点需要更新。您必须手动更新节点。有关更多信息,请参阅 自行管理节点的更新

Kubernetes 项目最多测试三个次要版本的控制面板和节点之间的兼容性。例如,当 1.26 节点由 1.29 控制面板编排时,节点会继续运行。但是,不建议运行具有版本持续落后控制面板三个次要版本的节点的集群。有关更多信息,请参阅 Kubernetes 文档中的 Kubernetes 版本和版本倾斜支持政策。我们建议您的控制面板和节点上保持相同的 Kubernetes 版本。

Fargate 上运行的 Pods 是否通过自动集群控制面板版本升级而自动升级?

不会。我们强烈建议将 Fargate Pods 作为复制控制器(如 Kubernetes 部署)的一部分运行。然后依次重启所有的 Fargate Pods。新版本的 Fargate Pod 部署有一个 kubelet 版本,该版本与更新的集群控制面板版本相同。有关更多信息,请参阅 Kubernetes 文档中的部署

重要

如果您更新控制面板,则必须自行更新 Fargate 节点。要更新 Fargate 节点,请删除该节点表示的 Fargate Pod,然后重新部署 Pod。部署新的 Pod 时使用 kubelet 版本,该版本与您的集群版本相同。

Amazon 延期支持常见问题

标准支持和延期支持术语对我来说是全新的。这些术语是什么意思?

对 Amazon EKS 中某个 Kubernetes 版本的标准支持从该 Kubernetes 版本在 Amazon EKS 上发布时开始,并将在发布日期 14 个月后结束。对某个 Kubernetes 版本的延期支持将在标准支持结束后立即开始,并将在接下来的 12 个月后结束。例如,Amazon EKS 版本 1.23 的标准支持将于 2023 年 10 月 11 日结束。对版本 1.23 的延期支持于 2023 年 10 月 12 日开始,并将于 2024 年 10 月 11 日结束。

我需要做些什么才能获得对 Amazon EKS 集群的延期支持?

您无需采取任何措施即可获得对 Amazon EKS 集群的延期支持。标准支持从 Kubernetes 版本在 Amazon EKS 上发布时开始,并将在发布日期 14 个月后结束。对某个 Kubernetes 版本的延期支持将在标准支持结束后立即开始,并将在接下来的 12 个月后结束。在标准支持结束后的 Kubernetes 版本上运行的集群将自动加入延期支持。

哪些 Kubernetes 版本可以获得延期支持?

延期支持适用于 Kubernetes 版本 1.23 及更高版本。在任何版本的标准支持结束后,您最多可以在该版本上运行集群 12 个月。这意味着 Amazon EKS 将为每个版本提供 26 个月的支持(14 个月的标准支持加上 12 个月的延期支持)。

如果我不想使用延期支持怎么办?

如果您不想自动注册延期支持,则可以将集群升级到标准 Amazon EKS 支持的 Kubernetes 版本。未升级到标准支持 Kubernetes 版本的集群将自动进入延期支持。

12 个月的延期支持结束后会发生什么?

在已完成 26 个月生命周期(14 个月的标准支持加上 12 个月的延期支持)的 Kubernetes 版本上运行的集群将自动升级到下一个版本。

在延期支持结束之日,您将无法再使用不受支持的版本创建新的 Amazon EKS 集群。Amazon EKS 会在支持结束日期后通过逐步部署流程,自动将现有控制层面更新为最早的受支持版本。控制面板自动更新后,确保手动更新集群附加组件和 Amazon EC2 节点。有关更多信息,请参阅 更新 Amazon EKS 集群的 Kubernetes 版本

在延期支持结束日期后,自动更新控制面板的确切时间是何时?

Amazon EKS 无法给出具体的时间范围。自动更新可以在延期支持结束日期后的任何时间进行。在更新之前,您不会收到任何通知。我们建议您主动更新您的控制面板,而不要依赖 Amazon EKS 自动更新流程。有关更多信息,请参阅 更新 Amazon EKS 集群 Kubernetes 版本

我能否无限期地将控制面板留在某个 Kubernetes 版本上?

不能。Amazon 的云安全性具有最高优先级。过去一段时间(通常为 1 年),Kubernetes 社群停止发布常见漏洞和风险(CVE)补丁程序,也不鼓励提交不受支持版本的 CVE。这意味着旧版本 Kubernetes 的特定漏洞甚至可能没有报告。这会在出现漏洞的情况下,集群被暴露且不会进行通知,也没有修复选项。鉴于此,Amazon EKS 不允许控制面板停留在延期支持已经结束的版本上。

获得延期支持是否需要额外费用?

需要,在延期支持下运行的 Amazon EKS 集群需要支付额外费用。有关定价详情,请参阅 Amazon 博客上的对 Kubernetes 版本定价的 Amazon EKS 扩展支持

延期支持中包含哪些内容?

延期支持中的 Amazon EKS 集群会一直收到 Kubernetes 控制面板的安全补丁。此外,Amazon EKS 将发布 Amazon VPC CNI 的补丁 kube-proxy 和延期支持版本的 CoreDNS 附加组件。Amazon EKS 还将针对 Amazon 发布的适用于 Amazon Linux、Bottlerocket 和 Windows 的 Amazon EKS 优化版 AMI 以及这些版本的 Amazon EKS Fargate 节点发布补丁。延期支持中的所有集群将继续从 Amazon 中获得技术支持。

注意

Amazon 发布的 Amazon EKS 优化版 Windows AMI 的延期支持不适用于 Kubernetes 版本 1.23,但适用于 Kubernetes 版本 1.24 及更高版本。

在延期支持中,非 Kubernetes 组件的补丁是否有任何限制?

虽然延期支持涵盖了来自 Amazon 的所有 Kubernetes 特定组件,但它仅在任何时候为 Amazon 发布的适用于 Amazon Linux、Bottlerocket 和 Windows 的 Amazon EKS 优化版 AMI 提供支持。这意味着,在使用延期支持时,您的 Amazon EKS 优化版 AMI 上可能会有更新的组件(例如操作系统或内核)。例如,一旦 Amazon Linux 2 在 2025 年结束其生命周期后,Amazon EKS 优化版 Amazon Linux AMI 将使用更新的 Amazon Linux 操作系统构建。Amazon EKS 将宣布并记录重要的支持生命周期差异,例如每个 Kubernetes 版本的差异。

我是否能使用扩展支持的版本创建新集群?

是,但 1.221.21 除外。例如,您可以创建 1.23 集群,但不能创建 1.22 集群。