What is Amazon EKS? - Amazon EKS
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

What is Amazon EKS?

Amazon Elastic Kubernetes Service (Amazon EKS) is a managed service that you can use to run Kubernetes on Amazon without needing to install, operate, and maintain your own Kubernetes control plane or nodes. Kubernetes is an open-source system for automating the deployment, scaling, and management of containerized applications. Amazon EKS:

  • Runs and scales the Kubernetes control plane across multiple Amazon Availability Zones to ensure high availability.

  • Automatically scales control plane instances based on load, detects and replaces unhealthy control plane instances, and it provides automated version updates and patching for them.

  • Is integrated with many Amazon services to provide scalability and security for your applications, including the following capabilities:

    • Amazon ECR for container images

    • Elastic Load Balancing for load distribution

    • IAM for authentication

    • Amazon VPC for isolation

  • Runs up-to-date versions of the open-source Kubernetes software, so you can use all of the existing plugins and tooling from the Kubernetes community. Applications that are running on Amazon EKS are fully compatible with applications running on any standard Kubernetes environment, no matter whether they're running in on-premises data centers or public clouds. This means that you can easily migrate any standard Kubernetes application to Amazon EKS without any code modification.

Amazon EKS control plane architecture

Amazon EKS runs a single tenant Kubernetes control plane for each cluster. The control plane infrastructure is not shared across clusters or Amazon accounts. The control plane consists of at least two API server instances and three etcd instances that run across three Availability Zones within a Region. Amazon EKS:

  • Actively monitors the load on control plane instances and automatically scales them to ensure high performance.

  • Automatically detects and replaces unhealthy control plane instances, restarting them across the Availability Zones within the Region as needed.

  • Leverages the architecture of Amazon Regions in order to maintain high availability. Because of this, Amazon EKS is able to offer an SLA for API server endpoint availability.

Amazon EKS uses Amazon VPC network policies to restrict traffic between control plane components to within a single cluster. Control plane components for a cluster can't view or receive communication from other clusters or other Amazon accounts, except as authorized with Kubernetes RBAC policies. This secure and highly available configuration makes Amazon EKS reliable and recommended for production workloads.

How does Amazon EKS work?


    How Amazon EKS works

Getting started with Amazon EKS is easy:

  1. Create an Amazon EKS cluster in the Amazon Web Services Management Console or with the Amazon CLI or one of the Amazon SDKs.

  2. Launch managed or self-managed Amazon EC2 nodes, or deploy your workloads to Amazon Fargate.

  3. When your cluster is ready, you can configure your favorite Kubernetes tools, such as kubectl, to communicate with your cluster.

  4. Deploy and manage workloads on your Amazon EKS cluster the same way that you would with any other Kubernetes environment. You can also view information about your workloads using the Amazon Web Services Management Console.

To create your first cluster and its associated resources, see Getting started with Amazon EKS. To learn about other Kubernetes deployment options, see Deployment options.

Pricing

An Amazon EKS cluster consists of a control plane and the Amazon EC2 or Amazon Fargate compute that you run pods on. For more information about pricing for the control plane, see Amazon EKS pricing. Both Amazon EC2 and Fargate provide:

什么是 Amazon EKS? - Amazon EKS
AWS 文档中描述的 AWS 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 AWS 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

什么是 Amazon EKS?

Amazon Elastic Kubernetes Service (Amazon EKS) 是一项托管服务,可用于在 上运行 AWS Kubernetes,而无需安装、操作和维护您自己的 Kubernetes 控制层面或节点。Kubernetes 是一个用于实现容器化应用程序的部署、扩展和管理的自动化的开源系统。Amazon EKS:

  • 跨多个 运行和扩展 Kubernetes AWS 可用区控制层面,以确保高可用性。

  • 根据负载自动扩展控制层面实例,检测和替换运行状况不佳的控制层面实例,并为它们提供自动版本更新和修补。

  • 与许多 AWS 服务集成,以便为您的应用程序提供可扩展性和安全性,包括以下功能:

    • Amazon ECR用于容器镜像的

    • Elastic Load Balancing用于负载分配的

    • IAM用于身份验证的

    • Amazon VPC用于隔离的

  • 运行最新版本的开源 Kubernetes 软件,以便您可以使用 Kubernetes 社区的所有现有插件和工具。在 上运行的应用程序Amazon EKS与在任何标准 Kubernetes 环境中运行的应用程序完全兼容,无论它们是在本地数据中心还是在公共云中运行都是如此。这意味着,您可以轻松地将任何标准 Kubernetes 应用程序迁移到 Amazon EKS ,而无需修改代码。

Amazon EKS 控制层面架构

Amazon EKS 为每个集群运行单个租户 Kubernetes 控制层面。控制层面基础设施不会跨集群或AWS账户共享。控制层面包含至少两个 API 服务器实例和三个 etcd 实例,它们跨可用区一个区域内的三个 运行。 Amazon EKS

  • 主动监控控制层面实例上的负载,并自动扩展这些实例以确保高性能。

  • 自动检测和替换运行状况不佳的控制层面实例,并根据需要跨 可用区区域中的 重新启动它们。

  • 利用 AWS 区域的架构来保持高可用性。因此,Amazon EKS 能够提供确保 API 服务器终端节点可用性的 SLA.

Amazon EKS 使用 Amazon VPC 网络策略来将控制层面组件之间的流量限制到一个集群内。除非通过 Kubernetes RBAC 策略授权,否则集群的控制层面组件无法查看或接收来自其他集群或其他AWS账户的通信。此安全且高度可用的配置使 成为生产工作负载的Amazon EKS可靠建议配置。

Amazon EKS 是如何运行的?


    Amazon EKS 的工作原理

Amazon EKS 入门是很轻松的:

  1. 在 中Amazon EKS或使用 AWS 管理控制台 或 之一创建 AWS CLI AWS 集群SDKs。

  2. 启动托管节点或自行管理Amazon EC2节点,或将工作负载部署到 AWS Fargate。

  3. 当您的集群准备就绪时,您可以配置常用 Kubernetes 工具(如 kubectl)以与集群通信。

  4. 在Amazon EKS集群上部署和管理工作负载的方式与任何其他 Kubernetes 环境相同。您还可以使用 查看有关工作负载的信息AWS 管理控制台。

要创建您的第一个 集群及其关联资源,请参阅开始使用 Amazon EKS

Pricing

Amazon EKS 集群由控制层面和运行 Pod 的 Amazon EC2 或 AWS Fargate 计算组成。有关 控制层面的定价的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EKS 定价。Amazon EC2 和 均Fargate提供:

  • 按需实例 按秒–付费,无需长期购买或预付款。有关更多信息,请参阅Amazon EC2按需定价AWS Fargate 定价

  • Savings Plans – 您可以通过承诺在 1 年或 3 年期限内保持一致的使用量(以美元/小时为单位)来降低成本。有关更多信息,请参阅使用 Savings Plans 进行定价。

为自管理 Kubernetes Amazon EKS 集群与 保持一致

Amazon EKS Distro 是云Amazon EKS中由 部署的相同开源 Kubernetes 软件及依赖项的发行版。借助 Amazon EKS Distro,您可以在部署应用程序时创建可靠且安全的集群。您可以依赖由 Amazon EKS、 等部署的相同版本的 Kubernetes、、具有最新更新的CoreDNS上游 CNI 和 CSI 附加项以及扩展的安全修补支持。 Amazon EKS Distro 遵循与 相同的 Kubernetes 版本发布周期Amazon EKS,并且作为开源项目提供。

注意

上的Amazon EKS Distro源代码可用GitHub。 Amazon EKS Distro 网站上提供了最新文档。如果您发现任何问题,可以通过在 Amazon EKS Distro GitHub上连接到我们来报告这些问题。 在那里,您可以打开问题、提供反馈和报告错误。