Launching self-managed Bottlerocket nodes - Amazon EKS
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Help improve this page

Want to contribute to this user guide? Scroll to the bottom of this page and select Edit this page on GitHub. Your contributions will help make our user guide better for everyone.

Launching self-managed Bottlerocket nodes

Note

Managed node groups might offer some advantages for your use case. For more information, see Managed node groups.

This topic describes how to launch Auto Scaling groups of Bottlerocket nodes that register with your Amazon EKS cluster. Bottlerocket is a Linux-based open-source operating system from Amazon that you can use for running containers on virtual machines or bare metal hosts. After the nodes join the cluster, you can deploy Kubernetes applications to them. For more information about Bottlerocket, see Using a Bottlerocket AMI with Amazon EKS on GitHub and Custom AMI support in the eksctl documentation.

For information about in-place upgrades, see Bottlerocket Update Operator on GitHub.

Important
  • Amazon EKS nodes are standard Amazon EC2 instances, and you are billed for them based on normal Amazon EC2 instance prices. For more information, see Amazon EC2 pricing.

  • You can launch Bottlerocket nodes in Amazon EKS extended clusters on Amazon Outposts, but you can't launch them in local clusters on Amazon Outposts. For more information, see Amazon EKS on Amazon Outposts.

  • You can deploy to Amazon EC2 instances with x86 or Arm processors. However, you can't deploy to instances that have Inferentia chips.

  • Bottlerocket is compatible with Amazon CloudFormation. However, there is no official CloudFormation template that can be copied to deploy Bottlerocket nodes for Amazon EKS.

  • Bottlerocket images don't come with an SSH server or a shell. You can use out-of-band access methods to allow SSH enabling the admin container and to pass some bootstrapping configuration steps with user data. For more information, see these sections in the bottlerocket README.md on GitHub:

To launch Bottlerocket nodes using eksctl

This procedure requires eksctl version 0.177.0 or later. You can check your version with the following command:

eksctl version

For instructions on how to install or upgrade eksctl, see Installation in the eksctl documentation.

Note

This procedure only works for clusters that were created with eksctl.

  1. Copy the following contents to your device. Replace my-cluster with the name of your cluster. The name can contain only alphanumeric characters (case-sensitive) and hyphens. It must start with an alphabetic character and can't be longer than 100 characters. Replace ng-bottlerocket with a name for your node group. The node group name can't be longer than 63 characters. It must start with letter or digit, but can also include hyphens and underscores for the remaining characters. To deploy on Arm instances, replace m5.large with an Arm instance type. Replace my-ec2-keypair-name with the name of an Amazon EC2 SSH key pair that you can use to connect using SSH into your nodes with after they launch. If you don't already have an Amazon EC2 key pair, you can create one in the Amazon Web Services Management Console. For more information, see Amazon EC2 key pairs in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Linux Instances. Replace all remaining example values with your own values. Once you've made the replacements, run the modified command to create the bottlerocket.yaml file.

    If specifying an Arm Amazon EC2 instance type, then review the considerations in Amazon EKS optimized Arm Amazon Linux AMIs before deploying. For instructions on how to deploy using a custom AMI, see Building Bottlerocket on GitHub and Custom AMI support in the eksctl documentation. To deploy a managed node group, deploy a custom AMI using a launch template. For more information, see Customizing managed nodes with launch templates.

    Important

    To deploy a node group to Amazon Outposts, Amazon Wavelength, or Amazon Local Zone subnets, don't pass Amazon Outposts, Amazon Wavelength, or Amazon Local Zone subnets when you create the cluster. You must specify the subnets in the following example. For more information see Create a nodegroup from a config file and Config file schema in the eksctl documentation. Replace region-code with the Amazon Web Services Region that your cluster is in.

    cat >bottlerocket.yaml <<EOF --- apiVersion: eksctl.io/v1alpha5 kind: ClusterConfig metadata: name: my-cluster region: region-code version: '1.29' iam: withOIDC: true nodeGroups: - name: ng-bottlerocket instanceType: m5.large desiredCapacity: 3 amiFamily: Bottlerocket ami: auto-ssm iam: attachPolicyARNs: - arn:aws-cn:iam::aws:policy/AmazonEKSWorkerNodePolicy - arn:aws-cn:iam::aws:policy/AmazonEC2ContainerRegistryReadOnly - arn:aws-cn:iam::aws:policy/AmazonSSMManagedInstanceCore - arn:aws-cn:iam::aws:policy/AmazonEKS_CNI_Policy ssh: allow: true publicKeyName: my-ec2-keypair-name EOF
  2. Deploy your nodes with the following command.

    eksctl create nodegroup --config-file=bottlerocket.yaml

    An example output is as follows.

    Several lines are output while the nodes are created. One of the last lines of output is the following example line.

    [✔]  created 1 nodegroup(s) in cluster "my-cluster"
  3. (Optional) Create a Kubernetes persistent volume on a Bottlerocket node using the Amazon EBS CSI Plugin. The default Amazon EBS driver relies on file system tools that aren't included with Bottlerocket. For more information about creating a storage class using the driver, see Amazon EBS CSI driver.

  4. (Optional) By default, kube-proxy sets the nf_conntrack_max kernel parameter to a default value that may differ from what Bottlerocket originally sets at boot. To keep Bottlerocket's default setting, edit the kube-proxy configuration with the following command.

    kubectl edit -n kube-system daemonset kube-proxy

    Add --conntrack-max-per-core and --conntrack-min to the kube-proxy arguments that are in the following example. A setting of 0 implies no change.

    containers: - command: - kube-proxy - --v=2 - --config=/var/lib/kube-proxy-config/config - --conntrack-max-per-core=0 - --conntrack-min=0
  5. (Optional) Deploy a sample application to test your Bottlerocket nodes.

  6. We recommend blocking Pod access to IMDS if the following conditions are true:

    • You plan to assign IAM roles to all of your Kubernetes service accounts so that Pods only have the minimum permissions that they need.

    • No Pods in the cluster require access to the Amazon EC2 instance metadata service (IMDS) for other reasons, such as retrieving the current Amazon Web Services Region.

    For more information, see Restrict access to the instance profile assigned to the worker node.

启动自行管理的 Bottlerocket 节点 - Amazon EKS
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

启动自行管理的 Bottlerocket 节点

注意

托管节点组可能会为您的使用案例带来一些优势。有关更多信息,请参阅托管节点组

本主题介绍了如何启动向 Amazon EKS 集群注册的 Bottlerocket 节点的自动扩缩组。Bottlerocket 是 Amazon 中的一个基于 Linux 的开源操作系统,用于在虚拟机或裸机主机上运行容器。在这些节点加入集群后,您可以向其部署 Kubernetes 应用程序。有关 Bottlerocket 的更多信息,请参阅 GitHub 上的将 Bottlerocket AMI 用于 Amazon EKSeksctl 文档中的自定义 AMI 支持

有关就地升级的信息,请参阅 GitHub 上的 Bottlerocket Update Operator

重要
  • Amazon EKS 节点是标准的 Amazon EC2 实例,您需要基于常规的 Amazon EC2 实例价格为其付费。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EC2定价

  • 您可以在 Amazon Outpost 上的 Amazon EKS 扩展集群中启动 Bottlerocket 节点,但您无法在 Amazon Outpost 上的本地集群中启动它们。有关更多信息,请参阅Amazon Outposts 上的 Amazon EKS

  • 您可以部署到采用 x86 或 Arm 处理器的 Amazon EC2 实例。但是,您无法部署到具有 Inferentia 芯片的实例。

  • 没有 Amazon CloudFormation 模板用来部署节点。

  • Bottlerocket 映像不附带 SSH 服务器或 shell。您可以使用带外访问方法来允许 SSH 启用管理员容器,并执行一些带有用户数据的引导配置步骤。有关更多信息,请参阅 GitHub 上的 bottlerocket README.md

要使用 eksctl 启动 Bottlerocket 节点

此过程需要 eksctl 版本 0.114.0 或更高版本。可以使用以下命令来查看您的版本:

eksctl version

有关如何安装或升级 eksctl 的说明,请参阅 安装或更新 eksctl

注意

此过程仅适用于使用 eksctl 创建的集群。

  1. 将以下内容复制到您的设备。将 my-cluster 替换为您的集群名称。名称只能包含字母数字字符(区分大小写)和连字符。该名称必须以字母字符开头,且不得超过 100 个字符。将 ng-bottlerocket 替换为您的节点组名称。名称只能包含字母数字字符(区分大小写)和连字符。该名称必须以字母字符开头,且不得超过 100 个字符。要在 Arm 实例上部署,请将 m5.large 替换为 Arm 实例类型。将 my-ec2-keypair-name 替换为 Amazon EC2 SSH 密钥对的名称,您可使用该密钥对来在节点启动后使用 SSH 连接到这些节点。如果还没有 Amazon EC2 密钥对,可以在 Amazon Web Services Management Console 中创建一个。有关更多信息,请参阅适用于 Linux 实例的 Amazon EC2 用户指南中的 Amazon EC2 密钥对。将所有剩余 example values 替换为您自己的值。完成替换后,运行修改后的命令以创建 bottlerocket.yaml 文件。

    如果指定了 Arm Amazon EC2 实例类型,请在部署前查看 Amazon EKS 优化版 Arm Amazon Linux AMI 中的注意事项。有关如何使用自定义 AMI 进行部署的说明,请参阅 GitHub 上的构建 Bottlerocket 以及 eksctl 文档中的自定义 AMI 支持。要部署托管节点组,请使用启动模板部署自定义 AMI。有关更多信息,请参阅启动模板支持

    重要

    要将节点组部署到 Amazon Outposts、Amazon Wavelength 或 Amazon 本地区域子网,创建集群时不要传入 Amazon Outposts、Amazon Wavelength 或 Amazon 本地区域子网。您必须在以下示例中指定子网。有关更多信息,请参阅 eksctl 文档中的从配置文件创建节点组Config 文件架构region-code 替换为集群所在的 Amazon Web Services 区域。

    cat >bottlerocket.yaml <<EOF --- apiVersion: eksctl.io/v1alpha5 kind: ClusterConfig metadata: name: my-cluster region: region-code version: '1.23' iam: withOIDC: true nodeGroups: - name: ng-bottlerocket instanceType: m5.large desiredCapacity: 3 amiFamily: Bottlerocket ami: auto-ssm iam: attachPolicyARNs: - arn:aws:iam::aws:policy/AmazonEKSWorkerNodePolicy - arn:aws:iam::aws:policy/AmazonEC2ContainerRegistryReadOnly - arn:aws:iam::aws:policy/AmazonSSMManagedInstanceCore - arn:aws:iam::aws:policy/AmazonEKS_CNI_Policy ssh: allow: true publicKeyName: my-ec2-keypair-name EOF
  2. 使用以下命令部署您的节点。

    eksctl create nodegroup --config-file=bottlerocket.yaml

    输出示例如下。

    创建节点时会输出几行。输出的最后几行类似于以下示例行。

    [✔] created 1 nodegroup(s) in cluster "my-cluster"
  3. (可选)使用 Amazon EBS CSI 插件在 Bottlerocket 节点上创建 Kubernetes 持久卷。默认 Amazon EBS 驱动程序依赖于一些 Bottlerocket 中不包含的文件系统工具。有关使用驱动程序创建存储类的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EBS CSI 驱动程序

  4. (可选)kube-proxy 默认将 nf_conntrack_max 内核参数设置为默认值,该值可能与 Bottlerocket 最初在启动时设置的值不同。要保留 Bottlerocket 的原定设置,请使用以下命令编辑 kube-proxy 配置。

    kubectl edit -n kube-system daemonset kube-proxy

    --conntrack-max-per-core--conntrack-min 添加到以下示例中的 kube-proxy 参数。设置为 0 意味着没有变化。

    containers: - command: - kube-proxy - --v=2 - --config=/var/lib/kube-proxy-config/config - --conntrack-max-per-core=0 - --conntrack-min=0
  5. (可选)部署示例应用程序来测试您的 Bottlerocket 节点。

  6. 如果满足以下条件,我们建议阻止容器组(pod)访问 IMDS:

    • 您计划将 IAM 角色分配到所有 Kubernetes 服务账户,以便容器组(pod)只具有他们所需的最低权限。

    • 集群中没有任何容器组(pod)需要出于其他原因(例如检索当前 Amazon Web Services 区域)访问 Amazon EC2 实例元数据服务(IMDS)。

    有关更多信息,请参阅限制对分配给工作节点的实例配置文件的访问