Use the Amazon Glue Data Catalog as the metastore for Spark SQL - Amazon EMR
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Use the Amazon Glue Data Catalog as the metastore for Spark SQL

Using Amazon EMR version 5.8.0 or later, you can configure Spark SQL to use the Amazon Glue Data Catalog as its metastore. We recommend this configuration when you require a persistent metastore or a metastore shared by different clusters, services, applications, or Amazon accounts.

Amazon Glue is a fully managed extract, transform, and load (ETL) service that makes it simple and cost-effective to categorize your data, clean it, enrich it, and move it reliably between various data stores. The Amazon Glue Data Catalog provides a unified metadata repository across a variety of data sources and data formats, integrating with Amazon EMR as well as Amazon RDS, Amazon Redshift, Redshift Spectrum, Athena, and any application compatible with the Apache Hive metastore. Amazon Glue crawlers can automatically infer schema from source data in Amazon S3 and store the associated metadata in the Data Catalog. For more information about the Data Catalog, see Populating the Amazon Glue Data Catalog in the Amazon Glue Developer Guide.

Separate charges apply for Amazon Glue. There is a monthly rate for storing and accessing the metadata in the Data Catalog, an hourly rate billed per minute for Amazon Glue ETL jobs and crawler runtime, and an hourly rate billed per minute for each provisioned development endpoint. The Data Catalog allows you to store up to a million objects at no charge. If you store more than a million objects, you are charged USD$1 for each 100,000 objects over a million. An object in the Data Catalog is a table, partition, or database. For more information, see Glue Pricing.

Important

If you created tables using Amazon Athena or Amazon Redshift Spectrum before August 14, 2017, databases and tables are stored in an Athena-managed catalog, which is separate from the Amazon Glue Data Catalog. To integrate Amazon EMR with these tables, you must upgrade to the Amazon Glue Data Catalog. For more information, see Upgrading to the Amazon Glue Data Catalog in the Amazon Athena User Guide.

Specifying Amazon Glue Data Catalog as the metastore

You can specify the Amazon Glue Data Catalog as the metastore using the Amazon Web Services Management Console, Amazon CLI, or Amazon EMR API. When you use the CLI or API, you use the configuration classification for Spark to specify the Data Catalog. In addition, with Amazon EMR 5.16.0 and later, you can use the configuration classification to specify a Data Catalog in a different Amazon account. When you use the console, you can specify the Data Catalog using Advanced Options or Quick Options.

Note

The option to use Amazon Glue Data Catalog is also available with Zeppelin because Zeppelin is installed with Spark SQL components.

To specify the Amazon Glue Data Catalog as the metastore for Spark SQL using the console

  1. Open the Amazon EMR console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/elasticmapreduce/.

  2. Choose Create cluster, Go to advanced options.

  3. For Release, choose emr-5.8.0 or later.

  4. Under Release, select Spark or Zeppelin.

  5. Under Amazon Glue Data Catalog settings, select Use for Spark table metadata.

  6. Choose other options for your cluster as appropriate, choose Next, and then configure other cluster options as appropriate for your application.

To specify the Amazon Glue Data Catalog as the metastore using the configuration classification

For more information about specifying a configuration classification using the Amazon CLI and EMR API, see Configure applications.

  • Specify the value for hive.metastore.client.factory.class using the spark-hive-site classification as shown in the following example:

    [ { "Classification": "spark-hive-site", "Properties": { "hive.metastore.client.factory.class": "com.amazonaws.glue.catalog.metastore.AWSGlueDataCatalogHiveClientFactory" } } ]

    To specify a Data Catalog in a different Amazon account, add the hive.metastore.glue.catalogid property as shown in the following example. Replace acct-id with the Amazon account of the Data Catalog.

    [ { "Classification": "spark-hive-site", "Properties": { "hive.metastore.client.factory.class": "com.amazonaws.glue.catalog.metastore.AWSGlueDataCatalogHiveClientFactory", "hive.metastore.glue.catalogid": "acct-id" } } ]

IAM permissions

The EC2 instance profile for a cluster must have IAM permissions for Amazon Glue actions. In addition, if you enable encryption for Amazon Glue Data Catalog objects, the role must also be allowed to encrypt, decrypt and generate the Amazon KMS key used for encryption.

Permissions for Amazon Glue actions

If you use the default EC2 instance profile for Amazon EMR, no action is required. The AmazonElasticMapReduceforEC2Role managed policy that is attached to the EMR_EC2_DefaultRole allows all necessary Amazon Glue actions. However, if you specify a custom EC2 instance profile and permissions, you must configure the appropriate Amazon Glue actions. Use the AmazonElasticMapReduceforEC2Role managed policy as a starting point. For more information, see Service role for cluster EC2 instances (EC2 instance profile) in the Amazon EMR Management Guide.

Permissions for encrypting and decrypting Amazon Glue Data Catalog

Your instance profile needs permission to encrypt and decrypt data using your key. You do not need to configure these permissions if both of the following statements apply:

  • You enable encryption for Amazon Glue Data Catalog objects using managed keys for Amazon Glue.

  • You use a cluster that's in the same Amazon Web Services account as the Amazon Glue Data Catalog.

Otherwise, you must add the following statement to the permissions policy attached to your EC2 instance profile.

[ { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "kms:Decrypt", "kms:Encrypt", "kms:GenerateDataKey" ], "Resource": "arn:aws:kms:region:acct-id:key/12345678-1234-1234-1234-123456789012" } ] } ]

For more information about Amazon Glue Data Catalog encryption, see Encrypting your data catalog in the Amazon Glue Developer Guide.

Resource-based permissions

If you use Amazon Glue in conjunction with Hive, Spark, or Presto in Amazon EMR, Amazon Glue supports resource-based policies to control access to Data Catalog resources. These resources include databases, tables, connections, and user-defined functions. For more information, see Amazon Glue Resource Policies in the Amazon Glue Developer Guide.

When using resource-based policies to limit access to Amazon Glue from within Amazon EMR, the principal that you specify in the permissions policy must be the role ARN associated with the EC2 instance profile that is specified when a cluster is created. For example, for a resource-based policy attached to a catalog, you can specify the role ARN for the default service role for cluster EC2 instances, EMR_EC2_DefaultRole as the Principal, using the format shown in the following example:

arn:aws:iam::acct-id:role/EMR_EC2_DefaultRole

The acct-id can be different from the Amazon Glue account ID. This enables access from EMR clusters in different accounts. You can specify multiple principals, each from a different account.

Considerations when using Amazon Glue Data Catalog

Consider the following items when using Amazon Glue Data Catalog as a metastore with Spark:

  • Having a default database without a location URI causes failures when you create a table. As a workaround, use the LOCATION clause to specify a bucket location, such as s3://mybucket, when you use CREATE TABLE. Alternatively create tables within a database other than the default database.

  • Renaming tables from within Amazon Glue is not supported.

  • When you create a Hive table without specifying a LOCATION, the table data is stored in the location specified by the hive.metastore.warehouse.dir property. By default, this is a location in HDFS. If another cluster needs to access the table, it fails unless it has adequate permissions to the cluster that created the table. Furthermore, because HDFS storage is transient, if the cluster terminates, the table data is lost, and the table must be recreated. We recommend that you specify a LOCATION in Amazon S3 when you create a Hive table using Amazon Glue. Alternatively, you can use the hive-site configuration classification to specify a location in Amazon S3 for hive.metastore.warehouse.dir, which applies to all Hive tables. If a table is created in an HDFS location and the cluster that created it is still running, you can update the table location to Amazon S3 from within Amazon Glue. For more information, see Working with Tables on the Amazon Glue Console in the Amazon Glue Developer Guide.

  • Partition values containing quotes and apostrophes are not supported, for example, PARTITION (owner="Doe's").

  • Column statistics are supported for emr-5.31.0 and later.

  • Using Hive authorization is not supported. As an alternative, consider using Amazon Glue Resource-Based Policies. For more information, see Use Resource-Based Policies for Amazon EMR Access to Amazon Glue Data Catalog.

  • Hive constraints are not supported.

  • Cost-based Optimization in Hive is not supported.

  • Setting hive.metastore.partition.inherit.table.properties is not supported.

  • Using the following metastore constants is not supported: BUCKET_COUNT, BUCKET_FIELD_NAME, DDL_TIME, FIELD_TO_DIMENSION, FILE_INPUT_FORMAT, FILE_OUTPUT_FORMAT, HIVE_FILTER_FIELD_LAST_ACCESS, HIVE_FILTER_FIELD_OWNER, HIVE_FILTER_FIELD_PARAMS, IS_ARCHIVED, META_TABLE_COLUMNS, META_TABLE_COLUMN_TYPES, META_TABLE_DB, META_TABLE_LOCATION, META_TABLE_NAME, META_TABLE_PARTITION_COLUMNS, META_TABLE_SERDE, META_TABLE_STORAGE, ORIGINAL_LOCATION.

  • When you use a predicate expression, explicit values must be on the right side of the comparison operator, or queries might fail.

    • Correct: SELECT * FROM mytable WHERE time > 11

    • Incorrect: SELECT * FROM mytable WHERE 11 > time

  • Amazon EMR versions 5.32.0 and 6.3.0 and later support using user-defined functions (UDFs) in predicate expressions. When using earlier versions, your queries may fail because of the way Hive tries to optimize query execution.

  • Temporary tables are not supported.

  • We recommend creating tables using applications through Amazon EMR rather than creating them directly using Amazon Glue. Creating a table through Amazon Glue may cause required fields to be missing and cause query exceptions.

  • In EMR 5.20.0 or later, parallel partition pruning is enabled automatically for Spark and Hive when is used as the metastore. This change significantly reduces query planning time by executing multiple requests in parallel to retrieve partitions. The total number of segments that can be executed concurrently range between 1 and 10. The default value is 5, which is a recommended setting. You can change it by specifying the property aws.glue.partition.num.segments in hive-site configuration classification. If throttling occurs, you can turn off the feature by changing the value to 1. For more information, see Amazon Glue Segment Structure.

使用Amazon将 Glue 数据目录作为 Spark SQL 的元存储 - Amazon EMR
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

使用Amazon将 Glue 数据目录作为 Spark SQL 的元存储

使用 Amazon EMR 版本 5.8.0 或更高版本,您可以将 Spark SQL 配置为使用AmazonGlue 数据目录作为元存储。当您需要持久的元数据仓或由不同集群、服务、应用程序和 Amazon 账户共享的元数据仓时,我们建议使用此配置。

AmazonGlue 是一项完全托管的提取、转换和加载 (ETL) 服务,使您能够轻松而经济高效地对数据进行分类、清理和扩充,并在各种数据存储之间可靠地移动数据。这些区域有:AmazonGlue Data Catalog 数据目录跨各种数据源和数据格式提供统一的元数据存储库,与 Amazon EMR、Amazon RDS、Amazon Redshift、Redshift、Redshift Spectrum、Athena 和任何与 Apache Hive 元存储兼容的应用程序集成。AmazonGlue 合爬虫程序可以从 Amazon S3 中的源数据自动推断架构,并将关联的元数据存储在数据目录中。有关数据目录的更多信息,请参阅填充AmazonGlue 数据目录中的AmazonGlue 开发人员指南

需支付单独费用AmazonGlue。在数据目录中存储和访问元数据的每月费率,按每分钟计费AmazonGlue ETL 作业和 Crawler 运行时间,以及针对每个预配置的开发终端节点按每分钟计费的小时费率。数据目录最多可让您免费存储一百万个对象。如果您存储一百万个以上的对象,将需要为超过一百万的每 100,000 个对象支付 1 美元。数据目录中的对象是表、分区或数据库。有关更多信息,请参阅 。Glue 定价

重要

如果您在 2017 年 8 月 14 日之前使用亚马 Amazon Athena 或 Amazon Redshift Spectrum 创建了表,则数据库和表将存储在雅典娜管理的目录中,该目录与AmazonGlue 数据目录) 要将 Amazon EMR 与这些表集成,您必须升级到AmazonGlue 数据目录) 有关更多信息,请参阅 。升级到AmazonGlue 数据目录中的Amazon Athena 用户指南

指定Amazon作为元存储的 Glue 数据目录

您可以指定AmazonGlue 数据目录作为元存储,使用Amazon Web Services Management Console、Amazon CLI或亚马逊 EMR API。使用 CLI 或 API 时,您可以使用 Spark 的配置分类指定数据目录。此外,使用 Amazon EMR 5.16.0 及更高版本,您可以使用配置分类在不同的Amazonaccount. 使用控制台时,您可以使用高级选项或者快速选项

注意

要使用的选项AmazonZGlue ppelin 也适用于 Zeppelin,因为 Zeppelin 安装有 Spark SQL 组件。

指定Amazon使用控制台将数据目录作为 Spark SQL 的元存储

  1. 从打开 Amazon EMR 控制台https://console.aws.amazon.com/elasticmapreduce/

  2. 依次选择 Create cluster (创建集群)Go to advanced options (转到高级选项)

  3. 对于 Release (版本),选择 emr-5.8.0 或更高版本。

  4. Release (版本) 下,选择 SparkZeppelin

  5. UNDERAmazonGlue 数据目录设置,选择用于 Spark (Spark Glue)

  6. 根据需要为您的集群选择其他选项,选择 Next (下一步),然后根据需要为您的应用程序配置其他集群选项。

指定Amazon使用配置分类作为元存储

有关使用 Amazon CLI 和 EMR API 指定配置分类的更多信息,请参阅配置应用程序

  • 使用 spark-hive-site 分类指定 hive.metastore.client.factory.class 的值,如下例所示:

    [ { "Classification": "spark-hive-site", "Properties": { "hive.metastore.client.factory.class": "com.amazonaws.glue.catalog.metastore.AWSGlueDataCatalogHiveClientFactory" } } ]

    在不同的Amazon帐户中,添加hive.metastore.glue.catalogid属性,如以下示例所示。Replaceacct-id使用Amazon帐户。

    [ { "Classification": "spark-hive-site", "Properties": { "hive.metastore.client.factory.class": "com.amazonaws.glue.catalog.metastore.AWSGlueDataCatalogHiveClientFactory", "hive.metastore.glue.catalogid": "acct-id" } } ]

IAM 权限

集群的 EC2 实例配置文件必须具有AmazonGlue 动作。此外,如果启用AmazonGlue Data Catalog 数据目录对象,还必须允许该角色加密、解密和生成用于加密的客户主密钥 (CMK)。

的权限AmazonGlue 动作

默认AmazonElasticMapReduceforEC2Role附加到的托管策略EMR_EC2_DefaultRole允许所需AmazonGlue 动作。如果使用默认的 EC2 实例配置文件,则无需执行任何操作。但是,如果您在创建集群时指定自定义 EC2 实例配置文件和权限,请确保相应的Amazon允许使用 Glue 操作。使用 AmazonElasticMapReduceforEC2Role 托管策略作为起点。有关列表AmazonGlue 操作,请参阅集群 EC2 实例的服务角色(EC2 实例配置文件)中的Amazon EMR 管理指南

加密和解密的权限AmazonGlue 数据目录

本节介绍有关的加密功能AmazonGlue 数据目录) 有关 的更多信息AmazonGlue 数据目录加密,请参阅。加密您的数据目录中的AmazonGlue 开发人员指南

如果您启用了Amazon使用托管密钥 Glue 合数据目录对象AmazonGlue,以及访问AmazonGlue 数据目录在同一个Amazon账中,您无需更新附加到 EC2 实例配置文件的权限策略。如果使用客户托管 CMK,或者如果集群位于不同的 Amazon 账户中,您必须更新权限策略,以使 EC2 实例配置文件有权使用该密钥进行加密和解密。无论使用的是默认权限策略 AmazonElasticMapReduceforEC2Role,还是附加到自定义 EC2 实例配置文件的自定义权限策略,都需要添加以下策略语句。

[ { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "kms:Decrypt", "kms:Encrypt", "kms:GenerateDataKey" ], "Resource": "arn:aws:kms:region:acct-id:key/12345678-1234-1234-1234-123456789012" } ] } ]

基于资源的权限

如果您使用Amazon在亚马逊 EMR 中与蜂巢、火花或普雷斯托结合使用 Glue,AmazonGlue 支持基于资源的策略,用于控制对数据目录资源的访问权限。这些资源包括数据库、表、连接和用户定义的函数。有关更多信息,请参阅 。AmazonGlue 资源策略中的AmazonGlue 开发人员指南

使用基于资源的策略限制对Amazon在 Amazon EMR Glue,您在权限策略中指定的委托人必须是与创建集群时指定的 EC2 实例配置文件关联的角色 ARN。例如,对于附加到目录的基于资源的策略,您可以为集群 EC2 实例的默认服务角色指定角色 ARN,EMR_EC2_ 违约行为作为Principal,使用以下示例中所示的格式:

arn:aws:iam::acct-id:role/EMR_EC2_DefaultRole

这些区域有:命令编号可能不同于AmazonGlue 附账户 ID。这允许从不同账户中的 EMR 集群进行访问。您可以指定多个委托人,每个委托人来自不同的帐户。

使用时的注意事项AmazonGlue 数据目录

在使用时,请考虑以下项目AmazonGlue 数据目录作为 Spark 的元存储:

  • 当您创建表时,具有没有位置 URI 的默认数据库会导致失败。作为解决方法,请在您使用 LOCATION 时使用 s3://mybucket 子句指定一个存储桶位置,如 CREATE TABLE。或者,在除默认数据库之外的数据库内创建表。

  • 从中重命名表Amazon不支持 Glue。

  • 当您创建 Hive 表而不指定LOCATION,则表数据存储在hive.metastore.warehouse.dir属性。默认情况下,这是 HDFS 中的一个位置。如果另一个群集需要访问该表,它将失败,除非它对创建表的群集具有足够的权限。此外,由于 HDFS 存储是暂时性的,因此如果集群终止,表数据将丢失,并且必须重新创建该表。建议您指定LOCATION在 Amazon S3 中创建 Hive 表时,使用AmazonGlue。此外,也可以使用hive-site配置分类指定 Amazon S3 中的位置hive.metastore.warehouse.dir,它适用于所有 Hive 表。如果表是在 HDFS 位置创建的,并且创建该表的集群仍在运行,Amazon S3 可以从AmazonGlue。有关更多信息,请参阅 。在AmazonGlue 控制台中的AmazonGlue 开发人员指南

  • 不支持包含引号和撇号的分区值,例如PARTITION (owner="Doe's").

  • 列统计数据emr-5.31.0 及更高版本的版本。

  • 使用Hive 授权不支持 。作为替代方案,考虑使用Amazon基于资源的策略。有关更多信息,请参阅 。使用基于资源的策略对 Amazon EMR 访问权限AmazonGlue 数据目录

  • Hive 约束不支持。

  • Hive 中基于成本的优化不支持 。

  • 设置hive.metastore.partition.inherit.table.properties不支持 。

  • 不支持使用以下元数据仓常量:BUCKET_COUNT, BUCKET_FIELD_NAME, DDL_TIME, FIELD_TO_DIMENSION, FILE_INPUT_FORMAT, FILE_OUTPUT_FORMAT, HIVE_FILTER_FIELD_LAST_ACCESS, HIVE_FILTER_FIELD_OWNER, HIVE_FILTER_FIELD_PARAMS, IS_ARCHIVED, META_TABLE_COLUMNS, META_TABLE_COLUMN_TYPES, META_TABLE_DB, META_TABLE_LOCATION, META_TABLE_NAME, META_TABLE_PARTITION_COLUMNS, META_TABLE_SERDE, META_TABLE_STORAGE, ORIGINAL_LOCATION

  • 使用谓词表达式时,显式值必须位于比较运算符的右侧,否则查询可能会失败。

    • 正确SELECT * FROM mytable WHERE time > 11

    • 错误SELECT * FROM mytable WHERE 11 > time

  • 我们不建议在谓词表达式中使用用户定义的函数 (UDF)。由于 Hive 尝试优化查询执行的方式,查询可能会失败。

  • 临时表不支持。

  • 我们建议通过 Amazon EMR 使用应用程序创建表,而不是直接使用AmazonGlue。通过创建表AmazonGlue 可能会导致必填字段丢失,并导致查询异常。

  • 在 EMR 5.20.0 或更高版本中,当 AWS Glue 数据目录用作元仓时,Spark 和 Hive 会自动启用并行分区修剪。此更改通过并行执行多个请求来检索分区,显著缩短查询规划时间。可同时执行的段总数介于 1 到 10 之间。默认值为 5,这是推荐的设置。您可以通过指定属性aws.glue.partition.num.segmentshive-site配置分类。如果发生限制,则可以通过将值更改为 1 来关闭要素。有关更多信息,请参阅 。AmazonGlue 段结构