Deleting a replication group - Amazon ElastiCache for Redis
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Deleting a replication group

If you no longer need one of your clusters with replicas (called replication groups in the API/CLI), you can delete it. When you delete a replication group, ElastiCache deletes all of the nodes in that group.

After you have begun this operation, it cannot be interrupted or canceled.

Warning

When you delete an ElastiCache for Redis cluster, your manual snapshots are retained. You will also have an option to create a final snapshot before the cluster is deleted. Automatic cache snapshots are not retained.

Deleting a Replication Group (Console)

To delete a cluster that has replicas, see Deleting a cluster.

Deleting a Replication Group (Amazon CLI)

Use the command delete-replication-group to delete a replication group.

aws elasticache delete-replication-group --replication-group-id my-repgroup

A prompt asks you to confirm your decision. Enter y (yes) to start the operation immediately. After the process starts, it is irreversible.

After you begin deleting this replication group, all of its nodes will be deleted as well. Are you sure you want to delete this replication group? [Ny]y REPLICATIONGROUP my-repgroup My replication group deleting

Deleting a replication group (ElastiCache API)

Call DeleteReplicationGroup with the ReplicationGroup parameter.

Example

https://elasticache.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/ ?Action=DeleteReplicationGroup &ReplicationGroupId=my-repgroup &Version=2014-12-01 &SignatureVersion=4 &SignatureMethod=HmacSHA256 &Timestamp=20141201T220302Z &X-Amz-Algorithm=&AWS;4-HMAC-SHA256 &X-Amz-Date=20141201T220302Z &X-Amz-SignedHeaders=Host &X-Amz-Expires=20141201T220302Z &X-Amz-Credential=<credential> &X-Amz-Signature=<signature>
Note

If you set the RetainPrimaryCluster parameter to true, all of the read replicas will be deleted, but the primary cluster will be retained.