Deleting your Amazon DataSync task - Amazon DataSync
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Deleting your Amazon DataSync task

If you no longer need an Amazon DataSync task, you can delete it and its related Amazon resources.

Prerequisites

When you run a task, DataSync automatically creates and manages network interfaces for data transfer traffic (for more information, see Network interface requirements).

To make sure that you delete these network interfaces when you delete your task, you must have the following IAM permissions:

  • ec2:DeleteNetworkInterface

  • ec2:DescribeNetworkInterfaces

  • ec2:ModifyNetworkInterfaceAttribute

These permissions are available in the Amazon managed policy AWSDataSyncFullAccess. For more information, see Amazon managed policies for Amazon DataSync.

Deleting the task

Once you delete a task, you can't restore it.

  1. Open the Amazon DataSync console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/datasync/.

  2. In the left navigation pane, choose Tasks.

  3. Select the task that you want to delete.

  4. Choose Actions, then choose Delete.

  5. In the dialog box, choose Delete.

  1. Copy the following delete-task command:

    aws datasync delete-task \ --task-arn "task-to-delete"
  2. For the --task-arn parameter, specify the Amazon Resource Name (ARN) of the task you're deleting (for example, arn:aws-cn:datasync:us-east-2:123456789012:task/task-012345678abcd0123).

  3. Run the delete-task command.