FSx for Windows File Server performance - Amazon FSx for Windows File Server
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

FSx for Windows File Server performance

FSx for Windows File Server offers file systems to meet a variety of performance needs. Following is an overview of Amazon FSx file system performance, with a discussion of the available performance and throughput options and useful performance tips.

Overview

File system performance is measured by its latency, throughput, and I/O operations per second (IOPS).

Latency

FSx for Windows File Server file servers employ a fast, in-memory cache to achieve consistent sub-millisecond latencies for actively accessed data. For data that is not in the in-memory cache, that is, for file operations that need to be served by performing I/O on the underlying storage volumes, Amazon FSx provides sub-millisecond file operation latencies with solid state drive (SSD) storage, and single-digit millisecond latencies with hard disk drive (HDD) storage.

Throughput and IOPS

Amazon FSx file systems provide up to multiple GB/s of throughput and hundreds of thousands of IOPS. The specific amount of throughput and IOPS that your workload can drive on your file system depends on the throughput capacity and storage capacity and storage type of your file system, along with the nature of your workload, including the size of the active working set.

Single-client performance

With Amazon FSx, you can get up to the full throughput and IOPS levels for your file system from a single client accessing it. Amazon FSx supports SMB Multichannel. This feature enables it to provide up to multiple GB/s throughput and hundreds of thousands of IOPS for a single client accessing your file system. SMB Multichannel uses multiple network connections between the client and server simultaneously to aggregate network bandwidth for maximal utilization.

Performance details

To understand the Amazon FSx performance model in detail, you can examine the architectural components of an Amazon FSx file system. Your client compute instances, whether they exist in Amazon or on-premises, access your file system through an elastic network interface (ENI). This network interface resides in the Amazon VPC that you associate with your file system. Behind the file system ENI is the Windows file server that is serving data over the network to the clients accessing the file system. Amazon FSx provides a fast in-memory cache on the file server to enhance performance for the most frequently accessed data. Behind the file server are the storage volumes, or disks, hosting your file system data. Storage volumes can be hard disk drives (HDD) or solid state devices (SSD).

These components are illustrated in the following diagram.


      FSx for Windows File Server architecture, showing the relationship of file server and storage volumes performance metrics and their impact on file system performance.

Corresponding with these architectural components–network interface, file server in-memory cache, and storage volumes–are the three primary performance characteristics of an FSx for Windows File Server file system that determine the overall throughput and IOPS performance.

  • Network I/O performance: throughput/IOPS of requests between the clients and the file server (in aggregate)

  • File server in-memory cache size: size of active working dataset that can be accommodated for caching

  • Disk I/O performance: HDD throughput/SSD IOPS of requests between the file server and the storage volumes

There are three factors that determine these performance characteristics for your file system: storage type, storage capacity, and throughput capacity. Network I/O performance and file server in-memory cache size performance characteristics are determined by a file system's throughput capacity. Disk I/O performance is determined by a combination of throughput capacity and storage capacity.

File-based workloads are typically spiky, characterized by short, intense periods of high I/O with plenty of idle time between bursts. To support spiky workloads, in addition to the baseline speeds that a file system can sustain 24/7, Amazon FSx provides the capability to burst to higher speeds for periods of time for both network I/O and disk I/O operations. Amazon FSx uses a network I/O credit mechanism to allocate throughput and IOPS based on average utilization — file systems accrue credits when their throughput and IOPS usage is below their baseline limits, and can use these credits when they perform I/O operations.

Impact of throughput capacity on performance

Every Amazon FSx file system has a throughput capacity that you configure when you create the file system. Throughput capacity determines file system performance in the following categories:

  • Network throughput – the speed at which the file server can serve file data to clients accessing it.

  • File server CPU and memory resources that are available for serving file data and performing background activities such as data deduplication and shadow copies.

  • Disk throughput – the speed at which the file server can support I/O between the file server and the storage volumes.

Higher levels of throughput capacity come with a higher amount of server CPU capacity and memory for caching data, and higher levels of server disk throughput supported by the file server.

When you create a file system using the Amazon Web Services Management Console, Amazon FSx automatically picks the recommended throughput capacity level for your file system based on the amount of storage capacity you configure. While the recommended throughput capacity should be sufficient for most workloads, you have the option to override the recommendation and select a specific amount of throughput capacity to meet your application's needs. You can adjust the amount of throughput capacity up or down at any time after you create it. For more information, see Managing throughput capacity.

The following table shows the full set of specifications for throughput capacity, along with baseline and burst levels, and amount of memory on the file server (memory that is available for caching, and for performing background activities such as data deduplication and shadow copies).

Note

The following table shows the set of choices you have for selecting the throughput capacity for your file system while using the Amazon FSx console. While you can select lower levels (8 MBps or 16 MBps) for throughput capacity when you use the Amazon FSx API or CLI, keep in mind that the 8 MBps and 16 MBps levels are meant for test and development workloads, not for production workloads.

FSx throughput capacity (MBps) Network throughput capacity (MBps) Network IOPS Memory (GB) Disk throughput (MBps) Disk IOPS

Baseline

Burst (for a few minutes a day)

Baseline

Burst (for 30 mins a day)

Baseline

Burst (for 30 mins a day)

32 32 600

Thousands

4 32 260 2K 12K
64 64 600

Tens of thousands

8 64 350 4K 16K
128 150 1,250 8 128 600 6K 20K
256 300 1,250

Hundreds of thousands

16 256 600 10K 20K
512 600 1,250 32 512

20K

1,024 1,500

72 1,024

40K

2,048 3,125

144 2,048

80K

Choosing the right level of throughput capacity

When you create a file system, Amazon FSx provides you with a recommended throughput capacity level to select based on the storage capacity you’ve selected for your file system. However, you should adjust this level based on the specific performance requirements of your workload – for example, if your workload requires driving 1GBps of traffic to your file system, you should select a throughput capacity of at least 1,024 MBps.

You should also consider the features you’re planning to enable on your file system in deciding the level of throughput to configure. For example, enabling Shadow Copies may require you to increase your throughput capacity to a level up to three times your expected workload to ensure the file server can maintain the shadow copies with the available I/O performance capacity. If you are enabling Data Deduplication, you should determine the amount of memory associated with your file system's throughput capacity and ensure this amount of memory is sufficient for the size of your data.

You can monitor your workload’s utilization of file server performance resources, and get recommendations on the throughput capacity to select, by viewing the Monitoring & performance > Performance tab of your Amazon FSx console. We recommend testing in a pre-production environment to ensure the configuration you’ve selected meets your workload’s performance requirements. For more information, see Accessing FSx for Windows File Server metrics.

Impact of storage capacity on performance

Storage type and the amount of storage capacity impact the storage volume performance of your file system. You need to configure the type and amount of storage capacity necessary for your file system to deliver the desired performance levels for your workload.

For HDD storage volumes, Amazon FSx uses a burst bucket model for performance. Volume size determines the baseline throughput of your volume, which is the rate at which the volume accumulates throughput credits. Volume size also determines the burst throughput of your volume, which is the rate at which you can spend credits when they are available. Larger volumes have higher baseline and burst throughput. The more credits your volume has, the longer it can drive I/O at the burst level.

The available throughput of an HDD storage volume is expressed by the following formula:

(Volume size) × (Credit accumulation rate per TiB) = Throughput

For a 1-TiB HDD volume, burst throughput is limited to 80 MiB/s, the bucket fills with credits at 12 MiB/s, and it can hold up to 1 TiB-worth of credits.

The maximum disk throughput and IOPS levels your file system can achieve is the lower of:

  • the disk performance level provided by your file server, based on the throughput capacity you select for your file system

  • the disk performance level provided by the type and amount of storage capacity you select for your file system, either SSD or HDD.

Your file system's storage capacity provides the following levels of disk throughput and IOPS:

Storage type Disk throughput (Megabytes/second per TiB of storage) Disk IOPS (IOPs per TiB of storage)
SSD 750 3,000
HDD 12 baseline; 80 burst (up to a max. of 1 GB/s per file system) 12 baseline; 80 burst

You can increase a file system's storage capacity at any time. For more information, see Managing storage capacity.

Choosing the right level of storage capacity and the right storage type

FSx for Windows File Server offers solid state drive (SSD) and magnetic hard disk drive (HDD) storage types. SSD storage is designed for the highest-performance and most latency-sensitive workloads, including databases, media processing workloads, and data analytics applications. HDD storage is designed for a broad spectrum of workloads, including home directories, user and departmental file shares, and content management systems.

If you need additional storage, you can increase the storage capacity that is configured on your file system. To change between SSD and HDD storage types, you can restore from an available backup to create a new file system, and select a new storage type. For more information, see Restoring backups.

You can monitor your workload’s utilization of storage volume performance resources, and get recommendations on the throughput capacity to select, by viewing the Monitoring & performance > Performance tab in the Amazon FSx console. We recommend testing in a pre-production environment to ensure the configuration you’ve selected meets your workload’s performance requirements. For more information, see Accessing FSx for Windows File Server metrics.

Example: storage capacity and throughput capacity

The following example illustrates how storage capacity and throughput capacity impact file system performance.

A file system that is configured with 2 TiB of HDD storage capacity and 32 MBps of throughput capacity has the following throughput levels:

  • Network throughput – 32 MBps baseline and 600 MBps burst (see throughput capacity table)

  • Disk throughput – 24 MBps baseline and 160 MBps burst, which is the lower of:

    • the disk throughput levels of 32 MBps baseline and 260 MBps burst supported by the file server, based on the file system's throughput capacity

    • the disk throughput levels of 24 MBps baseline (12 MBps per TB * 2 TiB) and 160 MBps burst (80 MBps per TiB * 2 TiB) supported by the storage volumes, based on storage type and capacity

Your workload accessing the file system will therefore be able to drive up to 32 MBps baseline and 600 MBps burst throughput for file operations performed on actively accessed data cached in the file server in-memory cache, and up to 24 MBps baseline and 160 MBps burst throughput for file operations that need to go all the way to the disk, for example, due to cache misses.

Measuring performance using CloudWatch metrics

You can use Amazon CloudWatch to measure and monitor your file system's throughput and IOPS. For more information, see Monitoring metrics with Amazon CloudWatch.

Troubleshooting performance issues

For help in troubleshooting common performance issues, see Troubleshooting file system performance issues.

FSx for Windows File Server 性能 - Amazon FSx for Windows File Server
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

FSx for Windows File Server 性能

FSx for Windows File Server 提供的文件系统可满足各种性能需求。以下是 Amazon FSx 文件系统性能的概述,讨论了可用的性能和吞吐量选项以及有用的性能提示。

概览

文件系统性能由其延迟、吞吐量和每秒 I/O 操作数 (IOPS) 进行衡量。

延迟

适用于 Windows File Server 文件服务器的 FSx 采用快速的内存缓存,为主动访问的数据实现稳定的亚毫秒延迟。对于不在内存缓存中的数据,即需要通过对底层存储卷执行 I/O 来完成的文件操作,Amazon FSx 为固态硬盘 (SSD) 存储提供亚毫秒的文件操作延迟,为硬盘驱动器 (HDD) 提供个位数毫秒的延迟存储。

吞吐量和 IOPS

Amazon FSx 文件系统提供高达 GB/s 的吞吐量和数十万 IOPS。您的工作负载可以在文件系统上驱动的具体吞吐量和 IOPS 量取决于文件系统的吞吐容量和存储容量及存储类型,以及工作负载的性质,包括活动工作集的大小。

单客户机性能

使用 Amazon FSx,您可以通过访问文件系统的单个客户端获得文件系统的全部吞吐量和 IOPS 级别。亚马逊 FSx 支持 SMB 多渠道。此功能使它能够为访问文件系统的单个客户端提供高达多 GB/s 的吞吐量和数十万 IOPS。SMB Multichannel 在客户端和服务器之间同时使用多个网络连接来聚合网络带宽,以实现最大利用率。

性能详细信息

要详细了解 Amazon FSx 性能模型,您可以研究 Amazon FSx 文件系统的架构组件。您的客户端计算实例,无论它们存在于本地Amazon还是本地,都通过elastic network interface (ENI) 访问您的文件系统。此网络接口位于您与文件系统关联的 Amazon VPC 中。文件系统 ENI 的背后是 Windows 文件服务器,它通过网络向访问文件系统的客户端提供数据。Amazon FSx 在文件服务器上提供快速内存缓存,以增强最常访问数据的性能。文件服务器后面是存储卷或磁盘,用于托管您的文件系统数据。存储卷可以是硬盘驱动器 (HDD) 或固态设备 (SSD)。

这些组件如下图所示。


      FSx for Windows File Server 架构,显示了文件服务器和存储卷性能指标之间的关系及其对文件系统性能的影响。

与这些架构组件(网络接口、文件服务器内存缓存和存储卷)相对应的是 FSx for Windows File Server 文件系统的三个主要性能特征,它们决定了整体吞吐量和 IOPS 性能。

  • 网络 I/O 性能:客户端和文件服务器之间请求的吞吐量/IOPS(汇总)

  • 文件服务器内存缓存大小:可容纳缓存的活动工作数据集的大小

  • 磁盘 I/O 性能:文件服务器和存储卷之间请求的 HDD 吞吐量/SSD IOPS

决定文件系统的这些性能特征的因素有三个:存储类型、存储容量和吞吐容量。网络 I/O 性能和文件服务器内存中缓存大小性能特征由文件系统的吞吐量决定。磁盘 I/O 性能由吞吐容量和存储容量的组合决定。

基于文件的工作负载通常非常尖锐,其特点是短而密集的高 I/O 时段,两次突发之间有充足的空闲时间。为了支持高峰工作负载,除了文件系统可以全天候维持的基准速度外,Amazon FSx 还提供了在网络 I/O 和磁盘 I/O 操作一段时间内突增至更高速度的功能。Amazon FSx 使用网络 I/O 积分机制根据平均利用率分配吞吐量和 IOPS — 文件系统的吞吐量和 IOPS 使用量低于其基准限制时会累积积分,在执行 I/O 操作时可以使用这些积分。

吞吐量对性能的影响

每个 Amazon FSx 文件系统都有您在创建文件系统时配置的吞吐容量。吞吐容量决定了以下类别的文件系统性能:

  • 网络吞吐量 — 文件服务器向访问文件数据的客户端提供文件数据的速度。

  • 文件服务器 CPU 和内存资源,可用于提供文件数据和执行后台活动,例如重复数据删除和卷影复制。

  • 磁盘吞吐量 — 文件服务器支持文件服务器和存储卷之间的 I/O 的速度。

更高级别的吞吐容量伴随着更高的服务器 CPU 容量和用于缓存数据的内存,以及文件服务器支持的更高级别的服务器磁盘吞吐量。

当您使用 Amazon Web Services 管理控制台创建文件系统时,Amazon FSx 会根据您配置的存储容量自动为您的文件系统选择推荐的吞吐容量级别。虽然推荐的吞吐容量应该足以满足大多数工作负载,但您可以选择覆盖建议并选择特定的吞吐容量以满足应用程序的需求。创建吞吐容量后,您可以随时向上或向下调整吞吐容量。有关更多信息,请参阅管理吞吐量容量

下表显示了吞吐容量的全套规范,包括基准和突发级别,以及文件服务器上的内存量(可用于缓存和执行重复数据删除和卷影复制等后台活动的内存)。

注意

下表显示了在使用 Amazon FSx 控制台时,您可以选择文件系统的吞吐容量的一组选项。虽然在使用 Amazon FSx API 或 CLI 时,您可以为吞吐量选择较低级别(8 Mbps 或 16 Mbps),但请记住,8 Mbps 和 16 Mbps 级别适用于测试和开发工作负载,而不是生产工作负载。

FSx 吞吐容量 (Mbps) 网络吞吐容量 (Mbps) 网络 IOPS 内存 (GB) 磁盘吞吐量 (Mbps) 磁盘 IOPS

基线

爆裂(每天持续几分钟)

基线

爆裂(每天 30 分钟)

基线

爆裂(每天 30 分钟)

32 32 600

4 32 260 2K 12K
64 64 600

数十万

8 64 350 4K 16K
128 150 1,250 8 128 600 6K 20K
256 300 1,250

几十万

16 256 600 10K 20K
512 600 1,250 32 512

20K

1024 1,500

72 1,024

40K

2,048 3,125

144 2,048

80K

选择正确的吞吐容量级别

创建文件系统时,Amazon FSx 会根据您为文件系统选择的存储容量为您提供建议的吞吐容量级别供您选择。但是,您应根据工作负载的特定性能要求调整此级别,例如,如果您的工作负载需要为文件系统提供 1Gbps 的流量,则应选择至少 1,024 Mbps 的吞吐容量。

在决定要配置的吞吐量级别时,还应考虑计划在文件系统上启用的功能。例如,启用卷影副本可能需要您将吞吐量增加到预期工作负载的三倍,以确保文件服务器能够以可用的 I/O 性能容量维护卷影副本。如果要启用重复数据删除,则应确定与文件系统的吞吐容量相关的内存量,并确保该内存量足以容纳数据的大小。

通过查看 Amazon FSx 控制台的 “监控和性能” > “性能” 选项卡,您可以监控工作负载对文件服务器性能资源的利用率,并获得有关可选择的吞吐容量的建议。我们建议在预生产环境中进行测试,以确保您选择的配置满足工作负载的性能要求。有关更多信息,请参阅访问 FSx for Windows File Server 控

存储容量对性能的影响

存储类型和存储容量会影响文件系统的存储卷性能。您需要配置文件系统所需的存储容量的类型和容量,以便为工作负载提供所需的性能级别。

Amazon FSx 使用突增存储桶模型提高性能。卷大小决定卷的基准吞吐量,即卷积累吞吐量积分的速度。卷大小还决定卷的突增吞吐量,即有积分可用时消耗积分的速度。较大的卷有较高的基准吞吐量和突增吞吐量。卷的积分越多,它以突增水平驱动 I/O 的时间就越长。

HDD 存储卷的可用吞吐量受以下公式表示:

(Volume size) × (Credit accumulation rate per TiB) = Throughput

对于 1 TiB HDD 卷,突增吞吐量限制为 80 MiB/s,存储桶以 12 MiB/s 的速度填充,最多可容纳 1 TiB 积分。

您的文件系统可以达到的最大磁盘吞吐量和 IOPS 级别是以下两项中较低的:

  • 您的文件服务器提供的磁盘性能级别,基于您为文件系统选择的吞吐容量

  • 磁盘性能级别由您为文件系统(固态硬盘或 HDD)选择的存储容量的类型和量提供。

您的文件系统的存储容量提供以下级别的磁盘吞吐量和 IOPS:

存储类型 磁盘吞吐量(每 TiB 存储的兆字节/秒) 磁盘 IOPS(每 TiB 存储的 IOPS)
SSD 750 3000
HDD 12 个基准;80 个突发(每个文件系统最多 1 GB/s) 12 个基线;80 个爆发

您可以随时增加文件系统的存储容量。有关更多信息,请参阅管理存储容量

选择正确的存储容量级别和正确的存储类型

FSx for Windows File Server 提供固态硬盘 (SSD) 和磁性硬盘驱动器 (HDD) 存储类型。SSD 存储专为性能最高、对延迟最敏感的工作负载而设计,包括数据库、媒体处理工作负载和数据分析应用程序。HDD 存储专为各种工作负载而设计,包括主目录、用户和部门文件共享以及内容管理系统。

如果您需要额外的存储空间,可以增加在文件系统上配置的存储容量。要在 SSD 和 HDD 存储类型之间切换,可以从可用备份中恢复以创建新的文件系统,然后选择新的存储类型。有关更多信息,请参阅还原备份

通过查看 Amazon FSx 控制台中的 “监控和性能” > “性能” 选项卡,您可以监控工作负载对存储卷性能资源的利用率,并获得有关可供选择的吞吐容量的建议。我们建议在预生产环境中进行测试,以确保您选择的配置满足工作负载的性能要求。有关更多信息,请参阅访问 FSx for Windows File Server 控

示例:存储容量和吞吐容量

以下示例说明了存储容量和吞吐容量如何影响文件系统性能。

配置为 2 TiB 的 HDD 存储容量和 32 Mbps 吞吐容量的文件系统具有以下吞吐量级别:

  • 网络吞吐量 — 32 Mbps 基准吞吐量和 600 Mbps 突发吞吐量(参见吞吐量容量表)

  • 磁盘吞吐量 — 基准 24 Mbps 和 160 Mbps 的突发吞吐量,是以下两项中较低的一个:

    • 基于文件系统的吞吐容量,文件服务器支持的 32 Mbps 基准磁盘吞吐量和 260 Mbps 突发吞吐量级别

    • 根据存储类型和容量,存储卷支持的 24 Mbps 基准(12 Mbps 每 TB * 2 TiB)和 160 Mbps 的突发吞吐量(每 TiB * 2 TiB 80 Mbps)的磁盘吞吐量级别

因此,对于在文件服务器内存缓存中缓存中缓存中缓存的主动访问数据执行的文件操作,您访问文件系统的工作负载将能够提高高达 32 Mbps 的基准和 600 Mbps 的突发吞吐量,为需要的文件操作提供高达 24 Mbps 的基准和 160 Mbps 的突发吞吐量例如,由于缓存丢失,一直到磁盘。

使用 CloudWatch 指标衡量绩效

您可以使用 Amazon CloudWatch 来测量和监控文件系统的吞吐量和 IOPS。有关更多信息,请参阅使用亚马逊监控指标 CloudWatch

排查性能问题

有关常见性能问题疑难解答的帮助,请参阅文件系统性能问题疑难解答