Monitoring with Amazon Glue job run insights - Amazon Glue
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Monitoring with Amazon Glue job run insights

Amazon Glue job run insights is a feature in Amazon Glue that simplifies job debugging and optimization for your Amazon Glue jobs. Amazon Glue provides Spark UI, and CloudWatch logs and metrics for monitoring your Amazon Glue jobs. With this feature, you get this information about your Amazon Glue job's execution:

  • Line number of your Amazon Glue job script that had a failure.

  • Spark action that executed last in the Spark query plan just before the failure of your job.

  • Spark exception events related to the failure presented in a time-ordered log stream.

  • Root cause analysis and recommended action (such as tuning your script) to fix the issue.

  • Common Spark events (log messages relating to a Spark action) with a recommended action that addresses the root cause.

All these insights are available to you using two new log streams in the CloudWatch logs for your Amazon Glue jobs.

Requirements

The Amazon Glue job run insights feature is available for Amazon Glue version 2.0 and Amazon Glue version 3.0. You can follow the migration guide for your existing jobs to upgrade them from older Amazon Glue versions.

Enabling job run insights for an Amazon Glue ETL job

You can enable job run insights through Amazon Glue Studio or the CLI.

Amazon Glue Studio

When creating a job via Amazon Glue Studio, you can enable or disable job run insights under the Job Details tab. Check that the Generate job insights box is selected (enabled by default).


        Enabling job run insights in Amazon Glue Studio.

Command line

If creating a job via the CLI, you can start a job run with a single new job parameter: --enable-job-insights = true.

By default, the job run insights log streams are created under the same default log group used by Amazon Glue continuous logging, that is, /aws-glue/jobs/logs-v2/. You may set up custom log group name, log filters and log group configurations using the same set of arguments for continuous logging. For more information, see Enabling Continuous Logging for Amazon Glue Jobs.

Accessing the job run insights log streams in CloudWatch

With the job run insights feature enabled, there may be two log streams created when a job run fails. When a job finishes successfully, neither of the streams are generated.

  1. Exception analysis log stream: <job-run-id>-job-insights-rca-driver. This stream provides the following:

    • Line number of your Amazon Glue job script that caused the failure.

    • Spark action that executed last in the Spark query plan (DAG).

    • Concise time-ordered events from the Spark driver and executors that are related to the exception. You can find details such as complete error messages, the failed Spark task and its executors ID that help you to focus on the specific executor's log stream for a deeper investigation if needed.

  2. Rule-based insights stream:

    • Root cause analysis and recommendations on how to fix the errors (such as using a specific job parameter to optimize the performance).

    • Relevant Spark events serving as the basis for root cause analysis and a recommended action.

Note

The first stream will exist only if any exception Spark events are available for a failed job run, and the second stream will exist only if any insights are available for the failed job run. For example, if your job finishes successfully, neither of the streams will be generated; if your job fails but there isn't a service-defined rule that can match with your failure scenario, then only the first stream will be generated.

If the job is created from Amazon Glue Studio, the links to the above streams are also available under the job run details tab (Job run insights) as "Concise and consolidated error logs" and "Error analysis and guidance".


        The Job Run Details page containing links to the log streams.

Example for Amazon Glue job run insights

In this section we present an example of how the job run insights feature can help you resolve an issue in your failed job. In this example, a user forgot to import the required module (tensorflow) in an Amazon Glue job to analyze and build a machine learning model on their data.

1. import sys 2. from awsglue.transforms import * 3. from awsglue.utils import getResolvedOptions 4. from pyspark.context import SparkContext 5. from awsglue.context import GlueContext 6. from awsglue.job import Job 7. from pyspark.sql.types import * 8. from pyspark.sql.functions import udf,col 9. 10. args = getResolvedOptions(sys.argv, ['JOB_NAME']) 11. 12. sc = SparkContext() 13. glueContext = GlueContext(sc) 14. spark = glueContext.spark_session 15. job = Job(glueContext) 16. job.init(args['JOB_NAME'], args) 17. 18. data_set_1 = [1, 2, 3, 4] 19. data_set_2 = [5, 6, 7, 8] 20. 21. scoresDf = spark.createDataFrame(data_set_1, IntegerType()) 22. 23. def data_multiplier_func(factor, data_vector): 24. import tensorflow as tf 25. with tf.compat.v1.Session() as sess: 26. x1 = tf.constant(factor) 27. x2 = tf.constant(data_vector) 28. result = tf.multiply(x1, x2) 29. return sess.run(result).tolist() 30. 31. data_multiplier_udf = udf(lambda x:data_multiplier_func(x, data_set_2), ArrayType(IntegerType(),False)) 32. factoredDf = scoresDf.withColumn("final_value", data_multiplier_udf(col("value"))) 33. print(factoredDf.collect())

Without the job run insights feature, as the job fails, you only see this message thrown by Spark:

An error occurred while calling o111.collectToPython. Traceback (most recent call last):

The message is ambiguous and limits your debugging experience. In this case, this feature provides with you additional insights in two CloudWatch log streams:

  1. The job-insights-rca-driver log stream:

    • Exception events: This log stream provides you the Spark exception events related to the failure collected from the Spark driver and different distributed workers. These events help you understand the time-ordered propagation of the exception as faulty code executes across Spark tasks, executors, and stages distributed across the Amazon Glue workers.

    • Line numbers: This log stream identifies line 21, which made the call to import the missing Python module that caused the failure; it also identifies line 24, the call to Spark Action collect(), as the last executed line in your script.

    
        The job-insights-rca-driver log stream.
  2. The job-insights-rule-driver log stream:

    • Root cause and recommendation: In addition to the line number and last executed line number for the fault in your script, this log stream shows the root cause analysis and recommendation for you to follow the Amazon Glue doc and set up the necessary job parameters in order to use an additional Python module in your Amazon Glue job.

    • Basis event: This log stream also shows the Spark exception event that was evaluated with the service-defined rule to infer the root cause and provide a recommendation.

    
        The job-insights-rule-driver log stream.

通过 Amazon Glue 任务运行洞察进行监控 - Amazon Glue
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

通过 Amazon Glue 任务运行洞察进行监控

Amazon Glue 任务运行洞察是 Amazon Glue 中的一个功能,可为 Amazon Glue 任务简化任务调试和进行优化。Amazon Glue 可提供 Spark UICloudWatch 日志和指标,以便监控您的 Amazon Glue 任务。使用此功能,您可获得有关 Amazon Glue 任务执行情况的信息:

  • 失败的 Amazon Glue 任务脚本的行号。

  • 在您的作业失败之前,在 Spark 查询计划中最后执行的 Spark 操作。

  • 在按时间排序的日志流中显示与故障相关的 Spark 异常事件。

  • 根本原因分析和解决问题的建议措施(如优化脚本)。

  • 常见的 Spark 事件(与 Spark 操作有关的日志消息),其中包含解决根本原因的推荐操作。

使用 Amazon Glue 任务的 CloudWatch 日志中的两个新日志流,您可以获得所有这些洞察。

要求

Amazon Glue 任务运行洞察功能可用于 Amazon Glue 版本 2.0 和 Amazon Glue 版本 3.0。您可以按照现有任务的迁移指南从较早的 Amazon Glue 版本进行升级。

为 Amazon Glue ETL 作业启用任务运行洞察

您可以通过 Amazon Glue Studio 或 CLI 启用任务运行洞察。

Amazon Glue Studio

通过 Amazon Glue Studio 创建任务时,您可以在 Job Details(任务详细信息)选项卡下启用或禁用任务运行洞察。检查 Generate job insights(生成任务洞察)框是否处于选中状态(默认情况下启用)。


        在 Amazon Glue Studio 中启用任务运行洞察。

命令行

如果通过 CLI 创建任务,则可以通过简单的新 job parameter(任务参数)启动任务运行:--enable-job-insights = true

默认情况下,任务运行洞察日志流在 Amazon Glue 连续录入使用的同一个默认日志组下进行创建,也就是 /aws-glue/jobs/logs-v2/。您可以使用相同的参数集来设置自定义日志组名称、日志筛选条件和日志组配置以进行连续日志录入。有关更多信息,请参阅启用 Amazon Glue 任务的连续日志录入

在 CloudWatch 中访问任务运行洞察日志流

启用任务运行洞察功能后,任务运行失败时可能会创建两个日志流。当任务成功完成后,两个流都不会生成。

  1. 异常分析日志流<job-run-id>-job-insights-rca-driver。该数据流提供以下功能:

    • 导致失败的 Amazon Glue 任务脚本的行号。

    • Spark 查询计划 (DAG) 中最后执行的 Spark 操作。

    • 来自与异常相关的 Spark 驱动程序和执行器的简明时序事件。您可以找到详细信息,例如完整的错误消息、失败的 Spark 任务及其执行者 ID,这些信息可帮助您专注于特定执行者的日志流,以便在需要时进行更深入的调查。

  2. 基于规则的洞察流式传输

    • 根本原因分析和如何修复错误的建议(例如使用特定的任务参数来优化性能)。

    • 作为根本原因分析的基础和建议的行动的相关 Spark 事件。

注意

第一个流仅在任何异常触发事件可用于失败的任务运行时存在,第二个流仅在任何洞察可用于失败的任务运行时存在。例如,如果您的任务成功完成,则不会生成任何流;如果您的任务失败,但是没有服务定义的规则可以与您的失败场景匹配,那么将只生成第一个流。

如果通过 Amazon Glue Studio 创建任务,则在“任务运行详细信息”选项卡(任务运行洞察)下,还可提供指向上述流式传输的链接,即“简明和综合错误日志”和“错误分析和指导”。


        包含日志流链接的任务运行详细信息页面。

Amazon Glue 任务运行洞察的示例

在本节中,我们将举例说明任务运行洞察功能如何帮助您解决失败任务中的问题。在本例中,用户忘记在用来分析和构建基于其数据的机器学习模型的 Amazon Glue 任务中导入所需的模块 (tensorflow)。

1. import sys 2. from awsglue.transforms import * 3. from awsglue.utils import getResolvedOptions 4. from pyspark.context import SparkContext 5. from awsglue.context import GlueContext 6. from awsglue.job import Job 7. from pyspark.sql.types import * 8. from pyspark.sql.functions import udf,col 9. 10. args = getResolvedOptions(sys.argv, ['JOB_NAME']) 11. 12. sc = SparkContext() 13. glueContext = GlueContext(sc) 14. spark = glueContext.spark_session 15. job = Job(glueContext) 16. job.init(args['JOB_NAME'], args) 17. 18. data_set_1 = [1, 2, 3, 4] 19. data_set_2 = [5, 6, 7, 8] 20. 21. scoresDf = spark.createDataFrame(data_set_1, IntegerType()) 22. 23. def data_multiplier_func(factor, data_vector): 24. import tensorflow as tf 25. with tf.compat.v1.Session() as sess: 26. x1 = tf.constant(factor) 27. x2 = tf.constant(data_vector) 28. result = tf.multiply(x1, x2) 29. return sess.run(result).tolist() 30. 31. data_multiplier_udf = udf(lambda x:data_multiplier_func(x, data_set_2), ArrayType(IntegerType(),False)) 32. factoredDf = scoresDf.withColumn("final_value", data_multiplier_udf(col("value"))) 33. print(factoredDf.collect())

如果没有任务运行洞察功能,当任务失败时,您只会看到 Spark 抛出的以下消息:

An error occurred while calling o111.collectToPython. Traceback (most recent call last):

消息不明确,限制了您的调试体验。在这种情况下,此功能在两个 CloudWatch 日志流中为您提供了更多洞察:

  1. job-insights-rca-driver 日志流:

    • 异常事件:此日志流为您提供与从 Spark 驱动程序和不同分布式工作人员收集的故障相关的 Spark 异常事件。这些事件有助于您理解异常在错误代码跨 Spark 任务、执行器和分布在 Amazon Glue 工作器中的阶段执行时的时间顺序传播。

    • 行号:这个日志流标识了第 21 行,我们对此进行调用,以导入导致失败的缺失 Python 模块;它还将第 24 行(对 Spark 操作 collect() 的调用)标识为脚本中最后执行的一行。

    
        job-insights-rca-driver 日志流。
  2. job-insights-rule-driver 日志流:

    • 根本原因和建议:除了脚本中错误的行号和上次执行的行号之外,此日志流还显示了根本原因分析和建议,供您遵循 Amazon Glue 文档并设置必要的任务参数,以便在 Amazon Glue 任务中使用额外的 Python 模块。

    • 基础事件:此日志流还显示了使用服务定义的规则评估的 Spark 异常事件,以推断根本原因并提供建议。

    
        job-insights-rule-driver 日志流。