Deploy secrets to the Amazon IoT Greengrass core - Amazon IoT Greengrass
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Amazon IoT Greengrass Version 1 no longer receives feature updates, and will receive only security patches and bug fixes until June 30, 2023. For more information, see the Amazon IoT Greengrass V1 maintenance policy. We strongly recommend that you migrate to Amazon IoT Greengrass Version 2, which adds significant new features and support for additional platforms.

Deploy secrets to the Amazon IoT Greengrass core

This feature is available for Amazon IoT Greengrass Core v1.7 and later.

Amazon IoT Greengrass lets you authenticate with services and applications from Greengrass devices without hard-coding passwords, tokens, or other secrets.

Amazon Secrets Manager is a service that you can use to securely store and manage your secrets in the cloud. Amazon IoT Greengrass extends Secrets Manager to Greengrass core devices, so your connectors and Lambda functions can use local secrets to interact with services and applications. For example, the Twilio Notifications connector uses a locally stored authentication token.

To integrate a secret into a Greengrass group, you create a group resource that references the Secrets Manager secret. This secret resource references the cloud secret by ARN. To learn how to create, manage, and use secret resources, see Working with secret resources.

Amazon IoT Greengrass encrypts your secrets while in transit and at rest. During group deployment, Amazon IoT Greengrass fetches the secret from Secrets Manager and creates a local, encrypted copy on the Greengrass core. After you rotate your cloud secrets in Secrets Manager, redeploy the group to propagate the updated values to the core.

The following diagram shows the high-level process of deploying a secret to the core. Secrets are encrypted in transit and at rest.


            Amazon IoT Greengrass fetches a secret from Amazon Secrets Manager and deploys it as a secret resource to the 
                core device, where it is available to connectors and Lambda functions.

Using Amazon IoT Greengrass to store your secrets locally offers these advantages:

  • Decoupled from code (not hard-coded). This supports centrally managed credentials and helps protect sensitive data from the risk of compromise.

  • Available for offline scenarios. Connectors and functions can securely access local services and software when disconnected from the internet.

  • Controlled access to secrets. Only authorized connectors and functions in the group can access your secrets. Amazon IoT Greengrass uses private key encryption to secure your secrets. Secrets are encrypted in transit and at rest. For more information, see Secrets encryption.

  • Controlled rotation. After you rotate your secrets in Secrets Manager, redeploy the Greengrass group to update the local copies of your secrets. For more information, see Creating and managing secrets.

    Important

    Amazon IoT Greengrass doesn't automatically update the values of local secrets after cloud versions are rotated. To update local values, you must redeploy the group.

Secrets encryption

Amazon IoT Greengrass encrypts secrets in transit and at rest.

Important

Make sure that your user-defined Lambda functions handle secrets securely and don't log any any sensitive data that's stored in the secret. For more information, see Mitigate the Risks of Logging and Debugging Your Lambda Function in the Amazon Secrets Manager User Guide. Although this documentation specifically refers to rotation functions, the recommendation also applies to Greengrass Lambda functions.

Encryption in transit

Amazon IoT Greengrass uses Transport Layer Security (TLS) to encrypt all communication over the internet and local network. This protects secrets while in transit, which occurs when secrets are retrieved from Secrets Manager and deployed to the core. For supported TLS cipher suites, see TLS cipher suites support.

Encryption at rest

Amazon IoT Greengrass uses the private key specified in config.json for encryption of the secrets that are stored on the core. For this reason, secure storage of the private key is critical for protecting local secrets. In the Amazon shared responsibility model, it's the responsibility of the customer to guarantee secure storage of the private key on the core device.

Amazon IoT Greengrass supports two modes of private key storage:

  • Using hardware security modules. For more information, see Hardware security integration.

    Note

    Currently, Amazon IoT Greengrass supports only the PKCS#1 v1.5 padding mechanism for encryption and decryption of local secrets when using hardware-based private keys. If you're following vendor-provided instructions to manually generate hardware-based private keys, make sure to choose PKCS#1 v1.5. Amazon IoT Greengrass doesn't support Optimal Asymmetric Encryption Padding (OAEP).

  • Using file system permissions (default).

The private key is used to secure the data key, which is used to encrypt local secrets. The data key is rotated with each group deployment.

The Amazon IoT Greengrass core is the only entity that has access to the private key. Greengrass connectors or Lambda functions that are affiliated with a secret resource get the value of the secret from the core.

Requirements

These are the requirements for local secret support:

  • You must be using Amazon IoT Greengrass Core v1.7 or later.

  • To get the values of local secrets, your user-defined Lambda functions must use Amazon IoT Greengrass Core SDK v1.3.0 or later.

  • The private key used for local secrets encryption must be specified in the Greengrass configuration file. By default, Amazon IoT Greengrass uses the core private key stored in the file system. To provide your own private key, see Specify the private key for secret encryption. Only the RSA key type is supported.

    Note

    Currently, Amazon IoT Greengrass supports only the PKCS#1 v1.5 padding mechanism for encryption and decryption of local secrets when using hardware-based private keys. If you're following vendor-provided instructions to manually generate hardware-based private keys, make sure to choose PKCS#1 v1.5. Amazon IoT Greengrass doesn't support Optimal Asymmetric Encryption Padding (OAEP).

  • Amazon IoT Greengrass must be granted permission to get your secret values. This allows Amazon IoT Greengrass to fetch the values during group deployment. If you're using the default Greengrass service role, then Amazon IoT Greengrass already has access to secrets with names that start with greengrass-. To customize access, see Allow Amazon IoT Greengrass to get secret values.

    Note

    We recommend that you use this naming convention to identify the secrets that Amazon IoT Greengrass is allowed to access, even if you customize permissions. The console uses different permissions to read your secrets, so it's possible that you can select secrets in the console that Amazon IoT Greengrass doesn't have permission to fetch. Using a naming convention can help avoid a permission conflict, which results in a deployment error.

Specify the private key for secret encryption

In this procedure, you provide the path to a private key that's used for local secret encryption. This must be an RSA key with a minimum length of 2048 bits. For more information about private keys used on the Amazon IoT Greengrass core, see Amazon IoT Greengrass core security principals.

Amazon IoT Greengrass supports two modes of private key storage: hardware-based or file system-based (default). For more information, see Secrets encryption.

Follow this procedure only if you want to change the default configuration, which uses the core private key in the file system. These steps are written with the assumption that you created your group and core as described in Module 2 of the Getting Started tutorial.

  1. Open the config.json file that's located in the /greengrass-root/config directory.

    Note

    greengrass-root represents the path where the Amazon IoT Greengrass Core software is installed on your device. Typically, this is the /greengrass directory.

  2. In the crypto.principals.SecretsManager object, for the privateKeyPath property, enter the path of the private key:

    • If your private key is stored in the file system, specify the absolute path to the key. For example:

      "SecretsManager" : { "privateKeyPath" : "file:///somepath/hash.private.key" }
    • If your private key is stored in a hardware security module (HSM), specify the path using the RFC 7512 PKCS#11 URI scheme. For example:

      "SecretsManager" : { "privateKeyPath" : "pkcs11:object=private-key-label;type=private" }

      For more information, see Hardware security configuration for an Amazon IoT Greengrass core.

      Note

      Currently, Amazon IoT Greengrass supports only the PKCS#1 v1.5 padding mechanism for encryption and decryption of local secrets when using hardware-based private keys. If you're following vendor-provided instructions to manually generate hardware-based private keys, make sure to choose PKCS#1 v1.5. Amazon IoT Greengrass doesn't support Optimal Asymmetric Encryption Padding (OAEP).

Allow Amazon IoT Greengrass to get secret values

In this procedure, you add an inline policy to the Greengrass service role that allows Amazon IoT Greengrass to get the values of your secrets.

Follow this procedure only if you want to grant Amazon IoT Greengrass custom permissions to your secrets or if your Greengrass service role doesn't include the AWSGreengrassResourceAccessRolePolicy managed policy. AWSGreengrassResourceAccessRolePolicy grants access to secrets with names that start with greengrass-.

  1. Run the following CLI command to get the ARN of the Greengrass service role:

    aws greengrass get-service-role-for-account --region region

    The returned ARN contains the role name.

    { "AssociatedAt": "time-stamp", "RoleArn": "arn:aws-cn:iam::account-id:role/service-role/role-name" }

    You use the ARN or name in the following step.

  2. Add an inline policy that allows the secretsmanager:GetSecretValue action. For instructions, see Adding and removing IAM policies in the IAM User Guide.

    You can grant granular access by explicitly listing secrets or using a wildcard * naming scheme, or you can grant conditional access to versioned or tagged secrets. For example, the following policy allows Amazon IoT Greengrass to read only the specified secrets.

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "secretsmanager:GetSecretValue" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws-cn:secretsmanager:region:account-id:secret:greengrass-SecretA-abc", "arn:aws-cn:secretsmanager:region:account-id:secret:greengrass-SecretB-xyz" ] } ] }
    Note

    If you use a customer-managed Amazon KMS key to encrypt secrets, your Greengrass service role must also allow the kms:Decrypt action.

For more information about IAM policies for Secrets Manager, see Authentication and access control for Amazon Secrets Manager and Actions, resources, and context keys you can use in an IAM policy or secret policy for Amazon Secrets Manager in the Amazon Secrets Manager User Guide.

See also

将密钥部署到 Amazon IoT Greengrass 核心 - Amazon IoT Greengrass
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

您正在查看Amazon IoT Greengrass Version 1.Amazon IoT Greengrass Version 2是最新的主要版本Amazon IoT Greengrass. 有关使用Amazon IoT Greengrass V2,请参阅Amazon IoT Greengrass Version 2开发人员指南.

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

将密钥部署到 Amazon IoT Greengrass 核心

此功能适用于Amazon IoT Greengrass核心 v1.7 及更高版本。

通过 Amazon IoT Greengrass,您可以从 Greengrass 设备对服务和应用程序进行身份验证,而无需对密码、令牌或其他密钥进行硬编码。

Amazon Secrets Manager是一项可用于在云中安全存储和管理密钥的服务。Amazon IoT Greengrass将 Secrets Manager 扩展到 Greengrass 的核心设备,因此您的连接器和 Lambda 函数可以使用本地密钥与服务和应用程序交互。例如,Twilio Notifications 使用本地存储的身份验证令牌。

要将密钥集成到 Greengrass 组中,您需要创建一个引用 Secrets Manager 密钥的组资源。此密钥资源引用云密钥 ARN。要了解如何创建、管理和使用私有资源,请参阅使用密钥资源

Amazon IoT Greengrass 对传输中的密钥和静态密钥进行加密。在组部署期间,Amazon IoT Greengrass从密钥管理器中提取密钥并在 Greengrass 核心上创建本地加密副本。在密钥管理器中轮换您的云密钥后,重新部署组,将更新后的值传播到核心。

下图显示了将密钥部署到核心的简要过程。传输和静态中的密钥均经过加密。


            Amazon IoT Greengrass获取一个秘密Amazon Secrets Manager并将其作为密钥资源部署到核心设备,其中,密钥资源可供连接器和 Lambda 函数使用。

通过 Amazon IoT Greengrass 将密钥存储在本地具有以下优势:

  • 通过代码解耦(而非硬编码)。 这支持集中管理的凭证,并帮助保护敏感数据免受入侵的风险。

  • 适用于离线场景。 连接器和函数可以在 Internet 连接断开的情况下安全访问本地服务和软件。

  • 受控密钥访问。 只有组中经过授权的连接器和函数才可以访问您的密钥。Amazon IoT Greengrass 使用私有密钥加密来保护您的密钥。传输和静态中的密钥均经过加密。有关更多信息,请参阅 密钥加密

  • 受控轮换。 在密钥管理器中轮换密钥后,重新部署 Greengrass 组,以更新密钥的本地副本。有关更多信息,请参阅 创建和管理密钥

    重要

    在轮换云版本后,Amazon IoT Greengrass 不会自动更新本地密钥的值。要更新本地值,必须重新部署组。

密钥加密

Amazon IoT Greengrass 对传输和静态中的密钥进行加密。

重要

确保您的用户定义的 Lambda 函数安全地处理密钥,并且不记录任何存储在秘密中的敏感数据。有关更多信息,请参阅 。降低记录和调试 Lambda 函数的风险中的Amazon Secrets Manager用户指南. 虽然本文档特别提到了旋转函数,但该建议也适用于 Greengrass Lambda 函数。

传输中加密

Amazon IoT Greengrass 使用传输层安全性 (TLS) 来加密通过 Internet 和本地网络进行的所有通信。这样可以在传输中保护密钥,从密钥 Secrets Manager 检索密钥并将其部署到核心时会发生此类情况。有关支持的 TLS 密码套件,请参阅TLS 密码套件支持

静态加密

Amazon IoT Greengrass 使用在 config.json 中指定的私有密钥对存储在核心中的密钥进行加密。因此,私有密钥的安全存储对于保护本地密钥至关重要。在 Amazon 责任共担模式中,客户有责任保证私有密钥在核心设备上的安全存储。

Amazon IoT Greengrass 支持两种私有密钥存储:

  • 使用硬件安全模块。有关更多信息,请参阅 硬件安全性集成

    注意

    目前,Amazon IoT Greengrass仅支持PKCS #1 v1.5填充机制,用于在使用基于硬件的私钥时对本地机密进行加密和解密。如果您按照供应商提供的说明手动生成基于硬件的私钥,请确保选择 PKCS #1 v1.5。Amazon IoT Greengrass不支持最佳非对称加密填充 (OAEP)。

  • 使用文件系统权限(默认)。

私有密钥用于保护数据密钥,数据密钥用于加密本地密钥。数据密钥随每次组部署进行轮换。

这些区域有:Amazon IoT Greengrass核心是唯一有权访问私有密钥的实体。与密钥资源关联的 Greengrass 连接器或 Lambda 函数从核心获取密钥值。

Requirements

以下是本地密钥支持的要求:

  • 您必须使用Amazon IoT Greengrass核心 v1.7 或更高版本。

  • 要获取本地机密的值,用户定义的 Lambda 函数必须使用Amazon IoT Greengrass核心 SDK v1.3.0 或更高版本。

  • 用于本地密钥加密的私有密钥必须在 Greengrass 配置文件中指定。默认情况下,Amazon IoT Greengrass 使用存储在文件系统中的核心私有密钥。要提供您自己的私有密钥,请参阅指定用于密钥加密的私有密钥。仅支持 RSA 密钥类型。

    注意

    目前,Amazon IoT Greengrass仅支持PKCS #1 v1.5填充机制,用于在使用基于硬件的私钥时对本地机密进行加密和解密。如果您按照供应商提供的说明手动生成基于硬件的私钥,请确保选择 PKCS #1 v1.5。Amazon IoT Greengrass不支持最佳非对称加密填充 (OAEP)。

  • 必须为 Amazon IoT Greengrass 授予权限才能获取您的密钥值。这样,Amazon IoT Greengrass 可以在组部署期间提取值。如果使用的是默认 Greengrass 服务角色,则 Amazon IoT Greengrass 已经有权访问名称以 greengrass- 开头的密钥。要自定义访问权限,请参阅允许 Amazon IoT Greengrass 获取密钥值

    注意

    我们建议您使用此命名约定来标识允许 Amazon IoT Greengrass 访问的密钥,即使您自定义权限也是如此。控制台使用不同的权限来读取您的密钥,以便您在控制台中选择 Amazon IoT Greengrass 无权提取的密钥。使用命名约定有助于避免权限冲突,这会导致部署错误。

指定用于密钥加密的私有密钥

在此过程中,您将提供用于本地秘密加密的私有密钥的路径。这必须是最小长度为 2048 位 RSA 密钥。有关上使用的私有密钥的更多信息Amazon IoT Greengrass核心,请参阅Amazon IoT Greengrass 核心安全委托人.

Amazon IoT Greengrass 支持两种模式的私有密钥存储:基于硬件或基于文件系统(默认)。有关更多信息,请参阅 密钥加密

请仅在您想更改默认配置(其使用文件系统中的核心私有密钥)时,此按照此过程操作。我们在编写这些步骤时假设您创建了组和核心,如入门教程中的模块 2 所述。

  1. 打开 config.json 文件(位于 /greengrass-root/config 目录中)。

    注意

    greengrass-root 表示在您的设备上安装 Amazon IoT Greengrass 核心软件的路径。通常,这是 /greengrass 目录。

  2. crypto.principals.SecretsManager 对象中,对于 privateKeyPath 属性,输入私有密钥的路径:

    • 如果您的私有密钥存储在文件系统中,请指定该密钥的绝对路径。例如:

      "SecretsManager" : { "privateKeyPath" : "file:///somepath/hash.private.key" }
    • 如果私有密钥存储在硬件安全模块 (HSM) 中,请使用 RFC 7512 PKCS#11 URI 方案指定路径:例如:

      "SecretsManager" : { "privateKeyPath" : "pkcs11:object=private-key-label;type=private" }

      有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon IoT Greengrass 核心的硬件安全性配置

      注意

      目前,Amazon IoT Greengrass仅支持PKCS #1 v1.5填充机制,用于在使用基于硬件的私钥时对本地机密进行加密和解密。如果您按照供应商提供的说明手动生成基于硬件的私钥,请确保选择 PKCS #1 v1.5。Amazon IoT Greengrass不支持最佳非对称加密填充 (OAEP)。

允许 Amazon IoT Greengrass 获取密钥值

在此过程中,您将为允许 Amazon IoT Greengrass 获取密钥值的 Greengrass 服务角色添加内联策略。

仅执行此过程如果你想授予Amazon IoT Greengrass自定义权限,或者如果您的 Greengrass 服务角色不包含AWSGreengrassResourceAccessRolePolicy托管策略。AWSGreengrassResourceAccessRolePolicy授予访问名称以Greengrass.

  1. 运行以下 CLI 命令以获取 Greengrass 服务角色的 ARN:

    aws greengrass get-service-role-for-account --region region

    返回的 ARN 包含角色名称。

    { "AssociatedAt": "time-stamp", "RoleArn": "arn:aws:iam::account-id:role/service-role/role-name" }

    您将在以下步骤中使用 ARN 或名称。

  2. 添加允许 secretsmanager:GetSecretValue 操作的内联策略。有关说明,请参阅添加和删除 IAM 策略中的IAM 用户指南.

    您可以明确列出密钥或使用通配符 * 命名方案来授予细粒度访问权限,也可以授予对受版本控制或标记的密钥的有条件访问权限。例如,以下策略允许 Amazon IoT Greengrass 仅读取指定的密钥。

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "secretsmanager:GetSecretValue" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:secretsmanager:region:account-id:secret:greengrass-SecretA-abc", "arn:aws:secretsmanager:region:account-id:secret:greengrass-SecretB-xyz" ] } ] }
    注意

    如果使用客户管理的 Amazon KMS 密钥来加密密钥,则 Greengrass 服务角色还必须允许 kms:Decrypt 操作。

有关密钥管理器的 IAM 策略的更多信息,请参阅的身份验证和访问控制Amazon Secrets Manager您可以在 IAM 策略或秘密策略中使用的操作、资源和上下文密钥Amazon Secrets Manager中的Amazon Secrets Manager用户指南.

另请参阅