Using Node.js to connect to a Neptune DB instance - Amazon Neptune
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Using Node.js to connect to a Neptune DB instance

If you can, always use the latest version of the Apache TinkerPop JavaScript Gremlin client, gremlin, that your engine version supports. Newer versions contain numerous bug fixes that improve the stability, performance and usability of the client. The version of gremlin to use will typically align with the TinkerPop versions described in the table for the Java Gremlin client.

The following section walks you through the running of a Node.js sample that connects to an Amazon Neptune DB instance and performs a Gremlin traversal.

You must follow these instructions from an Amazon EC2 instance in the same virtual private cloud (VPC) as your Neptune DB instance.

Before you begin, do the following:

  • Verify that Node.js version 8.11 or higher is installed. If it is not, download and install Node.js from the Nodejs.org website.

To connect to Neptune using Node.js

  1. Enter the following to install the gremlin-javascript package:

    npm install gremlin
  2. Create a file named gremlinexample.js and open it in a text editor.

  3. Copy the following into the gremlinexample.js file. Replace your-neptune-endpoint with the address of your Neptune DB instance.

    For information about finding the address of your Neptune DB instance, see the Connecting to Amazon Neptune Endpoints section.

    const gremlin = require('gremlin'); const DriverRemoteConnection = gremlin.driver.DriverRemoteConnection; const Graph = gremlin.structure.Graph; dc = new DriverRemoteConnection('wss://your-neptune-endpoint:8182/gremlin',{}); const graph = new Graph(); const g = graph.traversal().withRemote(dc); g.V().limit(1).count().next(). then(data => { console.log(data); dc.close(); }).catch(error => { console.log('ERROR', error); dc.close(); });
  4. Enter the following command to run the sample:

    node gremlinexample.js

The preceding example returns the count of a single vertex in the graph by using the g.V().limit(1).count().next() traversal. To query for something else, replace it with another Gremlin traversal with one of the appropriate ending methods.

Note

The final part of the Gremlin query, next(), is required to submit the traversal to the server for evaluation. If you don't include that method or another equivalent method, the query is not submitted to the Neptune DB instance.

The following methods submit the query to the Neptune DB instance:

  • toList()

  • toSet()

  • next()

  • nextTraverser()

  • iterate()

Use next() if you need the query results to be serialized and returned, or iterate() if you don't.

Important

This is a standalone Node.js example. If you are planning to run code like this in an Amazon Lambda function, see Lambda function examples for details about using JavaScript efficiently in a Neptune Lambda function.

使用 Node.js 连接到 Neptune 数据库实例 - Amazon Neptune
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

使用 Node.js 连接到 Neptune 数据库实例

以下部分将指导您完成 Node.js 示例的运行,该示例连接到 Amazon Neptune 数据库实例连接到并执行 Grestlin 遍历。

您必须按照与您的 Neptune 数据库实例位于同一 Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) 中的 Amazon EC2 实例中的说明操作。

开始之前,请执行以下操作:

  • 验证是否已安装 Node.js 版本 8.11 或更高版本。如果没有,请从 Nodejs.org 网站下载并安装 Node.js。

使用 Node.js 连接到 Neptune

  1. 输入以下命令以安装 gremlin-javascript 程序包:

    npm install gremlin
  2. 创建名为 gremlinexample.js 的文件并在文本编辑器中打开它。

  3. 将以下内容复制到 gremlinexample.js 文件中。Replace您的海王星端点替换为 Neptune 数据库实例的地址。

    有关查找您的 Neptune 数据库实例的地址的信息,请参阅连接到 Amazon Neptune 终端节点部分。

    const gremlin = require('gremlin'); const DriverRemoteConnection = gremlin.driver.DriverRemoteConnection; const Graph = gremlin.structure.Graph; dc = new DriverRemoteConnection('wss://your-neptune-endpoint:8182/gremlin',{}); const graph = new Graph(); const g = graph.traversal().withRemote(dc); g.V().limit(1).count().next(). then(data => { console.log(data); dc.close(); }).catch(error => { console.log('ERROR', error); dc.close(); });
  4. 输入以下命令以运行示例:

    node gremlinexample.js

上述示例通过使用 g.V().limit(1).count().next() 遍历返回图形中的单个顶点的计数。要查询其他内容,请将其替换为具有其中一种适当的结尾方法的其他 Gremlin 遍历。

注意

要将遍历提交到服务器进行评估,需要 Gremlin 查询的最后一部分 next()。如果您未包含该方法或其他等效方法,该查询将不会提交到 Neptune 数据库实例。

以下方法将查询提交到 Neptune 数据库实例:

  • toList()

  • toSet()

  • next()

  • nextTraverser()

  • iterate()

使用next()如果您需要序列化并返回查询结果,或iterate()如果您没有。

重要

这是独立的 Node.js 示例。如果你打算在Amazon Lambda函数,请参阅Lambda 函数示例,了解有关在 Neptune Lambda 函数中有效使用 JavaScript 的详细信息。