Optimizing an Amazon Neptune bulk load - Amazon Neptune
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Optimizing an Amazon Neptune bulk load

Use the following strategies to keep the load time to a minimum for a Neptune bulk load:

  • Clean your data:

    • Be sure to convert your data into a supported data format before loading.

    • Remove any duplicates or known errors.

    • Reduce the number of unique predicates (such as properties of edges and vertices) as much as you can.

  • Optimize your files:

    • If you load large files such as CSV files from an Amazon S3 bucket, the loader can break up the large files and manage concurrency for you.

    • If you load multiple files from an Amazon S3 folder, the loader automatically loads vertex files first, then edge files afterwards.

    • Breaking up very large files into a few smaller ones can let the loader process them in parallel.

    • Compressing the files reduces transfer times. The loader supports gzip compression of source files.

  • Check your loader settings:

    • If you don't need to perform any other operations during the load, use the OVERSUBSCRIBE  parallelism parameter. This parameter setting causes the bulk loader to use all available CPU resources when it runs. It generally takes 60%-70% of CPU capacity to keep the operation running as fast as I/O constraints permit.

      Note

      When parallelism is set to OVERSUBSCRIBE or HIGH (the default setting), there is the risk when loading openCypher data that threads may encounter a race condition and deadlock, resulting in a LOAD_DATA_DEADLOCK error. In this case, set parallelism to a lower setting and retry the load.

    • If your load job will include multiple load requests, use the queueRequest parameter. Setting queueRequest to TRUE lets Neptune queue up your requests so you don't have to wait for one to finish before issuing another.

    • If your load requests are being queued, you can set up levels of dependency using the dependencies parameter, so that the failure of one job causes dependent jobs to fail. This can prevent inconsistencies in the loaded data.

    • If a load job is going to involve updating previously loaded values, be sure to set the updateSingleCardinalityProperties parameter to TRUE. If you don't, the loader will treat an attempt to update an existing single-cardinality value as an error. For Gremlin data, cardinality is also specified in property column headers (see Property Column Headers).

    • You can use the failOnError parameter to determine whether bulk load operations should fail or continue when an error is encountered. Also, you can use the mode parameter to be sure that a load job resumes loading from the point where a previous job failed rather than reloading data that had already been loaded.

  • Scale up   –   Set the writer instance of your DB cluster to the maximum size before bulk loading. Note that if you do this, you must either scale up any read-replica instances in the DB cluster as well, or remove them until you have finished loading the data.

    When your bulk load is complete, be sure to scale the writer instance down again.

See Request Parameters for more details about setting loader request parameters.

优化 Amazon Neptune 批量加载 - Amazon Neptune
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

优化 Amazon Neptune 批量加载

使用以下策略将 Neptune 批量加载的加载时间保持在最低限度:

  • 清理你的数据:

    • 一定要将数据转换为支持的数据格式在加载之前。

    • 删除任何重复项或已知错误。

    • 尽可能减少唯一谓词(例如边缘和顶点的属性)的数量。

  • 优化你的文件:

    • 如果您从 Amazon S3 存储桶加载大型文件(如 CSV 文件),加载器可以分解大型文件并为您管理并发性。

    • 如果您从 Amazon S3 文件夹加载多个文件,加载器会先自动加载顶点文件,然后自动加载边缘文件。

    • 将非常大的文件分解成几个较小的文件可以让加载器并行处理它们。

    • 压缩文件可减少传输时间。加载器支持gzip压缩源文件。

  • 检查你的加载器设置:

    • 在加载过程中,如果您不需要执行任何其他操作,请使用OVERSUBSCRIBEparallelism参数。此参数设置会导致批量加载程序运行时使用所有可用的 CPU 资源。通常需要 60%-70% 的 CPU 容量才能在 I/O 限制允许的情况下保持操作的运行速度。

      注意

      何时parallelism设置为OVERSUBSCRIBE要么HIGH(默认设置),加载 OpenPher 数据时存在线程可能遇到竞争条件和死锁的风险,从而导致LOAD_DATA_DEADLOCK错误消息。在这种情况下,请设置parallelism改为较低的设置然后重试加载。

    • 如果加载作业将包含多个加载请求,请使用queueRequest参数。设置queueRequestTRUE让 Neptune 排队你的请求,这样你就不必等待一个完成后再发出另一个请求。

    • 如果您的加载请求正在排队,则可以使用dependencies参数,以便一个作业的失败会导致依赖作业失败。这可以防止加载的数据出现不一致。

    • 如果加载作业要涉及更新之前加载的值,请务必设置updateSingleCardinalityProperties到的参数TRUE. 如果不这样做,加载器会将尝试更新现有单基数值视为错误。对于 Gremlin 数据,基数也在属性列标题中指定(请参阅属性列标题)。

    • 您可以使用failOnError参数来确定在遇到错误时批量加载操作是失败还是继续。另外,你可以使用mode参数,以确保加载作业从上一个作业失败的位置恢复加载,而不是重新加载已加载的数据。

  • 纵向扩展— 在批量加载之前,将数据库集群的写入器实例设置为最大大小。请注意,如果执行此操作,则必须扩展数据库集群中的任何只读副本实例,或者将其删除,直到完成加载数据。

    批量加载完成后,请务必再次向下缩放写入器实例。

请参阅请求参数有关设置加载器请求参数的更多详细信息