Tuning Gremlin queries using explain and profile - Amazon Neptune
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Tuning Gremlin queries using explain and profile

You can often tune your Gremlin queries in Amazon Neptune to get better performance, using the information available to you in the reports you get from the Neptune explain and profile APIs. To do so, it helps to understand how Neptune processes Gremlin traversals.

Important

A change was made in TinkerPop version 3.4.11 that improves correctness of how queries are processed, but for the moment can sometimes seriously impact query performance.

For example, a query of this sort may run significantly slower:

g.V().hasLabel('airport'). order(). by(out().count(),desc). limit(10). out()

The vertices after the limit step are now fetched in a non-optimal way beause of the TinkerPop 3.4.11 change. To avoid this, you can modify the query by adding the barrier() step at any point after the order().by(). For example:

g.V().hasLabel('airport'). order(). by(out().count(),desc). limit(10). barrier(). out()

TinkerPop 3.4.11 was enabled in Neptune engine version 1.0.5.0.

Understanding Gremlin traversal processing in Neptune

When a Gremlin traversal is sent to Neptune, there are three main processes that transform the traversal into an underlying execution plan for the engine to execute. These are parsing, conversion, and optimization:

3 processes transform a Gremlin query into an execution
        plan.

The traversal parsing process

The first step in processing a traversal is to parse it into a common language. In Neptune, that common language is the set of TinkerPop steps that are part of the TinkerPop API. Each of these steps represents a unit of computation within the traversal.

You can send a Gremlin traversal to Neptune either as a string or as bytecode. The REST endpoint and the Java client driver submit() method send traversals as strings, as in this example:

client.submit("g.V()")

Applications and language drivers using Gremlin language variants (GLV) send traversals in bytecode.

The traversal conversion process

The second step in processing a traversal is to convert its TinkerPop steps into a set of converted and non-converted Neptune steps. Most steps in the Apache TinkerPop Gremlin query language are converted to Neptune-specific steps that are optimized to run on the underlying Neptune engine. When a TinkerPop step without a Neptune equivalent is encountered in a traversal, that step and all subsequent steps in the traversal are processed by the TinkerPop query engine.

For more information about what steps can be converted under what circumstances, see Gremlin step support.

The traversal optimization process

The final step in traversal processing is to run the series of converted and non-converted steps through the optimizer, to try to determine the best execution plan. The output of this optimization is the execution plan that the Neptune engine processes.

Using the Neptune Gremlin explain API to tune queries

The Neptune explain API is not the same as the Gremlin explain() step. It returns the final execution plan that the Neptune engine would process when executing the query. Because it does not perform any processing, it returns the same plan regardless of the parameters used, and its output contains no statistics about actual execution.

Consider the following simple traversal that finds all the airport vertices for Anchorage:

g.V().has('code','ANC')

There are two ways you can run this traversal through the Neptune explain API. The first way is to make a REST call to the explain endpoint, like this:

curl -X POST https://your-neptune-endpoint:port/gremlin/explain -d '{"gremlin":"g.V().has('code','ANC')"}'

The second way is to use the Neptune workbench's %%gremlin cell magic with the explain parameter. This passes the traversal contained in the cell body to the Neptune explain API and then displays the resulting output when you run the cell:

%%gremlin explain g.V().has('code','ANC')

The resulting explain API output describes Neptune's execution plan for the traversal. As you can see in the image below, the plan includes each of the 3 steps in the processing pipeline:

Explain API output for a simple Gremlin traversal.

Tuning a traversal by looking at steps that are not converted

One of the first things to look for in the Neptune explain API output is for Gremlin steps that are not converted to Neptune native steps. In a query plan, when a step is encountered that cannot be converted to a Neptune native step, it and all subsequent steps in the plan are processed by the Gremlin server.

In the example above, all steps in the traversal were converted. Let's examine explain API output for this traversal:

g.V().has('code','ANC').out().choose(hasLabel('airport'), values('code'), constant('Not an airport'))

As you can see in the image below, Neptune could not convert the choose() step:

Explain API output in which not all steps can be converted.

There are several things you could do to tune the performance of the traversal. The first would be to rewrite it in such a way as to eliminate the step that could not be converted. Another would be to move the step to the end of the traversal so that all other steps can be converted to native ones.

A query plan with steps that are not converted does not always need to be tuned. If the steps that cannot be converted are at the end of the traversal, and are related to how output is formatted rather than how the graph is traversed, they may have little effect on performance.

Another thing to look for when examining output from the Neptune explain API is steps that do not use indexes. The following traversal finds all airports with flights that land in Anchorage:

g.V().has('code','ANC').in().values('code')

Output from the explain API for this traversal is:

******************************************************* Neptune Gremlin Explain ******************************************************* Query String ============ g.V().has('code','ANC').in().values('code') Original Traversal ================== [GraphStep(vertex,[]), HasStep([code.eq(ANC)]), VertexStep(IN,vertex), PropertiesStep([code],value)] Converted Traversal =================== Neptune steps: [ NeptuneGraphQueryStep(PropertyValue) { JoinGroupNode { PatternNode[(?1, <~label>, ?2, <~>) . project distinct ?1 .] PatternNode[(?1, <code>, "ANC", ?) . project ask .] PatternNode[(?3, ?5, ?1, ?6) . project ?1,?3 . IsEdgeIdFilter(?6) .] PatternNode[(?3, <~label>, ?4, <~>) . project ask .] PatternNode[(?3, ?7, ?8, <~>) . project ?3,?8 . ContainsFilter(?7 in (<code>)) .] }, annotations={path=[Vertex(?1):GraphStep, Vertex(?3):VertexStep, PropertyValue(?8):PropertiesStep], maxVarId=9} }, NeptuneTraverserConverterStep ] Optimized Traversal =================== Neptune steps: [ NeptuneGraphQueryStep(PropertyValue) { JoinGroupNode { PatternNode[(?1, <code>, "ANC", ?) . project ?1 .], {estimatedCardinality=1} PatternNode[(?3, ?5, ?1, ?6) . project ?1,?3 . IsEdgeIdFilter(?6) .], {estimatedCardinality=INFINITY} PatternNode[(?3, ?7=<code>, ?8, <~>) . project ?3,?8 .], {estimatedCardinality=7564} }, annotations={path=[Vertex(?1):GraphStep, Vertex(?3):VertexStep, PropertyValue(?8):PropertiesStep], maxVarId=9} }, NeptuneTraverserConverterStep ] Predicates ========== # of predicates: 26 WARNING: reverse traversal with no edge label(s) - .in() / .both() may impact query performance

The WARNING message at the bottom of the output occurs because the in() step in the traversal cannot be handled using one of the 3 indexes that Neptune maintains (see How Statements Are Indexed in Neptune and Gremlin statements in Neptune). Because the in() step contains no edge filter, it cannot be resolved using the SPOG, POGS or GPSO index. Instead, Neptune must perform a union scan to find the requested vertices, which is much less efficient.

There are two ways to tune the traversal in this situation. The first is to add one or more filtering criteria to the in() step so that an indexed lookup can be used to resolve the query. For the example above, this might be:

g.V().has('code','ANC').in('route').values('code')

Output from the Neptune explain API for the revised traversal no longer contains the WARNING message:

******************************************************* Neptune Gremlin Explain ******************************************************* Query String ============ g.V().has('code','ANC').in('route').values('code') Original Traversal ================== [GraphStep(vertex,[]), HasStep([code.eq(ANC)]), VertexStep(IN,[route],vertex), PropertiesStep([code],value)] Converted Traversal =================== Neptune steps: [ NeptuneGraphQueryStep(PropertyValue) { JoinGroupNode { PatternNode[(?1, <~label>, ?2, <~>) . project distinct ?1 .] PatternNode[(?1, <code>, "ANC", ?) . project ask .] PatternNode[(?3, ?5, ?1, ?6) . project ?1,?3 . IsEdgeIdFilter(?6) . ContainsFilter(?5 in (<route>)) .] PatternNode[(?3, <~label>, ?4, <~>) . project ask .] PatternNode[(?3, ?7, ?8, <~>) . project ?3,?8 . ContainsFilter(?7 in (<code>)) .] }, annotations={path=[Vertex(?1):GraphStep, Vertex(?3):VertexStep, PropertyValue(?8):PropertiesStep], maxVarId=9} }, NeptuneTraverserConverterStep ] Optimized Traversal =================== Neptune steps: [ NeptuneGraphQueryStep(PropertyValue) { JoinGroupNode { PatternNode[(?1, <code>, "ANC", ?) . project ?1 .], {estimatedCardinality=1} PatternNode[(?3, ?5=<route>, ?1, ?6) . project ?1,?3 . IsEdgeIdFilter(?6) .], {estimatedCardinality=32042} PatternNode[(?3, ?7=<code>, ?8, <~>) . project ?3,?8 .], {estimatedCardinality=7564} }, annotations={path=[Vertex(?1):GraphStep, Vertex(?3):VertexStep, PropertyValue(?8):PropertiesStep], maxVarId=9} }, NeptuneTraverserConverterStep ] Predicates ========== # of predicates: 26

Another option if you are running many traversals of this kind is to run them in a Neptune DB cluster that has the optional OSGP index enabled (see Enabling an OSGP Index). Enabling an OSGP index has drawbacks:

  • It must be enabled in a DB cluster before any data is loaded.

  • Insertion rates for vertices and edges may slow by up to 23%.

  • Storage usage will increase by around 20%.

  • Read queries that scatter requests across all indexes may have increased latencies.

Having an OSGP index makes a lot of sense for a restricted set of query patterns, but unless you are running those frequently, it is usually preferable to try to ensure that the traversals you write can be resolved using the three primary indexes.

Using a large number of predicates

Neptune treats each edge label and each distinct vertex or edge property name in your graph as a predicate, and is designed by default to work with a relatively low number of distinct predicates. When you have more than a few thousand predicates in your graph data, performance can degrade.

Neptune explain output will warn you if this is the case:

Predicates ========== # of predicates: 9549 WARNING: high predicate count (# of distinct property names and edge labels)

If it is not convenient to rework your data model to reduce the number of labels and properties, and therefore the number of predicates, the best way to tune traversals is to run them in a DB cluster that has the OSGP index enabled, as discussed above.

Using the Neptune Gremlin profile API to tune traversals

The Neptune profile API is quite different from the Gremlin profile() step. Like the explain API, its output includes the query plan that the Neptune engine uses when executing the traversal. In addition, the profile output includes actual execution statistics for the traversal, given how its parameters are set.

Again, take the simple traversal that finds all airport vertices for Anchorage:

g.V().has('code','ANC')

As with the explain API, you can invoke the profile API using a REST call:

curl -X POST https://your-neptune-endpoint:port/gremlin/profile -d '{"gremlin":"g.V().has('code','ANC')"}'

You use also the Neptune workbench's %%gremlin cell magic with the profile parameter. This passes the traversal contained in the cell body to the Neptune profile API and then displays the resulting output when you run the cell:

%%gremlin profile g.V().has('code','ANC')

The resulting profile API output contains both Neptune's execution plan for the traversal and statistics about the plan's execution, as you can see in this image:

An example of Neptune profile API output.

In profile output, the execution plan section only contains the final execution plan for the traversal, not the intermediate steps. The pipeline section contains the physical pipeline operations that were performed as well as the actual time (in milliseconds) that traversal execution took. The runtime metric is extremely helpful in comparing the times that two different versions of a traversal take as you are optimizing them.

Note

The initial runtime of a traversal is generally longer than subsequent runtimes, because the first one causes the relevant data to be cached.

The third section of the profile output contains execution statistics and the results of the traversal. To see how this information can be useful in tuning a traversal, consider the following traversal, which finds every airport whose name begins with "Anchora", and all the airports reachable in two hops from those airports, returning airport codes, flight routes, and distances:

%%gremlin profile g.withSideEffect("Neptune#fts.endpoint", "{your-OpenSearch-endpoint-URL"). V().has("city", "Neptune#fts Anchora~"). repeat(outE('route').inV().simplePath()).times(2). project('Destination', 'Route'). by('code'). by(path().by('code').by('dist'))

Traversal metrics in Neptune profile API output

The first set of metrics that is available in all profile output is the traversal metrics. These are similar to the Gremlin profile() step metrics, with a few differences:

Traversal Metrics ================= Step Count Traversers Time (ms) % Dur ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- NeptuneGraphQueryStep(Vertex) 3856 3856 91.701 9.09 NeptuneTraverserConverterStep 3856 3856 38.787 3.84 ProjectStep([Destination, Route],[value(code), ... 3856 3856 878.786 87.07 PathStep([value(code), value(dist)]) 3856 3856 601.359 >TOTAL - - 1009.274 -

The first column of the traversal-metrics table lists the steps executed by the traversal. The first two steps are generally the Neptune-specific steps, NeptuneGraphQueryStep and NeptuneTraverserConverterStep.

NeptuneGraphQueryStep represents the execution time for the entire portion of the traversal that could be converted and executed natively by the Neptune engine.

NeptuneTraverserConverterStep represents the process of converting the output of those converted steps into TinkerPop traversers which allow steps that could not be converted steps, if any, to be processed, or to return the results in a TinkerPop-compatible format.

In the example above, we have several non-converted steps, so we see that each of these TinkerPop steps (ProjectStep, PathStep) then appears as a row in the table.

The second column in the table, Count, reports the number of represented traversers that passed through the step, while the third column, Traversers, reports the number of traversers which passed through that step, as explained in the TinkerPop profile step documentation.

In our example there are 3,856 vertices and 3,856 traversers returned by the NeptuneGraphQueryStep, and these numbers remain the same throughout the remaining processing because ProjectStep and PathStep are formatting the results, not filtering them.

Note

Unlike TinkerPop, the Neptune engine does not optimize performance by bulking in its NeptuneGraphQueryStep and NeptuneTraverserConverterStep steps. Bulking is the TinkerPop operation that combines traversers on the same vertex to reduce operational overhead, and that is what causes the Count and Traversers numbers to differ. Because bulking only occurs in steps that Neptune delegates to TinkerPop, and not in steps that Neptune handles natively, the Count and Traverser columns seldom differ.

The Time column reports the number of milliseconds that the step took, and the the % Dur column reports what percent of the total processing time the step took. These are the metrics that tell you where to focus your tuning efforts by showing the steps that took the most time.

Index operation metrics in Neptune profile API output

Another set of metrics in the output of the Neptune profile API is the index operations:

Index Operations ================ Query execution: # of statement index ops: 23191 # of unique statement index ops: 5960 Duplication ratio: 3.89 # of terms materialized: 0

These report:

  • The total number of index lookups.

  • The number of unique index lookups performed.

  • The ratio of total index lookups to unique ones. A lower ratio indicates less redundancy.

  • The number of terms materialized from the term dictionary.

Repeat metrics in Neptune profile API output

If your traversal uses a repeat() step as in the example above, then a section containing repeat metrics appears in the profile output:

Repeat Metrics ============== Iteration Visited Output Until Emit Next ------------------------------------------------------ 0 2 0 0 0 2 1 53 0 0 0 53 2 3856 3856 3856 0 0 ------------------------------------------------------ 3911 3856 3856 0 55

These report:

  • The loop count for a row (the Iteration column).

  • The number of elements visited by the loop (the Visited column).

  • The number of elements output by the loop (the Output column).

  • The last element output by the loop (the Until column).

  • The number of elements emitted by the loop (the Emit column).

  • The number of elements passed from the loop to the subsequent loop (the Next column).

These repeat metrics are very helpful in understanding the branching factor of your traversal, to get a feeling for how much work is being done by the database. You can use these numbers to diagnose performance problems, especially when the same traversal performs dramatically differently with different parameters.

Full-text search metrics in Neptune profile API output

When a traversal uses a full-text search lookup, as in the example above, then a section containing the full-text search (FTS) metrics appears in the profile output:

FTS Metrics ============== SearchNode[(idVar=?1, query=Anchora~, field=city) . project ?1 .], {endpoint=your-OpenSearch-endpoint-URL, incomingSolutionsThreshold=1000, estimatedCardinality=INFINITY, remoteCallTimeSummary=[total=65, avg=32.500000, max=37, min=28], remoteCallTime=65, remoteCalls=2, joinTime=0, indexTime=0, remoteResults=2} 2 result(s) produced from SearchNode above

This shows the query sent to the ElasticSearch (ES) cluster and reports several metrics about the interaction with ElasticSearch that can help you pinpoint performance problems relating to full-text search:

  • Summary information about the calls into the ElasticSearch index:

    • The total number of milliseconds required by all remoteCalls to satisfy the query (total).

    • The average number of milliseconds spent in a remoteCall (avg).

    • The minimum number of milliseconds spent in a remoteCall (min).

    • The maximum number of milliseconds spent in a remoteCall (max).

  • Total time consumed by remoteCalls to ElasticSearch (remoteCallTime).

  • The number of remoteCalls made to ElasticSearch (remoteCalls).

  • The number of milliseconds spent in joins of ElasticSearch results (joinTime).

  • The number of milliseconds spent in index lookups (indexTime).

  • The total number of results returned by ElasticSearch (remoteResults).

使用 explain 和 profile 调整 Gremlin 查询 - Amazon Neptune
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

使用 explainprofile 调整 Gremlin 查询

您通常可以在 Amazon Neptune 中使用从 Neptune ExplainProfile API 获得的报告中提供的信息,调整您的 Gremlin 查询以获得更好的性能。为此,了解 Neptune 如何处理 Gremlin 遍历会有所帮助。

重要

3.4.11 TinkerPop 版本中进行了更改,提高了查询处理方式的正确性,但目前有时会严重影响查询性能。

例如,这种查询的运行速度可能会慢得多:

g.V().hasLabel('airport'). order(). by(out().count(),desc). limit(10). out()

由于 3.4.11 的更改,极限步骤之后的顶点现在以非最佳方式获取。 TinkerPop 为避免这种情况,您可以通过在 order().by() 之后的任何点添加 barrier() 步骤来修改查询。例如:

g.V().hasLabel('airport'). order(). by(out().count(),desc). limit(10). barrier(). out()

TinkerPop 3.4.11 已在 Neptune 引擎版本 1.0.5.0 中启用。

了解 Neptune 中的 Gremlin 遍历处理

当 Gremlin 遍历发送到 Neptune 时,有三个主要过程可将遍历转换为底层执行计划供引擎执行。它们是解析、转换和优化:

3 个进程将 Gremlin 查询转换为执行计划。

遍历解析过程

处理遍历的第一步是将其解析为通用语言。在 Neptune 中,通用语言是 API 中的一组 TinkerPop 步骤。TinkerPop这些步骤中的每一个都代表遍历中的一个计算单位。

您可以将 Gremlin 遍历以字符串或字节码的形式发送给 Neptune。REST 端点和 Java 客户端驱动程序 submit() 方法以字符串形式发送遍历,如下例所示:

client.submit("g.V()")

使用 Gremlin 语言变体 (GLV) 的应用程序和语言驱动程序以字节码发送遍历。

遍历转换过程

处理遍历的第二步是将其步长转换为一组已转换和未转换的 Neptune TinkerPop 步长。Apache TinkerPop Gremlin 查询语言中的大多数步骤都转换为特定于海王星的步骤,这些步骤经过优化,可在底层 Neptune 引擎上运行。当在遍历中遇到没有 Neptune 等效项的 TinkerPop 步骤时,查询引擎会处理该步骤和遍历中的所有后续步骤。 TinkerPop

有关在什么情况下可以转换哪些步骤的更多信息,请参阅Gremlin 步骤支持

遍历优化过程

遍历处理的最后一步是通过优化器运行一系列已转换和未转换的步骤,以尝试确定最佳的执行计划。此优化的输出是 Neptune 引擎处理的执行计划。

使用 Neptune Gremlin explain API 调整查询

Neptune Explain API 与 Gremlin explain() 步骤不同。它返回 Neptune 引擎在执行查询时将处理的最终执行计划。由于它不执行任何处理,因此无论使用什么参数,它都会返回相同的计划,并且其输出不包含有关实际执行的统计数据。

考虑以下简单的遍历,它可以找到安克雷奇的所有机场顶点:

g.V().has('code','ANC')

有两种方法可以通过 Neptune explain API 运行此遍历。第一种方法是对 Explain 端点进行 REST 调用,如下所示:

curl -X POST https://your-neptune-endpoint:port/gremlin/explain -d '{"gremlin":"g.V().has('code','ANC')"}'

第二种方法是将 Neptune Workbench 的 %%gremlin 单元格魔术命令与 explain 参数结合使用。这会将单元格正文中包含的遍历传递给 Neptune explain API,然后在运行单元格时显示结果输出:

%%gremlin explain g.V().has('code','ANC')

生成的 explain API 输出描述了 Neptune 的遍历执行计划。如下图所示,该计划包括处理管道中 3 个步骤的每一个步骤:

简单 Gremlin 遍历的 Explain API 输出。

通过查看未转换的步骤来调整遍历

在 Neptune explain API 输出中首先要查找的内容之一是未转换为 Neptune 原生步骤的 Gremlin 步骤。在查询计划中,当遇到无法转换为 Neptune 原生步骤的步骤时,该步骤和计划中的所有后续步骤都将由 Gremlin 服务器处理。

在上述示例中,遍历中的所有步骤均已转换。让我们来看看这个遍历的 explain API 输出:

g.V().has('code','ANC').out().choose(hasLabel('airport'), values('code'), constant('Not an airport'))

如下图所示,Neptune 无法转换 choose() 步骤:

并非所有步骤都可以转换的 Explain API 输出。

您可以执行几项操作以优化遍历的性能。第一种方法是重写它,以消除无法转换的步骤。另一种方法是将该步骤移到遍历的末尾,这样所有其它步骤都可以转换为原生步骤。

包含未转换的步骤的查询计划并不总是需要调整。如果无法转换的步骤位于遍历的末尾,并且与输出的格式化方式有关,而不是与图型的遍历方式有关,那么它们可能对性能影响不大。

在检查 Neptune explain API 的输出时,要注意的另一件事是不使用索引的步骤。以下遍历查找航班降落在安克雷奇的所有机场:

g.V().has('code','ANC').in().values('code')

此遍历的 Explain API 的输出是:

******************************************************* Neptune Gremlin Explain ******************************************************* Query String ============ g.V().has('code','ANC').in().values('code') Original Traversal ================== [GraphStep(vertex,[]), HasStep([code.eq(ANC)]), VertexStep(IN,vertex), PropertiesStep([code],value)] Converted Traversal =================== Neptune steps: [ NeptuneGraphQueryStep(PropertyValue) { JoinGroupNode { PatternNode[(?1, <~label>, ?2, <~>) . project distinct ?1 .] PatternNode[(?1, <code>, "ANC", ?) . project ask .] PatternNode[(?3, ?5, ?1, ?6) . project ?1,?3 . IsEdgeIdFilter(?6) .] PatternNode[(?3, <~label>, ?4, <~>) . project ask .] PatternNode[(?3, ?7, ?8, <~>) . project ?3,?8 . ContainsFilter(?7 in (<code>)) .] }, annotations={path=[Vertex(?1):GraphStep, Vertex(?3):VertexStep, PropertyValue(?8):PropertiesStep], maxVarId=9} }, NeptuneTraverserConverterStep ] Optimized Traversal =================== Neptune steps: [ NeptuneGraphQueryStep(PropertyValue) { JoinGroupNode { PatternNode[(?1, <code>, "ANC", ?) . project ?1 .], {estimatedCardinality=1} PatternNode[(?3, ?5, ?1, ?6) . project ?1,?3 . IsEdgeIdFilter(?6) .], {estimatedCardinality=INFINITY} PatternNode[(?3, ?7=<code>, ?8, <~>) . project ?3,?8 .], {estimatedCardinality=7564} }, annotations={path=[Vertex(?1):GraphStep, Vertex(?3):VertexStep, PropertyValue(?8):PropertiesStep], maxVarId=9} }, NeptuneTraverserConverterStep ] Predicates ========== # of predicates: 26 WARNING: reverse traversal with no edge label(s) - .in() / .both() may impact query performance

输出底部的 WARNING 消息之所以出现,是因为无法使用 Neptune 维护的 3 个索引之一来处理遍历中的 in() 步骤(请参阅如何在 Neptune 中为语句编制索引Neptune 中的 Gremlin 语句)。由于 in() 步骤不包含边缘筛选条件,因此它无法使用 SPOGPOGSGPSO 索引对其进行解析。相反,Neptune 必须执行联合扫描才能找到请求的顶点,但效率要低得多。

在这种情况下,可通过两种方法来调整遍历。第一种方法是在 in() 步骤中添加一个或多个筛选条件,以便可以使用索引查找来解析查询。对于上面的示例,这可能是:

g.V().has('code','ANC').in('route').values('code')

修改后的遍历的 Neptune explain API 的输出不再包含 WARNING 消息:

******************************************************* Neptune Gremlin Explain ******************************************************* Query String ============ g.V().has('code','ANC').in('route').values('code') Original Traversal ================== [GraphStep(vertex,[]), HasStep([code.eq(ANC)]), VertexStep(IN,[route],vertex), PropertiesStep([code],value)] Converted Traversal =================== Neptune steps: [ NeptuneGraphQueryStep(PropertyValue) { JoinGroupNode { PatternNode[(?1, <~label>, ?2, <~>) . project distinct ?1 .] PatternNode[(?1, <code>, "ANC", ?) . project ask .] PatternNode[(?3, ?5, ?1, ?6) . project ?1,?3 . IsEdgeIdFilter(?6) . ContainsFilter(?5 in (<route>)) .] PatternNode[(?3, <~label>, ?4, <~>) . project ask .] PatternNode[(?3, ?7, ?8, <~>) . project ?3,?8 . ContainsFilter(?7 in (<code>)) .] }, annotations={path=[Vertex(?1):GraphStep, Vertex(?3):VertexStep, PropertyValue(?8):PropertiesStep], maxVarId=9} }, NeptuneTraverserConverterStep ] Optimized Traversal =================== Neptune steps: [ NeptuneGraphQueryStep(PropertyValue) { JoinGroupNode { PatternNode[(?1, <code>, "ANC", ?) . project ?1 .], {estimatedCardinality=1} PatternNode[(?3, ?5=<route>, ?1, ?6) . project ?1,?3 . IsEdgeIdFilter(?6) .], {estimatedCardinality=32042} PatternNode[(?3, ?7=<code>, ?8, <~>) . project ?3,?8 .], {estimatedCardinality=7564} }, annotations={path=[Vertex(?1):GraphStep, Vertex(?3):VertexStep, PropertyValue(?8):PropertiesStep], maxVarId=9} }, NeptuneTraverserConverterStep ] Predicates ========== # of predicates: 26

如果您正在运行许多此类遍历,另一种选择是在启用了可选 OSGP 索引的 Neptune 数据库集群中运行它们(请参阅启用 OSGP 索引)。启用 OSGP 索引具有缺点:

  • 在加载任何数据之前,必须在数据库集群中启用它。

  • 顶点和边缘的插入速率可减慢多达 23%。

  • 存储使用量将增加大约 20%。

  • 将请求分散到所有索引上的读取查询可能会增加了延迟。

对于一组受限的查询模式来说,拥有 OSGP 索引很有意义,但除非您经常运行这些模式,否则通常最好尽量确保可以使用三个主索引解析您编写的遍历。

使用大量谓词

Neptune 将图形中的每个边缘标签和每个不同的顶点或边缘属性名称视为谓词,并且默认设计为使用相对较少的不同谓词。当您的图形数据中有超过几千个谓词时,性能可能会降低。

如果是这样的话,Neptune explain 输出会警告您:

Predicates ========== # of predicates: 9549 WARNING: high predicate count (# of distinct property names and edge labels)

如果不方便重新设计数据模型以减少标签和属性的数量,从而减少谓词的数量,那么调整遍历的最佳方法是在启用了 OSGP 索引的数据库集群中运行遍历,如上所述。

使用 Neptune Gremlin profile API 调整遍历

Neptune profile API 与 Gremlin profile() 步骤有很大不同。与 explain API 一样,它的输出包括 Neptune 引擎在执行遍历时使用的查询计划。此外,根据设置遍历的参数的方式,profile 输出还包括遍历的实际执行统计数据。

再次以找到安克雷奇所有机场顶点的简单遍历为例:

g.V().has('code','ANC')

explain API 一样,您可以使用 REST 调用来调用 profile API:

curl -X POST https://your-neptune-endpoint:port/gremlin/profile -d '{"gremlin":"g.V().has('code','ANC')"}'

还可以将 Neptune Workbench 的 %%gremlin 单元格魔术命令与 profile 参数结合使用。这会将单元格正文中包含的遍历传递给 Neptune profile API,然后在运行单元格时显示结果输出:

%%gremlin profile g.V().has('code','ANC')

生成的 profile API 输出包含 Neptune 的遍历执行计划和有关计划执行的统计数据,如下图所示:

Neptune profile API 输出的示例。

profile 输出中,执行计划部分仅包含遍历的最终执行计划,不包含中间步骤。管道部分包含已执行的物理管道操作以及遍历执行所花费的实际时间(以毫秒为单位)。运行时系统指标对于比较两个不同版本的遍历在优化时所花费的时间非常有用。

注意

遍历的初始运行时间通常比后续运行时更长,因为第一个遍历会导致相关数据被缓存。

profile 输出的第三部分包含执行统计数据和遍历的结果。要了解这些信息在调整遍历时有何用处,可以考虑以下遍历,它可以找到名称以“Anchora”开头的每个机场,以及从这些机场转乘两次即可到达的所有机场,同时返回机场代码、航班线路和距离:

%%gremlin profile g.withSideEffect("Neptune#fts.endpoint", "{your-OpenSearch-endpoint-URL"). V().has("city", "Neptune#fts Anchora~"). repeat(outE('route').inV().simplePath()).times(2). project('Destination', 'Route'). by('code'). by(path().by('code').by('dist'))

Neptune profile API 输出中的遍历指标

所有 profile 输出中可用的第一组指标是遍历指标。这些指标与 Gremlin profile() 步骤指标类似,但有一些区别:

Traversal Metrics ================= Step Count Traversers Time (ms) % Dur ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- NeptuneGraphQueryStep(Vertex) 3856 3856 91.701 9.09 NeptuneTraverserConverterStep 3856 3856 38.787 3.84 ProjectStep([Destination, Route],[value(code), ... 3856 3856 878.786 87.07 PathStep([value(code), value(dist)]) 3856 3856 601.359 >TOTAL - - 1009.274 -

遍历指标表的第一列列出了遍历执行的步骤。前两个步骤通常是 Neptune 特定的步骤 NeptuneGraphQueryStepNeptuneTraverserConverterStep

NeptuneGraphQueryStep 表示可以由 Neptune 引擎在原生环境中转换和执行的整个遍历部分的执行时间。

NeptuneTraverserConverterStep表示将这些已转换步骤的输出转换为 TinkerPop 遍历器的过程,遍历器允许处理无法转换的步骤(如果有),或者以兼容的格式返回结果。 TinkerPop

在上面的示例中,我们有几个未转换的步骤,因此我们看到每个 TinkerPop 步骤 (ProjectStep,PathStep) 随后在表中都显示为一行。

表中的第二列报告通过该步骤的表示遍历器的数量,而第三列报告通过该步骤的遍历器数量,如配置步骤文档中所TinkerPop述。CountTraversers

在我们的示例中,NeptuneGraphQueryStep 返回了 3856 个顶点和 3856 个遍历器,在剩下的处理过程中,这些数字保持不变,因为 ProjectStepPathStep 正在格式化结果,而不是筛选结果。

注意

与之不同的是 TinkerPop,Neptune 引擎不会通过增加和步数来优化性能。NeptuneGraphQueryStep NeptuneTraverserConverterStepBulking 是一种将遍历器组合在同一个顶点上以减少操作开销的 TinkerPop操作,这就是导致和数字出现差异的原因。Count Traversers由于批量仅发生在 Neptune 委托 TinkerPop给的步骤中,而不发生在 Neptune 本机处理的步骤中,因此和列很少有区别。Count Traverser

“时间”列报告该步骤所花费的毫秒数,而 % Dur 列报告该步骤占总处理时间的百分比。这些指标通过显示花费时间最多的步骤来告诉您调整工作要集中在哪里。

Neptune profile API 输出中的索引操作指标

Neptune Profile API 输出中的另一组指标是索引操作:

Index Operations ================ Query execution: # of statement index ops: 23191 # of unique statement index ops: 5960 Duplication ratio: 3.89 # of terms materialized: 0

它们报告:

  • 索引查找的总数。

  • 执行的唯一索引查找的次数。

  • 索引查找总数与唯一索引查找次数的比率。比率越低,表示冗余越少。

  • 从术语词典中具体化的术语数量。

Neptune profile API 输出中的重复指标

如果您的遍历使用如上例所示的 repeat() 步骤,则 profile 输出中将显示包含重复指标的部分:

Repeat Metrics ============== Iteration Visited Output Until Emit Next ------------------------------------------------------ 0 2 0 0 0 2 1 53 0 0 0 53 2 3856 3856 3856 0 0 ------------------------------------------------------ 3911 3856 3856 0 55

它们报告:

  • 一行的循环次数(Iteration 列)。

  • 循环访问的元素数量(Visited 列)。

  • 循环输出的元素数量(Output 列)。

  • 循环输出的最后一个元素(Until 列)。

  • 循环发出的元素数量(Emit 列)。

  • 从循环传递到后续循环的元素数量(Next 列)。

这些重复指标对于了解遍历的分支因子非常有帮助,以了解数据库完成了多少工作。您可以使用这些数字来诊断性能问题,尤其是当同一个遍历在不同的参数下性能大相径庭时。

Neptune profile API 输出中的全文搜索指标

当遍历使用全文搜索查找时(如上例所示),profile 输出中会出现一个包含全文搜索 (FTS) 指标的部分:

FTS Metrics ============== SearchNode[(idVar=?1, query=Anchora~, field=city) . project ?1 .], {endpoint=your-OpenSearch-endpoint-URL, incomingSolutionsThreshold=1000, estimatedCardinality=INFINITY, remoteCallTimeSummary=[total=65, avg=32.500000, max=37, min=28], remoteCallTime=65, remoteCalls=2, joinTime=0, indexTime=0, remoteResults=2} 2 result(s) produced from SearchNode above

这显示了发送到 ElasticSearch (ES) 集群的查询,并报告了与之交互的几个指标 ElasticSearch ,这些指标可以帮助您查明与全文搜索相关的性能问题:

  • 有关 ElasticSearch 索引调用的摘要信息:

    • 所有 remoteCall 满足查询所需的总毫秒数 (total)。

    • 在一个 remoteCall 中花费的平均毫秒数 (avg)。

    • 在一个 remoteCall 中花费的最小毫秒数 (min)。

    • 在一个 remoteCall 中花费的最大毫秒数 (max)。

  • 远程调用 ElasticSearch () remoteCallTime 所消耗的总时间。

  • 向 ElasticSearch () remoteCalls 发出的远程呼叫数。

  • ElasticSearch 结果联接所花费的毫秒数 ()。joinTime

  • 在索引查找中花费的毫秒数 (indexTime)。

  • ElasticSearch (remoteResults) 返回的结果总数。