Custom model development in Neptune ML - Amazon Neptune
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Custom model development in Neptune ML

A good way to start custom model development is by following Neptune ML toolkit examples to structure and write your training module. The Neptune ML toolkit also implements modularized graph ML model components in the modelzoo that you can stack and use to create your custom model.

In addition, the toolkit provides utility functions that help you generate the necessary artifacts during model training and model transform. You can import this Python package in your custom implementation. Any functions or modules provided in the toolkit are also available in the Neptune ML training environment.

If your Python module has additional external dependencies, you can include these additional dependencies by creating a requirements.txt file in your module's directory. The packages listed in the requirements.txt file will then be installed before your training script is run.

At a minimum, the Python module that implements your custom model needs to contain the following:

  • A training script entry point

  • A transform script entry point

  • A model-hpo-configuration.json file

Custom model training script development in Neptune ML

Your custom model training script should be an executable Python script like the Neptune ML toolkit's train.py example. It must accept hyperparameter names and values as command-line arguments. During model training, the hyperparameter names are obtained from the model-hpo-configuration.json file. The hyperparameter values either fall within the valid hyperparameter range if the hyperparameter is tunable, or take the default hyperparameter value if it is not tunable.

Your training script is run on a SageMaker training instance using a syntax like this:

python3 (script entry point) --(1st parameter) (1st value) --(2nd parameter) (2nd value) (...)

For all tasks, the Neptune ML AutoTrainer sends several required parameters to your training script in addition to the hyperparameters that you specify, and your script must be able to handle these additional parameters in order to work properly.

These additional required parameters vary somewhat by task:

For node classification or node regression

  • task   –   The task type used internally by Neptune ML. For node classification this is node_class, and for node regression it is node_regression.

  • model   –   The model name used internally by Neptune ML, which is custom in this case.

  • name   –   The name of the task used internally by Neptune ML, which is node_class-custom for node classification in this case, and node_regression-custom for node regression.

  • target_ntype   –   The name of the node type for classification or regression.

  • property   –   The name of the node property for classification or regression.

For link prediction

  • task   –   The task type used internally by Neptune ML. For link prediction, this is link_predict.

  • model   –   The model name used internally by Neptune ML, which is custom in this case.

  • name   –   The name of the task used internally by Neptune ML, which is link_predict-custom in this case.

For edge classification or edge regression

  • task   –   The task type used internally by Neptune ML. For edge classification this is edge_class, and for edge regression it is edge_regression.

  • model   –   The model name used internally by Neptune ML, which is custom in this case.

  • name   –   The name of the task used internally by Neptune ML, which is edge_class-custom for edge classification in this case, and edge_regression-custom for edge regression.

  • target_etype   –   The name of the edge type for classification or regression.

  • property   –   The name of the edge property for classification or regression.

Your script should save the model parameters, as well as any other artifacts that will be needed to at the end of training.

You can use Neptune ML toolkit utility functions to determine the location of the processed graph data, the location where the model parameters should be saved, and what GPU devices are available on the training instance. See the train.py sample training script for examples of how to use these utility functions.

Custom model transform script development in Neptune ML

A transform script is needed to take advantage of the Neptune ML incremental workflow for model inference on evolving graphs without retraining the model. Even if all the artifacts necessary for model deployment are generated by the training script, you still need to provide a transform script if you want to generate updated models without retraining the model.

Your custom model transform script should be an executable Python script like the Neptune ML toolkit's transform.py example script. Because this script is invoked during model training with no command line arguments, any command line arguments that the script does accept must have defaults.

The script runs on a SageMaker training instance with a syntax like this:

python3 (your transform script entry point)

Your transform script will need various pieces of information, such as:

  • The location of the processed graph data.

  • The location where the model parameters are saved and where new model artifacts should be saved.

  • The devices available on the instance.

  • The hyperparameters that generated the best model.

These inputs are obtained using Neptune ML utility functions that your script can call. See the toolkit's sample transform.py script for examples of how to do that.

The script should save the node embeddings, node ID mappings, and any other artifacts necessary for model deployment for each task. See the model artifacts documentation for more information about the model artifacts required for different Neptune ML tasks.

Custom model-hpo-configuration.json file in Neptune ML

The model-hpo-configuration.json file defines hyperparameters for your custom model. It is in the same format as the model-hpo-configuration.json file used with the Neptune ML built-in models, and takes precedence over the version that is auto-generated by Neptune ML and uploaded to the location of your processed data.

When you add a new hyperparameter to your model, you must also add an entry for the hyperparameter in this file so that the hyperparameter is passed to your training script.

You must provide a range for a hyperparameter if you want it to be tunable, and set it as a tier-1, tier-2, or tier-3 param. The hyperparameter will be tuned if the total number of training jobs configured allow for tuning hyperparameters in its tier. For a non-tunable parameter, you must provide a default value and add the hyperparameter to the fixed-param section of the file. See the toolkit's sample sample model-hpo-configuration.json file for an example of how to do that.

You must also provide the metric definition that the SageMaker HyperParameter Optimization job will use to evaluate the candidate models trained. To do this, you add an eval_metric JSON object to the model-hpo-configuration.json file like this:

"eval_metric": { "tuning_objective": { "MetricName": "(metric_name)", "Type": "Maximize" }, "metric_definitions": [ { "Name": "(metric_name)", "Regex": "(metric regular expression)" } ] },

The metric_definitions array in the eval_metric object lists metric definition objects for each metric that you want SageMaker to extract from the training instance. Each metric definition object has a Name key that lets you provide a name for the metric (such as "accuracy", "f1", and so on) The Regex key lets you provide a regular expression string that matches how that particular metric is printed in the training logs. See the SageMaker HyperParameter Tuning page for more details on how to define metrics.

The tuning_objective object in eval_metric then allows you to specify which of the metrics in metric_definitions should be used as the evaluation metric that serves as the objective metric for hyperparameter optimization. The value for the MetricName must match the value of a Name in one of the definitions in metric_definitions. The value for Type should be either "Maximize" or "Minimize" depending on whether the metric should be interpreted as greater-is-better (like "accuracy") or less-is-better (like "mean-squared-error".

Errors in this section of the model-hpo-configuration.json file can result in failures of the Neptune ML model training API job, because the SageMaker HyperParameter Tuning job will not be able to select the best model.

Local testing of your custom model implementation in Neptune ML

You can use the Neptune ML toolkit Conda environment to run your code locally in order to test and validate your model. If you're developing on a Neptune Notebook instance, then this Conda environment will be pre-installed on the Neptune Notebook instance. If you’re developing on a different instance, then you need to follow the local setup instructions in the Neptune ML toolkit.

The Conda environment accurately reproduces the environment where your model will run when you call the model training API. All of the example training scripts and transform scripts allow you to pass a command line --local flag to run the scripts in a local environment for easy debugging. This is a good practice while developing your own model because it allows you to interactively and iteratively test your model implementation. During model training in the Neptune ML production training environment, this parameter is omitted.

Neptune ML 中的自定义模型开发 - Amazon Neptune
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

Neptune ML 中的自定义模型开发

开始自定义模型开发的好方法是遵循Neptune ML 工具包示例来构建和编写你的训练模块。Neptune ML 工具包还在模型动物园你可以堆叠并使用它来创建自定义模型。

此外,该工具包还提供了实用程序功能,可帮助您在模型训练和模型转换期间生成必要的工件。你可以在自定义实现中导入此 Python 软件包。该工具包中提供的任何功能或模块也可以在 Neptune ML 训练环境中使用。

如果你的 Python 模块有其他外部依赖关系,你可以通过创建requirements.txt文件在模块的目录中。中列出的软件包requirements.txt然后,将在训练脚本运行之前安装文件。

至少,实现自定义模型的 Python 模块需要包含以下内容:

  • 训练脚本入口点

  • 转换脚本入口点

  • 一个 model-hpo-configuration.json 文件

Neptune ML 中的自定义模型训练脚本开发

你的自定义模型训练脚本应该是像 Neptune ML 工具包那样的可执行 Python 脚本train.py示例。它必须接受超参数名称和值作为命令行参数。在模型训练期间,超参数名称是从model-hpo-configuration.json文件。如果超参数可调,则超参数值将在有效的超参数范围内;如果超参数值不可调,则使用默认超参数值。

您的训练脚本使用如下语法在 SageMaker 训练实例上运行:

python3 (script entry point) --(1st parameter) (1st value) --(2nd parameter) (2nd value) (...)

对于所有任务,Neptune ML AutoTrainer 除了指定的超参数之外,还会向训练脚本发送几个必需的参数,并且脚本必须能够处理这些附加参数才能正常工作。

这些其他必需参数因任务而有所不同:

用于节点分类或节点回归

  • task— Neptune ML 内部使用的任务类型。对于节点分类,这是node_class,对于节点回归来说,这是node_regression.

  • model— Neptune ML 内部使用的型号名称,即custom在本例中为。

  • name— Neptune ML 内部使用的任务的名称,即node_class-custom在这种情况下对于节点分类,以及node_regression-custom对于节点回归。

  • target_ntype— 用于分类或回归的节点类型的名称。

  • property— 用于分类或回归的节点属性的名称。

对于链接预测

  • task— Neptune ML 内部使用的任务类型。对于链接预测,这是link_predict.

  • model— Neptune ML 内部使用的型号名称,即custom在本例中为。

  • name— Neptune ML 内部使用的任务的名称,即link_predict-custom在本例中为。

用于边缘分类或边缘回归

  • task— Neptune ML 内部使用的任务类型。对于边缘分类,这是edge_class,对于边缘回归来说,这是edge_regression.

  • model— Neptune ML 内部使用的型号名称,即custom在本例中为。

  • name— Neptune ML 内部使用的任务的名称,即edge_class-custom在这种情况下对于边缘分类,以及edge_regression-custom用于边缘回归。

  • target_etype— 用于分类或回归的边类型的名称。

  • property— 用于分类或回归的 edge 属性的名称。

您的脚本应该保存模型参数以及训练结束时需要的任何其他工件。

您可以使用 Neptune ML 工具包实用程序函数来确定处理的图形数据的位置、模型参数的保存位置以及训练实例上可用的 GPU 设备。请参阅train.py示例训练脚本,了解如何使用这些实用程序函数的示例。

Neptune ML 中的自定义模型转换脚本开发

需要转换脚本来利用 Neptune ML增量工作流在不重新训练模型的情况下,对不断演变的图形进行模型推 即使模型部署所需的所有工件都是由训练脚本生成的,如果要在不重新训练模型的情况下生成更新的模型,您仍需要提供转换脚本。

你的自定义模型转换脚本应该是像 Neptune ML 工具包那样的可执行 Python 脚本transform.py示例脚本。由于此脚本是在模型训练期间调用的,没有命令行参数,因此脚本确实接受的任何命令行参数都必须具有默认值。

该脚本在 SageMaker 训练实例上运行,语法如下:

python3 (your transform script entry point)

你的转换脚本将需要各种信息,例如:

  • 处理的图形数据的位置。

  • 模型参数的保存位置以及应保存新模型对象的位置。

  • 实例上可用的设备。

  • 生成最佳模型的超参数。

这些输入是使用你的脚本可以调用的 Neptune ML 实用程序函数获得的。查看工具包的示例transform.py有关如何执行此操作的示例脚本。

脚本应保存节点嵌入、节点 ID 映射以及每个任务的模型部署所需的任何其他工件。请参阅模型工件文档了解有关不同 Neptune ML 任务所需的模型工件的更多信息。

Custom (自定义)model-hpo-configuration.json在 Neptune ML 中提交文件

这些区域有:model-hpo-configuration.jsonfile 为自定义模型定义了超参数。它是一样的格式作为model-hpo-configuration.json文件与 Neptune ML 内置模型一起使用,优先于 Neptune ML 自动生成并上传到处理数据位置的版本。

向模型添加新的超参数时,还必须在此文件中为超参数添加一个条目,以便将超参数传递给训练脚本。

如果希望超参数可调,则必须为其提供范围,然后将其设置为tier-1tier-2,或者tier-3param。如果配置的训练作业总数允许调整其层中的超参数,则将调整超参数。对于不可调参数,必须提供默认值并将超参数添加到fixed-param文件的部分。查看工具包的示例样本model-hpo-configuration.json文件有关如何进行相关操作的示例。

您还必须提供指标定义,SageMaker HyperParameter 优化作业将用于评估训练的候选模型。为此,您可以添加eval_metric将 JSON 对象转换为model-hpo-configuration.json像这样的文件:

"eval_metric": { "tuning_objective": { "MetricName": "(metric_name)", "Type": "Maximize" }, "metric_definitions": [ { "Name": "(metric_name)", "Regex": "(metric regular expression)" } ] },

这些区域有:metric_definitions中的数组eval_metric对象列出了您希望 SageMaker 从训练实例中提取的每个指标的指标定义对象。每个指标定义对象都有Name键,允许您为指标提供名称(例如 “准确性”、“f1” 等)Regexkey 允许您提供一个正则表达式字符串,该字符串与训练日志中该特定指标的打印方式相匹配。请参阅SageMaker HyperParameter 调整页有关如何定义指标的更多详细信息。

这些区域有:tuning_objective中的对象eval_metric然后允许你指定哪些指标metric_definitions应用作作为超参数优化的客观指标的评估指标。的值MetricName必须与值匹配Name在中的一个定义中metric_definitions. 的值Type应该是 “最大化” 或 “最小化”,具体取决于指标是应被解释为 “越好”(如 “准确度”)还是 “小于好”(例如 “平均错误”)。

本节中的错误model-hpo-configuration.json文件可能会导致 Neptune ML 模型训练 API 作业失败,因为 SageMaker HyperParameter 调整作业将无法选择最佳模型。

在 Neptune ML 中对自定义模型实现进行本地测试

您可以使用 Neptune ML 工具包 Conda 环境在本地运行代码,以测试和验证模型。如果你在 Neptune 笔记本实例上开发,那么这个 Conda 环境将预先安装在 Neptune 笔记本实例上。如果你在不同的实例上开发,那么你需要遵循本地设置说明在 Neptune ML 工具包中。

Conda 环境准确地再现了当你调用时模型将运行的环境模型训练 API. 所有示例训练脚本和转换脚本都允许您传递命令行--local标志可在本地环境中运行脚本以便于调试。在开发自己的模型时,这是一个很好的做法,因为它允许您以交互式和迭代方式测试模型实现。在 Neptune ML 生产训练环境中进行模型训练期间,将省略此参数。