Index State Management in Amazon OpenSearch Service - Amazon OpenSearch Service (successor to Amazon Elasticsearch Service)
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Index State Management in Amazon OpenSearch Service

Index State Management (ISM) in Amazon OpenSearch Service lets you define custom management policies to automate routine tasks and apply them to indices and index patterns. You no longer need to set up and manage external processes to run your index operations.

A policy contains a default state and a list of states for the index to transition between. Within each state, you can define a list of actions to perform and conditions that trigger these transitions. A typical use case is to periodically delete old indices after a certain period of time. For example, you can define a policy that moves your index into a read_only state after 30 days and then ultimately deletes it after 90 days.

After you attach a policy to an index, ISM creates a job that runs every 30 to 48 minutes to perform policy actions, check conditions, and transition the index into different states. The base time for this job to run is every 30 minutes, plus a random 0-60% jitter is added to it to make sure you do not see a surge of activity from all your indices at the same time. ISM doesn't run jobs if the cluster state is red.

ISM requires OpenSearch or Elasticsearch 6.8 or later. Full documentation is available in the OpenSearch documentation.

Important

The policy_id setting for index templates is deprecated. You can no longer use index templates to apply ISM policies to newly created indices. You can continue to automatically manage newly created indices with the ISM template field. This update introduces a breaking change that affects existing CloudFormation templates using this setting.

Create an ISM policy

To get started with ISM, select Index Management from the OpenSearch Dashboards main menu and choose Create policy.

After you create a policy, the next step is to attach it to an index or indices:

POST _plugins/_ism/add/my-index { "policy_id": "my-policy-id" }

Alternatively, select the index in OpenSearch Dashboards and choose Apply policy.

Sample policies

The following sample policies demonstrate how to automate common ISM use cases.

Hot to warm to cold storage

This sample policy moves an index from hot storage to UltraWarm, and eventually to
 cold storage, then deletes the index.

The index is initially in the hot state. After ten days, ISM moves it
 to the warm state. 80 days later, after the index is 90 days old, ISM moves the index to the
 cold state. After a year, the service sends a notification to an Amazon Chime room that the index is being deleted and then permanently deletes it.

Note that cold indices require the cold_delete operation rather than the normal delete operation. Also note that an explicit timestamp_field is required in your data in order to manage cold indices with ISM.

{ "policy": { "description": "Demonstrate a hot-warm-cold-delete workflow.", "default_state": "hot", "schema_version": 1, "states": [{ "name": "hot", "actions": [], "transitions": [{ "state_name": "warm", "conditions": { "min_index_age": "10d" } }] }, { "name": "warm", "actions": [{ "warm_migration": {}, "retry": { "count": 5, "delay": "1h" } }], "transitions": [{ "state_name": "cold", "conditions": { "min_index_age": "90d" } }] }, { "name": "cold", "actions": [{ "cold_migration": { "timestamp_field": "@timestamp" } } ], "transitions": [{ "state_name": "delete", "conditions": { "min_index_age": "365d" } }] }, { "name": "delete", "actions": [{ "notification": { "destination": { "chime": { "url": "<URL>" } }, "message_template": { "source": "The index {{ctx.index}} is being deleted." } } }, { "cold_delete": {} }] } ] } }

Reduce replica count

This sample policy reduces replica count to zero after seven days to conserve disk space and then deletes the index after 21 days. This policy assumes your index is non-critical and no longer receiving write requests; having zero replicas carries some risk of data loss.

{ "policy": { "description": "Changes replica count and deletes.", "schema_version": 1, "default_state": "current", "states": [{ "name": "current", "actions": [], "transitions": [{ "state_name": "old", "conditions": { "min_index_age": "7d" } }] }, { "name": "old", "actions": [{ "replica_count": { "number_of_replicas": 0 } }], "transitions": [{ "state_name": "delete", "conditions": { "min_index_age": "21d" } }] }, { "name": "delete", "actions": [{ "delete": {} }], "transitions": [] } ] } }

Take an index snapshot

This sample policy uses the snapshot operation to take a snapshot of an index as soon as it contains at least one document. repository is the name of the manual snapshot repository you registered in Amazon S3. snapshot is the name of the snapshot. For snapshot prerequisites and steps to register a repository, see Creating index snapshots in Amazon OpenSearch Service.

{ "policy": { "description": "Takes an index snapshot.", "schema_version": 1, "default_state": "empty", "states": [{ "name": "empty", "actions": [], "transitions": [{ "state_name": "occupied", "conditions": { "min_doc_count": 1 } }] }, { "name": "occupied", "actions": [{ "snapshot": { "repository": "<my-repository>", "snapshot": "<my-snapshot>" } }], "transitions": [] } ] } }

ISM templates

You can set up an ism_template field in a policy so when you create an index that matches the template pattern, the policy is automatically attached to that index. In this example, any index you create with a name that begins with "log" is automatically matched to the ISM policy my-policy-id:

PUT _plugins/_ism/policies/my-policy-id { "policy": { "description": "Example policy.", "default_state": "...", "states": [...], "ism_template": { "index_patterns": ["log*"], "priority": 100 } } }

For a more detailed example, see Sample policy with ISM template.

Differences

Compared to OpenSearch and Elasticsearch, ISM for Amazon OpenSearch Service has several differences.

ISM operations

  • OpenSearch Service supports three unique ISM operations, warm_migration, cold_migration, and cold_delete.

    If your domain has UltraWarm enabled, the warm_migration action transitions the index to warm storage. Even if the warm_migration action doesn’t complete within the set timeout period, the migration to warm indices still continues.

    Setting an error_notifcation for the warm_migration action might notify you that the warm_migration action failed if it didn’t complete within the timeout period. This failed notification is only for your own reference. The actual warm migration operation has no inherent timeout and continues to run until it eventually succeeds or fails.

  • If your domain runs OpenSearch or Elasticsearch 7.4 or later, OpenSearch Service supports the ISM open and close operations.

  • If your domain runs OpenSearch or Elasticsearch 7.7 or later, OpenSearch Service supports the ISM snapshot operation.

Cold storage ISM operations

For cold indices, you must specify a ?type=_cold parameter when you use the following ISM APIs:

  • add policy

  • remove policy

  • change policy

  • retry failed managed index

  • explain index

These APIs for cold indices have the following additional differences:

  • Wildcard operators are not supported except when you use it at the end. For example, _plugins/_ism/<add, remove, change_policy, retry, explain>/logstash-* is supported but _plugins/_ism/<add, remove, change_policy, retry, explain>/iad-*-prod isn’t supported.

  • Multiple index names and patterns are not supported. For example, _plugins/_ism/<add, remove, change_policy, retry, explain>/app-logs is supported but _plugins/_ism/<add, remove, change_policy, retry, explain>/app-logs,sample-data isn’t supported.

ISM settings

OpenSearch and Elasticsearch let you change all available ISM settings using the _cluster/settings API. On Amazon OpenSearch Service, you can only change the following settings:

  • Cluster-level settings:

    • enabled

    • history.enabled

  • Index-level settings:

    • rollover_alias

Amazon OpenSearch Service 中的索引状态管理 - Amazon Opensearch Service
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

Amazon OpenSearch Service 中的索引状态管理

通过 Amazon OpenSearch Service 中的索引状态管理 (ISM),您可以定义自定义管理策略来自动执行日常任务,并将其应用于索引和索引模式。您不再需要设置和管理外部进程来运行索引操作。

策略包含一个默认状态和一个状态列表,以供索引在这些状态之间转换。在每个状态中,您可以定义要执行的一系列操作和触发这些转换的条件。典型的使用案例是在一段时间后定期删除旧索引。例如,您可以定义一个策略以在 30 天后将索引移入 read_only 状态,然后在 90 天后最终将其删除。

将策略附加到索引后,ISM 会创建一个每 30 到 48 分钟运行一次的作业,以执行策略操作、检查条件并将索引转换为不同的状态。该作业运行的基本时间是每 30 分钟一次,外加 0-60% 的随机抖动,以确保您不会同时看到所有索引的活动激增。如果集群状态为红色,则 ISM 不会运行作业。

ISM 需要 OpenSearch 或 Elasticsearch 6.8 或更高版本。可以在 OpenSearch 文档中找到完整文档。

重要

索引模板的 policy_id 设置已弃用。您不能再使用索引模板将 ISM 策略应用于新创建的索引。您可以继续使用 ISM 模板字段自动管理新创建的索引。此更新引入了使用此设置影响现有 CloudFormation 模板的重大更改。

创建一个 ISM 策略

要开始使用 ISM,请从“OpenSearch 控制面板”主菜单中选择索引管理,然后选择创建策略。您可以使用可视化编辑器JSON 编辑器创建策略。我们建议使用可视化编辑器,因为它提供了一种更结构化的策略定义方式。

创建策略后,下一步是将其附加到一个或多个索引:

POST _plugins/_ism/add/my-index { "policy_id": "my-policy-id" }

如果您的域名运行的是旧版 Elasticsearch 版本,请使用 _opendistro 而非 _plugins

或者,在 OpenSearch 控制面板中选择索引,然后选择应用策略

示例策略

以下示例策略演示了如何自动执行常见 ISM 使用案例。

从热存储到冷存储

此示例策略将索引从热存储移动到 UltraWarm,并最终移动到冷存储,然后删除索引。

索引最初处于 hot 状态。10 天后,ISM 将其移动到 warm 状态。80 天后,即索引已存在 90 天后,ISM 将索引移动到 cold 状态。一年后,该服务向 Amazon Chime 房间发送通知以告知该索引正在被删除,然后永久删除该索引。

请注意,冷索引需要 cold_delete 操作而不是正常的 delete 操作。另请注意,数据中需要显式 timestamp_field,以便使用 ISM 管理冷索引。

{ "policy": { "description": "Demonstrate a hot-warm-cold-delete workflow.", "default_state": "hot", "schema_version": 1, "states": [{ "name": "hot", "actions": [], "transitions": [{ "state_name": "warm", "conditions": { "min_index_age": "10d" } }] }, { "name": "warm", "actions": [{ "warm_migration": {}, "retry": { "count": 5, "delay": "1h" } }], "transitions": [{ "state_name": "cold", "conditions": { "min_index_age": "90d" } }] }, { "name": "cold", "actions": [{ "cold_migration": { "timestamp_field": "<your timestamp field>" } } ], "transitions": [{ "state_name": "delete", "conditions": { "min_index_age": "365d" } }] }, { "name": "delete", "actions": [{ "notification": { "destination": { "chime": { "url": "<URL>" } }, "message_template": { "source": "The index {{ctx.index}} is being deleted." } } }, { "cold_delete": {} }] } ] } }

减少副本数

此示例策略在七天后将副本计数减少到零以节省磁盘空间,然后在 21 天后删除索引。此策略假定索引是非关键索引,并不再接收写入请求。副本数量为零会带来一定的数据丢失风险。

{ "policy": { "description": "Changes replica count and deletes.", "schema_version": 1, "default_state": "current", "states": [{ "name": "current", "actions": [], "transitions": [{ "state_name": "old", "conditions": { "min_index_age": "7d" } }] }, { "name": "old", "actions": [{ "replica_count": { "number_of_replicas": 0 } }], "transitions": [{ "state_name": "delete", "conditions": { "min_index_age": "21d" } }] }, { "name": "delete", "actions": [{ "delete": {} }], "transitions": [] } ] } }

拍摄索引快照

此示例策略使用 snapshot 操作,以便在索引包含至少一个文档时立即拍摄该索引的快照。repository 是您在 Amazon S3 中注册的手动快照存储库的名称。snapshot 是快照的名称。有关注册存储库的快照先决条件和步骤,请参阅 在 Amazon OpenSearch Service 中创建索引快照

{ "policy": { "description": "Takes an index snapshot.", "schema_version": 1, "default_state": "empty", "states": [{ "name": "empty", "actions": [], "transitions": [{ "state_name": "occupied", "conditions": { "min_doc_count": 1 } }] }, { "name": "occupied", "actions": [{ "snapshot": { "repository": "<my-repository>", "snapshot": "<my-snapshot>" } }], "transitions": [] } ] } }

ISM 模板

您可以在策略中设置 ism_template 字段,因此当您创建与模板模式匹配的索引时,策略会自动附加到该索引。在此示例中,以 "log" 开头的名称创建的任何索引都会自动匹配 ISM 策略 my-policy-id

PUT _plugins/_ism/policies/my-policy-id { "policy": { "description": "Example policy.", "default_state": "...", "states": [...], "ism_template": { "index_patterns": ["log*"], "priority": 100 } } }

有关更详细的示例,请参阅具有 ISM 模板的策略示例

区别

与 OpenSearch 和 Elasticsearch 相比,用于 Amazon OpenSearch Service 的 ISM 有几个区别。

ISM 操作

  • OpenSearch Service 支持三种独特的 ISM 操作:warm_migrationcold_migrationcold_delete

    • 如果您的域启用了 UltraWarm,则 warm_migration 操作会将索引转换为温存储。

    • 如果您的域启用了冷存储,则 cold_migration 操作会将索引转换为冷存储,而 cold_delete 操作将从冷存储中删除此索引。

    即使这些操作中的其中一项操作未在设置的超时期限内完成,索引的迁移或删除仍会继续。为上述操作之一设置 error_notification 可能会通知您该操作如果未在超时期限内完成则会失败。此失败通知仅供您自己参考。实际操作没有固有的超时时间,并将继续运行直到最终成功或失败。

  • 如果您的域运行 OpenSearch 或 Elasticsearch 7.4 或更高版本,则 OpenSearch Service 支持 ISM openclose 操作。

  • 如果您的域运行 OpenSearch 或 Elasticsearch 7.7 或更高版本,则 OpenSearch Service 支持 ISM snapshot 操作。

冷存储 ISM 操作

对于冷索引,当您使用以下 ISM API 时,必须指定 ?type=_cold 参数:

  • 添加策略

  • 删除策略

  • 更改策略

  • 重试失败的托管索引

  • 解释索引

这些冷索引的 API 有以下附加区别:

  • 除非您在末尾使用,否则不支持通配符运算符。例如,支持 _plugins/_ism/<add, remove, change_policy, retry, explain>/logstash-*|,但不支持 _plugins/_ism/<add, remove, change_policy, retry, explain>/iad-*-prod

  • 不支持多个索引名称和模式。例如,支持 _plugins/_ism/<add, remove, change_policy, retry, explain>/app-logs|,但不支持 _plugins/_ism/<add, remove, change_policy, retry, explain>/app-logs,sample-data

ISM 设置

OpenSearch 和 Elasticsearch 让您可以使用 _cluster/settings API 更改所有可用的 ISM 设置。在 Amazon OpenSearch Service 上,您只能更改以下设置:

  • 集群级别设置:

    • enabled

    • history.enabled

  • 索引级别设置:

    • rollover_alias