UltraWarm storage for Amazon OpenSearch Service - Amazon OpenSearch Service (successor to Amazon Elasticsearch Service)
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

UltraWarm storage for Amazon OpenSearch Service

UltraWarm provides a cost-effective way to store large amounts of read-only data on Amazon OpenSearch Service. Standard data nodes use "hot" storage, which takes the form of instance stores or Amazon EBS volumes attached to each node. Hot storage provides the fastest possible performance for indexing and searching new data.

Rather than attached storage, UltraWarm nodes use Amazon S3 and a sophisticated caching solution to improve performance. For indices that you are not actively writing to, query less frequently, and don't need the same performance from, UltraWarm offers significantly lower costs per GiB of data. Because warm indices are read-only unless you return them to hot storage, UltraWarm is best-suited to immutable data, such as logs.

In OpenSearch, warm indices behave just like any other index. You can query them using the same APIs or use them to create visualizations in OpenSearch Dashboards.

Prerequisites

UltraWarm has a few important prerequisites:

  • UltraWarm requires OpenSearch or Elasticsearch 6.8 or higher.

  • To use warm storage, domains must have dedicated master nodes.

  • If your domain uses a T2 or T3 instance type for your data nodes, you can't use warm storage.

  • If the domain uses fine-grained access control, users must be mapped to the ultrawarm_manager role in OpenSearch Dashboards to make UltraWarm API calls.

Note

The ultrawarm_manager role might not be defined on some preexisting OpenSearch Service domains. If you don't see the role in Dashboards, you need to manually create it.

Configure permissions

If you enable UltraWarm on a preexisting OpenSearch Service domain, the ultrawarm_manager role might not be defined on the domain. Non-admin users must be mapped to this role in order to manage warm indices on domains using fine-grained access control. To manually create the ultrawarm_manager role, perform the following steps:

  1. In OpenSearch Dashboards, go to Security and choose Permissions.

  2. Choose Create action group and configure the following groups:

    Group name Permissions
    ultrawarm_cluster
    • cluster:admin/ultrawarm/migration/list

    • cluster:monitor/nodes/stats

    ultrawarm_index_read
    • indices:admin/ultrawarm/migration/get

    • indices:admin/get

    ultrawarm_index_write
    • indices:admin/ultrawarm/migration/warm

    • indices:admin/ultrawarm/migration/hot

    • indices:monitor/stats

    • indices:admin/ultrawarm/migration/cancel

  3. Choose Roles and Create role.

  4. Name the role ultrawarm_manager.

  5. For Cluster permissions, select ultrawarm_cluster and cluster_monitor.

  6. For Index, type *.

  7. For Index permissions, select ultrawarm_index_read, ultrawarm_index_write, and indices_monitor.

  8. Choose Create.

  9. After you create the role, map it to any user or backend role that will manage UltraWarm indices.

UltraWarm storage requirements and performance considerations

As covered in Calculating storage requirements, data in hot storage incurs significant overhead: replicas, Linux reserved space, and OpenSearch Service reserved space. For example, a 20 GiB primary shard with one replica shard requires roughly 53 GiB of hot storage.

Because it uses Amazon S3, UltraWarm incurs none of this overhead. When calculating UltraWarm storage requirements, you consider only the size of the primary shards. The durability of data in S3 removes the need for replicas, and S3 abstracts away any operating system or service considerations. That same 20 GiB shard requires 20 GiB of warm storage. If you provision an ultrawarm1.large.search instance, you can use all 20 TiB of its maximum storage for primary shards. See UltraWarm storage limits for a summary of instance types and the maximum amount of storage that each can address.

With UltraWarm, we still recommend a maximum shard size of 50 GiB. The number of CPU cores and amount of RAM allocated to each UltraWarm instance type gives you an idea of the number of shards they can simultaneously search. Note that while only primary shards count toward UltraWarm storage in S3, OpenSearch Dashboards and _cat/shards still report UltraWarm index size as the total of all primary and replica shards.

For example, each ultrawarm1.medium.search instance has two CPU cores and can address up to 1.5 TiB of storage on S3. Two of these instances have a combined 3 TiB of storage, which works out to approximately 62 shards if each shard is 50 GiB. If a request to the cluster only searches four of these shards, performance might be excellent. If the request is broad and searches all 62 of them, the four CPU cores might struggle to perform the operation. Monitor the WarmCPUUtilization and WarmJVMMemoryPressure UltraWarm metrics to understand how the instances handle your workloads.

If your searches are broad or frequent, consider leaving the indices in hot storage. Just like any other OpenSearch workload, the most important step to determining if UltraWarm meets your needs is to perform representative client testing using a realistic dataset.

UltraWarm pricing

With hot storage, you pay for what you provision. Some instances require an attached Amazon EBS volume, while others include an instance store. Whether that storage is empty or full, you pay the same price.

With UltraWarm storage, you pay for what you use. An ultrawarm1.large.search instance can address up to 20 TiB of storage on S3, but if you store only 1 TiB of data, you're only billed for 1 TiB of data. Like all other node types, you also pay an hourly rate for each UltraWarm node. For more information, see Pricing for Amazon OpenSearch Service.

Enabling UltraWarm

The console is the simplest way to create a domain that uses warm storage. While creating the domain, choose Enable UltraWarm data nodes and the number of warm nodes that you want. The same basic process works on existing domains, provided they meet the prerequisites. Even after the domain state changes from Processing to Active, UltraWarm might not be available to use for several hours.

You can also use the Amazon CLI or configuration API to enable UltraWarm, specifically the WarmEnabled, WarmCount, and WarmType options in ClusterConfig.

Note

Domains support a maximum number of warm nodes. For details, see Amazon OpenSearch Service limits.

Sample CLI command

The following Amazon CLI command creates a domain with three data nodes, three dedicated master nodes, six warm nodes, and fine-grained access control enabled:

aws opensearch create-domain \ --domain-name my-domain \ --engine-version Opensearch_1.0 \ --cluster-config InstanceCount=3,InstanceType=r6g.large.search,DedicatedMasterEnabled=true,DedicatedMasterType=r6g.large.search,DedicatedMasterCount=3,ZoneAwarenessEnabled=true,ZoneAwarenessConfig={AvailabilityZoneCount=3},WarmEnabled=true,WarmCount=6,WarmType=ultrawarm1.medium.search \ --ebs-options EBSEnabled=true,VolumeType=gp2,VolumeSize=11 \ --node-to-node-encryption-options Enabled=true \ --encryption-at-rest-options Enabled=true \ --domain-endpoint-options EnforceHTTPS=true,TLSSecurityPolicy=Policy-Min-TLS-1-2-2019-07 \ --advanced-security-options Enabled=true,InternalUserDatabaseEnabled=true,MasterUserOptions='{MasterUserName=master-user,MasterUserPassword=master-password}' \ --access-policies '{"Version":"2012-10-17","Statement":[{"Effect":"Allow","Principal":{"AWS":["123456789012"]},"Action":["es:*"],"Resource":"arn:aws:es:us-west-1:123456789012:domain/my-domain/*"}]}' \ --region us-east-1

For detailed information, see the Amazon CLI Command Reference.

Sample configuration API request

The following request to the configuration API creates a domain with three data nodes, three dedicated master nodes, and six warm nodes with fine-grained access control enabled and a restrictive access policy:

POST https://es.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/2021-01-01/opensearch/domain { "ClusterConfig": { "InstanceCount": 3, "InstanceType": "r6g.large.search", "DedicatedMasterEnabled": true, "DedicatedMasterType": "r6g.large.search", "DedicatedMasterCount": 3, "ZoneAwarenessEnabled": true, "ZoneAwarenessConfig": { "AvailabilityZoneCount": 3 }, "WarmEnabled": true, "WarmCount": 6, "WarmType": "ultrawarm1.medium.search" }, "EBSOptions": { "EBSEnabled": true, "VolumeType": "gp2", "VolumeSize": 11 }, "EncryptionAtRestOptions": { "Enabled": true }, "NodeToNodeEncryptionOptions": { "Enabled": true }, "DomainEndpointOptions": { "EnforceHTTPS": true, "TLSSecurityPolicy": "Policy-Min-TLS-1-2-2019-07" }, "AdvancedSecurityOptions": { "Enabled": true, "InternalUserDatabaseEnabled": true, "MasterUserOptions": { "MasterUserName": "master-user", "MasterUserPassword": "master-password" } }, "EngineVersion": "Opensearch_1.0", "DomainName": "my-domain", "AccessPolicies": "{\"Version\":\"2012-10-17\",\"Statement\":[{\"Effect\":\"Allow\",\"Principal\":{\"AWS\":[\"123456789012\"]},\"Action\":[\"es:*\"],\"Resource\":\"arn:aws:es:us-east-1:123456789012:domain/my-domain/*\"}]}" }

For detailed information, see Configuration API reference for Amazon OpenSearch Service.

Migrating indices to UltraWarm storage

If you finished writing to an index and no longer need the fastest possible search performance, migrate it from hot to warm:

POST _ultrawarm/migration/my-index/_warm

Then check the status of the migration:

GET _ultrawarm/migration/my-index/_status { "migration_status": { "index": "my-index", "state": "RUNNING_SHARD_RELOCATION", "migration_type": "HOT_TO_WARM", "shard_level_status": { "running": 0, "total": 5, "pending": 3, "failed": 0, "succeeded": 2 } } }

Index health must be green to perform a migration. If you migrate several indices in quick succession, you can get a summary of all migrations in plaintext, similar to the _cat API:

GET _ultrawarm/migration/_status?v index migration_type state my-index HOT_TO_WARM RUNNING_SHARD_RELOCATION

You can have up to 200 simultaneous migrations from hot to warm storage. To check the current number of migrations in the queue, monitor the HotToWarmMigrationQueueSize metric. Indices remain available throughout the migration process—no downtime.

The migration process has the following states:

PENDING_INCREMENTAL_SNAPSHOT RUNNING_INCREMENTAL_SNAPSHOT FAILED_INCREMENTAL_SNAPSHOT PENDING_FORCE_MERGE RUNNING_FORCE_MERGE FAILED_FORCE_MERGE PENDING_FULL_SNAPSHOT RUNNING_FULL_SNAPSHOT FAILED_FULL_SNAPSHOT PENDING_SHARD_RELOCATION RUNNING_SHARD_RELOCATION FINISHED_SHARD_RELOCATION

As these states indicate, migrations might fail during snapshots, shard relocations, or force merges. Failures during snapshots or shard relocation are typically due to node failures or S3 connectivity issues. Lack of disk space is usually the underlying cause of force merge failures.

After a migration finishes, the same _status request returns an error. If you check the index at that time, you can see some settings that are unique to warm indices:

GET my-index/_settings { "my-index": { "settings": { "index": { "refresh_interval": "-1", "auto_expand_replicas": "false", "provided_name": "my-index", "creation_date": "1599241458998", "unassigned": { "node_left": { "delayed_timeout": "5m" } }, "number_of_replicas": "1", "uuid": "GswyCdR0RSq0SJYmzsIpiw", "version": { "created": "7070099" }, "routing": { "allocation": { "require": { "box_type": "warm" } } }, "number_of_shards": "5", "merge": { "policy": { "max_merge_at_once_explicit": "50" } } } } } }
  • number_of_replicas, in this case, is the number of passive replicas, which don't consume disk space.

  • routing.allocation.require.box_type specifies that the index should use warm nodes rather than standard data nodes.

  • merge.policy.max_merge_at_once_explicit specifies the number of segments to simultaneously merge during the migration.

Indices in warm storage are read-only unless you return them to hot storage, which makes UltraWarm best-suited to immutable data, such as logs. You can query the indices and delete them, but you can't add, update, or delete individual documents. If you try, you might encounter the following error:

{ "error": { "root_cause": [{ "type": "cluster_block_exception", "reason": "blocked by: [FORBIDDEN/12/index read-only / allow delete (api)];" }], "type": "cluster_block_exception", "reason": "blocked by: [FORBIDDEN/12/index read-only / allow delete (api)];" }, "status": 403 }

Automating migrations

We recommend using Index State Management in Amazon OpenSearch Service to automate the migration process after an index reaches a certain age or meets other conditions. See the sample policy that demonstrates this workflow.

Migration tuning

Index migrations to UltraWarm storage require a force merge. Each OpenSearch index is composed of some number of shards, and each shard is composed of some number of Lucene segments. The force merge operation purges documents that were marked for deletion and conserves disk space. By default, UltraWarm merges indices into one segment.

You can change this value up to 1,000 segments using the index.ultrawarm.migration.force_merge.max_num_segments setting. Higher values speed up the migration process, but increase query latency for the warm index after the migration finishes. To change the setting, make the following request:

PUT my-index/_settings { "index": { "ultrawarm": { "migration": { "force_merge": { "max_num_segments": 1 } } } } }

To check how long this stage of the migration process takes, monitor the HotToWarmMigrationForceMergeLatency metric.

Cancelling migrations

UltraWarm handles migrations sequentially, in a queue. If a migration is in the queue, but has not yet started, you can remove it from the queue using the following request:

POST _ultrawarm/migration/_cancel/my-index

If your domain uses fine-grained access control, you must have the indices:admin/ultrawarm/migration/cancel permission to make this request.

Listing hot and warm indices

UltraWarm adds two additional options, similar to _all, to help manage hot and warm indices. For a list of all warm or hot indices, make the following requests:

GET _warm GET _hot

You can use these options in other requests that specify indices, such as:

_cat/indices/_warm _cluster/state/_all/_hot

Returning warm indices to hot storage

If you need to write to an index again, migrate it back to hot storage:

POST _ultrawarm/migration/my-index/_hot

You can have up to 10 simultaneous migrations from warm to hot storage. To check the current number, monitor the WarmToHotMigrationQueueSize metric.

After the migration finishes, check the index settings to make sure they meet your needs. Indices return to hot storage with one replica.

Restoring warm indices from automated snapshots

In addition to the standard repository for automated snapshots, UltraWarm adds a second repository for warm indices, cs-ultrawarm. Each snapshot in this repository contains only one index. If you delete a warm index, its snapshot remains in the cs-ultrawarm repository for 14 days, just like any other automated snapshot.

When you restore a snapshot from cs-ultrawarm, it restores to warm storage, not hot storage. Snapshots in the cs-automated and cs-automated-enc repositories restore to hot storage.

To restore an UltraWarm snapshot to warm storage

  1. Identify the latest snapshot that contains the index you want to restore:

    GET _snapshot/cs-ultrawarm/_all { "snapshots": [{ "snapshot": "snapshot-name", "version": "1.0", "indices": [ "my-index" ] }] }
  2. If the index already exists, delete it:

    DELETE my-index

    If you don't want to delete the index, return it to hot storage and reindex it.

  3. Restore the snapshot:

    POST _snapshot/cs-ultrawarm/snapshot-name/_restore

    UltraWarm ignores any index settings you specify in this restore request, but you can specify options like rename_pattern and rename_replacement. For a summary of OpenSearch snapshot restore options, see the OpenSearch documentation.

Manual snapshots of warm indices

You can take manual snapshots of warm indices, but we don't recommend it. The automated cs-ultrawarm repository already contains a snapshot for each warm index, taken during the migration, at no additional charge.

By default, OpenSearch Service does not include warm indices in manual snapshots. For example, the following call only includes hot indices:

PUT _snapshot/my-repository/my-snapshot

If you choose to take manual snapshots of warm indices, several important considerations apply.

  • You can't mix hot and warm indices. For example, the following request fails:

    PUT _snapshot/my-repository/my-snapshot { "indices": "warm-index-1,hot-index-1", "include_global_state": false }

    If they include a mix of hot and warm indices, wildcard (*) statements fail, as well.

  • You can only include one warm index per snapshot. For example, the following request fails:

    PUT _snapshot/my-repository/my-snapshot { "indices": "warm-index-1,warm-index-2,other-warm-indices-*", "include_global_state": false }

    This request succeeds:

    PUT _snapshot/my-repository/my-snapshot { "indices": "warm-index-1", "include_global_state": false }
  • Manual snapshots always restore to hot storage, even if they originally included a warm index.

Migrating warm indices to cold storage

If you have data in UltraWarm that you query infrequently, consider migrating it to cold storage. Cold storage is meant for data you only access occasionally or is no longer in active use. You can't read from or write to cold indices, but you can migrate them back to warm storage at no cost whenever you need to query them. For instructions, see Migrating indices to cold storage.

Disabling UltraWarm

The console is the simplest way to disable UltraWarm. Choose the domain, Actions, and Edit cluster configuration. Deselect Enable UltraWarm data nodes and choose Save changes. You can also use the WarmEnabled option in the Amazon CLI and configuration API.

Before you disable UltraWarm, you must either delete all warm indices or migrate them back to hot storage. After warm storage is empty, wait five minutes before attempting to disable the feature.

Amazon OpenSearch Service 的 UltraWarm 存储 - Amazon Opensearch Service
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

Amazon OpenSearch Service 的 UltraWarm 存储

UltraWin 提供了一种经济高效的方式来在 Amazon OpenSearch Service 上存储大量只读数据。标准数据节点使用“热”存储,其形式是连接到每个节点的实例存储或 Amazon EBS 卷。热存储为编制索引和搜索新数据提供尽可能快的性能。

UltraWarm 节点使用 Amazon S3 和高级缓存解决方案来提高性能,而不是使用附加的存储。对于您未主动写入、查询频率较低且不需要同样性能的索引,UltraWarm 可显著降低每 GiB 数据的成本。由于温索引是只读的,除非您将其返回到热存储,所以 UltraWarm 最适合不可变数据,如日志。

在 OpenSearch 中,这些温索引的行为与任何其他索引一样。您可以使用相同的 API 查询它们,也可以使用它们在 OpenSearch 控制面板中创建可视化。

先决条件

UltraWarm 具有几个重要的先决条件:

  • UltraWarm 需要 OpenSearch 或 Elasticsearch 6.8 或更高版本。

  • 要使用温存储,域必须具有专用的主节点

  • 如果您的域为数据节点使用 T2或 T3 实例类型,则无法使用温存储。

  • 如果您的索引使用近似 k-NN ("index.knn": true),则您无法将其移至热存储。

  • 如果域使用访问权限的精细控制,则必须将用户映射到 OpenSearch 控制面板中的 ultrawarm_manager 角色进行 UltraWarm API 调用。

注意

ultrawarm_manager 角色可能无法在某些预先存在的 OpenSearch Service 域上定义。如果没有在控制面板中看到角色,则需要手动创建它

配置权限

如果您在预先存在的 OpenSearch Service 域上启用了 UltraWarm,ultrawarm_manager 角色可能无法在域上定义。必须将非管理员用户映射到此角色,才能使用精细访问控制管理域上的温索引。手动创建 ultrawarm_manager 角色,请执行下列步骤:

  1. 在 OpenSearch 控制面板中,转到安全,然后选择权限

  2. 选择创建操作组并配置以下组:

    Group name 权限
    ultrawarm_cluster
    • cluster:admin/ultrawarm/migration/list

    • cluster:monitor/nodes/stats

    ultrawarm_index_read
    • indices:admin/ultrawarm/migration/get

    • indices:admin/get

    ultrawarm_index_write
    • indices:admin/ultrawarm/migration/warm

    • indices:admin/ultrawarm/migration/hot

    • indices:monitor/stats

    • indices:admin/ultrawarm/migration/cancel

  3. 选择角色创建角色

  4. 将角色命名为 ultrawarm_manager

  5. 对于群集权限,选择 ultrawarm_clustercluster_monitor

  6. 对于索引,键入 *

  7. 对于索引权限,选择 ultrawarm_index_readultrawarm_index_writeindices_monitor

  8. 选择 Create (创建)

  9. 创建角色之后,将其映射到将管理 UltraWarm 索引的任何用户或后端角色。

UltraWarm 存储要求和性能注意事项

计算存储要求 中所述,热存储中的数据会产生大量开销:副本、Linux 预留空间和 OpenSearch Service 预留空间。例如,具有一个副本分片的 20 GiB 主分片需要大约 58 GiB 的热存储。

因为它使用 Amazon S3,所以 UltraWarm 不会产生这种开销。计算 UltraHin 存储要求时,您只考虑主分片的大小。S3 中数据的持久性消除了对副本的需要,而 S3 会抽象掉任何操作系统或服务注意事项。同样的 20 GiB 分片需要 20 GiB 的温存储空间。如果您预配置一个 ultrawarm1.large.search 实例,则可以将其所有 20 TiB 的最大存储空间用于主分片。有关实例类型的摘要以及每个实例可以解决的最大存储量,请参阅UltraWarm 存储配额

使用 UltraWarm,我们仍然建议最大分片大小为 50 GiB。分配给每种 UltraWarm 实例类型的 CPU 核心数量和 RAM 量可以让您了解他们可以同时搜索的分片数量。请注意,虽然在 S3 中只有主碎片计入 UltraWarm 存储,但 OpenSearch 控制面板和 _cat/indices 仍会将 UltraWarm 索引大小报告为所有主碎片和副本碎片的总和

例如,每个 ultrawarm1.medium.search 实例具有两个 CPU 内核,并且可以在 S3 上寻址高达 1.5 TiB 的存储。其中两个实例具有 3 TiB 的存储组合,如果每个分片为 50 GiB,则可以使用大约 62 个分片。如果对集群的请求仅搜索其中的四个分片,则性能可能会非常优良。如果请求很宽泛并且搜索了所有 62 个分片,则四个 CPU 内核可能难以执行该操作。监控 WarmCPUUtilizationWarmJVMMemoryPressure UltraWarm 指标,了解实例如何处理您的工作负载。

如果您的搜索范围广泛或频繁,请考虑将索引留在热存储中。与任何其他 OpenSearch 工作负载一样,要确定 UltraWarm 是否满足您的需求,最重要的步骤是使用真实的数据集执行有代表性的客户端测试。

UltraWarm 定价

使用热存储,您需要为预配置的内容支付费用。有些实例需要附加的 Amazon EBS 卷,而其他实例则包含实例存储。无论该存储空间是空还是满,您都要支付相同的价格。

使用 UltraWarm 存储,您需要为您的使用量付费。一个 ultrawarm1.large.search 实例可以在 S3 上处理多达 20 TiB 的存储空间,但如果您仅存储 1 TiB 的数据,则只需为 1 TiB 的数据付费。与所有其他节点类型一样,您还为每个 UltraWarm 节点支付小时费率。有关更多信息,请参阅Amazon OpenSearch Service 定价

启用 UltraWarm

控制台是创建使用温存储的域的最简单方法。创建域时,请选择 Enable UltraWarm data nodes (启用 UltraWarm 数据节点),然后选择所需的温节点数。相同的基本过程适用于现有域,前提是它们满足先决条件。即使域状态从 Processing (正在处理) 变为 Active (活动) 后,UltraVwarm 可能也会在几个小时内无法使用。

您还可以使用 Amazon CLI配置 API 启用 UltraWarm,特别是 ClusterConfig 中的 WarmEnabledWarmCountWarmType 选项。

注意

域支持最大数量的温节点。有关详细信息,请参阅Amazon OpenSearch Service 配额

示例 CLI 命令

以下 Amazon CLI 命令创建一个具有三个数据节点、三个专用主节点和六个温节点和启用精细访问控制的域:

aws opensearch create-domain \ --domain-name my-domain \ --engine-version Opensearch_1.0 \ --cluster-config InstanceCount=3,InstanceType=r6g.large.search,DedicatedMasterEnabled=true,DedicatedMasterType=r6g.large.search,DedicatedMasterCount=3,ZoneAwarenessEnabled=true,ZoneAwarenessConfig={AvailabilityZoneCount=3},WarmEnabled=true,WarmCount=6,WarmType=ultrawarm1.medium.search \ --ebs-options EBSEnabled=true,VolumeType=gp2,VolumeSize=11 \ --node-to-node-encryption-options Enabled=true \ --encryption-at-rest-options Enabled=true \ --domain-endpoint-options EnforceHTTPS=true,TLSSecurityPolicy=Policy-Min-TLS-1-2-2019-07 \ --advanced-security-options Enabled=true,InternalUserDatabaseEnabled=true,MasterUserOptions='{MasterUserName=master-user,MasterUserPassword=master-password}' \ --access-policies '{"Version":"2012-10-17","Statement":[{"Effect":"Allow","Principal":{"AWS":["123456789012"]},"Action":["es:*"],"Resource":"arn:aws:es:us-west-1:123456789012:domain/my-domain/*"}]}' \ --region us-east-1

有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon CLI 命令参考

示例配置 API 请求

对配置 API 的以下请求创建一个域,其中包含三个数据节点、三个专用主节点以及六个温节点(启用了精细访问控制并具有限制性访问策略):

POST https://es.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/2021-01-01/opensearch/domain { "ClusterConfig": { "InstanceCount": 3, "InstanceType": "r6g.large.search", "DedicatedMasterEnabled": true, "DedicatedMasterType": "r6g.large.search", "DedicatedMasterCount": 3, "ZoneAwarenessEnabled": true, "ZoneAwarenessConfig": { "AvailabilityZoneCount": 3 }, "WarmEnabled": true, "WarmCount": 6, "WarmType": "ultrawarm1.medium.search" }, "EBSOptions": { "EBSEnabled": true, "VolumeType": "gp2", "VolumeSize": 11 }, "EncryptionAtRestOptions": { "Enabled": true }, "NodeToNodeEncryptionOptions": { "Enabled": true }, "DomainEndpointOptions": { "EnforceHTTPS": true, "TLSSecurityPolicy": "Policy-Min-TLS-1-2-2019-07" }, "AdvancedSecurityOptions": { "Enabled": true, "InternalUserDatabaseEnabled": true, "MasterUserOptions": { "MasterUserName": "master-user", "MasterUserPassword": "master-password" } }, "EngineVersion": "Opensearch_1.0", "DomainName": "my-domain", "AccessPolicies": "{\"Version\":\"2012-10-17\",\"Statement\":[{\"Effect\":\"Allow\",\"Principal\":{\"AWS\":[\"123456789012\"]},\"Action\":[\"es:*\"],\"Resource\":\"arn:aws:es:us-east-1:123456789012:domain/my-domain/*\"}]}" }

有关详细信息,请参阅Amazon OpenSearch Service 的配置 API 参考

将索引迁移到 UltraWarm 存储

如果您完成了对索引的写入,并且不再需要尽可能快的搜索性能,请将其从热存储转换为温存储:

POST _ultrawarm/migration/my-index/_warm

然后检查迁移的状态:

GET _ultrawarm/migration/my-index/_status { "migration_status": { "index": "my-index", "state": "RUNNING_SHARD_RELOCATION", "migration_type": "HOT_TO_WARM", "shard_level_status": { "running": 0, "total": 5, "pending": 3, "failed": 0, "succeeded": 2 } } }

索引运行状况必须为绿色才能执行迁移。如果您快速连续迁移多个索引,您可以获得所有迁移的明文摘要,类似于 _cat API:

GET _ultrawarm/migration/_status?v index migration_type state my-index HOT_TO_WARM RUNNING_SHARD_RELOCATION

OpenSearch Service 一次将一个索引迁移至 UltraWarm。队列中最多可包含 200 个迁移。任何超出限制的请求都将被拒绝。要检查队列中的当前迁移数,请监控 HotToWarmMigrationQueueSize 指标。在整个迁移过程中,索引仍然可用,无需停机。

迁移过程具有以下状态:

PENDING_INCREMENTAL_SNAPSHOT RUNNING_INCREMENTAL_SNAPSHOT FAILED_INCREMENTAL_SNAPSHOT PENDING_FORCE_MERGE RUNNING_FORCE_MERGE FAILED_FORCE_MERGE PENDING_FULL_SNAPSHOT RUNNING_FULL_SNAPSHOT FAILED_FULL_SNAPSHOT PENDING_SHARD_RELOCATION RUNNING_SHARD_RELOCATION FINISHED_SHARD_RELOCATION

如这些状态所示,迁移可能会在快照、分片重新定位或强制合并期间失败。快照或分片重新定位期间的故障通常是由于节点故障或 S3 连接问题造成的。磁盘空间不足通常是强制合并失败的根本原因。

迁移完成后,同一 _status 请求返回错误。如果您在此时检查索引,您可以看到暖索引独有的一些设置:

GET my-index/_settings { "my-index": { "settings": { "index": { "refresh_interval": "-1", "auto_expand_replicas": "false", "provided_name": "my-index", "creation_date": "1599241458998", "unassigned": { "node_left": { "delayed_timeout": "5m" } }, "number_of_replicas": "1", "uuid": "GswyCdR0RSq0SJYmzsIpiw", "version": { "created": "7070099" }, "routing": { "allocation": { "require": { "box_type": "warm" } } }, "number_of_shards": "5", "merge": { "policy": { "max_merge_at_once_explicit": "50" } } } } } }
  • 在这种情况下,number_of_replicas 是不消耗磁盘空间的被动副本的数量。

  • routing.allocation.require.box_type 指定索引应使用热节点而不是标准数据节点。

  • merge.policy.max_merge_at_once_explicit 指定迁移期间要同时合并的段数。

暖存储中的索引是只读的,除非您将它们退回到热存储,这使得 UltraWarm 最适合于不可变的数据,例如日志。您可以查询索引并将其删除,但无法添加、更新或删除单个文档。如果尝试,您可能会遇到以下错误:。

{ "error": { "root_cause": [{ "type": "cluster_block_exception", "reason": "blocked by: [FORBIDDEN/12/index read-only / allow delete (api)];" }], "type": "cluster_block_exception", "reason": "blocked by: [FORBIDDEN/12/index read-only / allow delete (api)];" }, "status": 403 }

自动执行迁移

我们建议在索引达到特定期限或满足其他条件后使用 Amazon OpenSearch Service 中的索引状态管理 自动执行迁移过程。请参阅演示该工作流程的示例策略

迁移调整

向 UltraWarm 存储的索引迁移需要强制合并。每个 OpenSearch 索引都由一定数量的分片组成,每个分片由一定数量的 Lucene 段组成。强制合并操作清除标记为删除的文档,并节省磁盘空间。默认情况下,UltraWarm 会将索引合并为一个段。

您可以将此值更改为达 1,000 个分段,使用 index.ultrawarm.migration.force_merge.max_num_segments 设置。更高的值会加快迁移过程,但在迁移完成后会增加温索引的查询延迟。要更改设置,请执行下列请求:

PUT my-index/_settings { "index": { "ultrawarm": { "migration": { "force_merge": { "max_num_segments": 1 } } } } }

要检查迁移过程的此阶段花费的时间,请监视 HotToWarmMigrationForceMergeLatency 指标

取消迁移

UltraWarm 按顺序在队列中处理迁移。如果迁移在队列中,但尚未开始,您可以使用以下请求将迁移从队列中删除:

POST _ultrawarm/migration/_cancel/my-index

如果您的域使用精细访问控制,则必须使用 indices:admin/ultrawarm/migration/cancel 权限提出此请求。

列出热索引和暖索引

UltraWarm 增加了两个附加选项(类似于 _all)以帮助管理热索引和暖索引。有关所有暖索引或热索引的列表,请提出以下请求:

GET _warm GET _hot

您可以在指定索引的其他请求中使用这些选项,例如:

_cat/indices/_warm _cluster/state/_all/_hot

将温索引返回到热存储

如果您需要再次写入索引,请将其迁移回热存储:

POST _ultrawarm/migration/my-index/_hot

您最多可以同时进行 10 项从温存储到热存储的迁移。要查看当前数量,请监控WarmToHotMigrationQueueSize指标

迁移完成后,检查索引设置以确保它们满足需求。索引使用一个副本返回热存储。

从自动快照恢复温索引

除用于自动快照的标准存储库之外,UltraWarm 还增加了用于一个暖索引的第二存储库 cs-ultrawarm。此存储库中的每个快照只包含一个索引。如果删除温索引,其快照将保留在 cs-ultrawarm 存储库中 14 天,就像任何其他自动执行的快照一样。

cs-ultrawarm 还原快照时,快照会恢复到温存储,而不是热存储。cs-automated-enccs-automated 存储库中的快照还原到热存储。

将 UltraWarm 快照还原到温存储

  1. 标识包含要还原的索引的最新快照:

    GET _snapshot/cs-ultrawarm/_all { "snapshots": [{ "snapshot": "snapshot-name", "version": "1.0", "indices": [ "my-index" ] }] }
  2. 如果索引已经存在,请将其删除:

    DELETE my-index

    如果不想删除索引,请将其返回到热存储重新编制索引它。

  3. 还原快照:

    POST _snapshot/cs-ultrawarm/snapshot-name/_restore

    UltraWarm 会忽略您在此还原请求中指定的任何索引设置,但您可以指定 rename_patternrename_replacement。有关 OpenSearch 快照还原选项的摘要,请参阅 OpenSearch 搜索文档

暖索引的手动快照

可以手动拍摄暖索引的快照,但我们不建议这样做。自动执行 cs-ultrawarm 存储库已包含在迁移期间拍摄的每个热索引的快照,无需额外付费。

默认情况下,OpenSearch Service 不会在手动快照中包含温索引。例如,以下调用只包含热索引:

PUT _snapshot/my-repository/my-snapshot

如果您选择手动拍摄暖索引的快照,则需要考虑几个重要的因素。

  • 您不能将热索引和暖索引混合使用。例如,下面的命令将失败:

    PUT _snapshot/my-repository/my-snapshot { "indices": "warm-index-1,hot-index-1", "include_global_state": false }

    如果将热索引和暖索引混合,则通配符(*)语句也会失败。

  • 每个快照只能包含一个温索引。例如,下面的命令将失败:

    PUT _snapshot/my-repository/my-snapshot { "indices": "warm-index-1,warm-index-2,other-warm-indices-*", "include_global_state": false }

    此请求成功:

    PUT _snapshot/my-repository/my-snapshot { "indices": "warm-index-1", "include_global_state": false }
  • 手动快照始终恢复到热存储,即使它们最初包含热索引也是如此。

将温索引迁移到冷存储

如果您在 UltraWarm 中有不经常查询的数据,请考虑将其迁移到冷存储。冷存储适用于您偶尔访问的数据或不再处于活动状态的数据。您无法读取或写入冷索引,但可以在需要查询时免费将它们迁移回暖存储。有关说明,请参阅将索引迁移到冷存储

禁用 UltraWarm

控制台是禁用 UltraWarm 的最简单方法。选择域、Actions(操作)Edit cluster configuration(编辑集群配置)。选择 Enable UltraWarm data nodes(启用 UltraWarm 数据节点),然后选择 Save changes(保存更改)。还可以在 Amazon CLI 和配置 API 中使用 WarmEnabled 选项。

在禁用 UltraWarm 之前,必须删除所有温索引将其迁移回热存储。暖存储空间为空后,请等待五分钟,然后尝试禁用 UltraWarm。