Tutorial: Ingesting data into a domain using Amazon OpenSearch Ingestion - Amazon OpenSearch Service
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Tutorial: Ingesting data into a domain using Amazon OpenSearch Ingestion

This tutorial shows you how to use Amazon OpenSearch Ingestion to configure a simple pipeline and ingest data into an Amazon OpenSearch Service domain. A pipeline is a resource that OpenSearch Ingestion provisions and manages. You can use a pipeline to filter, enrich, transform, normalize, and aggregate data for downstream analytics and visualization in OpenSearch Service.

This tutorial walks you through the basic steps to get a pipeline up and running quickly. For more detailed information, see Creating pipelines.

You'll complete the following steps in this tutorial:

Within the tutorial, you'll create the following resources:

  • A pipeline named ingestion-pipeline

  • A domain named ingestion-domain that the pipeline will write to

  • An IAM role named PipelineRole that the pipeline will assume in order to write to the domain

Required permissions

To complete this tutorial, you must have the correct IAM permissions. Your user or role must have an attached identity-based policy with the following minimum permissions. These permissions allow you to create a pipeline role (iam:Create), create or modify a domain (es:*), and work with pipelines (osis:*).

In addition, the iam:PassRole permission is required on the pipeline role resource. This permission allows you to pass the pipeline role to OpenSearch Ingestion so that it can write data to the domain.

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Effect":"Allow", "Resource":"*", "Action":[ "osis:*", "iam:Create*", "es:*" ] }, { "Resource":[ "arn:aws:iam::{your-account-id}:role/PipelineRole" ], "Effect":"Allow", "Action":[ "iam:PassRole" ] } ] }

Step 1: Create the pipeline role

First, create a role that the pipeline will assume in order to access the OpenSearch Service domain sink. You'll include this role within the pipeline configuration later in this tutorial.

To create the pipeline role
  1. Open the Amazon Identity and Access Management console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/iamv2/.

  2. Choose Policies, and then choose Create policy.

  3. In this tutorial, you'll ingest data into a domain called ingestion-domain, which you'll create in the next step. Select JSON and paste the following policy into the editor. Replace {your-account-id} with your account ID, and modify the Region if necessary.

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "es:DescribeDomain", "Resource": "arn:aws:es:us-east-1:{your-account-id}:domain/ingestion-domain" }, { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "es:ESHttp*", "Resource": "arn:aws:es:us-east-1:{your-account-id}:domain/ingestion-domain/*" } ] }

    If you want to write data to an existing domain, replace ingestion-domain with the name of your domain.

    Note

    For simplicity in this tutorial, we use a fairly broad access policy. In production environments, however, we recommend that you apply a more restrictive access policy to your pipeline role. For an example policy that provides the minimum required permissions, see Granting Amazon OpenSearch Ingestion pipelines access to domains.

  4. Choose Next, choose Next, and name your policy pipeline-policy.

  5. Choose Create policy.

  6. Next, create a role and attach the policy to it. Choose Roles, and then choose Create role.

  7. Choose Custom trust policy and paste the following policy into the editor:

    { "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Effect":"Allow", "Principal":{ "Service":"osis-pipelines.amazonaws.com" }, "Action":"sts:AssumeRole" } ] }
  8. Choose Next. Then search for and select pipeline-policy (which you just created).

  9. Choose Next and name the role PipelineRole.

  10. Choose Create role.

Remember the Amazon Resource Name (ARN) of the role (for example, arn:aws:iam::{your-account-id}:role/PipelineRole). You'll need it when you create your pipeline.

Step 2: Create a domain

Next, create a domain named ingestion-domain to ingest data into.

Navigate to the Amazon OpenSearch Service console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/aos/home and create a domain that meets the following requirements:

  • Is running OpenSearch 1.0 or later, or Elasticsearch 7.4 or later

  • Uses public access

  • Does not use fine-grained access control

Note

These requirements are meant to ensure simplicity in this tutorial. In production environments, you can configure a domain with VPC access and/or use fine-grained access control. For instructions, see the rest of the topics in this chapter.

The domain must have an access policy that grants permission to PipelineRole, which you created in the previous step. The pipeline will assume this role (named sts_role_arn in the pipeline configuration) in order to send data to the OpenSearch Service domain sink.

Make sure that the domain has the following domain-level access policy, which grants PipelineRole access to the domain. Replace the Region and account ID with your own:

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Principal": { "AWS": "arn:aws:iam::{your-account-id}:role/PipelineRole" }, "Action": "es:*", "Resource": "arn:aws:es:us-east-1:{your-account-id}:domain/ingestion-domain/*" } ] }

For more information about creating domain-level access policies, see Resource-based access policies.

If you already have a domain created, modify its existing access policy to provide the above permissions to PipelineRole.

Note

Remember the domain endpoint (for example, https://search-ingestion-domain.us-east-1.es.amazonaws.com). You'll use it in the next step to configure your pipeline.

Step 3: Create a pipeline

Now that you have a domain and a role with the appropriate access rights, you can create a pipeline.

To create a pipeline
  1. Within the Amazon OpenSearch Service console, choose Pipelines from the left navigation pane.

  2. Choose Create pipeline.

  3. Name the pipeline ingestion-pipeline and keep the capacity settings as their defaults.

  4. In this tutorial, you'll create a simple sub-pipeline called log-pipeline that uses the Http source plugin. This plugin accepts log data in a JSON array format. You'll specify a single OpenSearch Service domain as the sink, and ingest all data into the application_logs index.

    Under Pipeline configuration, paste the following YAML configuration into the editor:

    version: "2" log-pipeline: source: http: path: "/${pipelineName}/test_ingestion_path" processor: - date: from_time_received: true destination: "@timestamp" sink: - opensearch: hosts: [ "https://search-ingestion-domain.us-east-1.es.amazonaws.com" ] index: "application_logs" aws: sts_role_arn: "arn:aws:iam::{your-account-id}:role/PipelineRole" region: "us-east-1"
    Note

    The path option specifies the URI path for ingestion. This option is required for pull-based sources. For more information, see Specifying the ingestion path.

  5. Replace the hosts URL with the endpoint of the domain that you created (or modified) in the previous section. Replace the sts_role_arn parameter with the ARN of PipelineRole.

  6. Choose Validate pipeline and make sure that the validation succeeds.

  7. For simplicity in this tutorial, configure public access for the pipeline. Under Network, choose Public access.

    For information about configuring VPC access, see Configuring VPC access for Amazon OpenSearch Ingestion pipelines.

  8. Keep log publishing enabled in case you encounter any issues while completing this tutorial. For more information, see Monitoring pipeline logs.

    Specify the following log group name: /aws/vendedlogs/OpenSearchIngestion/ingestion-pipeline/audit-logs

  9. Choose Next. Review your pipeline configuration and choose Create pipeline. The pipeline takes 5–10 minutes to become active.

Step 4: Ingest some sample data

When the pipeline status is Active, you can start ingesting data into it. You must sign all HTTP requests to the pipeline using Signature Version 4. Use an HTTP tool such as Postman or awscurl to send some data to the pipeline. As with indexing data directly to a domain, ingesting data into a pipeline always requires either an IAM role or an IAM access key and secret key.

Note

The principal signing the request must have the osis:Ingest IAM permission.

First, get the ingestion URL from the Pipeline settings page:

Then, ingest some sample data. The following request uses awscurl to send a single log file to the application_logs index:

awscurl --service osis --region us-east-1 \ -X POST \ -H "Content-Type: application/json" \ -d '[{"time":"2014-08-11T11:40:13+00:00","remote_addr":"122.226.223.69","status":"404","request":"GET http://www.k2proxy.com//hello.html HTTP/1.1","http_user_agent":"Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; WOW64; SLCC2;)"}]' \ https://{pipeline-endpoint}.us-east-1.osis.amazonaws.com/log-pipeline/test_ingestion_path

You should see a 200 OK response. If you get an authentication error, it might be because you're ingesting data from a separate account than the pipeline is in. See Fixing permissions issues.

Now, query the application_logs index to ensure that your log entry was successfully ingested:

awscurl --service es --region us-east-1 \ -X GET \ https://search-{ingestion-domain}.us-east-1.es.amazonaws.com/application_logs/_search | json_pp

Sample response:

{ "took":984, "timed_out":false, "_shards":{ "total":1, "successful":5, "skipped":0, "failed":0 }, "hits":{ "total":{ "value":1, "relation":"eq" }, "max_score":1.0, "hits":[ { "_index":"application_logs", "_type":"_doc", "_id":"z6VY_IMBRpceX-DU6V4O", "_score":1.0, "_source":{ "time":"2014-08-11T11:40:13+00:00", "remote_addr":"122.226.223.69", "status":"404", "request":"GET http://www.k2proxy.com//hello.html HTTP/1.1", "http_user_agent":"Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; WOW64; SLCC2;)", "@timestamp":"2022-10-21T21:00:25.502Z" } } ] } }

Fixing permissions issues

If you followed the steps in the tutorial and you still see authentication errors when you try to ingest data, it might be because the role that is writing to a pipeline is in a different Amazon Web Services account than the pipeline itself. In this case, you need to create and assume a role that specifically enables you to ingest data. For instructions, see Providing cross-account ingestion access.

Related resources

This tutorial presented a simple use case of ingesting a single document over HTTP. In production scenarios, you'll configure your client applications (such as Fluent Bit, Kubernetes, or the OpenTelemetry Collector) to send data to one or more pipelines. Your pipelines will likely be more complex than the simple example in this tutorial.

To get started configuring your clients and ingesting data, see the following resources:

教程:使用 Amazon OpenSearch Ingestion 将数据提取到域 - 亚马逊 OpenSearch 服务
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

教程:使用 Amazon OpenSearch Ingestion 将数据提取到域

本教程介绍如何使用 Amazon OpenSearch Ingestion 配置简单的管道,以及将数据摄取到 Amazon OpenSearch Service 域。管道是 OpenSearch Ingestion 预调配和管理的资源。您可以使用管道筛选、丰富、转换、规范化和聚合数据,以便在 OpenSearch Service 中执行下游分析和可视化。

本教程将指导您完成快速启动并运行管道的基本步骤。有关更多详细信息,请参阅创建管道

在本教程中,您将完成以下步骤:

在本教程中,您将创建以下资源:

  • 名为 ingestion-pipeline 的管道

  • 管道将写入的名为 ingestion-domain 的域

  • 管道将担任一个名为 PipelineRole 的 IAM 角色,以便写入域

所需的权限

要完成本教程,您必须拥有正确的 IAM 权限。您的用户或角色必须已经附加基于身份的策略,并且具有以下最低权限。这些权限允许您创建管道角色 (iam:Create)、创建或修改域 (es:*) 以及使用管道 (osis:*)。

此外,还需要对管道角色资源拥有 iam:PassRole 权限。此权限允许您将管道角色传递给 OpenSearch Ingestion,以便它可以将数据写入域。

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Effect":"Allow", "Resource":"*", "Action":[ "osis:*", "iam:Create*", "es:*" ] }, { "Resource":[ "arn:aws:iam::{your-account-id}:role/PipelineRole" ], "Effect":"Allow", "Action":[ "iam:PassRole" ] } ] }

步骤 1:创建管道角色

首先,创建一个管道将担任的角色,以便访问 OpenSearch Service 域接收器。在本教程后面的部分中,您将在管道配置中包含此角色。

要创建管道角色
  1. 打开 Amazon Identity and Access Management 控制台,地址:https://console.aws.amazon.com/iamv2/

  2. 选择策略,然后选择创建策略

  3. 在本教程中,您将数据摄取到名为 ingestion-domain 的域,该域将在下一步中创建。选择 JSON,然后将下面的策略粘贴到编辑器中。使用您的账户 ID 替换 {your-account-id},并在必要时修改区域。

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "es:DescribeDomain", "Resource": "arn:aws:es:us-east-1:{your-account-id}:domain/ingestion-domain" }, { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "es:ESHttp*", "Resource": "arn:aws:es:us-east-1:{your-account-id}:domain/ingestion-domain/*" } ] }

    如果您想将数据写入现有域,请使用您的域名替换 ingestion-domain

    注意

    为简单起见,本教程使用较为宽泛的访问策略。但是,在生产环境中,建议您对管道角色应用严格一些的访问策略。有关提供最低所需权限的策略示例,请参阅 授予 Amazon OpenSearch Ingestion 管道访问域名的权限

  4. 依次选择下一步下一步,然后命名您的策略 pipeline-policy

  5. 选择 Create policy(创建策略)

  6. 然后,创建一个角色并将策略附加到该角色。选择 角色,然后选择 创建角色

  7. 选择自定义信任策略,并将以下策略粘贴到编辑器中:

    { "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Effect":"Allow", "Principal":{ "Service":"osis-pipelines.amazonaws.com" }, "Action":"sts:AssumeRole" } ] }
  8. 选择 下一步。然后搜索并选择(您刚刚创建的)pipeline-policy

  9. 选择下一步,将角色命名为 PipelineRole

  10. 选择 创建角色

请记住角色的 Amazon 资源名称(ARN)(例如,arn:aws:iam::{your-account-id}:role/PipelineRole)。您创建管道时需要用到。

步骤 2:创建域

接下来,创建一个名为 ingestion-domain 的域,以向其中摄取数据。

导航到位于 https://console.aws.amazon.com/aos/home 的 Amazon OpenSearch Service 控制台,然后按照以下要求创建域

  • 运行 OpenSearch 1.0 或更高版本,或 Elasticsearch 7.4 或更高版本

  • 使用公有访问

  • 不使用精准访问控制

注意

这些要求是为了让本教程简单易懂。在生产环境中,您可以配置具有 VPC 访问权限的域和/或使用精细访问控制。有关说明,请参阅本章中的其他主题。

域必须拥有授予 PipelineRole 访问权限的访问策略,这是在上一步中创建的。管道将担任此角色(在管道配置中名为 sts_role_arn),以便将数据发送到 OpenSearch Service 域接收器。

确保该域具有以下域-级别访问策略,该策略授予对该域的 PipelineRole 访问权限。替换成您自己的区域和账户 ID:

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Principal": { "AWS": "arn:aws:iam::{your-account-id}:role/PipelineRole" }, "Action": "es:*", "Resource": "arn:aws:es:us-east-1:{your-account-id}:domain/ingestion-domain/*" } ] }

有关创建域-级别访问策略的更多信息,请参阅基于资源的访问策略

如果您已经创建了域,请修改其现有访问策略以向 PipelineRole 提供上述权限。

注意

记住域端点(例如 https://search-ingestion-domain.us-east-1.es.amazonaws.com)。在下一步中,您将使用它来配置管道。

步骤 3:创建管道

现在,您已经拥有了具有相应访问权限的域和角色,可以创建管道了。

创建管道
  1. 在 Amazon OpenSearch Service 控制台的左侧导航窗格中,选择管道

  2. 选择 创建管道

  3. 将管道命名为 ingestion-pipeline,并将容量设置保留为默认值。

  4. 在本教程中,您将创建一个使用 Http 源插件的名为 log-pipeline 的简单子管道。此插件接受 JSON 数组格式的日志数据。您将指定一个 OpenSearch Service 域作为接收器,并将所有数据摄取到 application_logs 索引中。

    管道配置下,将以下 YAML 配置粘贴到编辑器中:

    version: "2" log-pipeline: source: http: path: "/${pipelineName}/test_ingestion_path" processor: - date: from_time_received: true destination: "@timestamp" sink: - opensearch: hosts: [ "https://search-ingestion-domain.us-east-1.es.amazonaws.com" ] index: "application_logs" aws: sts_role_arn: "arn:aws:iam::{your-account-id}:role/PipelineRole" region: "us-east-1"
    注意

    path 选项指定用于提取的 URI 路径。对于基于拉取的源而言,此为必需选项。有关更多信息,请参阅指定提取路径

  5. hosts URL 替换为您在上一节中创建(或修改)的域的端点。将 sts_role_arn 参数替换为 PipelineRole 的 ARN。

  6. 选择验证管道并确保验证成功。

  7. 为简单起见,本教程为管道配置公有访问权限。在 网络下,选择 公有访问权限

    有关配置 VPC 访问权限的更多信息,请参阅 保护 VPC 内的 Amazon OpenSearch 摄取管道

  8. 保持日志发布为启用状态,以防您在完成本教程时遇到任何问题。有关更多信息,请参阅监控管道日志

    指定以下日志组名称:/aws/vendedlogs/OpenSearchIngestion/ingestion-pipeline/audit-logs

  9. 选择 下一步。检查您的管道配置,然后选择创建管道。管道需要 5-10 分钟才能变为活动状态。

步骤 4:摄取一些示例数据

当管道状态为 Active 时,您可以开始将数据摄取到管道。您必须使用 Signature 版本 4 对向管道发出的所有 HTTP 请求进行签名。使用诸如 Postmanawscurl 之类的 HTTP 工具向管道发送一些数据。与将数据直接索引到域一样,将数据提取到管道始终需要 IAM 角色或 IAM 访问密钥和私有密钥

注意

签署请求的主体必须具有 osis:Ingest IAM 权限。

首先,从管道设置页面获取摄取 URL:

然后,摄取一些示例数据。以下请求使用 awscurlapplication_logs 索引发送单个日志文件:

awscurl --service osis --region us-east-1 \ -X POST \ -H "Content-Type: application/json" \ -d '[{"time":"2014-08-11T11:40:13+00:00","remote_addr":"122.226.223.69","status":"404","request":"GET http://www.k2proxy.com//hello.html HTTP/1.1","http_user_agent":"Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; WOW64; SLCC2;)"}]' \ https://{pipeline-endpoint}.us-east-1.osis.amazonaws.com/log-pipeline/test_ingestion_path

您现在会看到 200 OK 响应。如果您遇到身份验证错误,可能是因为您从与管道不同的账户提取数据。请参阅修复权限问题

现在,查询 application_logs 索引以确保成功提取您的日志条目:

awscurl --service es --region us-east-1 \ -X GET \ https://search-{ingestion-domain}.us-east-1.es.amazonaws.com/application_logs/_search | json_pp

示例响应:

{ "took":984, "timed_out":false, "_shards":{ "total":1, "successful":5, "skipped":0, "failed":0 }, "hits":{ "total":{ "value":1, "relation":"eq" }, "max_score":1.0, "hits":[ { "_index":"application_logs", "_type":"_doc", "_id":"z6VY_IMBRpceX-DU6V4O", "_score":1.0, "_source":{ "time":"2014-08-11T11:40:13+00:00", "remote_addr":"122.226.223.69", "status":"404", "request":"GET http://www.k2proxy.com//hello.html HTTP/1.1", "http_user_agent":"Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; WOW64; SLCC2;)", "@timestamp":"2022-10-21T21:00:25.502Z" } } ] } }

修复权限问题

如果您按照教程中的步骤进行操作,但在尝试摄取数据时仍然看到身份验证错误,则可能是因为写入管道的角色与管道本身的 Amazon Web Services 账户 不同。在这种情况下,您需要创建并担任一个角色,该角色让您专门用来摄取数据。有关说明,请参阅 提供跨账户摄取访问权限

相关资源

本教程介绍了一个通过 HTTP 摄取单个文档的简单用例。在生产场景中,您将配置客户端应用程序(例如 Fluent Bit、Kubernetes 或 OpenTelemetry Collector)以将数据发送到一个或多个管道。您的管道可能比本教程展示的简单示例复杂得多。

要开始配置您的客户端并摄取数据,请参阅以下资源: