What Is Amazon Polly? - Amazon Polly
AWS services or capabilities described in AWS documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with AWS services in China.

What Is Amazon Polly?

Amazon Polly is a cloud service that converts text into lifelike speech. You can use Amazon Polly to develop applications that increase engagement and accessibility. Amazon Polly supports multiple languages and includes a variety of lifelike voices, so you can build speech-enabled applications that work in multiple locations and use the ideal voice for your customers. With Amazon Polly, you only pay for the text you synthesize. You can also cache and replay Amazon Polly’s generated speech at no additional cost.

Additionally, Amazon Polly includes a number of Neural Text-to-Speech (NTTS) voices, delivering ground-breaking improvements in speech quality through a new machine learning approach, thereby offering to customers the most natural and human-like text-to-speech voices possible. Neural TTS technology also supports a Newscaster speaking style that is tailored to news narration use cases.

Common use cases for Amazon Polly include, but are not limited to, mobile applications such as newsreaders, games, eLearning platforms, accessibility applications for visually impaired people, and the rapidly growing segment of Internet of Things (IoT).

Amazon Polly is certified for use with regulated workloads for HIPAA (the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996), and Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS).

Some of the benefits of using Amazon Polly include:

  • High quality – Amazon Polly offers both new neural TTS and best-in-class standard TTS technology to synthesize the superior natural speech with high pronunciation accuracy (including abbreviations, acronym expansions, date/time interpretations, and homograph disambiguation).

     

  • Low latency – Amazon Polly ensures fast responses, which make it a viable option for low-latency use cases such as dialog systems.

     

  • Support for a large portfolio of languages and voices – Amazon Polly supports dozens of voices languages, offering male and female voice options for most languages. Neural TTS currently supports three British English voices and eight US English voices. This number will continue to increase as we bring more neural voices online. US English voices Matthew and Joanna can also use the Neural Newscaster speaking style, similar to what you might hear from a professional news anchor.

     

  • Cost-effective – Amazon Polly's pay-per-use model means there are no setup costs. You can start small and scale up as your application grows.

     

  • Cloud-based solution – On-device TTS solutions require significant computing resources, notably CPU power, RAM, and disk space. These can result in higher development costs and higher power consumption on devices such as tablets, smart phones, and so on. In contrast, TTS conversion done in the AWS Cloud dramatically reduces local resource requirements. This enables support of all the available languages and voices at the best possible quality. Moreover, speech improvements are instantly available to all end-users and do not require additional updates for devices.

Are You a First-time User of Amazon Polly?

If you are a first-time user of Amazon Polly, we recommend that you read the following sections in the listed order:

  1. How Amazon Polly Works – This section introduces various Amazon Polly inputs and options that you can work with in order to create an end-to-end experience.

  2. Getting Started with Amazon Polly – In this section, you set up your account and test Amazon Polly speech synthesis.

  3. Example Applications – This section provides additional examples that you can use to explore Amazon Polly.

什么是 Amazon Polly? - Amazon Polly
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

什么是 Amazon Polly?

Amazon Polly 云服务可以将文本转化为逼真的语音。可以使用 Amazon Polly 开发能提高参与度和可用性的应用程序。Amazon Polly 支持多种语言并且包含各种逼真的声音,因此,您可以构建支持语音并能用于各种位置的应用程序,并使用适合客户的声音。使用 Amazon Polly,您只需为合成的文本付费。您也可以免费缓存和重放 Amazon Polly 生成的语音。

此外,Amazon Polly 还包含许多神经文本到语音转换 (NTTS) 语音,通过新的机器学习方法为语音质量带来突破性的改进,从而为客户提供尽可能最自然的文本到语音的似人类的语音。神经 TTS 技术还支持播音员风格,专为新闻播报使用案例量身定制。

Amazon Polly 的常用案例包括但不限于移动应用程序 (如新闻阅读器、游戏、电子学习平台)、视障人士辅助功能应用程序以及快速增长的物联网 (IoT) 细分市场。

Amazon Polly 经认证可用于 HIPAA(1996 年《Health 保险可携性与责任法》)和支付卡行业数据安全标准 (PCI DSS) 的受监管工作负载。

使用 Amazon Polly 的一些好处包括:

  • 高质量— Amazon Polly 提供新的神经 TTS 和一流的标准 TTS 技术,以合成发音精度极高的超自然语音(包括缩写、首字母缩略词扩展、日期/时间解释和同义词消歧)。

  • 低延迟— Amazon Polly 确保快速响应,这使其成为低延迟用例(如对话系统)的可行选项。

  • Support 大量语言和声音组合— Amazon Polly 支持数十种语音语言,并为大多数语言提供男性和女性语音选项。神经 TTS 目前支持三种英国英语语音和八种美国英语语音。随着我们推出的神经语音越来越多,这个数字将继续增加。美国英语语音 Matthew 和 Joanna 也可以使用神经播音员风格,与专业新闻主播的发音十分相似。

  • 经济高效— Amazon Polly 的按需付费模式意味着没有设置成本。您可以从小规模开始,然后视应用程序的发展情况进行扩展。

  • 基于云的解决方案— 设备上的 TTS 解决方案需要大量的计算资源,特别是 CPU 功率、RAM 和磁盘空间。这些可能增加平板电脑、智能手机等设备的开发成本和功耗。相比之下,TTS 转换在 Amazon Web Services 云 大大减少了当地的资源需求。这样就能够以尽可能高的质量支持所有可用的语言和语音。此外,还可以立即向所有最终用户提供语音改进,并且不需要进行额外的设备更新。

您是首次接触 Amazon Polly 的用户吗?

如果您是首次接触 Amazon Polly 服务的用户,我们建议您按列出的顺序阅读以下各节:

  1. Amazon Polly 的工作原理— 本节介绍了各种 Amazon Polly 输入和选项,您可以使用这些输入和选项,以创造端到端体验。

  2. Amazon Polly 入门— 在本部分中,您将设置账户并测试 Amazon Polly 语音合成。

  3. 示例应用程序— 本节提供了您可用于探索 Amazon Polly 的更多示例。