XGBoost Algorithm - Amazon SageMaker
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

XGBoost Algorithm

The XGBoost (eXtreme Gradient Boosting) is a popular and efficient open-source implementation of the gradient boosted trees algorithm. Gradient boosting is a supervised learning algorithm that attempts to accurately predict a target variable by combining an ensemble of estimates from a set of simpler and weaker models. The XGBoost algorithm performs well in machine learning competitions because of its robust handling of a variety of data types, relationships, distributions, and the variety of hyperparameters that you can fine-tune. You can use XGBoost for regression, classification (binary and multiclass), and ranking problems.

You can use the new release of the XGBoost algorithm either as a Amazon SageMaker built-in algorithm or as a framework to run training scripts in your local environments. This implementation has a smaller memory footprint, better logging, improved hyperparameter validation, and an expanded set of metrics than the original versions. It provides an XGBoost estimator that executes a training script in a managed XGBoost environment. The current release of SageMaker XGBoost is based on the original XGBoost versions 1.0, 1.2, 1.3, 1.5, and 1.7.

Supported versions

  • Framework (open source) mode: 1.0-1, 1.2-1, 1.2-2, 1.3-1, 1.5-1, 1.7-1

  • Algorithm mode: 1.0-1, 1.2-1, 1.2-2, 1.3-1, 1.5-1, 1.7-1

Warning

Due to required compute capacity, version 1.7-1 of SageMaker XGBoost is not compatible with GPU instances from the P2 instance family for training or inference.

Important

When you retrieve the SageMaker XGBoost image URI, do not use :latest or :1 for the image URI tag. You must specify one of the Supported versions to choose the SageMaker-managed XGBoost container with the native XGBoost package version that you want to use. To find the package version migrated into the SageMaker XGBoost containers, see Docker Registry Paths and Example Code, choose your Amazon Web Services Region, and navigate to the XGBoost (algorithm) section.

Warning

The XGBoost 0.90 versions are deprecated. Supports for security updates or bug fixes for XGBoost 0.90 is discontinued. It is highly recommended to upgrade the XGBoost version to one of the newer versions.

Note

XGBoost v1.1 is not supported on SageMaker because XGBoost 1.1 has a broken capability to run prediction when the test input has fewer features than the training data in LIBSVM inputs. This capability has been restored in XGBoost v1.2. Consider using SageMaker XGBoost 1.2-2 or later.

How to Use SageMaker XGBoost

With SageMaker, you can use XGBoost as a built-in algorithm or framework. By using XGBoost as a framework, you have more flexibility and access to more advanced scenarios, such as k-fold cross-validation, because you can customize your own training scripts. The following sections describe how to use XGBoost with the SageMaker Python SDK. For information on how to use XGBoost from the Amazon SageMaker Studio Classic UI, see SageMaker JumpStart.

  • Use XGBoost as a framework

    Use XGBoost as a framework to run your customized training scripts that can incorporate additional data processing into your training jobs. In the following code example, you can find how SageMaker Python SDK provides the XGBoost API as a framework in the same way it provides other framework APIs, such as TensorFlow, MXNet, and PyTorch.

    import boto3 import sagemaker from sagemaker.xgboost.estimator import XGBoost from sagemaker.session import Session from sagemaker.inputs import TrainingInput # initialize hyperparameters hyperparameters = { "max_depth":"5", "eta":"0.2", "gamma":"4", "min_child_weight":"6", "subsample":"0.7", "verbosity":"1", "objective":"reg:squarederror", "num_round":"50"} # set an output path where the trained model will be saved bucket = sagemaker.Session().default_bucket() prefix = 'DEMO-xgboost-as-a-framework' output_path = 's3://{}/{}/{}/output'.format(bucket, prefix, 'abalone-xgb-framework') # construct a SageMaker XGBoost estimator # specify the entry_point to your xgboost training script estimator = XGBoost(entry_point = "your_xgboost_abalone_script.py", framework_version='1.7-1', hyperparameters=hyperparameters, role=sagemaker.get_execution_role(), instance_count=1, instance_type='ml.m5.2xlarge', output_path=output_path) # define the data type and paths to the training and validation datasets content_type = "libsvm" train_input = TrainingInput("s3://{}/{}/{}/".format(bucket, prefix, 'train'), content_type=content_type) validation_input = TrainingInput("s3://{}/{}/{}/".format(bucket, prefix, 'validation'), content_type=content_type) # execute the XGBoost training job estimator.fit({'train': train_input, 'validation': validation_input})

    For an end-to-end example of using SageMaker XGBoost as a framework, see Regression with Amazon SageMaker XGBoost

  • Use XGBoost as a built-in algorithm

    Use the XGBoost built-in algorithm to build an XGBoost training container as shown in the following code example. You can automatically spot the XGBoost built-in algorithm image URI using the SageMaker image_uris.retrieve API (or the get_image_uri API if using Amazon SageMaker Python SDK version 1). If you want to ensure if the image_uris.retrieve API finds the correct URI, see Common parameters for built-in algorithms and look up xgboost from the full list of built-in algorithm image URIs and available regions.

    After specifying the XGBoost image URI, you can use the XGBoost container to construct an estimator using the SageMaker Estimator API and initiate a training job. This XGBoost built-in algorithm mode does not incorporate your own XGBoost training script and runs directly on the input datasets.

    Important

    When you retrieve the SageMaker XGBoost image URI, do not use :latest or :1 for the image URI tag. You must specify one of the Supported versions to choose the SageMaker-managed XGBoost container with the native XGBoost package version that you want to use. To find the package version migrated into the SageMaker XGBoost containers, see Docker Registry Paths and Example Code, choose your Amazon Web Services Region, and navigate to the XGBoost (algorithm) section.

    import sagemaker import boto3 from sagemaker import image_uris from sagemaker.session import Session from sagemaker.inputs import TrainingInput # initialize hyperparameters hyperparameters = { "max_depth":"5", "eta":"0.2", "gamma":"4", "min_child_weight":"6", "subsample":"0.7", "objective":"reg:squarederror", "num_round":"50"} # set an output path where the trained model will be saved bucket = sagemaker.Session().default_bucket() prefix = 'DEMO-xgboost-as-a-built-in-algo' output_path = 's3://{}/{}/{}/output'.format(bucket, prefix, 'abalone-xgb-built-in-algo') # this line automatically looks for the XGBoost image URI and builds an XGBoost container. # specify the repo_version depending on your preference. xgboost_container = sagemaker.image_uris.retrieve("xgboost", region, "1.7-1") # construct a SageMaker estimator that calls the xgboost-container estimator = sagemaker.estimator.Estimator(image_uri=xgboost_container, hyperparameters=hyperparameters, role=sagemaker.get_execution_role(), instance_count=1, instance_type='ml.m5.2xlarge', volume_size=5, # 5 GB output_path=output_path) # define the data type and paths to the training and validation datasets content_type = "libsvm" train_input = TrainingInput("s3://{}/{}/{}/".format(bucket, prefix, 'train'), content_type=content_type) validation_input = TrainingInput("s3://{}/{}/{}/".format(bucket, prefix, 'validation'), content_type=content_type) # execute the XGBoost training job estimator.fit({'train': train_input, 'validation': validation_input})

    For more information about how to set up the XGBoost as a built-in algorithm, see the following notebook examples.

Input/Output Interface for the XGBoost Algorithm

Gradient boosting operates on tabular data, with the rows representing observations, one column representing the target variable or label, and the remaining columns representing features.

The SageMaker implementation of XGBoost supports the following data formats for training and inference:

  • text/libsvm (default)

  • text/csv

  • application/x-parquet

  • application/x-recordio-protobuf

Note

There are a few considerations to be aware of regarding training and inference input:

  • For increased performance, we recommend using XGBoost with File mode, in which your data from Amazon S3 is stored on the training instance volumes.

  • For training with columnar input, the algorithm assumes that the target variable (label) is the first column. For inference, the algorithm assumes that the input has no label column.

  • For CSV data, the input should not have a header record.

  • For LIBSVM training, the algorithm assumes that subsequent columns after the label column contain the zero-based index value pairs for features. So each row has the format: : <label> <index0>:<value0> <index1>:<value1>.

  • For information on instance types and distributed training, see EC2 Instance Recommendation for the XGBoost Algorithm.

For CSV training input mode, the total memory available to the algorithm (Instance Count * the memory available in the InstanceType) must be able to hold the training dataset. For libsvm training input mode, it's not required, but we recommend it.

For v1.3-1 and later, SageMaker XGBoost saves the model in the XGBoost internal binary format, using Booster.save_model. Previous versions use the Python pickle module to serialize/deserialize the model.

Note

Be mindful of versions when using an SageMaker XGBoost model in open source XGBoost. Versions 1.3-1 and later use the XGBoost internal binary format while previous versions use the Python pickle module.

To use a model trained with SageMaker XGBoost v1.3-1 or later in open source XGBoost
  • Use the following Python code:

    import xgboost as xgb xgb_model = xgb.Booster() xgb_model.load_model(model_file_path) xgb_model.predict(dtest)
To use a model trained with previous versions of SageMaker XGBoost in open source XGBoost
  • Use the following Python code:

    import pickle as pkl import tarfile t = tarfile.open('model.tar.gz', 'r:gz') t.extractall() model = pkl.load(open(model_file_path, 'rb')) # prediction with test data pred = model.predict(dtest)
To differentiate the importance of labelled data points use Instance Weight Supports
  • SageMaker XGBoost allows customers to differentiate the importance of labelled data points by assigning each instance a weight value. For text/libsvm input, customers can assign weight values to data instances by attaching them after the labels. For example, label:weight idx_0:val_0 idx_1:val_1.... For text/csv input, customers need to turn on the csv_weights flag in the parameters and attach weight values in the column after labels. For example: label,weight,val_0,val_1,...).

EC2 Instance Recommendation for the XGBoost Algorithm

SageMaker XGBoost supports CPU and GPU training and inference. Instance recommendations depend on training and inference needs, as well as the version of the XGBoost algorithm. Choose one of the following options for more information:

Training

The SageMaker XGBoost algorithm supports CPU and GPU training.

CPU training

SageMaker XGBoost 1.0-1 or earlier only trains using CPUs. It is a memory-bound (as opposed to compute-bound) algorithm. So, a general-purpose compute instance (for example, M5) is a better choice than a compute-optimized instance (for example, C4). Further, we recommend that you have enough total memory in selected instances to hold the training data. Although it supports the use of disk space to handle data that does not fit into main memory (the out-of-core feature available with the libsvm input mode), writing cache files onto disk slows the algorithm processing time.

GPU training

SageMaker XGBoost version 1.2-2 or later supports GPU training. Despite higher per-instance costs, GPUs train more quickly, making them more cost effective.

SageMaker XGBoost version 1.2-2 or later supports P2, P3, G4dn, and G5 GPU instance families.

SageMaker XGBoost version 1.7-1 or later supports P3, G4dn, and G5 GPU instance families. Note that due to compute capacity requirements, version 1.7-1 or later does not support the P2 instance family.

To take advantage of GPU training, specify the instance type as one of the GPU instances (for example, P3) and set the tree_method hyperparameter to gpu_hist in your existing XGBoost script.

Distributed training

SageMaker XGBoost supports CPU and GPU instances for distributed training.

Distributed CPU training

To run CPU training on multiple instances, set the instance_count parameter for the estimator to a value greater than one. The input data must be divided between the total number of instances.

Divide input data across instances

Divide the input data using the following steps:

  1. Break the input data down into smaller files. The number of files should be at least equal to the number of instances used for distributed training. Using multiple smaller files as opposed to one large file also decreases the data download time for the training job.

  2. When creating your TrainingInput, set the distribution parameter to ShardedByS3Key. This parameter ensures that each instance gets approximately 1/n of the number of files in S3 if there are n instances specified in the training job.

Distributed GPU training

You can use distributed training with either single-GPU or multi-GPU instances.

Distributed training with single-GPU instances

SageMaker XGBoost versions 1.2-2 through 1.3-1 only support single-GPU instance training. This means that even if you select a multi-GPU instance, only one GPU is used per instance.

If you use XGBoost versions 1.2-2 through 1.3-1, or if you do not need to use multi-GPU instances, then you must divide your input data between the total number of instances. For more information, see Divide input data across instances.

Note

Versions 1.2-2 through 1.3-1 of SageMaker XGBoost only use one GPU per instance even if you choose a multi-GPU instance.

Distributed training with multi-GPU instances

Starting with version 1.5-1, SageMaker XGBoost offers distributed GPU training with Dask. With Dask you can utilize all GPUs when using one or more multi-GPU instances. Dask also works when using single-GPU instances.

Train with Dask using the following steps:

  1. Either omit the distribution parameter in your TrainingInput or set it to FullyReplicated.

  2. When defining your hyperparameters, set use_dask_gpu_training to "true".

Important

Distributed training with Dask only supports CSV and Parquet input formats. If you use other data formats such as LIBSVM or PROTOBUF, the training job fails.

For Parquet data, ensure that the column names are saved as strings. Columns that have names of other data types will fail to load.

Important

Distributed training with Dask does not support pipe mode. If pipe mode is specified, the training job fails.

There are a few considerations to be aware of when training SageMaker XGBoost with Dask. Be sure to split your data into smaller files. Dask reads each Parquet file as a partition. There is a Dask worker for every GPU, so the number of files should be greater than the total number of GPUs (instance count * number of GPUs per instance). Having a very large number of files can also degrade performance. For more information, see Dask Best Practices.

Variations in output

The specified tree_method hyperparameter determines the algorithm that is used for XGBoost training. The tree methods approx, hist and gpu_hist are all approximate methods and use sketching for quantile calculation. For more information, see Tree Methods in the XGBoost documentation. Sketching is an approximate algorithm. Therefore, you can expect variations in the model depending on factors such as the number of workers chosen for distributed training. The significance of the variation is data-dependent.

Inference

SageMaker XGBoost supports CPU and GPU instances for inference. For information about the instance types for inference, see Amazon SageMaker ML Instance Types.

XGBoost Sample Notebooks

The following table outlines a variety of sample notebooks that address different use cases of Amazon SageMaker XGBoost algorithm.

Notebook Title Description

How to Create a Custom XGBoost container?

This notebook shows you how to build a custom XGBoost Container with Amazon SageMaker Batch Transform.

Regression with XGBoost using Parquet

This notebook shows you how to use the Abalone dataset in Parquet to train a XGBoost model.

How to Train and Host a Multiclass Classification Model?

This notebook shows how to use the MNIST dataset to train and host a multiclass classification model.

How to train a Model for Customer Churn Prediction?

This notebook shows you how to train a model to Predict Mobile Customer Departure in an effort to identify unhappy customers.

An Introduction to Amazon SageMaker Managed Spot infrastructure for XGBoost Training

This notebook shows you how to use Spot Instances for training with a XGBoost Container.

How to use Amazon SageMaker Debugger to debug XGBoost Training Jobs?

This notebook shows you how to use Amazon SageMaker Debugger to monitor training jobs to detect inconsistencies using built-in debugging rules.

How to use Amazon SageMaker Debugger to debug XGBoost Training Jobs in Real-Time?

This notebook shows you how to use the MNIST dataset and Amazon SageMaker Debugger to perform real-time analysis of XGBoost training jobs while training jobs are running.

For instructions on how to create and access Jupyter notebook instances that you can use to run the example in SageMaker, see Amazon SageMaker Notebook Instances. After you have created a notebook instance and opened it, choose the SageMaker Examples tab to see a list of all of the SageMaker samples. The topic modeling example notebooks using the linear learning algorithm are located in the Introduction to Amazon algorithms section. To open a notebook, choose its Use tab and choose Create copy.

XGBoost 算法 - Amazon SageMaker
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

XGBoost 算法

XGBoost (eXtreme Gradient Boosting) 是梯度提升树算法的一种流行且高效的开源实施。梯度提升是一种指导式学习算法,它尝试将一组较简单且较弱模型的一系列估计值结合在一起,从而准确地预测目标变量。XGBoost 算法在机器学习竞赛中表现良好,因为它可以强大地处理各种数据类型、关系、分布以及您可以微调的各种超参数。您可以使用 XGBoost 来处理回归、分类(二元和多元)和排名问题。

您可以将新版本的 XGBoost 算法用作 Amazon SageMaker 内置算法,也可以用作在本地环境中运行训练脚本的框架。与原始版本相比,此实施占用内存更少,并且具有更好的日志记录、改进的超参数验证以及一组扩展的指标。它提供了一个 XGBoost estimator,用于在托管的 XGBoost 环境中执行训练脚本。当前版本的 SageMaker XGBoost 基于最初的 XGBoost 版本 1.0、1.2、1.3、1.5 和 1.7。

支持的版本

  • 框架(开源)模式:1.0-1、1.2-1、1.2-2、1.3-1、1.5-1、1.7-1

  • 算法模式:1.0-1、1.2-1、1.2-2、1.3-1、1.5-1、1.7-1

警告

由于需要计算容量, SageMaker XGBoost 的 1.7-1 版本与 P2 实例系列中的 GPU 实例不兼容,用于训练或推理。

重要

检索 SageMaker XGBoost 图像 URI 时,请勿使用:latest:1作为图像 URI 标签。您必须指定其中一个才能选择包含支持的版本要使用的本机 XGBoost 包版本的 SageMaker托管 XGBoost 容器。要查找迁移到 SageMaker XGBoost 容器中的软件包版本,请参阅 Docker 注册表路径和示例代码,选择您的 Amazon Web Services 区域,然后导航到 XGBoost(算法)部分。

警告

XGBoost 0.90 版本已弃用。对 XGBoost 0.90 的安全更新或错误修复的支持已停止。强烈建议将 XGBoost 版本升级到较新的版本之一。

注意

不支持 XGBoost v1.1, SageMaker 因为当测试输入的特征少于 LIBSVM 输入中的训练数据时,XGBoost 1.1 的运行预测功能就会中断。此功能已在 XGBoost v1.2 中恢复。可以考虑使用 SageMaker XGBoost 1.2-2 或更高版本。

如何使用 SageMaker xgBoost

借助 SageMaker,您可以将 XGBoost 用作内置算法或框架。通过将 XGBoost 用作框架,您可以自定义自己的训练脚本,从而具有更大的灵活性并可以访问更高级的方案(例如 k 折交叉验证)。以下各节介绍如何将 XGBoost 与 Pyth SageMaker on 软件开发工具包配合使用。有关如何通过 Amazon SageMaker Studio Classic 用户界面使用 XGBoost 的信息,请参阅。SageMaker JumpStart

  • 使用 XGBoost 作为框架

    使用 XGBoost 作为框架来运行可以将附加数据处理合并到训练作业中的自定义训练脚本。在下面的代码示例中,你可以找到 SageMaker Python SDK 如何将 XGBoost API 作为框架提供,就像它提供其他框架 API(例如 TensorFlow MxNet 和)一样。 PyTorch

    import boto3 import sagemaker from sagemaker.xgboost.estimator import XGBoost from sagemaker.session import Session from sagemaker.inputs import TrainingInput # initialize hyperparameters hyperparameters = { "max_depth":"5", "eta":"0.2", "gamma":"4", "min_child_weight":"6", "subsample":"0.7", "verbosity":"1", "objective":"reg:squarederror", "num_round":"50"} # set an output path where the trained model will be saved bucket = sagemaker.Session().default_bucket() prefix = 'DEMO-xgboost-as-a-framework' output_path = 's3://{}/{}/{}/output'.format(bucket, prefix, 'abalone-xgb-framework') # construct a SageMaker XGBoost estimator # specify the entry_point to your xgboost training script estimator = XGBoost(entry_point = "your_xgboost_abalone_script.py", framework_version='1.7-1', hyperparameters=hyperparameters, role=sagemaker.get_execution_role(), instance_count=1, instance_type='ml.m5.2xlarge', output_path=output_path) # define the data type and paths to the training and validation datasets content_type = "libsvm" train_input = TrainingInput("s3://{}/{}/{}/".format(bucket, prefix, 'train'), content_type=content_type) validation_input = TrainingInput("s3://{}/{}/{}/".format(bucket, prefix, 'validation'), content_type=content_type) # execute the XGBoost training job estimator.fit({'train': train_input, 'validation': validation_input})

    有关使用 SageMaker XGBoost 作为框架的 end-to-end 示例,请参阅 Amazon xgBoost 的回归 SageMaker

  • 使用 XGBoost 作为内置算法

    使用 XGBoost 内置算法构建 XGBoost 训练容器,如以下代码示例所示。你可以使用 API(如果使用亚马逊 Pyth SageMaker on SDK 版本 1 则使用 SageMaker image_uris.retrieve API)自动发现 XGBoost 内置算法图像 UR get_image_uri I。如果要确保 image_uris.retrieve API 找到正确的 URI,请参阅内置算法的常用参数,并从内置算法映像 URI 和可用区域的完整列表中查找 xgboost

    指定 XGBoost 图像 URI 后,您可以使用 XGBoost 容器使用 Estimator API 构造估算器并启动训练作 SageMaker 业。此 XGBoost 内置算法模式不包含您自己的 XGBoost 训练脚本,而是直接在输入数据集上运行。

    重要

    检索 SageMaker XGBoost 图像 URI 时,请勿使用:latest:1作为图像 URI 标签。您必须指定其中一个才能选择包含支持的版本要使用的本机 XGBoost 包版本的 SageMaker托管 XGBoost 容器。要查找迁移到 SageMaker XGBoost 容器中的软件包版本,请参阅 Docker 注册表路径和示例代码,选择您的 Amazon Web Services 区域,然后导航到 XGBoost(算法)部分。

    import sagemaker import boto3 from sagemaker import image_uris from sagemaker.session import Session from sagemaker.inputs import TrainingInput # initialize hyperparameters hyperparameters = { "max_depth":"5", "eta":"0.2", "gamma":"4", "min_child_weight":"6", "subsample":"0.7", "objective":"reg:squarederror", "num_round":"50"} # set an output path where the trained model will be saved bucket = sagemaker.Session().default_bucket() prefix = 'DEMO-xgboost-as-a-built-in-algo' output_path = 's3://{}/{}/{}/output'.format(bucket, prefix, 'abalone-xgb-built-in-algo') # this line automatically looks for the XGBoost image URI and builds an XGBoost container. # specify the repo_version depending on your preference. xgboost_container = sagemaker.image_uris.retrieve("xgboost", region, "1.7-1") # construct a SageMaker estimator that calls the xgboost-container estimator = sagemaker.estimator.Estimator(image_uri=xgboost_container, hyperparameters=hyperparameters, role=sagemaker.get_execution_role(), instance_count=1, instance_type='ml.m5.2xlarge', volume_size=5, # 5 GB output_path=output_path) # define the data type and paths to the training and validation datasets content_type = "libsvm" train_input = TrainingInput("s3://{}/{}/{}/".format(bucket, prefix, 'train'), content_type=content_type) validation_input = TrainingInput("s3://{}/{}/{}/".format(bucket, prefix, 'validation'), content_type=content_type) # execute the XGBoost training job estimator.fit({'train': train_input, 'validation': validation_input})

    有关如何将 XGBoost 设置为内置算法的更多信息,请参阅以下笔记本示例。

XGBoost 算法的输入/输出接口

梯度提升对表格数据进行操作,其中行表示观察、一个列表示目标变量或标签,其余列表示特征。

XGBoost 的 SageMaker 实现支持以下用于训练和推理的数据格式:

  • text/libsvm(默认)

  • text/csv

  • application/x-parquet

  • 应用程序/ x-recordio-protobuf

注意

关于训练和推理输入,有几个事项需要注意:

  • 为了提高性能,我们建议使用带文件模式的 XGBoost,在这种模式下,你来自 Amazon S3 的数据存储在训练实例卷上。

  • 对于使用列式输入的训练,算法会假定目标变量(标签)是第一列。对于推理,算法会假定输入没有标签列。

  • 对于 CSV 数据,输入不应有标题记录。

  • 对于 LIBSVM 训练,算法假定标签列后面的列包含特征的索引值对,索引从零开始。因此,每一行的格式为:<label> <index0>:<value0> <index1>:<value1>。

  • 有关实例类型和分布式训练的信息,请参阅 XGBoost 算法的 EC2 实例推荐

对于 CSV 训练输入模式,可用于算法的总内存 (实例计数 * InstanceType 中的可用内存) 必须能够容纳训练数据集。对于 libsvm 训练输入模式,它不是必需的,但我们建议使用它。

对于 v1.3-1 及更高版本, SageMaker XGBoost 使用以 XGBoost 内部二进制格式保存模型。Booster.save_model以前的版本使用 Python pickle 模块对模型进行序列化/反序列化。

注意

在开源 XGBoost 中使用 SageMaker XGBoost 模型时,请注意版本。版本 1.3-1 及更高版本使用 XGBoost 内部二进制格式,而之前的版本使用 Python pickle 模块。

在开源 xgBoost 中使用使用 SageMaker xgBoost v1.3-1 或更高版本训练的模型
  • 使用以下 Python 代码:

    import xgboost as xgb xgb_model = xgb.Booster() xgb_model.load_model(model_file_path) xgb_model.predict(dtest)
在开源 XGBoost 中使用使用以前版本的 SageMaker XGBoost 训练过的模型
  • 使用以下 Python 代码:

    import pickle as pkl import tarfile t = tarfile.open('model.tar.gz', 'r:gz') t.extractall() model = pkl.load(open(model_file_path, 'rb')) # prediction with test data pred = model.predict(dtest)
使用实例权重支持区分标记数据点的重要性
  • SageMaker XGBoost 允许客户通过为每个实例分配权重值来区分已标记数据点的重要性。对于 text/libsvm 输入,客户可以通过在标签之后附加权重值,将权重值分配给数据实例。例如,label:weight idx_0:val_0 idx_1:val_1...。对于 text/csv 输入,客户需要在参数中打开 csv_weights 标志,并将权重值附加到标签之后的列中。例如:label,weight,val_0,val_1,...

XGBoost 算法的 EC2 实例推荐

SageMaker XGBoost 支持 CPU 和 GPU 训练和推理。实例建议取决于训练和推理需求,以及 XGBoost 算法的版本。有关更多信息,请选择以下选项之一:

训练

SageMaker XGBoost 算法支持 CPU 和 GPU 训练。

CPU 训练

SageMaker XGBoost 1.0-1 或更早版本只能使用 CPU 进行训练。它是一种内存限制型(而不是计算限制型)算法。因此,通用计算实例(例如 M5)是比计算优化的实例(例如 C4)更适合的选择。此外,我们建议您在选定的实例中有足够的总内存来保存训练数据。尽管它支持使用磁盘空间来处理不适合主内存的数据(libsvm 输入模式下可用的 out-of-core 功能),但将缓存文件写入磁盘会减慢算法处理时间。

GPU 训练

SageMaker XGBoost 1.2-2 或更高版本支持 GPU 训练。尽管每实例成本较高,但 GPU 训练的速度更快,因此更经济高效。

SageMaker xgBoost 版本 1.2-2 或更高版本支持 P2、P3、G4dN 和 G5 GPU 实例系列。

SageMaker xgBoost 版本 1.7-1 或更高版本支持 P3、G4dN 和 G5 GPU 实例系列。请注意,由于计算容量要求,1.7-1 或更高版本不支持 P2 实例系列。

要利用 GPU 训练,请将实例类型指定为 GPU 实例之一(例如 P3),然后在您现有的 XGBoost 脚本中,将 tree_method 超参数设置为 gpu_hist

分布式训练

SageMaker XGBoost 支持 CPU 和 GPU 实例进行分布式训练。

分布式 CPU 训练

要在多个实例上运行 CPU 训练,请将估算器的 instance_count 参数设置为大于 1 的值。输入数据必须按照实例总数进行划分。

在实例之间划分输入数据

使用以下步骤划分输入数据:

  1. 将输入数据分解成较小的文件。文件数量至少应等于用于分布式训练的实例数。相比一个大文件,使用多个较小的文件还可以缩短训练作业的数据下载时间。

  2. 创建时 TrainingInput,将分布参数设置为ShardedByS3Key。在训练作业中指定了 n 个实例时,此参数可确保每个实例获得 S3 中文件数的大约 1/n

分布式 GPU 训练

您可以使用单 GPU 或多 GPU 实例进行分布式训练。

使用单 GPU 实例进行分布式训练

SageMaker XGBoost 版本 1.2-2 至 1.3-1 仅支持单 GPU 实例训练。这意味着即使您选择多 GPU 实例,每个实例也只能使用一个 GPU。

如果您使用 XGBoost 版本 1.2-2 到 1.3-1,或者您不需要使用多 GPU 实例,则必须按照实例总数来划分输入数据。有关更多信息,请参阅在实例之间划分输入数据

注意

即使您选择多 GPU 实例, SageMaker XGBoost 的 1.2-2 到 1.3-1 版本也只能为每个实例使用一个 GPU。

使用多 GPU 实例进行分布式训练

从版本 1.5-1 开始, SageMaker XGBoost 通过 Dask 提供分布式 GPU 训练。通过 Dask,您可以在使用一个或多个多 GPU 实例时使用所有 GPU。使用单 GPU 实例时,Dask 也可以使用。

通过以下步骤使用 Dask 进行训练:

  1. 要么省略您的中的distribution参数,要TrainingInput么将其设置为。FullyReplicated

  2. 定义超参数时,请将 use_dask_gpu_training 设置为 "true"

重要

使用 Dask 进行分布式训练时,仅支持 CSV 和 Parquet 输入格式。如果您使用其他数据格式,例如 LIBSVM 或 PROTOBUF,则训练作业将失败。

对于 Parquet 数据,请确保按照字符串格式保存列名。列名使用其他数据类型的列将无法加载。

重要

使用 Dask 进行分布式训练不支持管道模式。如果指定了管道模式,则训练作业将失败。

使用 Dask 训练 SageMaker XGBoost 时,需要注意一些注意事项。请确保将数据拆分成较小的文件。Dask 将每个 Parquet 文件作为一个分区读取。每个 GPU 都有一个 Dask 工作线程,因此文件数应大于 GPU 的总数(实例数 * 每个实例的 GPU 数)。文件数量过大也会降低性能。有关更多信息,请参阅 Dask 最佳实践

输出中的变化

指定的 tree_method 超参数决定了用于 XGBoost 训练的算法。树方法 approxhistgpu_hist 都是近似方法,使用 Sketching 进行分位数计算。有关更多信息,请参阅 XGBoost 文档中的树方法。Sketching 是一种近似算法。因此,根据各种因素(例如为分布式训练选择的工作线程数),预期模型中会出现变化。变化的重要性取决于数据。

推理

SageMaker XGBoost 支持 CPU 和 GPU 实例进行推理。有关用于推理的实例类型的信息,请参阅 Amazon SageMaker ML 实例类型

XGBoost 示例笔记本

下表概述了各种示例笔记本,这些笔记本解决了 Amazon SageMaker XGBoost 算法的不同用例。

笔记本标题 描述

如何创建自定义 XGBoost 容器?

本笔记本向您展示了如何使用 Amazon Batc SageMaker h Transform 构建自定义 XGBoost 容器。

使用 Parquet 通过 XGBoost 进行回归

本笔记本演示如何使用 Parquet 格式的 Abalone 数据集来训练 XGBoost 模型。

如何训练和托管多元分类模型?

本笔记本展示了如何使用 MNIST 数据集训练和托管多元分类模型。

如何训练客户流失预测模型?

本笔记本演示了如何训练模型来预测移动客户流失,以确定不满意的客户。

适用于 XGBoost 培训的 Amazon SageMaker 托管 Spot 基础设施简介

本笔记本演示如何使用竞价型实例训练 XGBoost 容器。

如何使用 Amazon SageMaker 调试器调试 XGBoost 训练作业?

本笔记本向您展示如何使用 Amazon SageMaker Debugger 监控训练作业,以使用内置调试规则检测不一致之处。

如何使用 Amazon D SageMaker ebugger 实时调试 XGBoost 训练作业?

本笔记本向您展示了如何在训练作业运行时使用 MNIST 数据集和 Amazon SageMaker Debugger 对 XGBoost 训练作业进行实时分析。

有关如何创建和访问可用于在中运行示例的 Jupyter 笔记本实例的说明 SageMaker,请参阅。Amazon SageMaker 笔记本实例创建并打开笔记本实例后,选择 “SageMaker示例” 选项卡以查看所有 SageMaker 示例的列表。使用线性学习算法的主题建模示例笔记本位于 Amazon 算法简介部分中。要打开笔记本,请选择其使用选项卡,然后选择创建副本