Multi-Region architecture patterns for SAP HANA - SAP HANA on Amazon
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Multi-Region architecture patterns for SAP HANA

Amazon Global Infrastructure spans across multiple Regions around the world and this footprint is constantly increasing. For the latest updates, see Amazon Global Infrastructure. If you are looking for your SAP data to reside in multiple regions at any given point to ensure increased availability and minimal downtime in the event of failure, you should opt for multi-Region architecture patterns.

When deploying a multi-Region pattern, you can benefit from using an automated approach such as, cluster solution, for fail over between Availability Zones to minimize the overall downtime and remove the need for human intervention. Multi-Region patterns not only provide high availability but also disaster recovery, thereby lowering overall costs. Distance between the chosen regions have direct impact on latency and hence, in a multi-Region pattern, this has to be considered into the overall design of SAP HANA System Replication.

There are additional cost implications from cross-Region replication or data transfer that also need to be factored into the overall solution pricing. The pricing varies between Regions.

The following are the four multi-Region architecture patterns.

Pattern 5: Primary Region with two Availability Zones for production and secondary Region with a replica of backups/AMIs

This pattern is similar to pattern 1 where your SAP HANA instance is highly available. You deploy your production SAP HANA instance across two Availability Zones in the primary Region using synchronous SAP HANA System Replication. You can restore your SAP HANA instance in a secondary Region with a replica of backups stores in Amazon S3, Amazon EBS, and Amazon Machine Images (AMIs).

With cross-Region replication of files stored in Amazon S3, the data stored in a bucket is automatically (asynchronously) copied to the target Region. Amazon EBS snapshots can be copied between Regions. For more information, see Copy an Amazon EBS snapshot. You can copy an AMI within or across Regions using Amazon CLI, Amazon Web Services Management Console, Amazon SDKs or Amazon EC2 APIs. For more information, see Copy an AMI. You can also use Amazon Backup to schedule and run snapshots and replications across Regions.

In the event of a complete Region failure, the production SAP HANA instance needs to be built in the secondary Region using AMI. You can use Amazon CloudFormation templates to automate the launch of a new SAP HANA instance. Once your instance is launched, you can then download the last set of backup from Amazon S3 to restore your SAP HANA instance to a point-in-time before the disaster event. You can also use Amazon Backint Agent to restore and recover your SAP HANA instance and redirect your client traffic to the new instance in the secondary Region.

This architecture provides you with the advantage of implementing your SAP HANA instance across multiple Availability Zones with the ability to failover instantly in the event of a failure. For disaster recovery that is outside the primary Region, recovery point objective is constrained by how often you store your SAP HANA backup files in your Amazon S3 bucket and the time it takes to replicate your Amazon S3 bucket to the target Region. You can use Amazon S3 replication time control for a time-bound replication. For more information, see Enabling Amazon S3 Replication Time Control.

Your recovery time objective depends on the time it takes to build the system in the secondary Region and restore operations from backup files. The amount of time will vary depending on the size of the database. Also, the time required to get the compute capacity for restore procedures may be more in the absence of a reserved instance capacity. This pattern is suitable when you need the lowest possible recovery time and point objectives within a region and high recovery point and time objectives for disaster recovery outside the primary Region.


                    Diagram of Pattern 5: Primary Region with two Availability Zones for production and secondary Region with a replica of backups/AMIs.

Pattern 6: Primary Region with two Availability Zones for production and secondary Region with compute and storage capacity deployed in a single Availability Zone

In addition to the architecture of pattern 5, this pattern has an asynchronous SAP HANA System Replication is setup between the SAP HANA instance in the primary Region and an identical third instance in one of the Availability Zones in the secondary Region. We recommend using the asynchronous mode of SAP HANA System Replication when replicating between Amazon Regions due to increased latency.

In the event of a failure in the primary Region, the production workloads are failed over to the secondary Region manually. This pattern ensures that your SAP systems are highly available and are disaster-tolerant. This pattern provides a quicker failover and continuity of business operations with continuous data replication.

There is an increased cost of deploying the required compute and storage for the production SAP HANA instance in the secondary Region and of data transfers between Regions. This pattern is suitable when you require disaster recovery outside of the primary Region with low recovery point and time objectives.

This pattern can be deployed in a multi-tier as well as multi-target replication configuration.

The following diagram shows a multi-target replication where the primary SAP HANA instance is replicated on both Availability Zones within the same Region and also in the secondary Region.


                    Diagram of Pattern 6: Primary Region with two Availability Zones for production and secondary Region with compute and storage capacity deployed in a single Availability Zone.

The following diagram shows a multi-tier replication where the replication is configured in a chained fashion.


                    Diagram of a multi-tier replication where the replication is configured in a chained fashion.

Pattern 7: Primary Region with two Availability Zones for production and a secondary Region with compute and storage capacity deployed, and data replication across two Availability Zones

In this pattern, two sets of two-tier SAP HANA System Replication is deployed across two Amazon Regions. The two-tier SAP HANA System Replication is configured across two Availability Zones within the same Region and the replication outside of the primary Region is configured using SAP HANA Multi-target System Replication. This setup can be extended with high availability cluster solution for automatic failover capability on the primary Region. For more information, see SAP HANA Multi-target System Replication.

This pattern provides protection against failures in the Availability Zones and Regions. However, a cross-Region takeover of SAP HANA instance requires manual intervention. During a failover of the secondary Region, the SAP HANA instance continues to have SAP HANA System Replication up and running in the new Region without any manual intervention. This setup is applicable if you are looking for the highest application availability at all times and disaster recovery outside the primary Region with the least possible recovery point and time objectives. This pattern can withstand an extremely rare possibility of the failure of three Availability Zones spread across multiple Regions.

This pattern is highly suitable for you if you operate active/active (read-only) SAP HANA instances in the primary Region and plan to continue the same SAP HANA System Replication configuration with read-only capability. If you are looking for read-only capability across two Regions along with an existing read-only instance within the Region, you can configure multiple secondary systems supporting active/active (read-only) configuration. However, only one of the systems can be accessed via hint-based statement routing and the others must be accessed via direct connection.

With this pattern, the redundant compute and storage capacity deployed across two Availability Zones in two Regions and the cross-Region communication add to the total cost of ownership.


                    Diagram of Pattern 7: Primary Region with two Availability Zones for production and a secondary Region with compute and storage capacity deployed, and data replication across two Availability Zones.

Pattern 8: Primary Region with one Availability Zone for production and a secondary Region with a replica of backups/AMIs

This pattern is similar to pattern 4 with additional disaster recovery in a secondary Region containing replicas of the SAP HANA instance backups stored in Amazon S3, Amazon EBS snapshots, and AMIs. In this pattern, the SAP HANA instance is deployed as a standalone installation in the primary Region in one Availability Zone with no target SAP HANA systems to replicate data.

With this pattern, your SAP HANA instance is not highly available. In the event of a complete Region failure, the production SAP HANA instance needs to be built in the secondary Region using AMI. You can use Amazon CloudFormation templates to automate the launch of a new SAP HANA instance. Once your instance is launched, you can then download the last set of backup from Amazon S3 to restore your SAP HANA instance to a point-in-time before the disaster event. You can also use Amazon Backint Agent to restore recover your SAP HANA instance and redirect your client traffic to the new instance in the secondary Region.

For disaster recovery that is outside the primary Region, recovery point objective is constrained by how often you store your SAP HANA backup files in your Amazon S3 bucket and the time it takes to replicate your Amazon S3 bucket to the target Region. Your recovery time objective depends on the time it takes to build the system in the secondary Region and restore operations from backup files. The amount of time will vary depending on the size of the database. This pattern is suitable for non-production or non-critical production systems that can tolerate a downtime required to restore normal operations.


                    Diagram of Pattern 8: Primary Region with one Availability Zone for production and a secondary Region with a replica of backups/AMIs.

Summary

We highly recommend operating business critical SAP HANA instances across two Availability Zones. You can use a third-party cluster solution, such as, Pacemaker along with SAP HANA System Replication to ensure a highly availability setup.

A high availability setup with third-party cluster solution adds to the licensing cost and is still recommended as it can provide high resiliency architecture, a near-zero recovery time and point objectives.

SAP HANA 的多区域架构模式 - SAP HANA 开启 Amazon
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

SAP HANA 的多区域架构模式

Amazon全球基础设施横跨全球多个区域,并且覆盖范围不断扩大。有关最新更新,请参阅Amazon全球基础设施. 如果您希望您的SAP数据在任何给定时间驻留在多个区域中,以确保在出现故障时提高可用性并最大限度地减少停机时间,则应选择多区域架构模式。

部署多区域模式时,您可以使用集群解决方案等自动化方法在可用区之间进行故障转移,从而最大限度地减少总体停机时间并消除人工干预的需求。多区域模式不仅提供高可用性,还可以提供灾难恢复,从而降低总体成本。所选区域之间的距离会直接影响延迟,因此,在多区域模式中,必须在 SAP HANA 系统复制的总体设计中考虑这一点。

跨区域复制或数据传输会带来额外的成本影响,这些因素也需要计入整体解决方案定价中。定价因地区而异。

以下是四种多区域架构模式。

模式:主区域有两个生产可用区和带备份/AMI 副本的辅助区域

此模式与模式 1 类似,在模式 1 中,您的 SAP HANA 实例具有高可用性。您可以使用同步 SAP HANA 系统复制在主要区域的两个可用区中部署生产 SAP HANA 实例。您可以使用存储在 Amazon S3、Amazon EBS 和亚马逊机器映像 (AMI) 中的备份副本在辅助区域恢复 SAP HANA 实例。

通过跨区域复制存储在 Amazon S3 中的文件,存储在存储桶中的数据会自动(异步)复制到目标区域。可以在区域之间复制 Amazon EBS 快照。有关更多信息,请参阅复制 Amazon EBS 快照. 您可以使用在区域中复制 AMI,也可以跨多个区域复制 AMIAmazon CLI,Amazon Web Services Management Console,Amazon软件开发工具包或Amazon EC2 API。有关更多信息,请参阅复制 AMI. 您还可以使用Amazon Backup跨区域计划和运行快照和复制。

如果区域完全出现故障,则需要使用 AMI 在辅助区域中构建 SAP HANA 生产实例。您可以使用Amazon CloudFormation用于自动启动新 SAP HANA 实例的模板。实例启动后,您可以从 Amazon S3 下载最后一组备份,将 SAP HANA 实例恢复到 point-in-time 在灾难事件发生之前。您还可以使用AmazonBackint Agent 用于恢复和恢复您的 SAP HANA 实例,并将您的客户端流量重定向到辅助区域中的新实例。

此架构为您提供了在多个可用区实施 SAP HANA 实例的优势,并且能够在出现故障时立即进行故障转移。对于主区域之外的灾难恢复,恢复点目标受您在 Amazon S3 存储桶中存储 SAP HANA 备份文件的频率以及将 Amazon S3 存储桶复制到目标区域所需的时间的限制。您可以启用 Amazon S3 复制时间控制进行限时复制。有关更多信息,请参阅启用 Amazon S3 复制时间控制.

您的恢复时间目标取决于在辅助区域构建系统和从备份文件中恢复操作所花费的时间。时间将根据数据库的大小而变。此外,在没有预留实例容量的情况下,获得还原过程的计算容量所需的时间可能会更长。当您需要在区域内实现尽可能少的恢复时间和点目标,而在主区域之外需要较高的灾难恢复点和时间目标时,此模式适用。

模式:主区域有两个生产可用区,辅助区域在单个可用区中部署计算和存储容量

除了模式 5 的架构外,此模式还在主区域的 SAP HANA 实例和辅助区域中一个可用区中的相同第三个实例之间设置异步 SAP HANA 系统复制。我们建议在两者之间进行复制时使用 SAP HANA 系统复制的异步模式Amazon由于延迟增加而导致的区域。

如果主区域出现故障,生产工作负载将手动故障转移到辅助区域。这种模式可确保您的 SAP 系统具有高可用性和容灾能力。这种模式通过持续的数据复制提供了更快的故障转移和业务运营的连续性。

在辅助区域部署生产 SAP HANA 实例所需的计算和存储以及区域之间传输数据的成本会增加。当您需要在主要区域之外进行灾难恢复,且恢复点和时间目标较低时,此模式适用。

此模式可以在多层和多目标复制配置中部署。

下图显示了多目标复制,其中主 SAP HANA 实例在同一区域内的两个可用区以及辅助区域中复制。

下图显示了以链式方式配置复制的多层复制。

模式:主区域有两个用于生产的可用区和一个部署了计算和存储容量的辅助区域,并在两个可用区之间进行数据复制

在这种模式中,两组两层两层 SAP HANA 系统复制部署在两个层上Amazon区域。两层 SAP HANA 系统复制是在同一区域内的两个可用区配置的,主区域之外的复制使用 SAP HANA 多目标系统复制进行配置。此设置可以通过高可用性群集解决方案进行扩展,以在主区域上实现自动故障转移功能。有关更多信息,请参阅SAP HANA 多目标系统复制.

此模式可防止可用区和区域出现故障。但是,跨区域接管 SAP HANA 实例需要手动干预。在辅助区域的故障转移期间,SAP HANA 实例无需任何手动干预即可继续在新区域启动 SAP HANA 系统复制。如果您希望始终保持最高的应用程序可用性,并且希望在主区域之外进行灾难恢复,而恢复点和时间目标可能性最小,则此设置适用。这种模式可以承受分布在多个区域的三个可用区出现故障的极为罕见的可能性。

如果您在主区域运行主动/主动(只读)SAP HANA 实例,并计划继续使用具有只读功能的 SAP HANA 系统复制配置,则此模式非常适合您。如果您正在寻找跨两个区域的只读功能以及该区域内的现有只读实例,则可以配置多个支持主动/主动(只读)配置的辅助系统。但是,只有一个系统可以通过基于提示的语句路由进行访问,其他系统必须通过直接连接进行访问。

在这种模式下,在两个区域的两个可用区中部署的冗余计算和存储容量以及跨区域通信会增加总拥有成本。

模式:主要区域有一个用于生产的可用区和一个带有备份/AMI 副本的辅助区域

此模式与模式 4 类似,在次要区域中进行额外的灾难恢复,该区域包含存储在 Amazon S3 中的 SAP HANA 实例备份副本、Amazon EBS 快照和 AMI。在这种模式下,SAP HANA 实例作为独立安装部署在主区域的一个可用区中,没有目标 SAP HANA 系统可以复制数据。

使用这种模式,您的 SAP HANA 实例的可用性不高。如果区域完全出现故障,则需要使用 AMI 在辅助区域中构建 SAP HANA 生产实例。您可以使用Amazon CloudFormation用于自动启动新 SAP HANA 实例的模板。实例启动后,您可以从 Amazon S3 下载最后一组备份,将 SAP HANA 实例恢复到 point-in-time在灾难事件发生之前。您还可以使用Amazon用于恢复的 Backint Agent 恢复您的 SAP HANA 实例,并将您的客户端流量重定向到辅助区域中的新实例。

对于主区域之外的灾难恢复,恢复点目标受您在 Amazon S3 存储桶中存储 SAP HANA 备份文件的频率以及将 Amazon S3 存储桶复制到目标区域所需的时间的限制。您的恢复时间目标取决于在辅助区域构建系统和从备份文件中恢复操作所花费的时间。时间将根据数据库的大小而变。这种模式适用于可以承受恢复正常操作所需的停机时间的非生产或非关键生产系统。

摘要

我们强烈建议在两个可用区运行业务关键型 SAP HANA 实例。您可以使用第三方集群解决方案,例如 Pacemaker 和 SAP HANA 系统复制来确保高可用性设置。

使用第三方集群解决方案的高可用性设置会增加许可成本,但仍建议使用,因为它可以提供高弹性架构、接近零的恢复时间和点目标。