Protecting Data On Your Device - Amazon Snowball Edge Developer Guide
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Protecting Data On Your Device

Securing your Amazon Snowball Edge

Following are some security points that we recommend you consider when using Amazon Snowball Edge, and also some high-level information on other security precautions that we take when a device arrives at Amazon for processing.

We recommend the following security approaches:

  • You should make an effort to protect your job credentials from disclosure. Any individual who has access to a job's manifest and unlock code can access the contents of the device sent for that job.

  • Don't leave the device sitting on a loading dock. Left on a loading dock, it can be exposed to the elements. Although each Amazon Snowball Edge device is rugged, weather can damage the sturdiest of hardware. Report stolen, missing, or broken devices as soon as possible. The sooner such an issue is reported, the sooner another one can be sent to complete your job.

We perform the following security steps:

  • When transferring data with the Amazon S3 interface, object metadata is not persisted. The only metadata that remains the same is filename and filesize. All other metadata is set as in the following example: -rw-rw-r-- 1 root root [filesize] Dec 31 1969 [path/filename]

  • When transferring data with the file interface, object metadata is persisted.

  • When a device arrives at Amazon, we inspect it for any signs of tampering and to verify that no changes were detected by the Trusted Platform Module (TPM). Amazon Snowball Edge uses multiple layers of security designed to protect your data, including tamper-resistant enclosures, 256-bit encryption, and an industry-standard TPM designed to provide both security and full chain of custody for your data.

  • Once the data transfer job has been processed and verified, Amazon performs a software erasure of the Snowball device that follows the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) guidelines for media sanitization.

Validating NFC Tags

Snowball Edge Compute Optimized and Snowball Edge Storage Optimized (for data transfer) devices have NFC tags built into them. You can scan these tags with the Amazon Snowball Edge Verification App, available on Android. Scanning and validating these NFC tags can help you verify that your device has not been tampered with before you use it.

Validating NFC tags includes using the Snowball Edge client to generate a device-specific QR code to verify that the tags you're scanning are for the right device.

The following procedure describes how to validate the NFC tags on a Snowball Edge device. Before you get started, make sure you've performed the following first five steps of the getting started exercise:

  1. Create your Snowball Edge job. For more information, see Creating an AmazonAmazon Snowball Edge Job

  2. Receive the device. For more information, see Receiving the Snowball Edge.

  3. Connect to your local network. For more information, see Connecting to Your Local Network.

  4. Get your credentials and tools. For more information, see Getting Your Credentials and Tools.

  5. Download and install the Snowball Edge client. For more information, see Downloading and Installing the Snowball Edge client.

To validate the NFC tags

  1. Run the snowballEdge get-app-qr-code Snowball Edge client command. If you run this command for a node in a cluster, provide the serial number (--device-sn) to get a QR code for a single node. Repeat this step for each node in the cluster. For more information on using this command, see Getting Your QR Code for NFC Validation.

    The QR code is saved to a location of your choice as a .png file.

  2. Navigate to the .png file that you saved, and open it so that you can scan the QR code with the app.

  3. You can scan these tags using the Amazon Snowball Edge Verification App available on iOS and Android.

  4. Start the app, and follow the on-screen instructions.

You've now successfully scanned and validated the NFC tags for your device.

If you encounter issues while scanning, try the following:

  • Confirm that your device has the Snowball Edge Compute Optimized options (with or without GPU).

  • Download the app on another phone, and try again.

  • Move the device to an isolated area of the room, away from interference from other NFC tags, and try again.

  • If issues persist, contact Amazon Web Services Support.

保护您设备上的数据 - Amazon Snowball Edge 开发人员指南
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

保护您设备上的数据

保护您的Amazon Snowball边缘

以下是我们建议您在使用时考虑的一些安全要点Amazon SnowballEdge,以及有关设备到达时我们采取的其他安全预防措施的一些高级信息Amazon用于处理。

我们推荐以下安全方法:

  • 您应尽力防止您的任务凭证泄露。任何有权访问任务清单和解锁代码的人员都可以访问为该任务发送的设备的内容。

  • 请勿将设备留在装货码头。若留在装货码头,它会遭到风吹雨打。虽然每个Amazon Snowball边缘设备坚固耐用,天气可能会损坏最坚固的硬件。请尽快报告被盗、丢失或破损的设备。越早报告此类问题,就能越早发送另一个问题来完成任务。

我们执行以下安全步骤:

  • 使用 Amazon S3 接口传输数据时,不会保留对象元数据。唯一保持不变的元数据为 filenamefilesize。设置所有其他元数据,如以下示例所示:-rw-rw-r-- 1 root root [filesize] Dec 31 1969 [path/filename]

  • 使用文件接口传输数据时,对象元数据会被保留。

  • 当设备到达时Amazon,我们会检查它是否有任何篡改迹象,并验证可信平台模块 (TPM) 没有检测到任何更改。Amazon SnowballEdge 使用旨在保护您的数据的多层安全保护,包括防篡改外壳、256 位加密以及旨在为您的数据提供安全性和完整监管链的行业标准 TPM。

  • 一旦数据传输任务得到处理和验证,Amazon按照美国国家标准与技术研究院 (NIST) 的媒体消毒指南,对 Snowball 设备执行软件擦除。

验证 NFC 标签

Snowball Edge Compute Optimized 版和 Snowball Edge 存储优化版(用于数据传输)设备内置了 NFC 标签。您可以使用以下命令扫描这些标签Amazon Snowball边缘验证应用程序,可在安卓系统上使用。扫描并验证这些 NFC 标签可帮助您在使用设备之前验证设备是否未被篡改。

验证 NFC 标签包括使用 Snowball Edge 客户端生成设备专用二维码,以验证您正在扫描的标签是否适用于正确的设备。

以下过程介绍了如何在 Snowball Edge 设备上验证 NFC 标签。在开始之前,请确保您已执行入门练习的以下前五个步骤::

  1. 创建你的 Snowball Edge 任务。有关更多信息,请参阅 。创建AmazonAmazon Snowball Edge作业

  2. 接收设备。有关更多信息,请参阅 获得 Snowball 边缘

  3. 连接到本地网络。有关更多信息,请参阅 连接到您的本地网络

  4. 获取凭证和工具。有关更多信息,请参阅 获取您的证书和工具

  5. 下载并安装 Snowball Edge 客户端。有关更多信息,请参阅 下载和安装 Snowball Edge 客户端

验证 NFC 标签

  1. 运行snowballEdge get-app-qr-codeSnowball Edge 客户端命令。如果您对集群中的节点运行了此命令,请提供序列号 (--device-sn) 以获取单个节点的 QR 代码。对集群中的每个节点重复此步骤。有关使用此命令的更多信息,请参阅获取用于 NFC 验证的 QR 代码

    QR 代码将作为 .png 文件保存到您选择的位置。

  2. 导航到您保存的 .png 文件,然后将其打开,以便使用应用程序扫描 QR 代码。

  3. 您可以使用以下命令扫描这些标签Amazon Snowball边缘验证应用程序在 iOS 和 Android 上可用。

  4. 启动该应用程序,然后按照屏幕上的说明进行操作。

您现在已成功扫描并验证设备的 NFC 标签。

如果您在扫描时遇到问题,请尝试以下操作:

  • 确认您的设备有 Snowball Edge Compute Optimized 选项(带或不带 GPU)。

  • 在另一部手机上下载该应用程序,然后重试。

  • 将设备移至房间的隔离区域,远离其他 NFC 标签的干扰,然后重试。

  • 如果问题仍然存在,请联系Amazon Web Services Support.