Understanding Amazon Snowball Edge Jobs - Amazon Snowball Edge Developer Guide
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Understanding Amazon Snowball Edge Jobs

A job in Amazon Snowball is a discrete unit of work, defined when you create it in the console or the job management API. With the Amazon Snowball Edge device, there are three different job types, all of which are capable of local storage and compute functionality. This functionality uses the file interface or the Amazon S3 interface to read and write data. It triggers Lambda functions based on Amazon S3 PUT object API actions running locally on the Amazon Snowball Edge device.

Important

With an Amazon Snowball Edge device, all jobs can use the compute functionality in Amazon Web Services Regions where Amazon Lambda is supported. How the compute functionality is implemented in Amazon Snowball jobs is specific to Snowball—the functionality can differ significantly from how Lambda works in the cloud. Before creating your first compute job, we recommend that you familiarize yourself with how Amazon Lambda powered by Amazon IoT Greengrass works. For more information, see Using Amazon Lambda with an Amazon Snowball Edge.

  • Importing Jobs into Amazon S3 – The transfer of 80 TB or less of your local data copied onto a single device, and then moved into Amazon S3. For import jobs, Snowball devices and jobs have a one-to-one relationship. Each job has exactly one device associated with it. If you need to import more data, you can create new import jobs or clone existing ones. When you return a device of this job type, that data on it is imported into Amazon S3.

  • Exporting Jobs from Amazon S3 – The transfer of any amount of data (located in Amazon S3), copied onto any number of Snowball Edge devices, and then moved one Amazon Snowball Edge device at a time into your on-premises data destination. When you create an export job, it's split into job parts. Each job part is no more than 80 TB in size, and each job part has exactly one Amazon Snowball Edge device associated with it. When you return a device of this job type, it's erased.

  • Local Compute and Storage Only Jobs – These jobs involve one Amazon Snowball Edge device, or multiple devices used in a cluster. These jobs don't start with data in their buckets like an export job, and they can't have data imported into Amazon S3 at the end like an import job. When you return a device of this job type, it's erased. With this job type, you also have the option of creating a cluster of devices. A cluster improves local storage durability and you can scale up or down with local storage capacity.

    In Regions where Lambda is not available, this job type is called Local storage only.

Job Details

Before creating a job, ensure the prerequisites are met. Each job is defined by the details that you specify when it's created. The following table describes all the details of a job.

了解 Amazon Snowball Edge 作业 - Amazon Snowball Edge 开发人员指南
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

了解 Amazon Snowball Edge 作业

一个工作在Amazon Snowball是您在控制台和任务管理 API 中创建它时定义的独立工作单位。使用Amazon Snowball Edge设备上,有三种不同的任务类型,都具有本地存储和计算功能。此功能使用文件接口或 Amazon S3 接口读取和写入数据。它会基于上本地运行的 Amazon S3 PUT 对象 API 操作触发 Lambda 函数。Amazon Snowball Edge设备。

重要

有了Amazon Snowball Edge设备,所有任务都可以在中使用计算功能Amazon Web Services 区域哪里Amazon Lambda支持。如何在中实现计算功能Amazon Snowball任务特定于 Snowball — 此功能与 Lambda 在云中的工作原理存在很大差异。在创建第一个计算任务之前,建议您先熟悉如何创建第一个计算任务。Amazon Lambda支持Amazon IoT Greengrass作品。有关更多信息,请参阅 将 Amazon Lambda 与 Amazon Snowball Edge 配合使用

  • 将任务导入 Amazon S3— 将传输的 80 TB 或更少的本地数据复制到单个设备上,然后再转移到 Amazon S3 中。对于导入作业,Snowball 设备和作业有 one-to-one 关系。每个任务都恰好有一个与其相关联的设备。如果您需要导入更多数据,您可以创建新的导入任务或者克隆现有任务。当您返回此任务类型的设备时,设备上的数据会导入到 Amazon S3 中。

  • 从 Amazon S3 导出任务— 将传输的任意大小的数据(位于 Amazon S3 中)复制到任意数量的 Snowball Edge 设备上,然后再转移一个。Amazon Snowball Edge设备一次进入本地数据目的地。在创建导出任务时,此任务将拆分为多个部分。每个任务部分的大小不超过 80 TB,每个任务部分均有一个。Amazon Snowball Edge与它关联的设备。当您返回此任务类型的设备时,设备上的数据会被擦除。

  • 仅限本地计算和存储任务— 这些工作涉及一个Amazon Snowball Edge设备,或集群中使用的多个设备。这些任务不从存储桶中的数据开始 (这一点与导出任务不同) 且在最后不会将数据导入 Amazon S3 (这一点与导入任务不同)。当您返回此任务类型的设备时,设备上的数据会被擦除。使用此任务类型时,您依然可以选择创建设备集群。集群可以提高本地存储持久性,您可以使用本地存储容量进行扩展或缩减。

    在不提供 Lambda 的区域,此任务类型称为。仅本地存储.

任务详细信息

每个任务都由创建任务时指定的详细信息进行定义。下表描述了任务的所有详细信息。